Pakistan army had begun test on MBT 3000

AK has been adopted as a mainstay but we still need to diversify and update our tank fleet, the T-59s and T-85s have to go soon and we are looking at a suitable replacement.

I have been snooping around, just didn't find a thread that I felt I should engage over.
More importantly, the AK is still a light tank as such. And while now an excellent body puncher and easily able to stand up to the opposing side's new mainstay will not give the cutting edge that the Army wants; essentially having a tank that can slice through anything the other side has and let our strike corps achieve their objectives against their holding corps.

Waisee you have to hand it to the Israelis.....they're a very resilient, resourceful and brave nation !
If Pakistan becomes friends with Israel....What is going to happen to our eastern neighbour...all their advance weapons are Israeli made..

More importantly, the AK is still a light tank as such. And while now an excellent body puncher and easily able to stand up to the opposing side's new mainstay will not give the cutting edge that the Army wants; essentially having a tank that can slice through anything the other side has and let our strike corps achieve their objectives against their holding corps.

AK's light chasis and frame is actually a boon to its role. It can engage targets at speed with its systems and avoid most of the enemy's fire but I agree it can't be the only tank we are relying on.

Sethi Sahib itneiii serious reply par reply - Kuch tou garbur haii ! :undecided:

Thora late horaha hai, shayad iss liye?

Sir, can this be achieved with a bigger gun or more powerful bombs?

The newer tanks have an air-conditioning system which keeps the temperature in the late 50s and early 60s but other than that, there's very little that can be done to keep a tank's temperature down. Its got a huge engine, a massive gun and is essentially a box of thick metal. Add to that the desert sun and its terrible place to be in.
Armour Officers are a class of their own, they work in inhumanly hot temperatures and they always know that they will most likely burn to death if hit but someone has to do the job and cavalry is always up to the task. There's a proud tradition of men who sat in their seats and accomplished great things and someone has to punch the holes in the enemy's lines for infantry to use.

Exactly ... Highly Appreciate ..
and if i am not wrong the guys who runs the tanks have different kind of clothes right ?

Never, driving a tank is way easier than driving a car!
For you to say that so easily. I had the opportunity of driving AL-zarrar ,AL-Khalid and the old type 59. In nowshera ,almost drove the type 59 out of Ammangarh and into river Kabul.:lol: After that i swore never to drive a type 59 again. Also because the tank had never been inspected and was lying under the shed.No one used it for a while.

Sir, can this be achieved with a bigger gun or more powerful bombs?
A bigger gun will require redesign to the entire hull which will be infeasible. It is a reason why AK-2 has been shelved for now as the platform has reached its limit when it comes to armament. A ATGM is all that is being added to AK soon.

Exactly ... Highly Appreciate ..
and if i am not wrong the guys who runs the tanks have different kind of clothes right ?

Nope, standard uniform. They wear dangrees though but that's not special in anyway, its just black to deal with the oil and grease stains.

For you to say that so easily. I had the opportunity of driving AL-zarrar ,AL-Khalid and the old type 59. In nowshera ,almost drove the type 59 out of Ammangarh and into river Kabul.:lol: After that i swore never to drive a type 59 again. Also because the tank had never been inspected and was lying under the shed.No one used it for a while.

You're in the Army?

you want to fight or open a desert service station and restaurant ?

bhai i dont want anything , i was just taking a one step ahead of what butt sahab has asked :D

Nope, standard uniform. They wear dangrees though but that's not special in anyway, its just black to deal with the oil and grease stains.

awwwwwwww, i always thought that their uniforms or aka Dangrees were made from some special fabric or something ... well but its good to learn something new :D thanks