Overseas Pakistanis, what good or bad things you find among local Pakistanis?

Ethnic nationalism goes out the door as soon as Pakistan wins a cricket match, then everyone is a Pakistani and our people.

As for meat, i didn't find much difference in the quality compared to Australia, but Pakistani vegies do taste alot yummier. I did notice alot of hypocritism in my own extended family. They find faults in everyone else and when i point out to them that they are also doing the same stuff they get offended and their default answer is "i do it coz i have no choice". I also noticed growing intolerance and fanatic influence of mullahs also growing in my family. For example when i asked my own cousins about the Islamabad Dharna by these mullahs, they were supporting them saying that this is to stop Qadyanis from forcing us to become Qadyanis. I was shocked, i told him that all this chaos is for a clause on the election nomination paper, not an alteration in the constitution, they didn't believe me and said the local masjid Imam said it, so they believe him over me because i m not living in Pakistan.

This made me realize that i can't expect Pakistan to change unless i manage to change my family's way of thinking. I have managed to change the view point of a few people but the older generation would just not budge.

Sorry but making it look like i am whinging about my family.
Problem is these mullah justify intolerance , bigotry and extremism by twisting verses and Hadith and common people just follow them blindly without using their own logic and reasoning.. You can witness this mullah khadim rizvi who was using abusive vulgar language in his speeches during Islamabad dharna and when few anchor told him that it dont suit a ulema to use such language then he started justifying his language by quoting and twisting hadiths..

Half of us are illiterate, other half never study religion by our own.

The problems I had with local Pakistanis is how they only try to rip off foreigners and overseas Pakistanis.
Then there is the silence on
Excessive Load shedding of Electricity during the summer when people need air conditioning to survive in the heat.
Excessive Load shedding of Gas during the winter when people need to warm themselves up.
Worst driving I ever experienced on roads.

Misandry is also very strong amongst local Pakistanis.

Overall Local Pakistanis are much friendlier compared to overseas Pakistanis.

I am not talking about Janay walay log. I am talking about general public, people that you are not related to.
Acha i see. Personally i have had a good interaction with outsiders too. But i am mot sure u have noticed or not, those local pakistanis who are well off and worst of all their two bit zero worth drivers assume that any person who is on foot is a lowly being and if they need to drive ahead while one is crossing the road, they have the right to drive away firstly , but when that doesnt happen they almost drive their cars into you to the point that they almost slightly hit you or their cars front starts touching you. Is is such extreme arrogance. Another occasion when ihad this experience was abroad with an arab woman. And mind it in all the cases i was inside huge market where u cross roads to get to the parking or to walk between street-roads to visit diff shops.

What would piss u off that in our country even the drivers of well off think they are from another planet jab tak kaan kay neechay rakh kay na do. Yehi log agar apko achay karpon aur achi car may dekh lain tau khud hee apni limits may ajatay hain.

Acha i see. Personally i have had a good interaction with outsiders too. But i am mot sure u have noticed or not, those local pakistanis who are well off and worst of all their two bit zero worth drivers assume that any person who is on foot is a lowly being and if they need to drive ahead while one is crossing the road, they have the right to drive away firstly , but when that doesnt happen they almost drive their cars into you to the point that they almost slightly hit you or their cars front starts touching you. Is is such extreme arrogance. Another occasion when ihad this experience was abroad with an arab woman. And mind it in all the cases i was inside huge market where u cross roads to get to the parking or to walk between street-roads to visit diff shops.

What would piss u off that in our country even the drivers of well off think they are from another planet jab tak kaan kay neechay rakh kay na do. Yehi log agar apko achay karpon aur achi car may dekh lain tau khud hee apni limits may ajatay hain.

The question is why are people like. Is it a cultural issue or is it illiteracy?

I went to multiple stores in Multan during my last visit---the owner/salesman/ etc would just stare at me without expressions---no greetings---no welcome---no smile---.

No pleasantries exchanged.

When I said the greetings 1 out of 5 replied back with some emotion---otherwise---it was a bland exchange---.

Why---because for thousands of years---people have been looking up to the travelers coming back home and telling them how it is different.

I feel the same here. I think it has got to do with upper class not treating as equal their servants and maids.

The question is why are people like. Is it a cultural issue or is it illiteracy?
This behavior is prevalent amongst upper class people from major cities karachi , lahore and islamabad and amongst fuedals and their sidekicks.
Now these upperclass people are doing the same what i mentioned in previous post alongside their drivers. so its not education. And ofcourse our local culture and islamic culture both whether in their indiviudal spaces or mixed together never teach such behaviors.
If we say issue is poverty then these people arent poor, then why such behavior?
Gharoor takabbur, Allah ka khuaf na rehna, thori si achievements ya mamooli sa status even if its becoming a driver of a rich guy , haasil karkay logon ko nichla dekhna. Have u ever interacted with people from domestic helpers class like maids, drivers, security guards etc etc? These people have a very arorgant attitude towards people within their class, that i am employed by so and so sahab.

Our society's moral fabric is in tatters which has been worsened by slave mentality carried by people of this region for centuries.
Aur btw pakistani baahir ki countries may bhi yehi kaam kartay hain unless they really fear some repercussions. On the whole i have found pakistanis whether locals or overseas have a chip on their shoulders and are arrogant; something which holds them back from progressing as a nation.

Irrespective of a person being from abroad or local - charges should remain the same - variation on charge should only be due to the distance of the journey not the person sat in the vehicle. That is absurd.

Don't worry treatment mostly remains the same (irrespective of the skin color) ....... for them (taxi drivers) if you are from another city visiting their city for the first time .... you will be charged high. And there is this thing refusing the ridiculous price being charged and looking for another cab ....... Kali peeli taxis in Pakistan don't run on fix charge you decide and agree the fare before sitting with them.

The shit comparisons of Lahore vs Karachi, Islo vs any other city etc (dividing the youth and drowning them to lowest of ethics) i think it also stipulates the up bringing of the person, ripping off over seas Pakistanis if they reveal where they are from or known to others, thinking money is easy to come by when you are abroad. I have seen people being literally robbed more like cheated; their hard earned money and years of work being wasted by their own relatives. For those who have never lived in Pakistan have more social issues than those who have spent some years in country. Watching bollywood semi **** movies and enjoys while criticize the same content when our own actresses follow as off course they know what content is better to sell to public but saying hot to other and :astagh: on other doesn't make any sense at all (just saying).

Positively Pakistanis have always been kind, generous and helpful either locals or overseas. We love our country and proud and we are very aggressive about it. Some may criticize military but deep down they feel proud to have one and thank lord for that and if only education level of Pakistan is raised up our people will flourish even more. In general we have aggressive posture but softer from inside.

Fun fact: while living in Middle east for a long time; has developed a habit in me or in many other expatriates of saying Salam. Sadly when I shop in Pakistan or visit a restaurant habitually I say Salam and people like " Ji boliye Sir" "Haan Bhai kia chahye" normally I wait 3/4 second for second party to respond I mean wtf dude just return the greeting we are muslims its a sunnah we all know it, dont just glare and surprised.

Again I am not generalizing these are my experiences and of those around me.

Interesting thing I learnt today on this thread from more than one OSP's is that Local Pakistanis lack Greeting skills. Let's put some effort into it guys :D A smile and salam don't cost anything :-)

Good: The potential of the people; very respectful; the food; the culture; & their happy-go-lucky attitudes even though things seem grim for many.

Bad: The unlocked potential of the people; the state of condition most live in; the unfair treatment or inequality; and the one guy who pushed me. :pissed:

But yea other than that I've got nothing but love for Pakistan & Pakistanis.

The driving is terrible. They have no regard for human life. Around AJK when the expats go home during the summer, the young idiots look at what the locals do and consider the roads as rally tracks. I was the same, but at some point you mature and it terrifies you when you realise how hazardous it is. The professional drivers like the taxi's, buses, rickshaws and route vans are the worst!

on the bright side whenever you have a breakdown people stop to help. I don't get that in the UK.

unfortunately many OSP drives the local way with excuses like i am following the local traffic or i have no other choice but to drive recklessly and honk for no reason, it seems as some OSP goes back to their instincts to not to obey the law where as while living in abroad people follow the law of their respective country. Either OSP or locals rule of law must be established, law must be imposed by educating people about social etiquette

You know what now that you mention it most of my Pakistani friends have some sort of traffic violation tickets or cases here.

The driving is terrible. They have no regard for human life. Around AJK when the expats go home during the summer, the young idiots look at what the locals do and consider the roads as rally tracks. I was the same, but at some point you mature and it terrifies you when you realise how hazardous it is. The professional drivers like the taxi's, buses, rickshaws and route vans are the worst!

on the bright side whenever you have a breakdown people stop to help. I don't get that in the UK.
Ajk rawalakot?