Submarine base to be built with Tk 10,300 crore.

Keep in mind your submarines are vulnerable at their naval bases
for that matter for all countries

True of course but the submarines would be docked underground which would protect them a lot.

The base itself would be protected by soldiers, SAM systems and ships out at sea. An enemy would have to be very lucky to be able to damage or destroy any of the submarines docked at the base.

Keep in mind your submarines are vulnerable at their naval bases
for that matter for all countries

I will say even more generally, there is no strategic depth to Bangaldesh and thus EVERYTHING is vulnerable.

All the more reason to have a competent SAM network and Air Force.

Few hill tracts won't stop any missile artillery attack. And Chittagong marine Academy is not even that close to mountain. Chittagong marine Academy is for people who want to work in merchant ship. Did you try to mean Bangladesh Naval Academy? That's not close to mountain either. And the base construction will take 10 years to be completed. It's obvious BN will have at least full MRSAM coverage by that time. Also the submarine base will be underground. But why are you posting random pictures?
Anything may happen during a war. But, a country has to think of methods of protecting its assets. I was not suggesting to break down the marine academy and build a submarine base. I was pointing that a base better serves the purpose if it is built beyond a hill as well as below it so as not to get exposed to a sudden enemy attack.

BD may have such places south of Cox's Bazaar. Mountains are very near the Sea. It should design a base beyond such a mountain with access route below the seawater surface to disallow seeing the movements directly by others. It is not something impossible from a civil engineering design and construction viewpoint.

Anything may happen during a war. But, a country has to think of methods of protecting its assets. I was not suggesting to break down the marine academy and build a submarine base. I was pointing that a base better serves the purpose if it is built beyond a hill as well as below it so as not to get exposed to a sudden enemy attack.

BD may have such places south of Cox's Bazaar. Mountains are very near the Sea. It should design a base beyond such a mountain with access route below the seawater surface to disallow seeing the movements directly by others. It is not something impossible from a civil engineering design and construction viewpoint.

Why not see what the US and Russia do and emulate as closely as possible.

So BD Military is speculating that navy is not paying 1.25 billion only for a single base but also for two or more new subs under the same package because the contractor for the project generally sells warships to the Bangladesh Navy as they never heard of this company building submarine bases before. @Michael Corleone @LKJ86

https://www.bdmilitary.com/general-...e1u1BtbNaPNzKjFG3uE6XCZQxVNH1RIdhaJCD9Mky5Pf0

What subs are the speculating is part of the deal.

BN has no ambitions to be anything more than capable of taking on IN in the Bay of Bengal.

The current plans for 8 next-gen frigates and the speculated 6 modern frigates are enough to keep BD's sea lanes open in case IN tries any kind of blockade.

BN does not see MN as any kind of threat to it. Already it is far more powerful than MN and by 2030 the idea of comparing the two Navies will seem ridiculous.

It just wants enough power to deter IN from ever thinking it can blockade BD in Bay of Bengal.
Taking on india? Im sorry but your govt is in indias lap.

. . . . . .
BN just don't want a hissy phissy by the usual lot. Lots happening under the curtain.

Yea it appears so.

I was just going over some of the changes in inventory in the last 10 years.

As I said before, it seems to be fairly significant of an upgrade.

The news about this submarine base construction is evidence of further plans to acquire more subs in the future.

Very nice to see.

BN is legit mashAllah.

Taking on india? Im sorry but your govt is in indias lap.

Here comes the purana bakwas of PDF chutiyas. Another clean thread spoiled by China's lackey. Let the fight begin. Ting ting ting.

Besides the usual lines about vassal state etc etc, do you have anything constructive to say on this thread?

What do you expect from morons who looks for unnecessary argument. Pea brain saying this shit in the very thread where it says Chinese are constructing our sub base.

Yeah do you have any conflict with india?

Yes we did like Padua and Boraibari conflict. Just because we have close relationship with India doesn't mean they are not potential threat. Stop saying the same crap in every thread.

Well offcourse.... but which model are they speculating will be aquired...

S 20 or S 26T like Pakistan and Thailand ordered. Those are based on Type 39 sub.

http://www.navyrecognition.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=910

CSOC_S20_SSK_IDEX_2013_02.jpg