Pakistan’s Japanese-dominated car market set to attract Europe and Korea

pakistan need to ban mehran and ravi now its 2015 man stop production of this scrap

The figures must be hurting you but not us despite having economy & other problems.. We are the most resilient & happiest nation. No matter what comes our way. I am just being realistic on this thread. Your economy is better because we do not fund terrorism in your country like you :P
Lol okay then we will continue it:sick::enjoy:

Pakistan need not import from India, but they can certainly open up their automobile industry for more competitive production to get proper economies of scale from a half dozen or so established, reliable makers (even do a JV with an Indian maker if Pakistan is open to do that).

Can I get a clear answer if the Suzuki production contract in Pakistan was exclusive and if so, has it expired (and when?)

Or was the exclusivity hush hush under the table kind of thing? Pakistan is suffering from this bad deal it seems.

A sumo at 90 lakhs is daylight robbery! Most of that money must be staying within Pakistan, rest assured! All the local middlemen and govt need their cut for your decision to buy Indian ;)

Indeed Pakistanis are deprived of choices when it comes to cars, the only choice would be pay so much money for pathetic locally assembled dust bins or pay hefty amounts on Japanese imports, which are not that great to begin with. I am not particularly fan of VW because of my past experience but if VW enters Pakistani market, that might pave the way for others to follow, so lets hope.

You should allow some Indian brands to our expertise in 2 wheerlers & Small cars cab greatly benifit you guys

I am not too sure about the Indian Cars, but I can attest for Indian bikes. I owned several bikes and one of them was KTM 390, all made in India but of course the design was by KTM Austria. I had no issues with the build quality, and India riders have far more options when compared to Pakistan, where we are still using 30 years old Honda 125 CGI or Yamaha 100 from adam and eves time.
Bajaj have really turned the Indian market on its head, although I like cruisers and Royal enfield is getting too old. Oh sorry the thread was about cars lol.

Please no Fiat. They are appalling cars. Always avoid French and Italian. Add American to the list as well! Japanese have taken the Piss for far tooo long they don't offer up to date technology the Suzuki alto is the best example they still use old engines with distribution in them where the world standard is to use spark plugs in the engine.

Even more important is to introduce mandatory driver training before you can get a licence. Roads in Pakistan are a zoo at best of times.

Ford cars have one thing they offer the maximum at a very reasreasonable cost. Their cars have improved....well yes because they have German engineering and parts used in them but not better than German brands or Japanese.

Fiat is a toilet on wheels, period. But I am quite a fan of Renault Cleo, it is one of the best hatch backs available. Unlike Peugeot which if you happen to visit their showroom, they will spend more time telling you whats the right way to pronounce the name instead of trying to sell you a car. True story.

I am sorry but Italians are in a league of their own, Italians had never been known for reliability, regardless of which ever brand, be it Ferrari, Lamborghini, Maserati, or Alfas. But what they had been known for are a unique driving characteristics and having a certain personality to them. 15 years ago you wouldn't buy Italian cars expecting reliability but what you pay for is a part of automotive heritage and class.

Fords are not reliable, not to mention most are really badly designed and constructed vehicles, the only ford that is any good is Focus, the rest are ugly, soul less guzzlers.

If I can share my experience/observations and after having spoken to many experienced car mechanics with 25+ years of experience French(Renault,Citeron,Peuget) and Italian(Alfa Romeo,Fiat,) they are garbage and should be avoided. A car should be spending more time carrying you about than at the garage being fixed! Fiat has bought Dodge and Chrysler well good luck to their owners.
Sporty Italian are no better but they are not at everyones reach plus sporty cars require far more maintanance as well.

The most successful engine ever made and unless I heard wrong is Honda V-Tec (petrol) type, overwhelming majorty are still running successfully. The problem In Pakistan seems to be economy and people are not aware of the progression of technology in vehicles. I was surprised to learn that after 30 years or so since ABS became mandatory now, in EU along with other nations ESP/ESC/DSC is being made compulsory that only now manufacturrers have started introducing ABS as standard in Pakistan! If you have experience of such advanced braking technology you would know how important they are infact you would not purchase a vehicle without such safety feature, I wouldn't.

sorry got carried away:-)

LOL, again you don't buy Italian cars for reliability. And you don't buy French cars at all of course unless its Cleo.

lol...:rofl::rofl::rofl: try to google search on Mahindra XUV 300... It is exported to even european markets...

good luck with that...

you were the same ones that started SUPARCO when Indians could hardly afford to look in to space.. and it was a pak company that bought rangerover and jaguar too..

Yeah yeah, get over yourself.

TATA Rexton .?? AFAIK they don't have any product called Rexton or did u mean SSANGYONG REXTON ..?
Exactly, its a Korean car with detuned G-class engine and transmission, if my memory serves me correct.

That thing is has a 5.7 liter engine . In Pak people are dying to feed 1.3 and this guy is in really funny mood posting some heavy heavy stuff. My dad has a 2014 Chevy suburban it's a 5.7 beast but it's crazy on gas.

Why only in Pakistan? Even in Japan people prefer smaller capacity engines. Not just because of the low cost of maintenance and running but also because of the tax structures in place. Besides American cars are too big even for themselves.

Which ford or GM is for 10 lack . Ford, Cadillac, Lincoln, GMC, please let me know. Don't tell
Me the crappy revo even that's not for 10 lack or $ 10,000. Also you need a whole new setup of workshops to understand American engines, transmissions and electrical systems, module systems. Even mechanics here scratch their heads sometimes. Where the cheap parts are going to come from. A set of shocks ordering from a US ford dealer for an ordinary car will cost like $700-1000, you expect people back there to pay RS 70000-100,000 just for two shocks . My dads has a 2014 Chevy suburban each tire cost like $ 450.Beside that US cars has really heavy engines . How many Pakistanis can afford a V8 engine or a V6 . They cry when they feed a 1.3 L.

LOL, I think that statement sums up whole modern American car experience.

VW has a good chance in Pakistan. I really like their cars they are awesome for speed and for tight corners. Also you get many options on the car and the best of all German tech.
VW Passat can compete with Camry and accord and beat the hell out of it . It's 2.0 turbo engine is fast and good on fuel, also better handling when you push it hard in the corners. It is also available in V6 can take on Toyota Mark X anyway.
VW Jetta can compete with Corolla and Civic and again give them beating of its life time. 2.0 turbo is fast it beats them in every way. Also available in a 2.5 non turbo version and actually diesel too.
VW golf GTI this is the car for young guys and people who like to thrash the car. Honda and Toyota do not have answer to this atleast in Pakistan. This thing is small but it has put many V6 cars to shame. It's 2.0 turbo is super fast. And the VR6 is just on another level , it will smoke any Toyota or Honda.

I bought a VW Golf GTi, and those were the most painful few months of my life. With in course of 7 months pretty much everything in the car was replaced, from transmission to god damn wipers, clutch by far was the worst offender. That car spent more time with VW than me driving it. I learned my experience and will never buy a VW again, in hot environment most of their cars keeps on breaking down. The only VW which is suited best for Pakistan would be Polo Sedan, that car has a better build quality along with a good track record.
A 4-cylinder car can never put a V6 or above to shame, unless the driver doesn't know what the heck he is doing.
Passat would be a nice edition, if launched.

i LOVE the Mustang. Have owned two of these puppies in the past. Great muscle car and engineering packed in one. In about next 3-5 years, you'll see a few more auto manufacturers coming to Pakistan. The Chinese are already in advance negotiations with the government of Punjab to setup a new plant there with TOT.

Europeans are assessing the market and the Pakistani economy. The US companies will come too. Just a matter of time, the electric issue starts to get resolved in the next two years, you'll see a sea of investment and manufacturing plants in Pakistan

My favuroties are Camero's in particular the 1966 SS is by far my favourite car of all time, but unfortunately pony cars can only go fast in a straight line, cornering on them feels like you're riding atop a drunken donkey.

Do correct me I have not yet visited the US but am I right in my assessment that Germans manufacturers like BMW,Mercedes-Benz and VW Group including Audi are gaining a massive market with the Japanese already established there?

Plus what bad rep does VW have? VW dominates Europe and its on crusade to Asia, Hell VW from 1980's are still visible on British roads now that is successful!

VW had been loosing sales steam in US, this was one of the reasons why Ferdinand Piech was forced to step down from CEO position at VW. Further more, BMW and Mercedes are what we call as a premium brands, they can not be compared with main stream brands such as Toyota, Nissan or VW. Although VW is a huge group which pretty much owns most of the european premium car manufacturer, and Lexus and Infiniti are by Japanese, but they are a different class.

I hate VW. The first car that I ever bought with my own money I worked so hard for was a 99 VW Passat 1.8. It had only 60,000 miles on it. Amazing ride, great handling, suspension, pick up.

Fast forward 18,000 miles the 2nd cylinder started leaking. Opened up the entire front bumper, radiator, condenser, lights. To take out the Engine Head. Machined it, put it back in 20 hour job from start to finish not including the Head machining.

Turns out the engine is an Inference Engine. While most automakers have shifted away from making these engines anymore VW hasn't. So every 60,000 miles the timing belt should be replaced. :hitwall::hitwall::hitwall:

Timing Belts: Interference Engines

I would consider you lucky, mine GTi had all kinds of issues from non working wipers to car refusing to go into reverse, it was the worst car experience of my life. I switched to BMW E60, 3.0 litres and it was the best decision of my life. I couldn't find a good E60 M5, otherwise that would have been great but no complaints.

Interesting! VW did go to belt driven timing and now they have gone back to Chain 2005 onwards in europe cant speak for US as VW seem to be making a hash of things over there.

Audi is owned by VW and they tend to be better than VW cars thats a fact!

I have a question for you both I get the sense there is no legal requirement for cars like in the UK we have annual MOT or now known as VOSA test which has to be passed to keep the vehicle on the road is there one in US?

Here is a fun tip, just visit VW Malaysias Facebook page, you shall find out about the horrendous owner experience and pathetic customer service. Try it.

pakistan need to ban mehran and ravi now its 2015 man stop production of this scrap

These dalda tins should be melted to make spittoons.

Yah but that guy previously was saying it was 90 lakhs. Whats the deal with that?

3.5 million PKR = 35 lakh. So 90 lakhs is about 3 times overpriced.....not 25-30 :P

Sumo isn't the premium TATA suv any ways.... Personally I have seen the diesel engine ones do get ruined real fast. The petrol egines gives a better service in the long run. However Mahindra Bolero, Scorpio and XUV are much better than Sumo.
And those who want Audi, BMW, Lexus and Mercedes in Pakistan need to understand that even the basic models from these companies isn't affordable. May be Ford, Volkswagen, Fiat would be able to provide good and affordable cars. Having said that Indo-Pak ventures can also be a solution. TATA has now improved after acquiring Landrover and Jaguar.... Hope they will be provide some of the features of the Landrover in TATA Safari...

For Pakistan local production of vehicles is the only solution.

Yah but that guy previously was saying it was 90 lakhs. Whats the deal with that?

3.5 million PKR = 35 lakh. So 90 lakhs is about 3 times overpriced.....not 25-30 :P

Custom tax, import duties, registration. Zardari era.

Indeed Pakistanis are deprived of choices when it comes to cars, the only choice would be pay so much money for pathetic locally assembled dust bins or pay hefty amounts on Japanese imports, which are not that great to begin with. I am not particularly fan of VW because of my past experience but if VW enters Pakistani market, that might pave the way for others to follow, so lets hope.

I am not too sure about the Indian Cars, but I can attest for Indian bikes. I owned several bikes and one of them was KTM 390, all made in India but of course the design was by KTM Austria. I had no issues with the build quality, and India riders have far more options when compared to Pakistan, where we are still using 30 years old Honda 125 CGI or Yamaha 100 from adam and eves time.
Bajaj have really turned the Indian market on its head, although I like cruisers and Royal enfield is getting too old. Oh sorry the thread was about cars lol.

Fiat is a toilet on wheels, period. But I am quite a fan of Renault Cleo, it is one of the best hatch backs available. Unlike Peugeot which if you happen to visit their showroom, they will spend more time telling you whats the right way to pronounce the name instead of trying to sell you a car. True story.

I am sorry but Italians are in a league of their own, Italians had never been known for reliability, regardless of which ever brand, be it Ferrari, Lamborghini, Maserati, or Alfas. But what they had been known for are a unique driving characteristics and having a certain personality to them. 15 years ago you wouldn't buy Italian cars expecting reliability but what you pay for is a part of automotive heritage and class.

Fords are not reliable, not to mention most are really badly designed and constructed vehicles, the only ford that is any good is Focus, the rest are ugly, soul less guzzlers.

LOL, again you don't buy Italian cars for reliability. And you don't buy French cars at all of course unless its Cleo.

Yeah yeah, get over yourself.

Exactly, its a Korean car with detuned G-class engine and transmission, if my memory serves me correct.

Why only in Pakistan? Even in Japan people prefer smaller capacity engines. Not just because of the low cost of maintenance and running but also because of the tax structures in place. Besides American cars are too big even for themselves.

LOL, I think that statement sums up whole modern American car experience.

I bought a VW Golf GTi, and those were the most painful few months of my life. With in course of 7 months pretty much everything in the car was replaced, from transmission to god damn wipers, clutch by far was the worst offender. That car spent more time with VW than me driving it. I learned my experience and will never buy a VW again, in hot environment most of their cars keeps on breaking down. The only VW which is suited best for Pakistan would be Polo Sedan, that car has a better build quality along with a good track record.
A 4-cylinder car can never put a V6 or above to shame, unless the driver doesn't know what the heck he is doing.
Passat would be a nice edition, if launched.

My favuroties are Camero's in particular the 1966 SS is by far my favourite car of all time, but unfortunately pony cars can only go fast in a straight line, cornering on them feels like you're riding atop a drunken donkey.

VW had been loosing sales steam in US, this was one of the reasons why Ferdinand Piech was forced to step down from CEO position at VW. Further more, BMW and Mercedes are what we call as a premium brands, they can not be compared with main stream brands such as Toyota, Nissan or VW. Although VW is a huge group which pretty much owns most of the european premium car manufacturer, and Lexus and Infiniti are by Japanese, but they are a different class.

I would consider you lucky, mine GTi had all kinds of issues from non working wipers to car refusing to go into reverse, it was the worst car experience of my life. I switched to BMW E60, 3.0 litres and it was the best decision of my life. I couldn't find a good E60 M5, otherwise that would have been great but no complaints.

Here is a fun tip, just visit VW Malaysias Facebook page, you shall find out about the horrendous owner experience and pathetic customer service. Try it.

These dalda tins should be melted to make spittoons.
You probably bought a used GTI. My friend had a GTI for a long time and never faced any problem. What if I tell you I got many problems from a Nissan Maxima.it depends on the car.
Another things yes 4 cylinder turbo can smoke V6 if you don't know , so please increase your knowledge. VW 2.0 turbo can beat V6. There is a reason behind that turbo.Audi 2.0 turbo AWD will beat V6. Now let's talk about some serious 4 cylinder turbo Subaru STI AWD and Mitsubishi Evo AWD will smoke a V6 anyday anytime. They are too fast . The only way V6 can compete with these if they are tuned or got turbo. Like the Audi S4 AWD. Any car that has a turbo and AWD is always super fast. Check out some videos on YouTube even I was surprised.

This is exhibition car... most likely designed by some Italian designer, but this is not under production.

dude, I am a proud owner of Mahindra XUV-500 for last 1.5 yrs...it is one of the finest or in fact the best passenger vehicle ever made in India by an Indian company.! you have proved your ignorance and lack of knowledge..but never mind..do read about it!

This is exhibition car... most likely designed by some Italian designer, but this is not under production.

Any Pakistani business man can make contract with Mercedes for Engines and import assembly unit and there you go, 10 times better than what any bharti can ever dream.

P.S.: In history Pakistan had all UK, European and American auto brands... which could be seen on roads of Lahore as late as 80's. This was a time when human powered rickshaw ride was a dream of every bharti.

Na bhai na, that's a MAHINDRA XUV500, it's very much in production, and doing very well against multiple foreign competitors.

Google for Mahindra XUV500 and a cheaper model Mahindra Scorpio, both are very successful cars. :)

Lol, nope. I know this guy who has a Tata Rexton, crappy built quality, it's panels were bloated, paint was peeling off, made a cloud of black smoke every time the gear would change, he got it for 90 lakh not 30, I would've bought a Surf instead.

You are talking about Tata Sumo, and did you just say 90 lakh, for 1 car or 15 cars!! Just check the car prices in India at CarTrade.com | Buy Used Cars in India, New Cars, Sell Cars, Car Prices or CarDekho - Cars in India, New Cars Prices Tue Aug 04 23:39:24 IST 2015, Buy and Sell Used Cars | CarDekho.com , and hold on to your chair tightly, koi aaplogonki firki le raha hai. :D

Tata Sumo is a low cost car mostly used by the transporters, yes it's a bad car for personal use. Check Tata Safari Storm for a good SUV, or Mahindra, they make better SUVs.

TATA Rexton .?? AFAIK they don't have any product called Rexton or did u mean SSANGYONG REXTON ..?

Right. Btw, Mahindra bought that South Korean company.

Few years back i always use to say that Indian Giants such as TATA should be allowed to invest in Pakistan, perhaps open a plant and start assembling the nanos. It would have given Pakistan certain advantages
To name a few
1) A new auto mobile maker which is cheaper yet advanced compared to shitty Mehran. More choice for the average buyer.
2) More jobs
3) Strategic impacts as well as Indian Giants will have a stake in Pakistan that means people like Ajit Doval out of business. Less hostility.

True. Allow car makers like Tata, Mahindra, and bus/truck manufacturers like Ashok Leyland, Tata and Mahindra, for two-wheelers Bajaj, Hero and TVS, they all are doing very well against foreign competition here. With proper policies in place, they can offer good alternatives at reasonable prices. :)

Royal Enfield is also changing, better quality control, newer designs...just check their site: Royal Enfield – Official Website

Na bhai na, that's a MAHINDRA XUV500, it's very much in production, and doing very well against multiple foreign competitors.

Google for Mahindra XUV500 and a cheaper model Mahindra Scorpio, both are very successful cars. :)

You are talking about Tata Sumo, and did you just say 90 lakh, for 1 car or 15 cars!! Just check the car prices in India at CarTrade.com | Buy Used Cars in India, New Cars, Sell Cars, Car Prices or CarDekho - Cars in India, New Cars Prices Tue Aug 04 23:39:24 IST 2015, Buy and Sell Used Cars | CarDekho.com , and hold on to your chair tightly, koi aaplogonki firki le raha hai. :D

Tata Sumo is a low cost car mostly used by the transporters, yes it's a bad car for personal use. Check Tata Safari Storm for a good SUV, or Mahindra, they make better SUVs.

Right. Btw, Mahindra bought that South Korean company.

True. Allow car makers like Tata, Mahindra, and bus/truck manufacturers like Ashok Leyland, Tata and Mahindra, for two-wheelers Bajaj, Hero and TVS, they all are doing very well against foreign competition here. With proper policies in place, they can offer good alternatives at reasonable prices. :)

Royal Enfield is also changing, better quality control, newer designs...just check their site: Royal Enfield – Official Website

Refer to earlier post.

tata-bolt-2014-3-21-8-10-23.jpg

720x480xTata-Bot-Review-By-Car-Blog-India-16-720x480.jpg.pagespeed.ic.GgP7d-GQPA.jpg

This is TATA Bolt hatchback with price tag of 4.44 lac to 6.06 lac INR (7.08 lac to 9.6 lac PKR) with warranty of 3 years and 75000 kms (whichever is earlier).

These cases of simply loot.

There are a couple of car manufacturers coming to Pakistan. The second they increase their output by 20,000 more cars, the prices will be reduced by 15-20%. The two - three companies who produced in Pakistan have the monopoly ad they create an artificial shortage to further raise prices by 100,000 or more for a "quick delivery".

Let's hope the new comers survive and not end up as the Adam motors fiasco.

dude, I am a proud owner of Mahindra XUV-500 for last 1.5 yrs...it is one of the finest or in fact the best passenger vehicle ever made in India by an Indian company.! you have proved your ignorance and lack of knowledge..but never mind..do read about it!

I am not a big fan of its looks....but it does ride quite well when I got a chance to drive one last year when back in India...off roads decently too. Thats all that really counts, and it is well priced for what it can do.

Yah I saw some videos of it in Europe and South America even. Mahindra is cutting itself quite a niche that I hope it will consolidate and expand over the years. In NA, its tractors have made some good inroads by touting raw numbers for price level....I have seen the TV ads and heard the radio ads.....people are definitely taking notice!

Let's hope the new comers survive and not end up as the Adam motors fiasco.

It will be interesting to see how it all pans out. Pakistan can gain a lot by simply letting in whoever wants to assemble SKD or FKD kits and develop a good supplier and logsitics chain over time....then full fledged production of various relevant classes should commence after say 5 years of basic investment and experience for all the players in the Pakistan market. Pakistan can definitely send a few experts to see the stories in Thailand, India, South Africa, Mexico, China etc in this regard and learn and implement the best production/investment strategy for its needs. Definitely high time judging from the prices that are being quoted here.

Pakistan govt will probably need to lower the relevant excise tariffs, tariffs in general and also maybe create automobile focused SEZs to attract the relevant capital from the international market.....especially if it wants to grow capacity rapidly.