Mumbai struggles to catch up with Shanghai

40% of your population are living under poverty line.
40% of your population dont even know how to write their names.
Your english population is 229850000.

So, 80% dont know what is check can be estimated from above information.(I beliven even more.):lol:

seems like you didnt know about your country very much.. this is how you reduced your poverty..:cheers:

The China Development Research Foundation (CDRF) recently released China's National Development Report for 2007. The report points out that the population of poor in China's rural areas may be largely underestimated based upon China's official poverty line of annual 680 yuan ($91) per capita net income.

The internationally accepted standard definition of a poor person is one whose daily income is one US dollar or less. In terms of Chinese yuan (renminbi), those who earn 2,500 yuan (US$333) or less annually in China should be categorized as poor. However, the poverty line set by Chinese authorities is approximately one-fourth the standard set by the international standard.

The report states that over the past two decades, Chinese farmers' net income has increased substantially. However, China's official poverty line has remained unaltered since then. Consequently, the ratio of the poverty line to rural net per capita income has continued to decrease.

Some researchers suggest that the current Chinese ratio of the poverty line to rural net per capita income is the lowest in the world. Doubt is therefore being cast on the rationality of China's poverty line standard. The CDRF's report states that the poverty line for China's rural areas may be set at much too low a level. The state of being poor, the report says, does not merely imply whether one has enough to eat, but also correlates with such issues as whether one can live comfortably with food, clothing, accommodation and transport, and whether one has access to education, basic medical care, social contacts, etc.

According to the experts who worked on the report, the current Chinese poverty line may well be considered as the "survival-related poverty line," which reflects only the income level that a poor person should attain in order to survive. Apart from basic survival, the "development-related poverty line" should be considered, which indicates what the minimum income level is for one to receive a basic education and Medicare. If these aspects were taken into consideration, the report says, the Chinese rural farmers' development-related poverty line for 2005 would have been set at 1,147 yuan ($153).

China's poverty line of 680 yuan ($91) per capita net income a year is too low and fails to honestly reflect the progress of its poverty-relief project, according to a researcher at the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences quoted by the report. China's largely underestimation of rural poverty leads to controversy. On one hand, with its economic boom, China's per capita Gross Domestic Product (GDP) reaches the standard of a middle power country. On the other hand, China's rural poor do not feel or share the benefits of the economic rise indicated by the statistics.

Mr. Fang Jue, a Chinese political commentator living in the U.S., pointed out that the Chinese regime deliberately sets a low poverty line standard.

"I am of the opinion that China's poverty line standard is consciously, instead of unconsciously, set low. Its purpose is to cover up the widening gap in China between poor and rich, and also to conceal the Chinese regime's serious mistakes in poverty eradication. China sets a poverty line "defined according to Chinese characteristics," which is only one fourth of the international poverty line standard. This is an act to fool Chinese people and the international community," said Fang Jue.

Fang continued, "China's poor population actually totals 150 million to 200 million, using the internationally accepted one US dollar per day guideline. This enormous number is much more than the Chinese official estimate. Therefore, poverty reduction still has a long way to go in China, and it will take the Chinese regime a very long time to correct its mistakes in poverty alleviation."

Dr. Cheng Chuyuan, professor of Economics at Indiana's Ball State University, said that the Chinese authorities should make massive efforts to improve rural farmers' lives.

Dr. Cheng commented, "One dollar only helps one stay alive. One dollar maintains survival rather than a minimum standard of well-being in life. What if one is sick? The widening gap between poor and rich should also cover problems concerning Medicare and environmental pollution. If there is no food to eat and clean water to drink, one dollar serves no purpose. China should make vigorous efforts to improve rural living conditions."

Dysfunctional public services in China's rural areas have overburdened the rural poor with excessive medical and educational expenses. Medical and educational expenses are a "new contributor to poverty," according to a member of the China Reform Foundation. The huge burden of medical expenses, in particular, changes rural poverty for the worse.

Ok, now everybody which including me, kindly "Stop Trolling" and get back to the topic, So whats my Indian friends on your PM's chest-pumping speech back in 2004 ? you believe him at that time ?

Now in 2010, it proved to be a bounce "Check" regarding his "Promise" what do you think ? angry, embarrassed or its nothing?
:coffee::cheers:

Don't even you know? That must have been blocked by the great communist party censure in the open economy. See here how much they liked you to watch Avatar too exactly for the same reason:

'Avatar' pulled from 2-D screens by Chinese government | Company Town | Los Angeles Times

According to a report in the Hong Kong newspaper Apple Daily, the move was made at the urging of propaganda officials who are concerned that "Avatar" is taking too much market share from Chinese films and drawing unwanted attention to the sensitive issue of forced evictions.

Millions of Chinese have been uprooted to make way for high rises and government infrastructure projects. “Nail House” is a popular term given to homes of dwellers who refuse to leave though they are surrounded by demolished homes. In "Avatar," human colonists try to demolish the village of an alien race in order to obtain a precious resource buried below it.

Great Movie :cheers:

Oh, So, lets just start it. By the way, are you that 2/3 people of indian?:lol: What a pity, a country cant even feed her 1/3 people.:lol:

Every third Indian 'under poverty line'

More than 37% of Indians live below poverty line, says the report
Every third Indian is living below the poverty line, a new government study has found.

The report by economist Suresh Tendulkar used money spent by a person on specific household goods and services to define the poor.

People living in the states of Orissa, Bihar and Chhattisgarh were found to be among the poorest, the report said.

It also found that the number of poor in cities had decreased, while those in villages had gone up.

The report has moved from the traditional method of enumerating the number of people living in poverty by measuring their calorie intake to one based on their spending on essential goods and services.

Based on the new method, it found 37.2% of Indian's people living below the poverty line.

The report found that over 40% of rural people survive on a per capita expenditure of 447 rupees ($9.6) every month, spending on bare essentials like food, fuel, clothing and footwear.

Correspondents say that for all of India's impressive economic progress, the number of Indians living in extreme poverty is not declining fast enough.

Unless India commits itself to greater social spending and intervention, it will be difficult to reduce poverty, correspondents say.
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------http://news.bbc.co.uk/2/hi/south_asia/8407506.stm

Ok, now everybody which including me, kindly "Stop Trolling" and get back to the topic, So whats my Indian friends on your PM's chest-pumping speech back in 2004 ? you believe him at that time ?

Now in 2010, it proved to be a bounce "Check" regarding his "Promise" what do you think ? angry, embarrassed or its nothing?
:coffee::cheers:

It was not chest thumping..he said only he had that dream that Mumbai has to be like Shanghai.read it carefully and you will understand..

:rofl:I know indian is good at english, but I didnt know an indain who seems to be very good at english dosent even know what is check.:lol:

I am sure you mean good English like this::what:

526173250_9edc9ee016.jpg

:cheers:

seems like you didnt know about your country very much.. this is how you reduced your poverty..:cheers:

Just see an indian version.:rofl: You are amazing. China cant beat you in this.:rofl:

No. Earnings of diffrent types of employees in India Converted into Rs./month
1. Average cost of employee* in Air-India Rs. 53,000
2. Average cost of employee* in MARUTI UDYOG Rs. 24,000
3. Average cost of employee* in the MUMBAI MUNICIPAL CORP. Rs. 16,000
4. Minimum starting salary in the FIRE Dept. in Mumbai Rs. 7,000
5. Average earning of an Indian - US$ 440 per year or about (This is based on a GDP of US$ 440 billion and 1 billion people) Rs. 1,727
6. Minimum earning required, as per WORLD BANK, to live at above poverty line, for underdeveloped countries like India, China etc, about US$ 1.0 per day or US$ 30 per month Rs. 1,410
7. MINIMUM WAGES, as per Government of India, for all the States, about Rs. 40 to 60 per day per person, average about Rs. 50 per day. For 25 days per month Rs. 1,250
8. POVERTY LINE definition, as per Government of India, see below for explanation, at Rs. 10 per day, per person, approx. Rs. 300
Other related & relevant data In millions, people
9. Number of people, in India, who are below poverty line About 300 million (30 Cr.)
10. Number of people, in India, who work in the organized Public Sector, i.e. with the Central and State Governmen About 19 million (1.9 Cr.)
11. Number of people, in India, who work in the organized Private Secto About 8 million (0.8 Cr.)
12. Number of people, in India, who work in the unorganized Sector About 320 million (32 Cr.)
13. Number of people, in India, who are unemployed approximately About 300 million (30 Cr.)
14. Number of JOBS which need to be created every year, to fulfill the aspirations of the people of India About 10 million/yr. (1 Cr.)
15. Number of people BORN every year in India (China is only 10 million per yea About 27 million/yr. (2.7 Cr.)
16. Number of people, in India, who are below 35 years of age About 700 million (70 Cr.)

1. About us
The World Bank's definition of the poverty line**, for under developed countries, like India, is US$ 1/day/person or US $365 per year. As per this definition, more than 75% of all Indians are, probably, below the poverty line!
As per the Government of India, poverty line for the urban areas is Rs. 296 per month and for rural areas Rs. 276 per month, i.e. people in India who earn less than Rs. 10 per day. As per GOI, this amount will buy food equivalent to 2200 calories per day, medically enough, to prevent death. At this level of earning, even in a poor country like India, survival on Rs. 10 per day is a nightmare! This actually translates to Rs. 3650 per year or US $ 75 per year.
On what basis have our planners decided this definition of "Poverty Line"? Does it mean that the person will get enough food to stay alive? How and where is he or she supposed to cook it? What about the minimum needs in education, housing, health services, clothing,and other basic necessities? Are we supposed to live on pavements and sleep under trees from birth till death? YOU BE THE JUDGE!
The minimum wages in India, vary from state to state and city to city, and average Rs. 1000 - 1250/month or Rs. 12,000 - 15,000/yr. Or US $ 250 - US $ 300/yr. India's per capita is US $ 440 per year. (China's is US $ 990).
If India could provide Roads, Electricity, TV's and Telephones in every village, it would improve, education, health, family planning, agriculture, animal husbandry, GDP and reduce migration from vllages to cities.

*Cost of employee = salary & wages + all allowances including housing + perks + retirement benefits.

**1 million = 1,000,000 or 10 lacs. 1 lac = 1,00,000. 1 crore = 10 million = 1,00,00,000.

The only Constant in Life is CHANGE!

India Watch :: Poverty Line

It was not chest thumping..he said only he had that dream that Mumbai has to be like Shanghai.read it carefully and you will understand..

people think of the great changes that have come about in Shanghai. I share this aspiration to transform Mumbai in the next five years in such a manner that people would forget about Shanghai and Mumbai will become a talking point,"

Come on pal.....

Oh, So, lets just start it. By the way, are you that 2/3 people of indian?:lol: What a pity, a country cant even feed her 1/3 people.:lol:

Funny it coming from a chinese whose country reduced poverty by altering how below poverty standard is determined..what a genius country and dumb countrymen :rofl:

Oh, So, lets just start it. By the way, are you that 2/3 people of indian?:lol: What a pity, a country cant even feed her 1/3 people.:lol:...................................................................rant..............

Here let us see how you decided to come over your food and poverty problem:

The Missing Chinese Millions: The True Population Crisis in China

The deaths of these women are not recorded, this makes exact figures difficult but at this moment an estimated 44 million Chinese women are missing from census records. They could be dead or not registered, either way it amounts to a massive gender deficit within the Chinese population and a serious ecological and ethical problem.

Congratulations on the success of your great communist party :cheers:

Funny it coming from a chinese whose country reduced poverty by altering how below poverty standard is determined..what a genius country and dumb countrymen :rofl:

See my previous post, you will love that.:rofl:

40% of your population are living under poverty line.

living under proverty line does not mean they do not know what is a cheque...I think probably you dont know this..:rofl:

40% of your population dont even know how to write their names.

:lol: let me tell you something...even the least educated or completely uneducated poor person in India also knows everything about the money and its system (that includes cheques )..I saw one of your post saying you might come to Bangalore...in case you come plese see it by yourself...:lol:

Your english population is 229850000.

dont worry the cheques in India are written in English as well as Hindi...:lol: I am sure you never knew this..:D

So, 80% dont know what is check can be estimated from above information.(I beliven even more.):lol:

:lol: estimate now from the above information...:rofl:

Here let us see how you decided to come over your food and poverty problem:

The Missing Chinese Millions: The True Population Crisis in China

The deaths of these women are not recorded, this makes exact figures difficult but at this moment an estimated 44 million Chinese women are missing from census records. They could be dead or not registered, either way it amounts to a massive gender deficit within the Chinese population and a serious ecological and ethical problem.

Congratulations on the success of your great communist party :cheers:

Oh, no, china cant match you. Enjoy below.:lol:
Just BTW:In your country there are 6000 baby dead every day.

India baby girl deaths 'increase'
The number of girls born and surviving in India has hit an all-time low compared with boys, ActionAid says.

A report by the UK charity says increasing numbers of female foetuses were being aborted and baby girls deliberately neglected and left to die.

In one site in the Punjab state, there are just 300 girls to every 1,000 boys among higher caste families, it says.

ActionAid says India faces a "bleak" future if it does not end its practice of cultural preference for boys.
Girls 'condemned'

ActionAid teamed up with Canada's International Development Research Centre (IDRC) to produce the Disappearing Daughters report.

More than 6,000 households in sites across five states in north-western India were interviewed and statistical comparisons were made with national census date.

The real horror of the situation is that for women avoiding having daughters is a rational choice

Laura Turquet, ActionAid
Under "normal" circumstances, there should be about 950 girls for every 1,000 boys, the charity said.

But it said that in three of the five sites, that number was below 800.

In four of the five sites surveyed, the proportion of girls to boys had declined since a 2001 census, the report said.

The research also found that ratios of girls to boys were declining fastest in comparatively prosperous urban areas.

ActionAid suggested the increasing use of ultrasound technology may be a factor in the trend.

The document says that Indian woman are put under intense pressure to produce sons, in a culture that predominantly views girls as a burden rather than an asset.

It says many families now use ultrasound scans and abort female foetuses, despite the existence of the 1994 law banning gender selection and selective abortion.

The charity also blames other illegal practices - such as allowing the umbilical cord to become infected - for the growing gender imbalance.

"The real horror of the situation is that, for women, avoiding having daughters is a rational choice. But for wider society it's creating an appalling and desperate state of affairs," Laura Turquet, women's rights policy official at ActionAid said.

"In the long term, cultural attitudes need to change. India must address economic and social barriers including property rights, marriage dowries and gender roles that condemn girls before they are even born.

"If we don't act now the future looks bleak," Ms Turquet said.

Some 10 million female foetuses have been aborted in India in the past 20 years, the British medical journal the Lancet has said.

BBC NEWS | South Asia | India baby girl deaths 'increase'

people think of the great changes that have come about in Shanghai. I share this aspiration to transform Mumbai in the next five years in such a manner that people would forget about Shanghai and Mumbai will become a talking point,"

Come on pal.....

you know what aspiration means dont you??