Nomination of DG ISI is my authority: PM Imran Khan says in cabinet meeting today

It's his call absolutely. Those concerned should have never put out the bulletin on the appointment of the new DGISI without conferring with the PM's office and getting his green light.

I also think that Gen Bajwa needs to move on. He should retire early and give the other officers a chance. The country is 70+ years old yet we still make these appointments as if we are circa 1948 with no other Pakistani officers to take up the helm of the army. These term extensions are nonsense and this practice should be discarded altogether.

No one officer is indispensable.

IK is right. Army has no business becoming and continuing to become a party in politics. Most of us have given them the benefit of the doubt far too long. Not everything Mary Baji says about the establishment is false. Yeah her party benefitted from them but this needs to end now.If they think democracy needs crutches or a "lending hand" then just impose a perpetual marshalla

I always said that IK would have to face down the army to assert control when the time would come. He is following Erdogans playbook and should eliminate the corruption within the army.

Army is not above the state. All institutions are answerable to the law. 99% of military is honest but many are sellouts and national traitors.

IK and Army are on the same page. Bas awam ko chutiya banarahai hain to improve IK image that he is not Army's puppet.

Glass is half empty dear friend, awam kai samnay image kharab hu raha hai na kai acha, mehngai aur mismanagement of almost everything wasn't enough kai ye naya drama shru kar diya, this was mishandled to mammoth proportions.

It's his call absolutely. Those concerned should have never put out the bulletin on the appointment of the new DGISI without conferring with the PM's office and getting his green light.

From ZAB to YRG to NS to SKA, chief consults PM verbally and reach an agreement on such replacement in person, that was a tradition. This time too replacement item being consulted with PM from past 6 months continuously but PM avoided agreement in sheer arrogance and consistent personal vendetta against Opposition carried out by Chief/Faiz & Co. How long this situation can continue? When Nawaz and Maryam calls out Chief and DGs name in public continuously? it hurts rank and file beyond repair. When your governance being degraded by each passing day and unpopularity among masses erodes out fast how can institution face public flakes on your name unwavering? This bulletin is forced upon from institution!!

I also think that Gen Bajwa needs to move on. He should retire early and give the other officers a chance. The country is 70+ years old yet we still make these appointments as if we are circa 1948 with no other Pakistani officers to take up the helm of the army.

Chief needs to move on but not DG? Just thinks as Pakistani not as PTI Supporter. Institutions are important not Individuals why PM is stuck with Current DG? Answer it first!!

These term extensions are nonsense and this practice should be discarded altogether.

No one officer is indispensable.

Exactly, but reminds you here the current chief is the harbinger of Musharraf's Anti-PMLN legacy. He along with DG are the only remaining supporter of that legacy the whole institution is moves on for the time being bcz battle is already lost, there is no point of defending the undependable anymore. PMLN is going to replace donkey king very soon, whole PTI, PM, DG, Chief will be on ....!!

@M. Sarmad
I just tolds you earlier there is no chance of faiz to become COAS even if he gets a core, he is technically sidelined by the institution. Chief is only following Institution lines atm the will of the majority. He is just lame duck. The reasons are obvious, No needs to elaborate.

Ideally, the chief of ISI should be a civilian, why do we need a military general to run a spy agency? What expertise would he have that a civilian wont?
Yes I should definitely take my Tesla to my Honda 70 mechanic. He'd definitely know what to do with it.

so today is Monday, they were supposed to take charge of their respective roles, what's happening, like people have mentioned before, it has been tradition that Chief discusses the name and everything is done before hand, it's not that IK was just told on Thursday of this month "Bhai jan woh naya ISI chief lana hai kal tak" it must have been going for months, some might find Bajwa incompetent but lets not drag the institution of armed forces here, there are rules and procedures which follow regardless of personalities

IK is just again proving that he is a stubborn chutya