AKUH doctor 'sacked' over sending FB friend request to Sharmeen Obaid's sister

There was a breach of data. Ever heard of data protection? It is a sackable offence in the West. Pakistan working environments need to stress this to their employees.

Bibi you need to update yourself about "how things work in Pakistan", short trips and meeting few people don't count. I appreciate your genuine effort at trying to educate me about data protection ......... however, FB ids are no sensitive data here in Pakistan ........ and no hospital asks you for your FB ids in the first place. Come up with some reasonable excuse to paint a professional doctor guilty, some Pakistani excuse and not some What would have happened in West excuse (By the way Harvey episode tells a different story). And to be very honest if that doctor wanted he could have without letting this insecure lady know what happened.

Bro it is not the matter of being innocent, actually i used to be sometimes before but now I have learned so many bad words and I even use them...really disgusting of me..

I don't know how bald men are looked upon in Pakistan but in west women really like them or at least do not dislike them. That's why I say if this Dr moves to UK where Pakistani medical degree is fully recognised and even for USA ...he just needs to clear steps of USMLE.

That's really true..if a woman wants to take on a random man in a street in Pakistan..all she needs to do is to scream this guy harassed me and her "brothers" will appear from every nook and cranny and beat the crap out of the man without asking a single question.
That not the worst part according to me. You should see the gender discrimination against men when applying for a job in Pakistan. A pretty girl is more likely to get a job over a highly qualified guy.

If is was a simply a friend request than I think that is total arrogance. A friend request by a doctor to his patient is not a harassment and no particular family enjoys extra privileges. A simple solution was to reject the request...

The stupid doctor got what he deserved and some misogynists on the forum are having their usual temper tantrums.

How exactly is this misogyny ? Would you like to pay over a crore rupees in fees and work your *** off for decades to get to the position where you at and then get expelled for something as simple as sending a friend request ?

That not the worst part according to me. You should see the gender discrimination against men when applying for a job in Pakistan. A pretty girl is more likely to get a job over a highly qualified guy.
It is not so much in my field i.e. IT & engineering/applied sciences but in marketing and business administration and other administrative positions, pretty girls are given unjust advantage and often merit is overlooked which is really wrong.

I think every women, and i am sure this is not limited to Pakistan, will tell you that if they have an open profile, they will get friend requests. I know from personal experience, my wife showed me her facebook messenger full of messages requesting "frandshep", she had a DP of our family (her, me and our daughter) and one guy went as far as to write that the guy(me that is) she is standing with is not good looking and she is much prettier.

Rules are simple, if you have a social media account you will receive friend requests. If you don't want to be friends, click "Ignore", if you don't want people to send you friend request, don't make your profile public. Or the best way to avoid being "Harassed" on the internet, "STAY OFF THE GOD DAMN SOCIAL MEDIA SITES"

Bibi you need to update yourself about "how things work in Pakistan", short trips and meeting few people don't count. I appreciate your genuine effort at trying to educate me about data protection ......... however, FB ids are no sensitive data here in Pakistan ........ and no hospital asks you for your FB ids in the first place. Come up with some reasonable excuse to paint a professional doctor guilty, some Pakistani excuse and not some What would have happened in West excuse (By the way Harvey episode tells a different story). And to be very honest if that doctor wanted he could have without letting this insecure lady know what happened.

Bhai Saab, The point is you do not breach customer/patient confidentiality unless required by authorities. This is a breach of data protection. It is sensitive information.

I do agree in Pakistan working ethics are different and not many are aware of it, hence why I emphasised it should be stressed. Also this incident does not accumulate to 'harassment' as it was a one off incident. If it was continuous even after decline - then that is harassment. The Dr shouldn't have been sacked and maybe a temporary suspension or disciplinary procedure would have sufficed as the sack is a really harsh decision.

Bhai Saab, The point is you do not breach customer/patient confidentiality unless required by authorities. This is a breach of data protection. It is sensitive information.

I do agree in Pakistan working ethics are different and not many are aware of it, hence why I emphasised it should be stressed. Also this incident does not accumulate to 'harassment' as it was a one off incident. If it was continuous even after decline - then that is harassment. The Dr shouldn't have been sacked and maybe a temporary suspension or disciplinary procedure would have sufficed as the sack is a really harsh decision.

I am sorry but there is no "Data" that was supposed to be protected in this case, a social media profile can be searched using simply the full name of the person. If the doctor used her name to search her profile and sent a friend request, there is no breach of doctor/patient confidentiality here.

Yes there is. This was not a 'random' friend request. Her name was searched via her medical papers. It was unethical and unprofessional, but it shouldn't have resulted to a sack - maybe some other form of disciplinary.

Breaking confidentiality would be leaking medical history or personal details. Hell he didn't even leak her name Sharmeen decided to do it on her own (smart, amirite ?). When he's at home browsing Facebook he's not a doctor he's a mango man who has complete right to add whoever he wants , like iv said if you have your account open to the public it means you're perfectly fine with strangers approaching you.

Behn g .......... try understanding its a facebook id, and how did the doctor breach any confidentiality by sending an invitation to join a female's followers? ....... her fb id is not some data that may have been provided by the her to hospital on its request. Its no data in the first place. And doctor has every right to use his facebook account the way he wants ...... its his personal account and hospital should have nothing to do with it. That is his freedom.

Work ethics in Pakistan are perfectly fine for people who mind their work and give it the top priority. The problem with Pakistanis is if its female accusing some male ..... everyone starts accusing the male.

Yes there is. This was not a 'random' friend request. Her name was searched via her medical papers. It was unethical and unprofessional, but it shouldn't have resulted to a sack - maybe some other form of disciplinary.
He was sacked because Sharmeen the Oscar winner aunty wants some air time on media and AKUH don't want that their name unnecessary dragged into all this so they sacked him, now this poor fella with 4 kids would face hard time to get job in any other hospital.
Probably he like her searched her name and send a simple request but the people who don't have piety and compassion for other persons wants to cash the opportunity and ruined not only his professional life but probably his personal life as well.

What a witch she is Sharmeed ko kabhi Sharm nahien aati.

Behn g .......... try understanding its a facebook id, and how did the doctor breach any confidentiality by sending an invitation to join a female's followers? ....... her fb id is not some data that may have been provided by the her to hospital on its request. Its no data in the first place. And doctor has every right to use his facebook account the way he wants ...... its his personal account and hospital should have nothing to do with it. That is his freedom.

Work ethics in Pakistan are perfectly fine for people who mind their work and give it the top priority. The problem with Pakistanis is if its female accusing some male ..... everyone starts accusing the male.

He magically guessed her full name? He was treating a patient, even IF he added her outside work. It wasn't consensual.

Let me make it clear a forename and surname are still classed as 'data' - it's a concern you're not aware of this because then you can also expect Nadra for sharing your information 'outside of the workplace' or your accountants disclosing your account details 'outside of workplace'. The level of sensitivity is a different matter. Small or big it is STILL data and should be protected. The friend request wasn't from a random stranger but a doctor who was treating the patient. They were on professional terms - unless otherwise.

I'm not sure if this is a norm that's considered 'normal practice' in Pakistan but it isn't and shouldn't be.

Nonetheless he shouldn't have been sacked, simply because there is no clear distinction of work ethics or misconduct elements within work places in Pakistan.

He magically guessed her full name? He was treating a patient, even IF he added her outside work. It wasn't,Let me make it clear a forename and surname are still classed as 'data' - it's a concern you're not aware of this because then you can also expect Nadra for sharing your information 'outside of the workplace' or your accountants disclosing your account details 'outside of workplace'. The level of sensitivity is a different matter. Small or big it is STILL data and should be protected. The friend request wasn't from a random stranger but a doctor who was treating the patient. They were on professional terms - unless otherwise.

Can you produce a signed contract / bond by that doctor that he won't remember the names of his patients?

He didn't share any data with anyone .......... why you no understand that. He used internet to send an add request to one of his patients .......... if he is married his wife has access to his FB account, he may have wanted to join the followers of a sister of a celebrity ...... how do you prove that his intent was malicious? You are acting like people who felt insecure when they saw Faisal mosque lit in pink ...... because somehow word breast made them feel uncomfortable with the whole idea ....... and they thought its blasphemous.