Religions ideals have never mixed well with politics. Our History shows how religion has always twisted politics to service it.
Are you sure that this Islamic union will be any different.
Yes, that would be a challenge. Ironically, the very diversity of beliefs within Islam can serve as a check against extremism. No extremist religious ideology could gain prominence within such a diverse group. Compromise would have to be the order of the day.
That is why I said that the first demonstration of this idea would be for Pakistan to form a stable, cohesive, tolerant society consisting of Sunni, Shia, and non-Muslims.
Why cant you just talk about the world?
Because any ideology becomes ineffective if it gets too diluted. Remember the motto? Think globally, act locally.
That is why people work for the betterment of their community, their village, their nation. This is just taking that concept one step further. The ultimate aim would be a unified global entity, but that discussion can wait.
Why do the Muslims have to be separate from the world?
Where did this notion of the Muslim world come from.
are you deliberately trying to isolate your self from the rest of the world.
Do you guys despise the rest of humanity so much you want your own planet.
You can say Muslim community but no , you say Muslim world.
As stated above, Muslim unity is an intermediate step between nationalism and global unity.
You attach religion to almost every aspect of your nation.
the Islamic bomb for example
Referring to your soldiers as Muslim warriors, well i know they technically are but you done have to emphasize they are Muslim all the time. we kinds get it
you see the whole world with those religious lense.
Its always Hindu this and Christian that.
All this segregation discrimination based on religious beliefs
It frankly is rather upsetting.
I agree. I don't like the militaristic or aggressive aspects of the ideology. I see it more as an extension of community spirit.
As I mentioned above, the path goes something like community -> village -> province -> country -> Muslims -> world.
Needless to say, we would have to remain vigilant against extremism along the way and to ensure equal rights for non-Muslims. Islam would define the boundaries of the union; secularism would prevail within. This would not deny the role of Islam within the culture. Islam is a part of our heritage and it would be celebrated, but it would not be misused to trample anybody's rights.
We must give up local Nationalism. Nationalism based on country is mushriki concept.
Egyptian and Persian nationalism existed long before Western (Greek) civilization was even born.
I don't think it's realistic to expect people to give up nationalism. I certainly don't want to give up Pakistani identity. That is why I said an EU-style union is much more feasible than a US-style union,
Turkey is still being assesed for EU membership, it an ongoing process, of trying to integrate 2 very different cultures and different ways of doing things
Turkey will NEVER be allowed into the EU. Even most Turks are beginning to realize it.
The EU is basically a French/German show, which is why Britain is only a half-hearted member.
Turkey’s EU Bid - Council on Foreign Relations
Britain, Spain, and the Nordic countries support Turkey; even Greece, a historical Turkish enemy, supports its bid. Greek Prime Minister Costas Karamanlis said this month that a European Turkey is in everyone’s interest. However, strong elements in Germany, France, and the Netherlands oppose Turkey’s bid.
[...]
And a recent German Marshall Fund report on Transatlantic Trends (PDF) said support for Turkey’s membership was 11 percent in France, 15 percent in Germany and 32 percent in Britain, with over 40 percent undecided in all three countries.
Its frankly presumptuous or arrogant of you to think that religion plays that big of a deal in the power game if international politics.
I acknowledge that the ordinary Westerner is not too religious, but the influential people in these countries are often quite religious or ideologically motivated. Rupert Murdoch, owner of News Corp. (which controls over 15% of global media), is intensely religious and his views permeate his organization. Fundamentalist Jews in Israel, Evangelical Christians in the US, and Christian Democrats in Germany wield disproportionate influence.
Religion is not the primary motivator, but it is far from insignificant. Western politicians use code words like cultural differences, terrorism, integration -- but everybody knows what they are really talking about.
Claiming that every one is against you just because of your religion clearly demonstrates my point.
But they are against Muslims,
purely because of religion. As I explained above, the ban on headscarfs in French and German schools has nothing to do with terrorism. It is an opportunistic denial of human rights specifically aimed at Muslims. The French law allows Christian crosses and star-of-David pendants. It forbids schoolgirls to wear a headscarf.
You don't need such unity, you should demand unity of humanity. Why you guys always advocate Islamic untiy? This unity will polarize world against it. Sooner we will have X-tian unity, unity of remaining sects like Jews + Hindu + Budha unity and so on.. and at last 3rd WW among these unities...
Ironically, I think this unity would actually reduce terrorism. There seem to be three main motivators of Islamic terrorism:
- unified Caliphate
- Western troops in Muslim lands
- mistreatment of Muslims in non-Muslim countries
The first two reasons would be neutralized, and the third would be much diminished by the clout of the Islamic Union. I do agree that the situation would have to be handled diplomatically to assuage any fears of an expansionist or aggressive agenda.
The irony is that the proponents of the brotherhood do not want 15 crores of their brothers to be part of the union.
The exclusion of Indian (and other) Muslims is not because they are somehow lesser Muslims. It is intended to send a clear signal to other countries
and their Muslim minorities that the option is not on the table. It addresses the concerns of those countries that their Muslim minorities might become restive, and assures them that they have nothing to fear.
An Islamic Union would be the most powerful and wealthiest nation on earth.
It would be neither the most powerful, nor the wealthiest, but it would be practically immune to blackmail and sanctions. And it would provide pooled resources, resilience to setbacks, and all the other benefits of economies of scale.
yaar ye zionism ka hindustan se kya wasta hai?
Israel claims to be the largest weapons supplier to India. It was Israel, not the US or Russia or Europe, that came to India's defense in Kargil.
Be Muslim if you want, no one is stopping you, but keep it out of politics.
I agree with you in a way. My reasons for supporting a Muslim union are the same as Jinnah's. Muslims are being targetted for their religion, so we need a political solution to provide unity. However, within the unified entity, religion should be relegated to private practice. The Muslim union would be a secular state, in the sense that religion would not be a part of government. The purpose of a unified entity is not to enact an Islamic state, but to provide a safe place where Muslims can pursue their full potential, unhindered by discrimination.
(Yes, I know Pakistan has completely gone off track, but that's a different subject.)