Things I miss about Pakistan in the US

Missing something is not thanklessness...Thanklessness would be comparing the god given beauty, or complaining about good that she have...Say good education, security or even a proper job...If she was in any way trying to compare those or cry they werent good enough, THAT would fall in thanklessness....

When a mother misses her child who is overseas, is she being untahnkful that the son has a job overseas? I dont think so!

As for getting assimilated, we cant judge as she never mentioned if she is going around wearing a burqa or demanding Shariah in USA....She could be assimilated but just miss her land, how bad is that?

Do you know when the White people went around they even brought their own furniture with them? Yea that is how much they assimilated with the locals they "ruled" from Spaniards going to S.America to to the Dutch going to Indonesia and the British going to Malaysia...even their flowers/ plants and even the furniture was dragged along....NOW THAT was lack of assimilation and yet no one utters a single word!

I havent mentioned about the S.Indian lady till this post...You alright there?
Because 'white' came from a superior, more advanced society and culture; why would they get assimilated into a culture that was inferior to their's? Besides, while in States, I have come across many such 'confused' Pakistanis who live in States, earn in States, get all their livelihood from States and yet sing Pakistan and on top of that complaint about everything in States. I hate such 'complexed' people for I believe your country is the one that enables you to live a respectable life, that enables you to get your kids educated. If someone is missing adulterated dirty food of Pakistan, bribe culture, extortion, street crimes, dirty eyes of bystanders, streets full of dust and filth, well, they are most welcome to go back.

Because i thought you were living somewhere in Europe :)

@syedali73 why you are getting so serious and angry? If you are living in UK or USA dont mean you cannot miss certain stuffs in Pakistan. Every country has its +ve and -ve
I am getting angry because I am tired with the attitude of Pakistanis by in large who are thankless morons. There is after all a reason why Pakistanis are not respected abroad because they never express loyalty towards their adopted nations and cultures. If everything was so rosy back home, why the hell did they leave it behind and came to the new country? Chatni, Achar, every damn freaking thing is available in States, even the cancer-causing 'gutka' and 'chhalia', God knows why and how US FDA let them import such poisons.

Because 'white' came from a superior, more advanced society and culture; why would they get assimilated into a culture that was inferior to there's? Besides, while in States, I have come across many such 'confused' Pakistanis who live in States, earn in States, get all their livelihood from States and yet sing Pakistan and on top of that complaint about everything in States. I hate such 'complexed' people for I believe your country is the one that enables you to live a respectable life, that enables you to get your kids educated. If someone is missing adulterated dirty food of Pakistan, bribe culture, extortion, street crimes, dirty eyes of bystanders, streets full of dust and filth, well, they are most welcome to go back.
wow so you mean when some Pakistani live in west then they should blindly adopt everything good or bad in western cultures lol I dont think we should forget our cultural values or Islamic value no matter where we live. Most Pakistani people live in western countries for money not for love of their western culture which i think have good or bad in it just like any other culture so we should only adopt positive stuffs from their culture :)

No blindly of-course and nobody is asking them not to follow Islam. Fact is, following Islam is lot more easier and guess what... safer in States than it is in Pakistan where you are not sure if you'll be return back in one piece after saying prayers. By in large, western culture is far superior and advanced than that of ours and adopting or at-least getting assimilated into that culture is not wrong at all. Culture are living entities, and we learn good traits from other cultures all the time and we must.

You never stop loving your mother when she is going through tough times. Terrorism is not in Pakistani culture. People leave their countries for certain reasons and they dont leave it permanently as they still have family and some emotional connection back home . I am not saying we should not learn positive stuffs no matter which culture it come from and no culture is entirely evil or good. Its your personal opinion if you think western culture is superior just because they have better institutions, political stability and implementation of rules and laws in there which has nothing to do with culture.

Western culture is indeed superior because it values individual's life and protects it. Not like in Pakistan where the Mullah has to give azan and sermon while setting amplifier to its max volume and destroy neighbors comfort regardless of someone may be preparing for exams, someone may be ill and needed rest, someone was doing something else, no, the Mullah has to ensure that miles around 'his' mosque everybody is listening to his rants. Pakistan where everything from dried milk for children to the meat sold at the butcher's shop and the vegetables sold on the 'redhi' is impure and adulterated. Pakistan where once you get involved into a civil case, only your son or grandson will get to hear the verdict and that too often in favor of your opponent because he managed to 'deal' better with the Police, lawyers, and the judge. Pakistan where a woman cant walk safe from the dirty eyes of bystanders. Pakistan where we throw our garbage in other's or in from of other's doorway. You call this culture? Well, I send hazaar laanat on this culture and am happy with the western culture that is free of all these ills.

Just to help this discussion along, please keep this in mind:

nostalgia: noun
"a sentimental longing or wistful affection for the past, typically for a period or place with happy personal associations."

Life goes ever onwards, but happy associations from the past, whatever they might be, form the basis of nostalgia. Thus, the OP is entirely correct in her stance.

you are absolutely right about the difference in Pakistani and Canadian Pakistanis, A Canadian Pakistani would know that Samosa made a south Indian lady is not a South Indian food, just like french pastry made by Italian chef would not be called Italian food.
Point is south asia as a whole is pretty diverse. Indians r also no exception. Their south indians r different breed altogether and so is their culture. A samosa or whatever dish made by them cant be representative of the entire indian taste let alone of another sovereign country.

U have to be here and taste that thing or others here to know what is what and who is who. Even in pakistan a samosa has many forms and they depend on the location of the country and its people's lifestyle and psyche in taste. Like for example Baryani made in Sindhi is vastly different then made in karachi. Sindhi made biryani is called Sindhi Biryani. And if u go to other places lets say in north towards punjab, southern punjab has different taste in the same biryani then rest of punjab eg like lahori biryani. Then to go to either KP or AJK they have their own.

Now a person in pakistan if tasted the karachi biryani and thinks that he has tasted the entire country's biryani is an obvious false perception.

Surely bring some nostalgic memories for some of you who grew up in 1990s in Pakistan:

You Know You Grew Up In Pakistan During The 1990s When

and I miss one of my favorite cartoon shows "The Real Adventures of Jonny Quest, below is the shows starting theme:

oh man kya yaad kara dia. My favorite cartoon along WITH SCOOBY DOO.

Spices and Masalas are widely available in stores, all over. Is USA a big place? What would I know? :D

No they are not. I was in central PA, had to drive 1 hour 40 mins to get even basic such stuff. And since i was a student without any car, it became very difficult.

Pakola is available in almost all Pakistani Grocery stores nowadays plus this Ramadan one of the Grocery Store with Restaurant will remain open till sehri and its not in downtown or Devon...it is in northern suburb.

It was impossible to find Pakola in 2005 when I was there. And also we only found the can ones. Its the bottled ones that are better.

so what you were doing in USA? Have you completed your PhD ?
My cousin got married and the other time was for Christmas and new Yr...My sis and I try to visit a different country for Christmas and New Yr holidays....

PhD...ouiiii dhukhi bhari kahani...ankhoun mein pani ajata hai ....I swear at times I think I will die as a PhD student :(

Allah miyan naa shadi ker wa raha hai na PhD say jaan chur wara ...I feel sooo unloved :cray:

Because 'white' came from a superior, more advanced society and culture; why would they get assimilated into a culture that was inferior to their's?
How was plundering and raping half of Europe during crusades and then half of Asia during WW2 counted as superior? They literally stole diamonds and spices from what they termed as the spice islands known as Indonesia....

Besides, while in States, I have come across many such 'confused' Pakistanis who live in States, earn in States, get all their livelihood from States and yet sing Pakistan and on top of that complaint about everything in States.
Do you know even the so called states is divided with an invisible line of EUROPEANS....From Germans, Scandinavians to Italian and Irish just to name a few? AND as per habit each brought their culture there too! No one became the Native Indian American ...So lets not even start with confused!

USA is patches of immigrant it is thus NATURAL to have bits of everyone displaying "this confusion" that you mention off!

I hate such 'complexed' people for I believe your country is the one that enables you to live a respectable life, that enables you to get your kids educated.
Then you should hate every bloody American coz none are native to the land...They all are equally immigrant just like the "new comers" called Pakistanis...

Do you not have Italian and Irish flags hanging left and right and their food everywhere? Latinos speaking their own languages? Do you not have Greeks who pride their ancestry and show it in their food and weddings? The German and Russian drinking habits everywhere? The French and Italian wines viewed as valued stuff??? Then when they can have all that and no one picks on them tou why is a desi picking on other desi for "assimilating" into the culture of maintaining your ancestry?

If someone is missing adulterated dirty food of Pakistan, bribe culture, extortion, street crimes, dirty eyes of bystanders, streets full of dust and filth, well, they are most welcome to go back.
Do you talk like that to every other European in USA? Do you think Adulterated dirty food is not found in USA? Which mind you happens to be more "advanced" than Pakistan?!

Do you think bribery doesnt happen in USA? Sure it is not open but calling it a Pakistani culture is wrong...Street crimes? REALLY? Were you blind to the latest spike in people being shot by policemen? What about idiots on bikes in front of a Mosque? Sure people condemn it but it is not like it doesnt happen, is that not then called their culture?

Dirty eyes bystanders? Really, then number of girls who get molested in USA is one of the highest in the world....

Everyone has good and bad......

I have American friends of all the ancestry I mentioned and not 1 keeps back if even 1 member of their family flies back to Europe..You wont hear the end of it on their FB!

tou why is a desi picking on other desi for "assimilating" into the culture of maintaining your ancestry? YOU need to learn to assimilate which is what they are doing...SHOWCASE YOUR ANCESTRY with pride! And missing is not something wrong! Heck after eating Pakistani food once my colleagues wont stop asking me for more compare that to one who was brought up with it!

In another thread, you were bashing Pakistanis for adopting hijab and abaya calling it Arabian culture, while here you have no problem if we adopt Western culture.o_O

No they are not. I was in central PA, had to drive 1 hour 40 mins to get even basic such stuff. And since i was a student without any car, it became very difficult.

What year was that? I go there all the time and it is pretty convenient now. Besides, there are few problems that the InterWebz and a few phone calls cannot fix. :)