New Delhi police fire water cannon at India rape protest

Indian rape victim's condition deteriorating: Singapore hospital

(Reuters) - The condition of the Indian medical student, whose gang rape in New Delhi triggered nationwide protests, has deteriorated and there are signs her vital organs have failed, the Singapore hospital treating her said on Friday.

"As of 9 p.m. Singapore time on Dec 28 (1300 GMT), the patient's condition has taken a turn for the worse. Her vital signs are deteriorating with signs of severe organ failure," Mount Elizabeth Hospital Chief Executive Officer Kelvin Loh said in a statement.

"Her family members have been informed that her condition has deteriorated and they are currently by her side to encourage and comfort her," he said.

The 23-year-old woman, who was severely beaten, raped for almost an hour and thrown out of a moving bus on December 16, was airlifted to Singapore on December 26 for specialist treatment.

The Singapore hospital said earlier on Friday the woman had suffered "significant brain injury" and was surviving against the odds.

Apparently there was a NEW gang rape in Tamil Nadu. 10 guys raped a girl for 2 hours while they tied her boyfriend to a tree. Absolutely repulsive culture. Despicable. Shameful.

culture? how so? - the protest show that it's a criminal issue and not cultural issue. It is judiciary issue and not a cultural issue. That would be like us calling knifing of children or driving over them with cars a Chinese cultural trait. I don't get how you think you represent china well w/ such comments.

The protest is not just for a gang rape which alone is a criminal issue, the protest is for the issue of women's safety and security in Indian society and it does have cultural dimension.

Now, when you reply me, keep in mind that I don't support anyone who is in denial mode and whoever he is. Pehle sochle aur soch samajh ke jawab dena.

A recent news tells us that a rapist after being released from jail is now after the girl he raped as the girl has received threats from the rapist and is scared of being murdered by the rapist. Those who are for jail term for rapists should now consider that how rapists would try to take revenge and kill the victim as soon as he is released from jail.

Completely hopeless situation in India. Thank god I am not a woman. One can murder me but cannot rape me. If some criminals manage to behead me, it would be OK for me, but I just can't think of being raped. To me, rape is more dangerous than murder as rape makes a person left with no dignity at all. I would go for male babies only as it would be impossible for me to give protection to my daughters in India.

You are really a funny dude buddy. :rofl:

I saw in the past few months, you were the one always bragging how to conquer China then make all Chinese girls as your sex slaves.

How you could even dream to rape other people when you are even afraid of getting raped in your own country. :lol:

Delhi rape victim died.... My heart totaly shatterd.... i dont cry.... But now cant stop my tears.... Earth lost sweet child.... Lets pray for her soul.... Please fast or try to avoid talking anything (keeping mum)....

India gang-rape victim dies in Singapore

Hospital says 23-year-old woman who was raped and severely beaten by six men in New Delhi has died from her injuries.

Doctors have announced that a young Indian woman who was gang-raped and severely beaten on a bus in India's capital, New Delhi, has died at their Singapore hospital.

A statement by Singapore's Mount Elizabeth Hospital where the 23-year-old victim was being treated said she "died peacefully" early on Saturday.

"We are very sad to report that the patient passed away peacefully at 4.45am [local time] on December 29, 2012," Kelvin Loh, the chief executive of Mount Elizabeth Hospital, said in a statement.

The statement said her family and officials from the High Commission of India were by her side.

The hospital said the woman, a paramedic student, had remained in an extremely critical condition since Thursday when she was flown to Singapore from India.

"Despite all efforts by a team of eight specialists in Mount Elizabeth Hospital to keep her stable, her condition continued to deteriorate over these two days," Loh continued.

By late Friday, the young woman's condition had "taken a turn for the worse" and her vital signs had indicated severe organ failure, the hospital had earlier said.

She had also suffered a heart attack, a lung and abdominal infection and "significant" brain injury, it said.

'Very serious condition'

Al Jazeera's Divya Gopalan, repoting from New Delhi, siad: "She has been in hospital since the attack happened on December 16, she has been in hospital in very serious condition... just a few days ago they said her condition had worsened so they sent her to Singapore for treatment at a hospital that specialises in organ transplants."

Gopalan continued: "She flew over there just over a day ago and doctors said once she arrived there she started receiving treatment again. Just a few hours ago they said she had multiple organ failure and they were trying to treat her with antibiotics."

The horrific ordeal of the woman has galvanised Indians, who have held almost daily demonstrations to demand greater protection from sexual violence, from groping to rape, that impacts thousands of women every day, but which often goes unreported.

The victim and a male friend were traveling in a public bus on December 16 night when they were attacked by six men who raped her and beat them both.

They also inserted the rod in her body, stripped both naked and threw them off the bus on a road. Police have arrested the six attackers.

The attack two weeks ago brought new focus on police and community attitudes toward woman in India. Demonstrators in New Delhi have demanded stronger protections for women and stronger punishment for rapists.

The government has ordered an official inquiry into the attack and promised new laws to protect women as well as stiffer penalties for sex crimes.

It also announced plans to post the photos, names and addresses of convicted rapists on official websites to publicly shame them. The campaign is scheduled to begin in Delhi, which has been dubbed India's "rape capital".

India gang-rape victim dies in Singapore - Central & South Asia - Al Jazeera English

Well, the protestors will now get the death sentence that they wanted for the rapists/murders.

Is attempted murder/murder punishable by death in India? AFAIK capital punishment in India is reserved for the "rarest of rare" cases and Inida has killed, what, 30 people in 30 years?

I believe this case will qualify, the brutality will most likely get them that sentence. All murder qualifies, murder with brutality fits the criteria. (I'm sure that the lawyers will argue that there was no intention to commit murder & therefore that a lesser charge be leveled)

RIP. the girl could have a prosperous future, and she certainly didn't deserve this.
my condolence to her family and boyfriend.

RIP to her.

I can't imagine the pain and suffering the poor girl had to go through.

Hope the disgusting people who committed this crime are punished severely.

The thing is, most of the Indians in this forum have most likely been part of gang rapes. It's the Hindu culture, they are taught to treat women as pieces of meat. That's why raping is FULLY tolerated in India. I've even read incest is pretty rampant in Indian culture.

For starters , what else do you know about Hindu Culture mate? Please share it with us. I being a Hindu was never aware of it pls open my eyes with your `findings`

Secondly . Most of the rapes and incests around the World , (Yes , not exclusively in India) happens coz the women who you know are easier targets..
Heres a list of countries with Highest Number of Incest`s

Republic of Croatia
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Russian Federation (with the exception of Moscow and St. Petersburg)
Georgia
Poland
Slovakia
Hungary
Czech Republic
Bulgaria
The Slavic and Balkan Regions particularly
China :china:

Which Country has the highest incest rate

What should I do now? frekking laugh at China? and say Its an Athiest-ian culture or a Buddhist Culture , Muslimn culture , Christian culture?
feck No.
So please grow up and show some appreciation one of the Bigger religion of the World , or Any religion for that matter!!

OTOH - Very shocked at reading the death of the Brave girl.. I , including , Millions around the country India and many Indians around the World were truly wishing that She wil be OK.. how sad a news can get :( ???
God bless the Little Warrior!!

I'm very sad and cried. I'm not very emotional person but her death has shaken me to core.
Let see you at India gate!!

I've call her martyr who lit a torch of a revolution, a revolution to wake us all and all Indian netas and babus to work in best interest of our society and nation.

RIP!!

I'm very sad and cried. I'm not very emotional person but her death has shaken me to core.
Let see you at India gate!!

I've call her martyr who lit a torch of a revolution, a revolution to wake us all and all Indian netas and babus to work in best interest of our society and nation.

RIP!!

What revolution? Why go to India gate? It is incredibly sad but do you even know why you are angry at the GoI? For once they are not the ones who deserve the blame rather it is elements within Indian society and this is not something the GoI can change itself- social engineering is a myth and has never worked in practice. What is happening is the Indian people are attacking the GoI as they are an easy target but the much harder pill to swallow is this is a social problem. In this particular case the accused are sitting in Tihar jail enjoying the other inmates' full scorn and will be sitting in jail for the rest of their miserable lives. The oI has promised many new policies and projects to resolve the issues, seriously there is very little more they could do. The GoI certainly isn't going to given into the insane and ill-considered calls for public flogging. Any such protests that happen as a result will be directionless and hooliganism IMHO.

You could have a vigilant police man on every corner but if the social issues remain crimes like this will still happen. Sad but true.

What revolution? Why go to India gate? It is incredibly sad but do you even know why you are angry at the GoI? For once they are not the ones who deserve the blame rather it is elements within Indian society and this is not something the GoI can change itself- social engineering is a myth and has never worked in practice. What is happening is the Indian people are attacking the GoI as they are an easy target but the much harder pill to swallow is this is a social problem. In this particular case the accused are sitting in Tihar jail enjoying the other inmates' full scorn and will be sitting in jail for the rest of their miserable lives. The oI has promised many new policies and projects to resolve the issues, seriously there is very little more they could do. The GoI certainly isn't going to given into the insane and ill-considered calls for public flogging. Any such protests that happen as a result will be directionless and hooliganism IMHO.

You could have a vigilant police man on every corner but if the social issues remain crimes like this will still happen. Sad but true.

I'm not against Govt or Police they are doing (there are room for improvement) what ever is required to keep situation in control. I've never advocated or talked about the death sentence for those scums but asked for quick hearing and verdict based on current laws. I've always and I'm talking about the revolution ,,
- For society and for our social values reform
- It's about respecting women, our elders, kids every one
- It's about creating feel safe environment
- It's about judicial system reform to bring culprits to Justice ASAP
- It's about anti social elements feel the heat and understand that they cannot escape