Watch us Indians fight each other

I would still agree though that Punjab,haryana,rajasthan,Himachal,Uttranchal has a martial climate more than others.

there is nothing called martial race...its a myth created by british

Same is true for south indians as well .About economic strata , yes that is because U.P( except western U.P) and bihar are very poor .

most labourers even in other north indians states and even in delhi are from these regions but we don't complain .southies have a problem for some reason it seems .

In south noody complains dude,everyone is laid back,sedantary and happy.But what he said is right,

Most of the development is happening in the south and in the north it is only in Punjab,Haryana and Delhi.

That way all of india's blue collar is in the south and white collar is there in all places.Thats all.

Persay,the most and only cosmopolitan place in India is Bombay.Nothing ll ever change that.

2 things i dont like about andhra
when i say less spice i mean LESS SPICE and I am not sentenced to burn my MOUTH

And next morning something else :P. Anyways, Kolhapuri food is similar with lots of red chillies and few cities of Uttarakhand. Once in Rudraprayag hotel ordered les spice the red chilly powder was floating over yellow dal and we lfet whole food.

seond when i say less rice i dont mean a BIG BOWL FULL OF RICE.

Your ordered rice was with veg curry or Sambhar. They give more for Curd rice which obviously you will need.

People started refuting the comments to the original poster and dragged themselves into the same South Vs North discussion.

I dont know how people compare such things. North have plenty of states in comparison to South. If I take Language based differentiation then Tamil originated states are 4 and while Devnagari based plenty of others. This south vs North division was too much before 2000 but after IT boom everything got changed.

Due to evolution of Infosys and other org, North Indian people started migrating to Bangalore and Chennai while for the same monitoring and high positions South Indians later moved to North India. Now population of North > Population of South. So Changes looks more obvious for N Indians.

In Delhi, RK Puram & Munirka area is full of S Indians and Noida is another area due to HCL. I have been to bangalore, Mumbai and Currently in Delhi, I found the best cosmopolitan city is Mumbai. Reason is it is having, Gujratis, Bhaiyyas (us), Parsis, Marathi, Malyalis (they love to go to Mumbai in comparison to Chennai, dont know why?), Telugus and then Tamilians. I never found such a large variation in any other city. Another point is, except Shiv Sena, Attitude in mumbai is truly cosmopolitan.

They like the weather and fish.It is a lot like Kerala.Chennai is opposite,hot,humid wicked sea not much fun like in Mumbai,but there are lots of mallus in Chennai also.

---------- Post added at 12:56 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:54 AM ----------

A bit of a generalization but, in my experience, south Indians/Tamils/Bengalis tend to be more intellectual, whereas north Indian/Punjabi/Biharis tend to be more macho.

Quite true bit again these are 1940s stereotypes,rural folk are macho in all places and city folk are intellectual,sophisticated and pseudo-macho in all places.

---------- Post added at 12:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:56 AM ----------

4th..When common people in places like Jammu where i am from see terrorists killing all of their family members who had nothing to do with politics..who had just went to attent a wedding ceremony and get killed for no purpose want to join the Army and cleanse their land of all these terrorist viruses.

5th some people here try to continue their family tradition of serving in the army..their grand father,fathers brothers all serve in the defence forces coz it is considered as the most respected job.

6th as the border is very close to north indian states they will be the one who are first in harms way if there would be any war..so people feel a duty to send their sons to serve the nation.

Thats true,i know a lot of my jatt friends,they have a mortal hatred for pakistan even though they r quite sane,otherwise.

2 things i dont like about andhra
when i say less spice i mean LESS SPICE and I am not sentenced to burn my MOUTH
seond when i say less rice i dont mean a BIG BOWL FULL OF RICE.

I can’t imagine Andhra food without spice.....but spice you are getting in andra restaurant very less compared to villages ….we use chilies as side dish for dall…

same here...curd rice tastes the best with green chillies and small onions......and im from tn....

ok one last thing i need to know from non-southies.......in ahmedabad, mumbai and pune where i worked all the people had a peculiar way of eating dosa...first they would eat with only spoon even if it was paper dosa......second they will eat raw dosa first and then eat spoonfuls of chutney/sambhar.....do all the people eat like this only or this is limited to those employed in software....those wannabe-hifis.....? it looks totally awkward like drinking boiled water first and then putting sugar and tea powder down your throat...

and another thing...do you guys always eat chapati/roti with two hands..?

Thambi,let me answer this as i have been around,

Two things that influences north india a lot is british table manners and lack of sanskrit language in their tongue.

They eat dosa like they eat roti,sabzi,dal thats all.

But thats the flaw they should get Dosa and Chilli powder-Channa dal-Til Ka Tel mix,which is the standard way of eating dosai.Then i guess they have ti kick away the british apparatus of fork and spoon and trust ur hands and dive in.

---------- Post added at 01:05 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:04 AM ----------

Where will Maharashtra and Goa be counted?

North or South.

Goa is international/south.

Maharshtra is on its own.Perfectly in the middle.

Thambi,let me answer this as i have been around,

Two things that influences north india a lot is british table manners and lack of sanskrit language in their tongue.

They eat dosa like they eat roti,sabzi,dal thats all.

But thats the flaw they should get Dosa and Chilli powder-Channa dal-Til Ka Tel mix,which is the standard way of eating dosai.Then i guess they have ti kick away the british apparatus of fork and spoon and trust ur hands and dive in.

Sakthi masala idli podi...lol...but i would any day swear on coconut chutney....though idli podi is a trusted companion when your mom is not there to prepare the chutney....

IF you see a typical N Indian dosa, They try to make it for N Indian test like putting more potato, Kaju etc missing dals/ curry patta.

If Chapati is made bit fatso or it is mix flour (including, gram flour, barley flour) then it becomes more hard and becomes almost impossible to be broken by one hand so such guys dont have option. :(

Kya babu,Garam Roti(Gehu/Missi/Makki kisike bhi) kabhi hard ni hoti.

Kazhugu tell me one thing..when you guys have an amazing dish like Chicken chettinad and malabar paratha why do you guys always try to make dosa and idli popular?

Every south Indian i meet will say dosa and idli are his favourite dish..i can unerstand if you are vegetarian but if u r non veggie u must definitely promote Chicken Chettinad..a lot of Non South Indians dont know about it.

well,it is true hardcore mallu non-veg/tamil non-veg/andhra hindu non-veg(meaning non hyderabadi) are not marketed well,which is a shame.

The deal is most of the restaurers in the north and mangalorean people and they promote Idli/Dosa because they are snacks and quick to make and dosa does have a lot of fans.

---------- Post added at 01:10 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:09 AM ----------

there is nothing called martial race...its a myth created by british

I meant martial climate which means a soldier's life,yeah **** the brits.

---------- Post added at 01:12 AM ---------- Previous post was at 01:10 AM ----------

Sakthi masala idli podi...lol...but i would any day swear on coconut chutney....though idli podi is a trusted companion when your mom is not there to prepare the chutney....

In my home,It is never chutney,It is always home made idli molagai podi-vengaya sambhar for dosai/idli.

Chutney,not much.

Kya babu,Garam Roti(Gehu/Missi/Makki kisike bhi) kabhi hard ni hoti.

Illae Thambi, I was talking about normal Chapatis which is usually cold. Hot one is no dobt can easily be torn with 3 fingers.

I would still agree though that Punjab,haryana,rajasthan,Himachal,Uttranchal has a martial climate more than others.

I meant martial climate which means a soldier's life,yeah **** the brits.

What are you talking about??

You mean more people from in those states enlist in the army?

In my home,It is never chutney,It is always home made idli molagai podi-vengaya sambhar for dosai/idli.

Chutney,not much.

in andhra idli with groundnut chutney or karivepaku podi or ginger chutney goes well