Jango
SENIOR MODERATOR
Easy - no belligerence allowed. The Army has to be reconstructed, there's no escaping that, but that does not mean starting from scratch - the Army was turned from a professional army into a islamist army - this was done through ideological indoctrination and incentivising an Islamist outlook.
You need to spend a month in the unit lines to see how much of an influence Islam has on the Army dealings...
lEt me give you and example of the kinds of problems the Army's ideology causes: The Pakistan Army claims Swat asIn Swat, Pakistan Army adamant on fighting ‘other Taliban’ – The Express Tribune a success,
This is the best example of my post about preconceived notions. The writer doesn't give any source, or a link to his claim, simply writes that the Army is in a fix to distinguish b/w Afghan and Pak Taliban. This is a preconceived notion...some of it may be true, but this sure doesn't fit in the Swat scenario. I don't know how the author is fixing that thing in the Swat scenario.
A writer can write anything and you would believe it?
If you will note something about Pakistan, which I would suggest is unique, is Pakistanis complete lack of a moral compass -absolutely anything is Ok so long as you can atttach "Islamic" infront of it, it does not have to sense, it does not and indeed cannot be judged on criteria such as good/bad and right/wrong --- This must be reversed
Agreed.
let me give you just a small example.
There is a mosque near our house, which was made through contributions of the whole neighbourhood. All of the people here are not your hardline Muslims or anything like that, just pray 5 times, fast, zakat etc...very good people. So the mosque got made and it served as a community centre for the neighborhood. The Friday prayer time was set at 1:45...the Imam extended his sermon to 1:55...at the end of the sermon, the Imam said 'Allah humain Quran o SUnnat par amal paira honay ki taufeeq ata farmaye'. Then as everybody was getting up, an old man (old resident of the neighborhood, widely respected, shareef insan,) said slowly to the Imam, Maulana sahib, Sunnat main waqt ki pabandi ka bhi bola gaya hai, puray time par khutba khatm kia karai.
At that moment, 3-4 gys with huge beards got up and started pushing and dragging the old man. They abused him and said gustakh tumhari himmat kaisay hui yeh kahnay ki etc etc. The other folks resolved the issue and the old man suffered a mild heart attack but was okay.
Another case, In Pakistan you can't do anything to a mosque. There is a mosque in G-11 sector in Islamabad. It started off as a small mosque, the size of your average sitting room. Slowly the mosque started to get big, the walls were made more solid, boundary was set up etc. The CDA officials came and wanted to remove the mosque since it was built illegally. The people started protesting that kafir CDA is destroying a mosque. And now the mosque is a multistorey madrassah complex with barbed wires on the walls and burly figures with sticks guarding the main door. It looks like a fort.
Then Lal Masjid, it was built illegally (Jamia Hafsa)...a mosque built illegally isn't a mosque, which is supposed to be a holy place. You can't justify the means to an end.