Pakistani poets mistreated at New Delhi Mushaira

This is the complete article from the Pakistani 'journalist' on some obscure blog.

http://www.allvoices.com/contributed-news/14409622-pakistani-poets-humiliated-at-new-delhi-mushaira
http://www.allvoices.com/users/hsaqib

Pakistani poets Fehmida Riaz, Harris Khalique and Kishwar Naheed were thoroughly humiliated at a New Delhi poetry recital event (mushaira) when protesters shouted “Go Back” at them. A protester even reached the stage and shouted the slogan Pakistan Murdabad (down with Pakistan). This is how pro-India Pakistani poets were treated at the event named Jashn-e-Bahar or Spring Festival on Friday. According to Times of India, the three poets maintained a dignified composure.

It may be mentioned that poetess Fehmida Riaz known for writing poetry on erotic themes treats India as her second home. Her poetry is known as versified pornography. During the military rule of Gen Zia, she had sought asylum in India and migrated to live there. No other Pakistani with an iota of national honor would think about seeking asylum in India as a mark of protest against one’s own country. In spite of her deep love for India, she was maltreated at the event.

The bolded part is enough to demonstrate the mindset of this particular Pakistani journalist.

However here is the original article from TOI, gives a less adulterated picture into the events that transpired.

Some trouble, but Delhi enjoys Urdu fest
Meenakshi Sinha, TNN | Apr 14, 2013, 01.53 AM IST

NEW DELHI: A protester shouting, "Go back", to the Pakistani poets, union minister Kapil Sibal reading out a poem inspired by the Nirbhaya case from his tablet, renowned shayar Wasim Barelvi reciting some excellent couplets, and Justice Markandey Katju reiterating his demand to award a posthumous Bharat Ratna to Mirza Ghalib - it was an eventful Jashn-e-Bahar on Friday.

The 15th edition of the mushaira started late when a protester from a right-wing Hindu group notorious for making such disruptions, marched on to the stage and shouted, Pakistan murdabad, among other slogans. He was immediately whisked off by security personnel as the poets from Pakistan -- Fahmida Riaz, Harris Khalique and Kishwar Naheed -- maintained a dignified composure.

The Barelvi couplet recited on the occasion -- Aap naraaz ho roothe ki khafa ho jayen baat itni bhi na bigde ki judaa ha jayen (Whether you are angry, miffed or upset/ let's not spoil the situation so much that we end up separating) -- was really apt and much appreciated by the audience at the DPS, Mathura Road.

A regular at the annual mushaira, Justice Katju, now chairman, Press Council of India, was the guest of honour. In his speech, he maintained that Urdu has been unjustly treated in India. "People associate a particular religion with this language. Few people know that Prime Minister Manmohan Singh writes his speech in Urdu."

He also said that the great 19th century poet Ghalib should be given Bharat Ratna posthumously. "If Sardar Vallabhai Patel and B R Ambedkar can be given awards after their deaths, why can't we award Ghalib?"

In his speech, Katju said that Urdu is the voice of protest. He urged Barelvi, also vice-chairman of the National Council for Promotion of Urdu Language, to bring more fire in his writings. "Dande ka waqt aa gaya hai. Aap bahut soft hai. Faiz ki tarah nahi Josh ke tarah likhen (It's time to wield the cane. You are very soft. Write like Josh (Malihabadi ) and not like Faiz (Ahmed Faiz).

Chief guest Sibal, who's the union minister of communication and information technology, read out a poem titled, Haalat-e-haazra (state of the girl child). Khokh meri se aayaa tu / mujhpe tera waar hai kyu /mamta se paala tujhko /mamta ko thukraya kyun (You came from my womb / then why do you strike at women? / I brought you up with motherly love / then why do you abandon your mother?)

"The recent Nirbhaya case and the general plight of women in our country made me write the poem," said Sibal, who maintained that to promote Urdu one needs technological support. The minister said that a search engine on the lines of Google needs to be devised to help the language and that one should be able to send sms in Urdu. "Technical courses like microbiology should be taught in Urdu. If we don't include zubaan (language) with technology and people, then we are not connecting to the masses," he said.

The mushaira was attended by many other poets from India such as Javed Akhtar and Popular Meeruthi. Some of them recited their old poems. Japan was represented for the first time by its scholar Prof Hiroji Kataoka.

Some trouble, but Delhi enjoys Urdu fest - The Times of India

I met various Indian writers/poets at Karachi literature festival held lately, all of them were given their due respect! Burkha Dutt specifically praised the hospitality she was offered.

of course they were invited and now they go back , so i think the lesson is learnt , next time before excepting an invitation they will think ...when you know the entire nation hates you why do you come ?
Well the same derelict minded nation is keen to be given the MFN status but i guess some in Pakistan forget that the Indians still live in a bubble.....BTW, many Australians also ask Indians the same question. :D

I wonder why does Arundhati Roy comes to mind.

Lol...no comments on the bankrupt mindset of the Indian nationals.

I guess more appropriate title would be, Indians humble their guests with their habitual hospitality.

Has anyone ever called Arundhati Roy pro Pakistani? I would be surprised.
We feel she just has misplaced priorities. Thats all. May be a screw or two loose as well.

I met various Indian writers/poets at Karachi literature festival held lately, all of them were given their due respect! Burkha Dutt specifically praised the hospitality she was offered.

We are not animals. We also know mehman nawazi. But the thing is how reliable is this 'BLOG'? Because no other newspapers seem to have reported this. I doubt this being a fake news. And since when did quoting 'BLOGS' become reliable source? Come one mate?

All Aman ka Tamasha participants should be honored with rain of smelly shoes and dirty underwears.

We are not animals. We also know mehman nawazi. But the thing is how reliable is this 'BLOG'? Because no other newspapers seem to have reported this. I doubt this being a fake news. And since when did quoting 'BLOGS' become reliable source? Come one mate?

Come on sport.....what happened with the Pakistan women cricket team and then the hockey players.
Something very wrong with the Indian society.
Pakistanis fight their wars on the border...not on playing fields or some concert venues. !!

Things like this are a risk that Pakistanis travelling to India will have to live with in a post-26/11 India , particularly because Pakistan has shown little or no resolve in acting against the perpetrators of the atrocities.

I personally feel this is wrong , but there will always be some who will protest like these guys in this case.

I am pretty sure if this had happened in pakistan against some indian poet then we would have been reading posts like, Pakistan are extremist, terrorist, unwelcoming, failed state and other nonsensible garbage. If you invite someone to your country then its your duty to protect from all slander and if you fail at it then its extremely pathetic.

It is not just the duty of the state but of the people too. This is showing zero tolerance. If someone is invited to your country then he is your guest and you dont posses the right to insult them. For example we have hate for india too, we have extremist on our side too but atleast when people from your country come we treat them as guests and provide them with great hospitality.

Come on sport.....what happened with the Pakistan women cricket team and then the hockey players.
Pakistanis fight their wars on the border...not on playing fields or some concert venues. !!

This problem arose since the time your people decided to fight their war against innocent men women and children in the streets , hotels and restaurants of Mumbai.

Pakistani women cricket team? Apparently there was genuine threat to their safety at hotels so rather than challenging the law and order in the city they were provided with same facilities at the stadium.

Pakistan team manager Ayesha Ashar said the entire squad was happy with the arrangements made at the Barabati stadium.

"The arrangements are more like we get in Pakistan," Ashar was quoted as saying by the Press Trust of India news agency. "We are happy with the facilities provided to us by the organisers."

Plus this news is fake. I mean Pakistani Urdu poets are honored more in India than in their home country. I doubt the reliability of this news.

Plus I don't know what happened to the Hockey players so I won't comment. But the thing is India is not some big mean machine that doesn't miss any chance to single out Pakistanis and humiliate them. :/ Having said that there is no lack of jingoists in our country as well.

Then what is the point in adding "Pro India" in title when it is not the point ?? Pointless addition of pointless point i feel don't u get the point ?

Again you failed to spot the point that I referred to! Point is not pertaining pointless addition or something it's about clearly pointed humiliation. Making pointless comments on pointed matter is pointlessness in itself, I expect you to encompass earnest aspect of the OP in your forthcoming posts.

I am pretty sure if this had happened in pakistan against some indian poet then we would have been reading posts like, Pakistan are extremist, terrorist, unwelcoming, failed state and other nonsensible garbage. If you invite someone to your country then its your duty to protect from all slander and if you fail at it then its extremely pathetic.

It is not just the duty of the state but of the people too. This is showing zero tolerance. If someone is invited to your country then he is your guest and you dont posses the right to insult them. For example we have hate for india too, we have extremist on our side too but atleast when people from your country come we treat them as guests and provide them with great hospitality.

How much hospitality were you able to provide the Lankans when their cricketers were showered with bullets in 2009 ?

Also, I would like to see how well Pakistanis welcome Indians after our people have killed 166 of your people in Karachi.This will never happen though. Indians have better and more important things to do in life than randomly go around murdering people in neighbouring countries.

P.S- The authenticity of this news is questionable till we don't get a better source.The whole seems to have been exaggerated by the Pakistani author.