When will India host the Olympics?

Its less about cost of construction and more about utilization. The countries you are comparing have fraction of population.

Our ENTIRE Olympic squad in 2016 was 117 athletes. Of that 2 were close to world class. (no gold)

Building new stadiums will not change that.

Even if you cram a single stadium with 1000 mediocre athletes instead of 100 decent ones, how much of a difference will it really make ?

The only thing it will do is make the grounds smelly and degrade faster.

6 lakh spent on an engineering student in IIT produces world class Engineer. We spend 31 Lac per student of medicine in AIIMS. Let us spend the same amount on Athletes and let them become world class Athletes.

How is that unfair ?

At least that doctor will pass out and save lives and will continue to do so all his life, what will that athlete do once the Olympics is over ? look for a government job in Railways ?

Our ENTIRE Olympic squad in 2016 was 117 athletes. Of that 2 were close to world class. (no gold)
ENTIRELY wrong. Those two who won medals were not favorites to win, and we had a lot of world class players. World class players are not just found, but created too, using facilities.

Build new stadiums will not change that
You are extremely pessimist.

Even if you cram a single stadium with 1000 mediocre athletes instead of 100 decent ones, how much of a difference will it really make ?

The only thing it will do is make the grounds smelly and degrade faster.
Lets not talk when you know nothing. I can't argue more on this.

ENTIRELY wrong. Those two who won medals were not favorites to win, and we had a lot of world class players. World class players are not just found, but created too, using facilities.

World class players are created when you have an sustainable Eco system that can create them. This cannot be ARTIFICIALLY CREATED like what China or USSR did since India has moved away from the soviet model of doing things.

When sports players create sufficient value for society , society will naturally evolve to provide ecosystem for them. This evolutionary process is slow and natural (the way it should be).

You are extremely pessimist.
Lets not talk when you know nothing. I can't argue more on this.

I am a pragmatist. You are free to quit.

World class players are created when you have an sustainable Eco system that can create them. This cannot be ARTIFICIALLY CREATED like what China or USSR did since India has moved away from the soviet model of doing things.

When sports players create sufficient value for society , society will naturally evolve to provide ecosystem for them. This evolutionary process is slow and natural (the way it should be).
No one denies about ecosystem. Infact facilities and ecosystem complement each other. Did you know national games are held every year and that many national players are deprived of world class facilities?

I am a pragmatist. You are free to quit.
Its just rant to prove your point. On a side note, you should stop thinking about poor state of sports in our country.

I hope not for another 25-30 years. There are other major issues.

Not before 2030 but really India doesn't need to host them for another 20 years, these games are nothing but a money laundering scam for global elites, they give NOTHING to the host nation's people.

How ?

How much will a stadium cost and how many Indians can use it ?

Let me educate you. One stadium will cost around 700 million $. Maintenance will cost at least 20 million $ every year.

Assuming we maintain it for 20 years, that is 400 million $. So total coast is 1100 Million $.

Now how many athletes will use that stadium ? maybe 100 athlete's.

That is 11 Million $ per Athlete or around Rs. 72 Crores PER athlete.

We spend Rs. 6 Lakh per child per year in IIT.

Now tell me, which provides better ROI ?
You can always import foreign athletes to compete for India like UK. The new stadium will attract foreign athletes

Add shooting, we can improve in that too.
View attachment 328350
You can change the rules to allow each country to use their own guns to compete. Will make india competitive if use guns made in India

You can always import foreign athletes to compete for India like UK. The new stadium will attract foreign athletes

...are you saying that you want us to import chinese kids to perform in the new stadium for our entertainment ?

Are they cheaper by the dozen ? but I think we will pass.

...are you saying that you want us to import chinese kids to perform in the new stadium for our entertainment ?

Are they cheaper by the dozen ? but I think we will pass.
Where in my post did I say that?

You can change the rules to allow each country to use their own guns to compete. Will make india competitive if use guns made in India
Wish we could, but the rule changes have less to do with games and more to do with sales.

I'm really surprised by the response from the Indian members here. It wasn't very long ago that almost every Indian person I came across online wanted India to host the Olympics. There were many articles written in the Indian press on this topic. The consensus was that India should host the Olympics by 2020 or 2024 at the latest.

Why the sudden reverse of public opinion on this matter? What happened?

I'm really surprised by the response from the Indian members here. It wasn't very long ago that almost every Indian person I came across online wanted India to host the Olympics. There were many articles written in the Indian press on this topic. The consensus was that India should host the Olympics by 2020 or 2024 at the latest.

Why the sudden reverse of public opinion on this matter? What happened?
Its not that no one wants India to host Olympics at all, but that no one wants India to host Olympics right now. There are some problems which needs to be dealt first.