When will India host the Olympics?

Hopefully maybe next half of century, CWG 2010 has left deep scare within Indian masses and maybe political class, Also considering the performance in recent Olympics it doesn't make any sense in hosting the Olympics sooner then later.

In fact most will welcome if government invest in sports infrastructure instead of hosting gala competition

When the medal haul improves as it most likely will, the attitude will definitely change. ROI doesnt have to be monetary in nature.

Monetary ROI is the ONLY measurable and Quantitative data.

Rest is all mental masturbation and ego massage. Money talks, BS walks.

When this attitude change, so be it. But as of now this kind of hair brained scheme will find little support in India.

No need for that .

Our first goal should be to make India a multi sports nation . Improvements already happening though they are only baby steps . Following is the list which I wish to see in India

American Football of Top level
Baseball of top level
Football of top level
Basketball of Top level
Kabaddi
Hockey
Tennis
Athletics

How?

Will we find someone to use them most of the time if not all the time? & will they be used for future games. Every organiser wants a new stadium built . Most of the times these stadiums remain unused...

Greece faced quite some losses & a huge bill right.

Same with Brazil. This thing is too expensive for us.

Unless we are the location for the next 3 games/Permanent one. We shouldn't get it
Olympic standard infrastructure will surely help India (due to its huge population) in long run. And i am talking of post 2036 only, we first need to improve other things in our country, its not worth to organise right now, but will be later for sure, thats what i meant. Some other country will keep hosting Olympics in future afterall.

India can host the games (money is not a problem), but we have other key issues to be addressed.
India will be there very soon.

If you host it....you are going to have to deal with a lot of spotlight on poverty and how you were heartless enough to host an extravagant game without helping the poor etc....Brazil did not come out of this event with a better image.

Olympic standard infrastructure will surely help India (due to its huge population) in long run. And i am talking of post 2036 only, we first need to improve other things in our country, its not worth to organise right now, but will be later for sure, thats what i meant. Some other country will keep hosting Olympics in future afterall.

How ?

How much will a stadium cost and how many Indians can use it ?

Let me educate you. One stadium will cost around 700 million $. Maintenance will cost at least 20 million $ every year.

Assuming we maintain it for 20 years, that is 400 million $. So total coast is 1100 Million $.

Now how many athletes will use that stadium ? maybe 100 athlete's.

That is 11 Million $ per Athlete or around Rs. 72 Crores PER athlete.

We spend Rs. 6 Lakh per child per year in IIT.

Now tell me, which provides better ROI ?

First all officers who went to RIO with our athletes, need to be fired. All of them. Those who didn't give water and energy drinks to Jaisha ji, those who took business class seats meant for athletes, 5 star lounges taken from athletes by government officials etc.

Sack them all; not transfer them and charge them with corruption.

Then, we need to build quality sports infrastructure in India; minus cricket.

We need more sponsorships like Indian Soccer League, Kabaddi League etc who can create a stable set of events and encourage athletic talent to emerge in events like track race, sprint, hurdles, swimming, judo, wrestling, boxing, discuss throw, javelin throw, badminton etc.

Only the likes of athletes who are retiring from active sports should be allowed to head, manage and decide for sports committees representing the country.

Not a bunch of pot-bellied, corrupt government officials who only shuffle papers around and play politics.

Unless we sort this out, we cannot expect to make any serious impact on sporting culture of our country.

Personally, I would love to see Mary Kom head the Indian Olympic Committee.

If you host it....you are going to have to deal with a lot of spotlight on poverty and how you were heartless enough to host an extravagant game without helping the poor etc....Brazil did not come out of this event with a better image.

Poverty will continue for sometime as the poor actually produce more kids than middle income or upper income groups in India, despite repeated government advice and announcements.

However, you are right.

We have more pressing matters; first to clear out our blot of an image.

Making Brazil's mistake will be dangerous.

First all officers who went to RIO with our athletes, need to be fired. All of them. Those who didn't give water and energy drinks to Jaisha ji, those who took business class seats meant for athletes, 5 star lounges taken from athletes by government officials etc.

Sack them all; not transfer them and charge them with corruption.

Then, we need to build quality sports infrastructure in India; minus cricket.

We need more sponsorships like Indian Soccer League, Kabaddi League etc who can create a stable set of events and encourage athletic talent to emerge in events like track race, sprint, hurdles, swimming, judo, wrestling, boxing, discuss throw, javelin throw, badminton etc.

Only the likes of athletes who are retiring from active sports should be allowed to head, manage and decide for sports committees representing the country.

Not a bunch of pot-bellied, corrupt government officials who only shuffle papers around and play politics.

Unless we sort this out, we cannot expect to make any serious impact on sporting culture of our country.

Personally, I would love to see Mary Kom head the Indian Olympic Committee.

Olympic Silver medal winner Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore is not only a Member of Parliament, but is also a Minister of State of I&B Ministry.

He is neither in the sports ministry nor in the Indian Olympic committee.

Possibly because he does not want it. When former Olympians themselves do not want this crappy ministry or posts because it offers nothing in terms of growth or ability to serve India, why would others bother ?

Mary Kom will turn into just another bureaucrat because of the lack of public will / public support for sports.

Olympic Silver medal winner Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore is not only a Member of Parliament, but is also a Minister of State of I&B Ministry.

He is neither in the sports ministry nor in the Indian Olympic committee.

Possibly because he does not want it. When former Olympians themselves do not want this crappy ministry or posts because it offers nothing in terms of growth or ability to serve India, why would others bother ?

Mary Kom will turn into just another bureaucrat because of the lack of public will / public support for sports.

This is why sports must have a separate set of rules from government working style.

First sports has to demonstrate it adds value to the life of common Indian.

Everything flows from there.

The way our politicians think "Roti kapda makaan" still being an issue and poverty remaining endless, I think if they start thinking beyond these issues, only then it can do something about it.

Sometimes governments need to 'move on' to solve persisting issues.

Sports affect the common Indian in a major way.

Encouraging a sports-oriented life instill a sense of team-work, cooperation, mental and physical fitness among youth; key lessons to manage life better.

And you don't get that by crunching numbers with glasses in front of computers all the time and memorising already proven facts in classes.

Sports teach you the real lessons of life and also provide for the livelihood of many people.

Think about how many Indian brands of sports goods could come up with the promotion of non-cricket sports.

Punjab is already a big manufacturer of sports goods. It could compete by local brands also tapping into the potential.

The way our politicians think "Roti kapda makaan" still being an issue and poverty remaining endless, I think if they start thinking beyond these issues, only then it can do something about it.

Sometimes governments need to 'move on' to solve persisting issues.

Sports affect the common Indian in a major way.

Encouraging a sports-oriented life instill a sense of team-work, cooperation, mental and physical fitness among youth; key lessons to manage life better.

And you don't get that by crunching numbers with glasses in front of computers all the time and memorising already proven facts in classes.

Sports teach you the real lessons of life and also provide for the livelihood of many people.

Think about how many Indian brands of sports goods could come up with the promotion of non-cricket sports.

Punjab is already a big manufacturer of sports goods. It could compete by local brands also tapping into the potential.

You do not need olympic sports to install team work, fitness or even learn how to manage life. There are always alternative methods and lifestyles.

Gulli danda is not an Olympic sport, nor is kabbadi. Nor is Malkhamb. Nor is jalikattu, neither is Yoga etc. etc.

Also, pakistan is a HUGE manufacturer of football and cricket equipment's. It has done no wonders for them either.