HAL Tejas | Updates, News & Discussions

@JSnow-^^^^I think that the Tejas has software which limits it's G-force exposure and also the maximum speed[which is restricted to Mach 1.6].Hence they will tweak the software part so that the Tejas achieves it's FOC,which requires that it withstands 8G's and AoA of 32(I Think!)degrees.

The FBW System limits the G-Level exposure of the Tejas to prevent fatigue cracks from appearing in the airframe.The Tejas has top speed of About Mach 1.8 to Mach 2.0 at high altitude.the Tejas can easily sustain 8G stress but the lca MK-1 is not allowed to carry out manouvers in excess of 7.5G bcoz it is underpowered and with a heavy weapon load the GE-F404 doesnt have enough thrust for 8G turns.But Lca Mk-2 wont have any problems bcoz of LEVCONS and the higher thrust rated GE-F414 Engine.

thanks sancho !!
also about the bolded part... replace the r 77??? with what? astra? from all the paper comparisons i could find of the two missiles it seems the r77 is better by far....unless the rumours that the r 77 have some secret problems making it unusable is true- if so then we have a big problem

These weapons and their techs have only a specific life, which means sooner or later they have to be replaced anyway. IAF has the plan to replace the R77 with Astra in future and once because there are some quality issues with them, secondly because we have more control over our own weapons and can develop them to our requirements. The specs on paper are just a hint and as other members already said, depends on the situations when the missile is fired. Moreover they depend on which version we are talking about and which version of the R77 IAF really has.

The FBW System limits the G-Level exposure of the Tejas to prevent fatigue cracks from appearing in the airframe.The Tejas has top speed of About Mach 1.8 to Mach 2.0 at high altitude.the Tejas can easily sustain 8G stress but the lca MK-1 is not allowed to carry out manouvers in excess of 7.5G bcoz it is underpowered and with a heavy weapon load the GE-F404 doesnt have enough thrust for 8G turns.But Lca Mk-2 wont have any problems bcoz of LEVCONS and the higher thrust rated GE-F414 Engine.

MK-2 has LEVCONS?

Tejas sensors checked out during night flying

one more good news...
When are those god damn LSP 6,7&8 are going to come out of the hanger.........

---------- Post added at 09:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:38 PM ----------

to be true I am not sure but the picture of LCA MK-2 which i had seen certainly had LEVCONS.adding LEVCONS will help in increasing AoA of THE lca MK-2.What do u think?

As far as i know.. MK-2 doesnt have LEVCONS.. there is a design optimization though for high AoA... may be LEVCONS.. who knows

can any one just give me right information about the current ongoing development of the LCA programme..????did the development of LCA MK2 nd MK3 have started???and what will the fleet of lca in the indian airforce consist of...will it be the mk 1..the mk 2..or the mk 3...?
want to know about these queries eagerly.....post pics if possible...!!!

can any one just give me right information about the current ongoing development of the LCA programme..????did the development of LCA MK2 nd MK3 have started???and what will the fleet of lca in the indian airforce consist of...will it be the mk 1..the mk 2..or the mk 3...?

Mk-III ..? Yeh kab hua..? No idea about Mk-3 , but Mk-2 will get IOC in '14..

one more good news...
When are those god damn LSP 6,7&8 are going to come out of the hanger.........

---------- Post added at 09:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:38 PM ----------

As far as i know.. MK-2 doesnt have LEVCONS.. there is a design optimization though for high AoA... may be LEVCONS.. who knows

I witnessed that flight, It was 7:30 pm on tuesday.. I was riding my 500cc Bullet, I heard a huge roar of LCA. I stopped by and look at the sky, LCA was taking off...

Even Yesterday I saw lot of Antonov flying at the same time...

The indigenous Light Combat Aircraft- Tejas, fitted with advanced sensors like Multi Mode Radar (MMR) Litening Pod (Day and Night imaging sensors), was checked out during night flying, Defence Research and Development Organisation said today.

These sensors when integrated with the on board weapon system, makes it a potent multi-role combat aircraft, a DRDO statement said. The first phase of the night evaluation in which six night flight sorties were conducted was held yesterday, it said.

"The preliminary results indicate that the integrated system performed very well, meeting the requirements of night operations. Flight trials were conducted by the National Flight Test Centre at ADA (Aeronautical Development Agency)", the statement said.

In addition, the avionics suit includes the state of the art Helmet Mounted Display System (HMDS) and Instrument Landing System (ILS), it said. To prove Tejas’s night operational capability, all these systems needed to be tested and evaluated following a detailed flight test programme during night flying in moon phase as well as dark phase, it said.

LSP-5 aircraft, which has the required cockpit lighting standard to support night flying, was used for these trials, the statement added. The night flying was started after a series of ground evaluations of the integrated system in static as well as taxi phase under different lighting conditions, it said.

With the conclusion of the first phase of night evaluations, the mood is upbeat in ‘Team Tejas’. Success of the current phase of trials augurs well for achieving night attack capability for Tejas in the near future, it said.

jha bro...i asked if any one could give me information of my question????nd u started asking me itself???tumhare pass kuch sahi khabar hai toh bolo...nahi toh bakwas maat karo yaar....

Itne uptight kyun ho bhai...? Rahi khabar ki baat, to mere paas hai to sahi, but typing all those things is a very bulky task..
Go through LCA thread, You will find all your answers there..

As of now there is no road map of MK-3..... the next thing that ADA and HAL will work on after MK-2 is AMCA .... Development of MK-2 started on paper and is yet to be moved to labs... which will happen by this year end.. there still some RFP to be closed for MK-2 to frutify fully...

Air force will have both MK-1 and MK-2
while Navy will have only MK-2

pics you can get it in google...

P.S almost all these information is available in PDF... just you have to use the Search tool in the top.. if not you can use google.... you will be able to get answers for most of your question... this is not a frustration reply but a tip...

I witnessed that flight, It was 7:30 pm on tuesday.. I was riding my 500cc Bullet, I heard a huge roar of LCA. I stopped by and look at the sky, LCA was taking off...

Even Yesterday I saw lot of Antonov flying at the same time...

500 cc bullet?? gosh are you driving davidson?

No its 500cc Royal enfield machismo, 2005 model.. This was the best you could have got till last year...

Now 700cc+ Harley is available, Korean have also launched there cruiser (probably 700 cc) But they are costly... You can get 500 cc Bullet in 1.5 lakh, while harley is 7Lakh...

Tejas soars into night sky

BANGALORE: Tejas, the Light combat aircraft (LCA) has crossed one more significant milestone by sucessfully conducting night flights. Tejas sensors checked out during night flying at the HAL airport on Tuesday night.

"With the successful conclusion of the first phase of night evaluations, the mood is upbeat in `Team Tejas' comprising of specialists from ADA, HAL, IAF, IN ADE, NAL, CEMILAC and DGAQA. Success of the current phase of trials augurs well for achieving night attack capability of Tejas in the near future, an HAL press release said.

The flight trials were conducted by the National Flight Test Centre at ADA. The indigenous Light Combat Aircraft __ Tejas is fitted with advanced sensors like multi-mode radar (MMR) and litening pod (day and night imaging sensors). These, when integrated with the on board weapon system, makes it a potent multi-role combat aircraft.

In addition, the avionics suit includes the state-of-the-art helmet-mounted display system (HMDS) and instrument landing system (ILS). To prove Tejas' night-operational capability, all these systems need to be tested and evaluated following a detailed flight test program during night flying in moon phase as well as dark phase, the release adds.

LSP-5 aircraft, which has the required cockpit lighting standard to support night flying, was used for these trials. The night flying was started after a series of ground evaluation of the integrated system in static as well as taxy phase under different lighting conditions.

Tejas soars into night sky - The Times of India