Pak Embassy in UK denies film-makers visas to visit Waziristan

Something called "safety" of the "foreign journalists".... it's South Waziristan you know :what:

only documentary Film makers (these two) are not given visa, rest dozens of journalists, human right activists, lawyer(s) are coming... (hopefully as I dont know the status of their visas yet).

so you can see what exactly they want to stop from being documented !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

PTI is invited by Tribes to plea their case to the international community...

Then PTI can easily hire local journos and film-makers to shoot a film... in fact Sharmeen Obaid Chinoy would serve as the perfect person to spotlight this as she won an Oscar and is now a known figure in the international media.

only documentary Film makers (these two) are not given visa, rest dozens of journalists, human right activists, lawyer(s) are coming... (hopefully as I dont know the status of their visas yet).

so you can see what exactly they want to stop from being documented !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leader... I would strongly suggest you re-visit your statement and back it up with concrete evidence.

Get a local journalist to document it - it will provide a source of income for them and no safety issues.

Then PTI can easily hire local journos and film-makers to shoot a film... in fact Sharmeen Obaid Chinoy would serve as the perfect person to spotlight this as she won an Oscar and is now a known figure in the international media.

Leader... I would strongly suggest you re-visit your statement and back it up with concrete evidence.

Get a local journalist to document it - it will provide a source of income for them and no safety issues.

what kind of excuse is this? and secondly by any chance does Chinoy has the PR which is enjoyed by Grayson?

and

http://www.defence.pk/forums/nation...waziristan-against-american-drone-terror.html

you can also follow Pinkcode and CliveSSmith from America to know how many of them are coming,

and follow that British journalist who along with Imran Khan brought up the case of Aafia Saddique Yaunrdley I think, dont know her handle, and sister in law of Tony Blair; Lauren Booth who herself is coming...

P.S. as far as local journalists are concern I donot know who has contacted PTI to cover up the Peace March...

most of them probably would be on their mother's lap, dare I say !!

The chosen place of Peace March is 15 km in the Waziristan and will be secured by Mehsud tribes, people from the drone effected areas will be brought to tell the stories of #LivingUnderDrones and maybe their cause is raised at international community...

Yes and his name is Wajid Shams ul Hassan.

Why does'nt Kayani asks the defence attache in Pak embassy UK to get involved. Put a gun to Wajid's head and he will give you the visa.
Also, he is the father in law of Hina Rabbani Khar. His son is a multimillionaire. Dont know how!! Its all among these a$$hole families.

The chosen place of Peace March is 15 km in the Waziristan and will be secured by Mehsud tribes, people from the drone effected areas will be brought to tell the stories of #LivingUnderDrones and maybe their cause is raised at international community...

15 kms where in Waziristan bhaiyya?

Waziristan is like one large district - any reference point? Will it be 15 km north/south/east/west of Wana?

Or will it be in DI Khan and be sold as a rally in Waziristan?

what kind of excuse is this? and secondly by any chance does Chinoy has the PR which is enjoyed by Grayson?
and
http://www.defence.pk/forums/nation...waziristan-against-american-drone-terror.html
you can also follow Pinkcode and CliveSSmith from America to know how many of them are coming,
and follow that British journalist who along with Imran Khan brought up the case of Aafia Saddique Yaunrdley I think, dont know her handle, and sister in law of Tony Blair; Lauren Booth who herself is coming...

Actually, Chinoy enjoys a far better PR than Garyson and these two film-makers who NOT even renowned. Even the West doesn't know much about these two.

As far as Yvonne Ridley is concerned... her claim to fame has been anything but her journalistic abilities.

P.S. as far as local journalists are concern I donot know who has contacted PTI to cover up the Peace March...
most of them probably would be on their mother's lap, dare I say !!

Leader... quite callous of you to even say that journalists are sitting in their mother's laps.

Pakistanis tend to be subliminally racist, and when they see a gora they have a tendency to under-value their own compatriots.

Wohi baat hai, "gora" aa jaye tau they will talk of protecting them, but where are these parties when Pakistanis are being killed in the tribal areas.

Security in the tribal areas is no joke!

You should read this: Killing scares media away from Waziristan / The Christian Science Monitor - CSMonitor.com

"Hayatullah Khan, who worked for an Urdu-language newspaper and a European photo agency, was rare among journalists in Waziristan, taking risks that many now avoid. Out of some 150 journalists formerly covering the area, only a handful are left in the region.

Reporters such as Haroon Rashid, a BBC correspondent based in Peshawar, say they seldom venture into Waziristan. "We are helpless. At least one party should secure your safety. But no one is willing to help a journalist," says Mr. Rashid."

One year after Hayatullah Khan was killed his widow died in a bomb attack on her home.

------------------------------------------------------------------------

"Threats: "We do our work in an extremely difficult environment and we receive threats from all sides," a Khar-based journalist said, speaking on condition of anonymity. Only a handful of journalists are still active in Bajaur, compared with more than 20 in August.

"All the others stopped working as journalists or relocated elsewhere," the source said. "The difficulties of working as a journalist are unimaginable." Two journalists from Bajaur, Noor Hakim and Muhammad Ibrahim, have been killed since June 2007. Gunmen raided the Khar Press Club last summer and roughed up the journalists who were there, accusing them of hostile reporting. The Taliban often accuse journalists of being ‘agents of America’ or the Pakistani government.

Journalists based in the Tribal Areas told RSF they were forced to censor themselves because of growing threats from the Taliban or their local allies. "I report less than half of what happens in my area," a tribal journalist said.

"We have to censor ourselves if we want to stay alive.""

Daily Times - Leading News Resource of Pakistan

P.S. Kindly avoid picking up few words and start bashing. Don't take points raised out of context. Read the entire post and comment with rationality. Thanks in advance.

Okay... won't nit-pick but you posted your reply in the wrong thread me thinks... :pop:

Around 50 Anti Drone activists from US are going to join Imran Khan in the #PeaceMarch. 2 of them already here. Been showing them Lhr. @SikanderFyazPTI

@Elmo by local I meant the local TV anchors... who often claim that they are not allowed to go there... lets see if they use their channel to report human rights violations in drone effected areas ?

and the peace march shall start on 6 oct from D.I.Khan to 7 oct in Kotkay, Waziristan where the locals will tell about their lives under drone terror.

P.S.

and PTI has the permission from government of Pakistan... they got it yesterday !!

The idea to take foreign journalists was to give the problem a wider outreach. If local journalists go, their voices wont be heard beyond the borders of the country. Our government is hopeless. This includes army as well.

So PTI initiative is great, provided it is allowed to succeed. The way things are, it looks unlikely but I m not pessimistic. Things will change for good inshallah.

then what is she waiting for, she can see the so called poor oppressed women of pakistan being burnt through acid, but can she really see the terror of the drones on common pakistan, she is the biggest american film award winner, why do you think she will make any such documentary which upset the americans by showing them in the bad light

This is outrageous... 4000 CIA agents get visa to Pakistan overnight But Two journalists are denied visa... WTH?

Carol Grayson and Yacine Helali will inshallah be joining us in London on 6th October for the anti drone protest outside US Embassay. @PTI official

The fact is that the film maker will knw the hidden truth of wazaristan......