Punjabi Music

hanjiii veerji... main problem nu black ya white nahi vekh daa.. im not even big supporter of khalistanis.. its just after seeing the condition of punjab.. ohdo menu lagg da vii shayad ohna di thorri ji zaroorat aii right noww... delhi sarkaar nu seedha karn laii nii.... parr badal teh SGPC varge corrupt teh puthe bandeya nu seedha karn vaaste..

I agree with you to an extent. My non-Sikh countrymen might not like this but I think a response to the Op. Bluestar was required. It needed to be avenged. Though I do regret the loss of life and the scar that it left on my beloved Punjab, the insurgency did give out a loud signal to the Center that you shouldn't take us lightly. If you create a mess, expect us to make your life hell. We might die in the process but we will surely take a lot of you down with us.

he is still in Ludhiana. the same day I also met manak..that was my second meeting with manak.

I met Manak once at a wedding. That was in 2001/2 I think. He still had a karakedaar awaaz. Sang all his songs with the most highest of notes. And the best part was that when a drunk guest asked him to sing a As Kang song, he refused. Saying he only sings his own songs!! What a guy!

I agree with you to an extent. My non-Sikh countrymen might not like this but I think a response to the Op. Bluestar was required. It needed to be avenged. Though I do regret the loss of life and the scar that it left on my beloved Punjab, the insurgency did give out a loud signal to the Center that you shouldn't take us lightly. If you create a mess, expect us to make your life hell. We might die in the process but we will surely take a lot of you down with us.

i agree...what the sikhs went through, this cant be understood by the non sikhs, even if they claim to understand...its something that cant be forgotten ever....about creating the mess, i think, its no more possible..if anything such happens, the result would be really devastating.

I met Manak once at a wedding. That was in 2001/2 I think. He still had a karakedaar awaaz. Sang all his songs with the most highest of notes. And the best part was that when a drunk guest asked him to sing a As Kang song, he refused. Saying he only sings his own songs!! What a guy!

he gives me the pure feeling of punjabi culture everytime I hear him...what a voice..they dont call him kaliyaan da badshah, just like that.

just an incident that I would like to share how SGPC has become a money making tool...here in my city, some local sikhs collected money and acquired an old bulding to turm it into a hospital for poor people named after on eof the gurus,initially it was working fine and was ran on money from local residents majority of them being sikh but the comitte played a politics over it and turned it into another expensive nursing home as it was under the comitee's name..andno one dares to go against it...now not a single poor patient is treated there and all the money that comes from there, goes straight into their pockets. so what was started to help the poor in the name of our Guru, is being used as a money making intituion.

Im not surprised.. these guys are corrupt to the core... stuff like this should be brought fourth in media.. but u know the government is run by their chor leader badal.. and media also is in chor governments hands... really pathetic.. just look at how they said no debate on dasm granth is allowed and expelled proffesor darshan singh from sikh religion.. when retards like these are running sikh religion and punjabi politics.. don't u think even sane people will turn to radical organizations like Dal Khalsa? watch if such corruption keeps up.. punjab will again slowly start turning to anyone who promises change.. even if they have to be radical groups like Dal Khalsa... right now.. lets see how far Manpreet Badal gets though..

though i am not a suporter of badal and his dirty politics, but I still not have complete knowledge of this controversy... i mean what are his9prof. darshan singh's) points on saying it was not an original work by Guru Gobind singh ji....but I agree a debate should have been allowed.

bro.. dasm granth was never accepted by majority of sikhs.. infact in Punjab.. I don't think even today no gurudwara preaches from dasm granth or carries it.. the only 2 gurudwaras in whole India that followed dasm granth and not the original book was Hazoor Sahib in Nanded, Maharashtra and Patna Sahib in Bihar.. the reason is that dasm granth actually contradicts the original guru granth sahib.. where guru granth sahib clearly says stuff like alcohol and drugs are not allowed.. cutting kesh is not allowed.. adultery is not allowed.. etc etc.. dasm granth is complete opposite.. it actually says drugs are ok because being "high" makes you closer with god.. it also says that adultery is allowed.. and even cutting of hair it promotes.. actually go online and read it yourself.. you will be able to better judge yourself.. there is a story in dasm granth where a guy is having an affair with another man's wife and when the an returns, the guy who is having affair opens his kesh dresses like a women and sneaks outside house.. like its really ridiculous stuff.. so mainstream sikhs in Punjab have always believed that Dasm granth is a fake text (maybe it has someee stuff from Guru Gobind Singh Ji but majority of it is fake) to try and corrupt the religion.. read the section "Chrito Pakhyan" of Dasm Granth.. you cannot even read it in front of your family.. it is that vulgar and it is all about drugs, sex and adultery.. so how whole controversy started again was when organizations started pushing for introduction of Dasm Granth into Punjab... where it was before rejected.. so SGPC also started promoting idea (actually many people believe that Dasm Granth is actually a book pushed by Hindu agencies to try to bridge gap between Hindu and Sikh religion and try to eventually absorb all Sikh religion into Hinduism by promoting beliefs which Sikhs originally reject)... so since SGPC is now allied with RSS and those Hindu fundamental morons... they try to push this fake book on Sikh people in Punjab.. so Professor Darshan Singh was just one who protested against it and brought fourth all the points I brought up earlier.. and SGPC than made a new rule that no discussion on Dasm Granth is allowed and it is to be included as new Sikh book.. when Proffesor Darshan Singh protested again.. they banished him from Sikh religion.. when he went abroad and many Gurdwaras invited him to come and talk about Dasm Granth.. the radical dasm granthis put death threats against him to shut him up.. In brampton, Canada; they even attacked and stabbed the President of the Gurdwara which invited him.. its reallyyy pathetic... it goes to show how fake this book must be that they are scared of any scholar even discussing it... that is whyyy Dal Khalsa group is really only option left to counter these RSS morons.. SGPC no longer is a Sikh organization really... it is run by Hindu RSS..

only very few stuff like Zafarnama in Dasm Granth is really Guru Gobind's word.. and ironical it is written in Farsi.. majority of the book is written in Bruj Bhasha (like Bihari Hindi).. its total fake.. atleast in my opinion.. but you can read it yourself and make up your own mind.. but basically it contradicts Guru Nanak and contradicts the Guru Granth Sahib in all aspects.

. . . . . .
I have a friend who always says "All the sikhs have same voices and they all sing with same style"

I never noticed it before but now I believe he's right... all sikhs sings the same no variety :(

I have a friend who always says "All the sikhs have same voices and they all sing with same style"

I never noticed it before but now I believe he's right... all sikhs sings the same no variety :(

how can religion make your voice different? lmao... the only difference is taste is music on both sides of punjab... indian punjabis like more desi straight from the ground music (and also cuz of every landi poochi becoming a singer) where pakistani punjabis like more pop type of daler mehndi/ bollywood style punjabi music..... indian punjab has so many muslim singers like feroz khan or muhammad sadiq who sing groundroots songs not mainstream songs...... otherwise coming to Sikh singers also.. there is nothing same about hans raj hans, Amrinder Gill, and Jazzy B.. 3 veryyy different styles..

pakistani true non-mainstream groundroots punjabi music:

YouTube - Akram Rahi Sad Song Dil Vich Wasna Sajna Ae Rehna Aakhiyan

YouTube - Akram Rahi Sad Song Dil Vich Treran Pe Gaiyan

YouTube - Tahir Mehmood Nayyar Sad Song

YouTube - PAKISTANI SONG - JATT..BY.. ABRAR UL HAQ (NARA SADA ISHQ AY)

thisssss is true punjabi groundroots music but since half of pakistani punjab can barely speak punjabi anymore and they try to urdu-fy themselves obviously they will start to like not like this type of music and start to like more bollywood style mainstream type... but these guys kept it reall... but too bad these guys cant survive in Pakistan's music industry which has no demand for them.. only guy who is surviving is abrar ul-haq and only because he changed his style of singing to more mainstream.... otherwise akram rahi simply kicks asss..... he should release his albums in Indian Punjab.. he has an awesome voice and songs.. guaranteed hit!!