should Pakistan make military service mandatory for all citizens?

Pakistan is facing hostilities along the border with India, Afghanistan and uncertainty along the Iranian frontier. Should Pakistan adopt a policy to make military service mandatory for all abled citizens? India has the NCC in place attracting young academic students to participate in millitery warefare and discipline. Pakistan abolished its NCC under former Gen Musharaf. Another such example of hiring and training men during war time was by the Serb forces during the breakup of Yogoslavia. Tough street fighters from the Red Star Belgrade football club were recruited and trained in military warefare. From a disorganised football hooligan army to a ruthless, well organised militia. Should Pakistan start initiating military training for citizens which would be tightly controlled and guarded by the army with no interference of religion, ethnic/ tribal, language & political loyalties? A video of Arkans Tigers training
Yes we must and it will also help to reduce terrorism and they all know that we can fight back and we all are train pro

The citizens of Pakistan must have the right to bear arms, with the correct licencing and relevant training. It's pointless discussing gun control in Pakistan while the civilian authorities cant protect law-abiding citzens, and not to forget the hyenous on both sides of the border.
When the enemy tries to invade and kill you, and that day will come, you cant fight them with your kitchen alliances, hoping for the best.

Back in august I was traveling back to Naran from Astore...

I reached outskirts of Naran late in the evening... and guess what? There was a fukin road block with huge stones placed in the middle of the road...

Thankfully I avoided that (foolishly getting out and pushing a few aside) and drove back safely...

The next morning I came to know that 5-6 vehicles were looted on that very spot the night before.

I was with my wife.. and i didnt have a gun — i didnt carry as I came to Islamabad by air (and didnt bring any weapon)...

Now i was lucky.. but what if i was in the place of the people who were looted after me at that place?

If you are trained with weapons and have a license... I see no negatives.

A wannabe liberal intellectuals... who wants to be one .. but fails...

There is an actual Liberal Intellectual person (respect).

And than theres 5 ft of crap.

And how exactly did you come to the conclusion that I'm a "pseudo libtard" ?

I always keep a handgun in my vehicle..

Havent shot anybody till now..

If i want to shoot .. i go to the Rangers Gun Range.. shoot my weapons.. come home and clean them up. Or go hunting every season.

Win win situation..

My uncle only ever killed a wild boar and also hawaai firing when there were some bandits in our village. They got scared and ran off.

The citizens of Pakistan must have the right to bear arms, with the correct licencing and relevant training. It's pointless discussing gun control in Pakistan while the civilian authorities cant protect law-abiding citzens, and not to forget the hyenous on both sides of the border.
When the enemy tries to invade and kill you, and that day will come, you cant fight them with your kitchen alliances, hoping for the best.

In a country where the slightest of differences in opinion usually leads to violence, radicalism is on the rise and street crime is rampant you want to hand over guns to people ? The US has its citizens running around with guns like they're a packet of chips and guess how many mass shootings and terrorists they've stopped ? None. They too have background checks and yet most of their mass shooters and local gangsters obtain weapons legally.

they are civilians i said every civilians sir no matter whom
I do not disagree with you as every person should not have access to guns. I have many relatives in Pakistan and nobody has a weapon, not even a pistol. However with police and civil law corruption ongoing and no justice people take law into their own hands and seek retribution. Villages in Punjab and KPK are awash with arms.

I do think Pakistan needs to introduce compulsory national service for all able bodied males between ages 18-19. Almost every great country has see this 'rite of passage'. NS has many benefits. I can't think of any great country today that has not had extended national service as it is crucial in speeding up the process of nation making.

1. It homogenizes society by bringing all the diverse peoples of a country into close contact. This fosters national unity and moulds a one aspect nation. It also helps to break down tribal, ethnic, religious cleavages.
  2. It inculcates the young with discipline and the time can be used to teach these young men vital life skills.
  3. The force thus raised can be used on national building projects like cleaning, labour, planting trees, providing education to distan areas and in emergency can act as reserve force.
  4. Those who show aptitude for this type of life could apply to join the regular military thus providing a vital feedstock to the regular army.
  5. The young men can be given physical health training that would place them in good stead for their later life which will improve the nations health.
  6. By doing hard training outside and labout you inculcate the value of hard honest work.
  7. It inculcates patriotism under one flag. Witness the Turks and their absolute love of red crescent/star.
  8. Some elements of this force could be spread across the country to beef up internal/law order. Read Turkish Jandarma, Spanish Civil Garde, French Genderarme etc
I agree to most of your points sir but it would require some extra budget.

Pls forgive the civilians , already hundreds of thousands of civilians have laid down their lives . Army can fight its war. civilians are poor chaps and they must be kept out of all these doctrines.

conscripts make good bhagoras for most

@Ocean what do you think?
Yaar i would agree with your 1 yr suggestion. But also given the whole sectraian rifts in the country i fear people could start misusing newly learned skills to subdue each other, also cause for some reasons pakistanis dont wish to use their brains on certain ocassions and specially when it involves religion.

But 1 yr suggestion is very cool, also people from rural areas and regions like ajk, gb are already tough due to difficult terrains etc but making these burger boys and girls from Karachi , lahore , islamabad train for few days will knock some sense into their heads. Its easy to write cute blogs cursing pakistan and everything under the sky in this region.

Also specially those young overcharged hormones guys who spend whole day drooling over models pictures should also be thrown into some heat takay dimagh kaheen aur bhi istaemal ho, new generation guys are turning out to be so effeminate.

conscripts make good bhagoras for most

Yaar i would agree with your 1 yr suggestion. But also given the whole sectraian rifts in the country i fear people could start misusing newly learned skills to subdue each other, also cause for some reasons pakistanis dont wish to use their brains on certain ocassions and specially when it involves religion.

But 1 yr suggestion is very cool, also people from rural areas and regions like ajk, gb are already tough due to difficult terrains etc but making these burger boys and girls from Karachi , lahore , islamabad train for few days will knock some sense into their heads. Its easy to write cute blogs cursing pakistan and everything under the sky in this region.

Also specially those young overcharged hormones guys who spend whole day drooling over models pictures should also be thrown into some heat takay dimagh kaheen aur bhi istaemal ho, new generation guys are turning out to be so effeminate.
burgers & people with liberal ideologies and those who hate army bcoz of so called 80% budget should be handed over to SSG instructors for 2 year training in Cheerat