India state-run banks 'turn away Muslims'

In the world of competition and fight for survival no bank can afford to ‘turn away any customer’, least of all state run banks. This is utter BS.

Lo ji, naya dram shuru ho gaya.

Did anyone try to figure out that Banks refuse 10 Hindus for every Muslim they refuse because of a poor economical background.

Even I was refused bank account in a PSU bank when I was a student. Whats the big deal. They simply don't want to maintain a bank account that is a liability to maintain without much of a return.

Is it so important to paint everything in communal colors.

In the world of competition and fight for survival no bank can afford to ‘turn away any customer’, least of all state run banks. This is utter BS.

The state run banks do turn away potential customers though I dont think its due to communal reasons. Its more due to the fact that the bank babus do not want to work. More accounts, mean means more management and more work for them. I have been turned away from SBI, the flag bearer of nationalized banks. The guy had the nerve to ask me to go to a private bank down the street!

How stupid ...lol not allowing customers to open bank accounts all banks are happy to open bank accounts ...

They can be sued for rejecting to open new bank accounts :police:

Kinda very ... harsh

Its a vicious cycle , frist your community ppl don't get jobs
Then you are born in community where unemployment is high
Then you still make it to schools get scholor ships and you can't cash your cheque
Then you finally open a bank account some way - only for you to not being able to get home mortgage loans since your salary is low
Then you want to open business you can't get finance due to same old caste system
Then you do open a business and some riots errupt angry hindu mob burns down your shops and accuses you of stealing business and jobs
Then you start supporting Pakistan your politicians call you unpatriotic
You apply to go to Indian army get rejected as you have beard only seikhs are allowed
Obviously you get dejected and lose intrest ... and that is where things get interesting
you figure , I am like this why .... I need my own country or rights

So ... eventually muslims in India do what the maoist are doing in eastern side ... ask for a seperate state - this is the part where - gov agencies will do a false flag and deem the ppl demanding seperate state as terrorist and pakistan sympathisers

This will eventually lead to crisis of great magnitude - and indian economy will get struck down by seperation movements in east and western states

So in the above story timeline India is right in the middle part - of that timeline ...aproximately 12 years away from civil war , I think Muslims are 20-30% in india the consensus is not done correctly

As the distance between the rich class and poor class will continue to rise , more and more Muslim Indians will start to realize their neighbourhood and parks and schools are less cared for , there is less hospitals in their towns and the angery will grow with time

Mean while the hindu nationalist will rally the public with notions that Muslims are not patriotic , and they don't love their country and ungrateful. They will blame their Faith as the reason why they are backward - that muslims students and families prefer not to go to universities and they prefer to live in slums

What nonsense logic…First you don’t understand Maoist movement…so please refrain from commenting on Maoist movement. Second…by your BS logic…should Ahmadis, Shias, Christians, Hindus and Isamailis ask for their respective states from Pakistan? Third, Please stop your pseudo sympathies for Indian Muslims…they are capable enough to fight for their rights…if their rights are denied

Their economic status means they are often excluded by private banks, which prefer more well-to-do clients.

That is the crux of the matter. Any one below a certain level of income will face the same issue.

Many banks insist on a minimum savings level. Even here in the UK, HSBC will not give me a premier account unless I have a certain level of income.

I did think that the government recently had asked the banks to provide accounts to people without insisting on a minimum balance.
In Pakistan you can open an account "Basic Banking Account" with all the facilities of a normal account except you can only cash two checks a month, atm uses is limitless.... There is no minimum ammount required for opening the BB Account, just fill the form and get your account number the next day.

The state run banks do turn away potential customers though I dont think its due to communal reasons. Its more due to the fact that the bank babus do not want to work. More accounts, mean means more management and more work for them. I have been turned away from SBI, the flag bearer of nationalized banks. The guy had the nerve to ask me to go to a private bank down the street!

That’s true…banks do turn away some people…but not for religious reasons. It is convenient for media to make it a sensation, if the turned away person belongs to a minority community

Before our neighbors get anxious let me clear a point i am from the state mentioned in the article and there is nothing happening of such sort. If it did the media would have gone crazy over it. The only issue happening in my state is political mud slinging within Congress and the arrest of ex CM Chandrababu Naidu in Maharashtra.

Also as they will say that since all Hindus are Muslim haters and will not allow such news to come up there are Muslim Parties who would go into hyper mode over this like MIM in Hyderabad. Mr. Owaisi is partcularly famous for this.

The real problem is that National Banks do not allow anybody without introduction from a existing account holder first and then that too who has a certain level of economic background which is sad but true. This can happen to anybody irrespective of Religion.

@Asim Aquil , Mr u are a senior member please don't use words like racists without knowing the truth. The word could be used to ur people too because recently many a news regarding atrocities on minorities in ur country have been posted here in this forum.

There are so many indian muslim members here,pakistani members kindly ask them if they were denied any bank account.I myself am an atheist but hold a muslim name not even once i was refused any bank account or discriminated against because of my muslim name

Any business does not work in favor for any religion/region. The same banks we are discussing here are coming up with the ideas of Islamic investments. My personal case with Bank was, when i went to open my bank account in State bank of India at at the age of 16(I need to submit my Schlorship cheque), I have been refused to open an account as I dont have any source of Income and there were 2 insurer's were required.. Later on I went with my Dad and uncle and opened my account (that too without chequebook) by requesting Manager. Should I say Hindus are having discriminations for opening an account?

Truth is every bank needs account to run their business and for me as businessman I will always open an account irrelevant to their region/religion but there should be surety of cashflows there..

if this report was a PAKISTANI minority indians would have been all over squirming on this thread!! we would have discussed 20 pages of nonsense!!

:coffee:

What possible link can there be to open a current deposit/saving bank account with a bank, with economic status?

If they maintain less than the minimum balance requirement, then the bank can place minimum balance charges. I'm sure there are banks in India where they offer zero balance accounts as well with no minimum balance charges.

Stop protecting racists.

Every account opened in a bank has some maintenance charges. At the end of a financial year the bank debits some amount as bank charges.
Now if an account has ZERO or very little amount then its difficult for a bank to continue that account. This is why the banks impose minimum balance on an account.
Very few banks allow a ZERO balance account and that too only for students.
And for every account to be opened requires a reference who takes guarantee that the person is authentic. This might be the reason why some people belonging to muslim community were declined to open an account or might be economically not so well off.
But these conditions are applied on every citizen of india and not muslims alone.
Fist people don't follow the instructions and then they complain about discrimination.

Any body cared to read thru the link..??

Some bankers say it is not so much their religious background, but their economic status that makes it hard for Muslims to get banking facilities.

This line makes much more sense than wat others try to blabber here..Actually many more Hindus than Muslims get turned away for loans..but that doesnt make news because those who got rejected are hindus.

p.s.: My uncle is a bank manager of a reputed nationalised bank and hence the above details.

I ll explain how these guys do their methodology..They just get the rejected customer list and if there are sufficient number of Muslims then immediately publish it in their paper.
:tdown:

Its may not be in the name of religion..banks become strict on their policies over opening the account because illegal transactions were occurring in the bank accounts of people which is idle for sometimes..and also if you go to a bank you will know how hard is to open an account..I tried to start an account in a nationalized bank in the city where i work,they are asking for so much documents that i don't wanna start an account there..there were so much formalities..but in private banks its so much easy ..

Any body cared to read thru the link..??

This line makes much more sense than wat others try to blabber here..Actually many more Hindus than Muslims get turned away for loans..but that doesnt make news because those who got rejected are hindus.

p.s.: My uncle is a bank manager of a reputed nationalised bank and hence the above details.

I ll explain how these guys do their methodology..They just get the rejected customer list and if there are sufficient number of Muslims then immediately publish it in their paper.
:tdown:
Did you read the rest of the thread? This theory of economic status has no grounds.

Banks can charge minimum balance. On top of that Scholarship funds would easily far exceed any banks minimum balance requirement. Further more, banks charge a fee for maintaining minimum balance accounts, they like to have customers running low on cash.

So wrong on all counts. The Banks are lying.

Lo ji, naya dram shuru ho gaya.

Did anyone try to figure out that Banks refuse 10 Hindus for every Muslim they refuse because of a poor economical background.

Even I was refused bank account in a PSU bank when I was a student. Whats the big deal. They simply don't want to maintain a bank account that is a liability to maintain without much of a return.

Is it so important to paint everything in communal colors.

Poor economic background?? and what it has to do with opening an account in a bank?? those who do not afford to deposit money in bank due to extreme poverty, they dont do. So if someone is going to bank for depositing money it means he/she can afford it.

And there is bank rule if your balance is bellow 5000 rupees they charge you Rs50 or so for giving services