SURPRISE: Suzuki to replace ‘classical’ Mehran with this modern Alto

Because the people have no choice ... A 1600 cc (basic) sedan costs over 25+K dollar..

A 1300cc costs around 18K+.

Lala which brand ?
Honda city 1530k
Toyota 1.6 2000k aprox
25k dollora mein tuh grande bhi nahin hai :D but your point is valid prices are insanely high.

Lala which brand ?
Honda city 1530k
Toyota 1.6 2000k aprox
25k dollora mein tuh grande bhi nahin hai :D but your point is valid prices are insanely high.

Bhai .. On road prices ..

Even a vitz will cost you 16+ on road price..

City will cost you almost 18 on road..

that really isnt a "modern" car even for south Asian standards. but certainly a step in the right direction. What exactly is stopping Pakistan from opening its Auto market to other players?
Kickbacks, Corruption.

that really isnt a "modern" car even for south Asian standards. but certainly a step in the right direction. What exactly is stopping Pakistan from opening its Auto market to other players?
Pakistan is open to all manufacturers, I am not aware of any barrier. Why do you think its not open.

Kickbacks, Corruption.
corruption is everywhere in south asia, since when businessmen have stopped investing due to corruption. lol.

Government doesn't take any initiative to end monopoly of two companies i.e Suzuki and Toyota. They are looting people for decades without providing them good quality and service. Now I cant spoon feed you more.

hmm, not really, I doubt you thought much about the topic hence 'corruption' one liner (or noon league, or something similar) is used to explain it away. Pakistan is as corrupt as any other south asian country. And european manufactures can pay much more to politicians to enter pak market, if that was ever an issue. American manufacturer can even use their Govt influence, like they do everywhere. (if they want).

You can find all price lists & taxes on Pakwheels site... I gave you the link.

Mehran euro II -- basic 753K.. Excluding taxes (mentioned)

http://www.pakwheels.com/new-cars/on-road-price?utf8=✓&ManID=41&ModelID=62&VersionID=2692&city_id=408&buy_at=1

Never mind. The answer is bound to be unpalatable anyway. The real reason the Pakistani consumer is condemned to such crap is because of the high taxes, not because of the greed of the manufacturers. Even the ex-factory price given is not free of taxes.

Never mind. The answer is bound to be unpalatable anyway. The real reason the Pakistani consumer is condemned to such crap is because of the high taxes, not because of the greed of the manufacturers.
Suzuki Mehran VXR Euro II (CNG) On Road Price in Islamabad
VEHICLE DETAILS
Manufacturer
Suzuki
Model
Mehran
Version
VXR Euro II (CNG)
Ex-Factory Price
PKR 753,000
WITH HOLDING CHARGES
With Holding Tax (Filer)
With Holding Tax (Non-Filer)
EX-SHOWROOM PRICE
Payorder Price(Filer)
PKR 763,000
Payorder Price(Non-Filer)
PKR 763,000
FEDERAL CAPITAL CHARGES
Income Tax (Filer)
PKR 800 (Non-Filer: PKR 1,200)
Registration Fee
PKR 7,530
Professional Tax
PKR 100
PRICE
Total Price (Filer)
PKR 771,430
Total Price (Non-Filer)
PKR 771,830
BOOK THIS CAR

Because the people have no choice ... A 1600 cc (basic) sedan costs over 25+K dollar..

A 1300cc costs around 18K+.

Damn

I didn't knew the situation was this bad.

2016-chevrolet-malibu-lt-vs-2016-honda-accord-sport-2016-mazda-6-i-touring-2016-toyota-camry-se-inline1-photo-667287-s-original.jpg

This is what you get for 25k $. Zero meter

2011-toyota-camry-se-i01.jpg

2011_nissan_altima_sedan_25-s_rq_oem_1_500.jpg

Can easily get something like this for 9k $.