SURPRISE: Suzuki to replace ‘classical’ Mehran with this modern Alto

does the average Pakistani know that they are being taken for a ride? (pun not intended). and not in a good car

that car would have been a 1990's compact car in US. I guess maybe a 2000's car in China or India.

How much does it cost on road? (in $'s please)

and 660 cc - i cant even imagine. is that enough horse power for the roads you guys have?
Seeing the pictures of Islamabad's roads and Pakistan's motorways seem pretty good roads. whats the speed limit there? do these cars even reach those speeds?

It will cost around 7k dollars.
Speed limit of our motorway is 120km/h
Islamabad roads has different speed limit from 40km to 100km depend upon route.

and 660 cc - i cant even imagine
Dude,
Kei Cars?
that enough horse power for the roads you guys have
Size of the engine cannot be used to determine how much horsepower it has, to an extent.
Think of it's power to weight ratio, it's probably better than the old Mehran's, which pretty much debuffs the "horse power for roads you have".

At-topic:
Someone please kick out the big three from here...

Time to end Suzuki monopoly , either face healthy competition or they can go anywhere they want.

A friend of mine has bought a new Dihatsu Mira auto 660cc, and according to him its very under powered bcz of 3 speed auto transmission and it barely reaches 100kph with 4 passengers on motorway, and if 4 passengers are on board then it will start overheating a little with ac turned on (with poor ac performance). But manual 660cc cars are better than auto in terms of power and fuel consumption at least. I think this is the reason they are only introducing manual transmission. These cars are purely city cars and cant be driven at speed limits on motorways.
These cars are not meant to be driven over 100, they are meant for daily computing within city. I have kept both Alto and Mira and I find them both OK with decent performance. The Eco idle model in Mira gives a very decent average. In the end PAK Suzuki should offer it in both manual and auto trany and let the end consumer decide which one they want.

Isay aur poti shakal wai gari nahi thi? woh dhoond letay so called modern gari

These cars are not meant to be driven over 100, they are meant for daily computing within city. I have kept both Alto and Mira and I find them both OK with decent performance. The Eco idle model in Mira gives a very decent average. In the end PAK Suzuki should offer it in both manual and auto trany and let the end consumer decide which one they want.

I was quoting his experience since i do not own any of them, i dont know why he is not satisfied with its performance specially when ac is on and carrying 4 passengers. According to him it boggs down when ac is on and ac performance is also very weak. But he might have bought a lemon. Walla o Alam.

does the average Pakistani know that they are being taken for a ride? (pun not intended). and not in a good car

that car would have been a 1990's compact car in US. I guess maybe a 2000's car in China or India.

How much does it cost on road? (in $'s please)

and 660 cc - i cant even imagine. is that enough horse power for the roads you guys have?
Seeing the pictures of Islamabad's roads and Pakistan's motorways seem pretty good roads. whats the speed limit there? do these cars even reach those speeds?

This Tin can is replacing this shyt on wheels:

image.jpeg

This shyt costs over 8,000 $ !

So yes we do know.

The speed limit on motorway is 130 km/h.

Respect to them,selling same junk for decades and withstanding public and govt pressure

Pay commission and you will reap the rewards.

This junk shouldn't make it in Pakistan. The amount people are paying for cars in Pakistan much better alternatives are available. Invite European car makers.

Pay commission and you will reap the rewards.

This junk shouldn't make it in Pakistan. The amount people are paying for cars in Pakistan much better alternatives are available. Invite European car makers.
is there any trade barrier against european car makers to sell their cars?

suzuki did not take pakistanis for ride. They produce because pakistanis still buy them. Our hindustan motors sold ambassador (morris minor design of 60s) till very recently, with no change to exterior.
if other companies bring affordable cars at that price range, suzuki will be forced to upgrade.

Because the people have no choice ... A 1600 cc (basic) sedan costs over 25+K dollar..

A 1300cc costs around 18K+.

is there any trade barrier against european car makers to sell their cars?

I don't know whether there are exorbitant duty tariffs imposed, but there shouldn't be any major trade barriers. Europeans are also selling their cars in neighborimg
India and other Asian countries. There shouldn't be any problem with a major European car maker opening its doors in Pakistan. If Pakistanis can pay many lakh rupees for tin cans they can surely pay this money for a proper car.

Pakistanis pay ridiculous prices for tin cars. Absolutely anything is better than these tin cars. Even a Lada from the prehistoric era.

I don't know whether there are exorbitant duty tariffs imposed, but there shouldn't be any major trade barriers. Europeans are also selling their cars in neighborimg
India and other Asian countries. There shouldn't be any problem with a major European car maker opening its doors in Pakistan. If Pakistanis can pay lacs of rupees for tin cans they can surely pay this money for a proper car.

Pakistanis pay ridiculous prices for tin cars. Absolutely anything is better than these tin cars. Even a Lada from the prehistoric era.
In India, you will pay effective around 120% duty if you import whole car(the price will double). Importing as ckd and assembling has lower duty but still significant, which is why those manufacturers need to sell it at higher price.
Most car manufacturers later on move to sourcing parts locally as much as possibly thereby avoiding duty.

Now, if an european car company wants to import cars into pakistan obviously they cant compete with mehran at its price point. (I am guessing pakistan has similar duty structure as India).
they also need to invest in an assembly plant or/and find a pakistani partner who can do it.