Supreme Court to hear Panama Leaks case on daily basis
January 04, 2017
|
By Abdul Qayyum Siddiqui
|
l_126038_021848_updates.jpg

ISLAMABAD: A new five-member larger bench of the apex court resumed fresh hearing of the Panama Leaks case today (Wednesday).

The larger bench led by Justice Asif Saeed Khosa has been formed for January 4, 5 and 6 and includes two new judges, Justice Ijaz Afzal Khan and Justice Gulzar Ahmad. The other judges are Justice Azmat Saeed and Justice Ijaz-ul-Ahsan.

The apex court in its remarks said that it wanted to understand how money was invested into Sharif children's businesses. It asked how did funds transfer from Qatar to London. And which positions did Nawaz Sharif occupy till now.

The Supreme Court adjourned the hearing till January 5 (tomorrow).

Hearing to be held on daily basis: SC

During the proceedings, Justice Asif Saeed Khosa said that the hearing will be conducted on a daily basis. He asked the Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf lawyer Naeem Bukhari to plead the case in the court and not in the media.

To this Bukhari said, he had never talked about the case to the media.

In his arguments, Naeem Bukhari referred to the Prime Minister speech to the nation on April 5 where he stated that he had evidence of his investments in Dubai and Saudi Arabia. Bukhari said that the Prime Minister had lied therefore he was neither Sadiq nor Ameen (truthful and trustworthy), and therefore he should be disqualified.

He said that an affidavit by Tariq Shafi was fake.

Justice Aijaz-ul-Haq asked for documents from 1993 that prove that the Nescol company is owned by Hussain Nawaz.

Bukhari said, "This is the only mystery in the case."

Justice Khosa replied, "Ownership of Neilson and Nescol before 2006 is what you [Bukhari] have to prove."

"Do the Panama documents have any legal standing," asked Justice Gulzar.

PTI chief Imran Khan told the bench that their press conferences should not be considered a pressure tactic on the courts. "The government uses its platform to say that PTI has not given evidence, to respond we have to hold press conferences," he said.

On December 9, a five-member larger bench of the apex court, headed by former Chief Justice Anwar Zaheer Jamali, had adjourned hearing until the first week of January 2017 after the PTI objected to the formation of a commission proposed by the bench, and stressed that the said bench should decide the matter in the interest of justice.

In the latest development in the case, the Prime Minister and his children have changed their legal team. The Prime Minister is being represented by Makhdoom Ali Khan, while Maryam Nawaz and Captain Safdar is being represented by Shahid Hamid. Salman Akram Raja will represent Hussain Nawaz

yes we need to keep on fighting .... go around tell ur family and friends in Pakistan to keep not on their own house clean but streets and roads too and rivers too dont throw garbage in gardens etc... we can do that its also a tableegh

The court ordered Bokhari to prove whether or not Hussain Nawaz, PM Nawaz's son, is the owner of certain offshore companies bought before 2006. Naeem claimed, saying that the Park Lane flats 16 and 16a were bought in 1995 for 75,000 pounds.

Justice Khosa observed that an attested letter from a former Qatari prime minister, presented in the apex court in November, states that the London flats were owned by the Al Thani family before the Sharif family bought them.

Source: www.dawn.com/news/1306359/sc-to-conduct-panamagate-hearings-on-daily-basis

Didnt the SC earlier..itself dismiss the letter of qatari prince tht not to waste time on qatari letter..saying tht its nothing..? And now Justice khosa said tht 'an attested letter' from former qatari prime minister? Woww just wow.... Now....from this remark..do we assume tht court has accepted tht qatari letter? Wh le they dismiss everything tht PTI submits...even today pakora judge remarked tht naeem bukhari..milkiyat sabit karna itna asaan nahi..even after the evidence tht was submitted yesterday by PTI.... How much lower can our judges stoop? Do they ahve no shame..tht they openly show their bias in favor of ruling party? @PakSword

Judges are not even pretending to be fair...rather they are very open in showing their tilt, dismissing every evidence of PTI, and accepting everything tht PML N submits

میں نے تو اپنی بساط کے مطابق وہ سب کیا جو میں کرسکتا تھا- پیسے بھی ڈونیٹ کیے، جلسوں میں بھی شریک ہوا جب جب پاکستان میں موقع ملا- انٹرنیٹ پر بھی اپنی سمجھ کے مطابق پاکستان کے مستقبل کے حق میں لکھنے کی کوشش کی اور پٹواریوں کو جواب دیے

:Dاب تو خودکش دھماکہ کرنا ہی رہ گیا ہے، اور وہ میں نہیں کرونگا

Judicial system par kardein..khudkush hamla koi :( aur current military elite par bhi......

Sab kuch khud ba khud sudhar jayega ... Judiciary sudhar gayi tu ye corrupt politicians ko khud ba khud sazaein hogjayrin gi..aur mililtary elite ko hosh aagaya tu ghaddaron ko bhi saza mil jayegi ....

keep not on their own house clean but streets and roads too

One small example. When you want to through garbage, you first look at the trash bin, if you don't find it nearby, either you buy it yourself and put in in your neighborhood or walk to the nearest one, or through the trash right there.

Suppose you are patriotic, you gather some money from the neighborhood and buy a trash bin, you will have to get security guard's services to keep an eye on the trash bin. (this happened to us)

Suppose, you walk 500 meters to find a big trash container, you will find it overflowing with trash..

Then you have two ways, either call the municipality to take the trash and dump it properly or just throw it around the trash container.

If you are really patriotic, you will call the municipality, they will tell you to go to hell.

Then if you are really really patriotic, you will pay some bribe to the municipality to get it done for you.. In an hour, you will see a truck, it will take all the garbage, and through it 5 streets away.. But you feel that something has been done at least.

Then you wake up in the morning to find the same garbage on your street. You call municipality again and ask "WHY, WHY ONLY US, WHY?" and they respond back "Because they pay 5000 rupees more than you.. Sorry".

Now you are extremely patriotic, you take the municipality to court, court first asks "Where are the evidences?" You fail to provide appropriate evidences because the pictures of garbage you provide in the court, court says that you need to attest them.. And guess what.. nobody attests them for you..

Then one day you find police on your doorstep. You are told that you are being arrested as someone has posted a video of yourself trying to bribe a municipality officer..

And then you end up in Jail, and write a book with a title "Never Throw Your Garbage in the Bin"..

One small example. When you want to through garbage, you first look at the trash bin, if you don't find it nearby, either you buy it yourself and put in in your neighborhood or walk to the nearest one, or through the trash right there.

Suppose you are patriotic, you gather some money from the neighborhood and buy a trash bin, you will have to get security guard's services to keep an eye on the trash bin. (this happened to us)

Suppose, you walk 500 meters to find a big trash container, you will find it overflowing with trash..

Then you have two ways, either call the municipality to take the trash and dump it properly or just throw it around the trash container.

If you are really patriotic, you will call the municipality, they will tell you to go to hell.

Then if you are really really patriotic, you will pay some bribe to the municipality to get it done for you.. In an hour, you will see a truck, it will take all the garbage, and through it 5 streets away.. But you feel that something has been done at least.

Then you wake up in the morning to find the same garbage on your street. You call municipality again and ask "WHY, WHY ONLY US, WHY?" and they respond back "Because they pay 5000 rupees more than you.. Sorry".

Now you are extremely patriotic, you take the municipality to court, court first asks "Where are the evidences?" You fail to provide appropriate evidences because the pictures of garbage you provide in the court, court says that you need to attest them.. And guess what.. nobody attests them for you..

Then one day you find police on your doorstep. You are told that you are being arrested as someone has posted a video of yourself trying to bribe a municipality officer..

And then you end up in Jail, and write a book with a title "Never Throw Your Garbage in the Bin"..

hahahaha but we r still muslims and Pakistanis and we cant run away from our responsibilities ... and this is why i say one good advice or suggestion or word to ur family friends and neighbours will bring some change inshallah

The court ordered Bokhari to prove whether or not Hussain Nawaz, PM Nawaz's son, is the owner of certain offshore companies bought before 2006. Naeem claimed, saying that the Park Lane flats 16 and 16a were bought in 1995 for 75,000 pounds.

Justice Khosa observed that an attested letter from a former Qatari prime minister, presented in the apex court in November, states that the London flats were owned by the Al Thani family before the Sharif family bought them.

Source: www.dawn.com/news/1306359/sc-to-conduct-panamagate-hearings-on-daily-basis

Didnt the SC earlier..itself dismiss the letter of qatari prince tht not to waste time on qatari letter..saying tht its nothing..? And now Justice khosa said tht 'an attested letter' from former qatari prime minister? Woww just wow.... Now....from this remark..do we assume tht court has accepted tht qatari letter? Wh le they dismiss everything tht PTI submits...even today pakora judge remarked tht naeem bukhari..milkiyat sabit karna itna asaan nahi..even after the evidence tht was submitted yesterday by PTI.... How much lower can our judges stoop? Do they ahve no shame..tht they openly show their bias in favor of ruling party? @PakSword

Judges are not even pretending to be fair...rather they are very open in showing their tilt, dismissing every evidence of PTI, and accepting everything tht PML N submits

Judicial system par kardein..khudkush hamla koi :( aur current military elite par bhi......

Sab kuch khud ba khud sudhar jayega ... Judiciary sudhar gayi tu ye corrupt politicians ko khud ba khud sazaein hogjayrin gi..aur mililtary elite ko hosh aagaya tu ghaddaron ko bhi saza mil jayegi ....

Actually, what I have noticed is that judges have come prepared to take out Nawaz first from this case. Then they will try to find a solution to save his children.

Judges remarks that where is PMs signature? Where is PMs link where is this where is that refers to one thing... They are hell bent on saving chief noora...

Not to forget..Asif Zardari's return.. Uske aanay ke pehle hi din rangers ne anwar majeed ke offices par raid kiya tha... But after then, its complete silence... Also Zardari was expected to leave Pakistan within one week, but he is still here, looking pretty comfortable...
Yes comfortable in Sindh, barring Karachi

I was listening to the speech of CJ, in which he said I will make decisions with keeping in view that I will be answerable to Allah one day...... Lets see if he believes in that too or he is also empty worded person like the former CJ.
A little look at the current CJ's career and how he rose to power should clear everything beyond doubt about how much he really means the above.

hahahaha but we r still muslims and Pakistanis and we cant run away from our responsibilities ... and this is why i say one good advice or suggestion or word to ur family friends and neighbours will bring some change inshallah

Yaar responsibilities poori kartay kartay banda jail pohanch jaiey.. Sorry sir, I can't do it..

well u r exaggerating this wont happen :) u r just running away from ur duties

Not to forget..Asif Zardari's return.. Uske aanay ke pehle hi din rangers ne anwar majeed ke offices par raid kiya tha... But after then, its complete silence... Also Zardari was expected to leave Pakistan within one week, but he is still here, looking pretty comfortable...

They raided Anwar majeed house but what's the use he is not in Pakistan. He is abroad enjoying and TBH they were aactually bullying AZ thats it.

well u r exaggerating this wont happen :) u r just running away from ur duties

Yes, I agree I exaggerated.

But two incidents happened...

1 - We put the trash bins in our neighborhood, and someone stole them..
2 - My friend had to pay water and sewerage board to repair a sewerage pipeline after one month of exhausting all the legal ways..

Panama Leaks Proceedings at Supreme Court of Pakistan have commenced. This development is historic itself in the sense that no such precedence exists in the history of the country since its creation on Aug. 14, 1947.
Since the honourable court has decided to carry out proceeding on daily basis which is another land mark step by the judges, therefore, it is of extreme significance for the people of Pakistan. To keep the forum updated on the proceedings, I have created this thread so that the Pakistani members on pdf and discuss this issue and share info with each other.

Please avoid pessimistic statements like "There is no hope or these courts are sold out"
Because if that was true, then there would be no proceedings in the first place.
The success of the case not only depends on the impartiality and competence of the judges but also on the evidence presented and how the plaintiff pursues it.
I like the Remarks of Mr Khosa that " Asal baat yeh hey key bachoon ney jaidadein kese banaien" ?
If honorable judges will keep digging in the matter like this I am sure they will find the truth and would be able to PROVIDE justice.

Actually, what I have noticed is that judges have come prepared to take out Nawaz first from this case. Then they will try to find a solution to save his children.

Judges remarks that where is PMs signature? Where is PMs link where is this where is that refers to one thing... They are hell bent on saving chief noora...

Not only judiciary...military leadership is also hell bent on saving noora.....and toeing noora's line....