Lack of Urdu is reason for Moral Decadence

Do you Agree?

• Total voters
A strange conclusion that struck me right before start of Ramadan. Urdu as a language is rich with politeness and soberness. One who speaks fluent Urdu only, would find it hard to have harsh arguments with his opponent, and be a quarrelsome, unpleasant, arrogant, rude, hot tempered, violent person. I don't know why I feel that one of the reasons for our growing short tempers, lawlessness, and moral decadence is that we have stopped learning and writing Urdu, most of our children know potatoes and tomatoes ..... its one of those well planned farangi sazish that led to this totally defunct collapsed vision less Pakistani society.

By the way the most beautiful art is well "Takhti style" written Urdu words.

@El Sidd @tps77 @H!TchHiker

@Mentee @Signalian @Valar.
100% disagree.

The real reason for our moral decadence is ignoring The Holy Quran. Unfortunately we either read it blindly without understanding it or don't deeply think about it. I can show some of the rudest people on the planet who are urdu medium from start the grad school and I can show some of the politest people on the planet who are westerners and are converts to Islam who have made The Quran their daily read.

The interesting thing about The Quran is that while you consciously ponder on any given chapter or even a few verses, The Quran subconciously starts grooming your personality...

100% disagree.

The real reason for our moral decadence is ignoring The Holy Quran. Unfortunately we either read it blindly without understanding it or don't deeply think about it. I can show some of the rudest people on the planet who are urdu medium from start the grad school and I can show some of the politest people on the planet who are westerners and are converts to Islam who have made The Quran their daily read.

The interesting thing about The Quran is that while you consciously ponder on any given chapter or even a few verses, The Quran subconciously starts grooming your personality...

We will try to contain this and remain within Pakistan and its boundaries. The thread is not for comparisons, neither it is intended to prove that Urdu is some superior language.

The motive is clear ....... Urdu can help build and produce great humans. It can help revive the politeness and humbleness in Pakistani society, it help build greater understanding between people. Urdu has this power to stir emotions, it has this great rich literature and amazing poetry.

The Quran can be understood well one has command over his own language, just staring at pages and verses doesn't help.

We will try to contain this and remain within Pakistan and its boundaries. The thread is not for comparisons, neither it is intended to prove that Urdu is some superior language.

The motive is clear ....... Urdu can help build and produce great humans. It can help revive the politeness and humbleness in Pakistani society, it help build greater understanding between people. Urdu has this power to stir emotions, it has this great rich literature and amazing poetry.

The Quran can be understood well one has command over his own language, just staring at pages and verses doesn't help.
well I wasn't talking about just staring at the pages and verses of The Quran.

Anways, urdu is probably one of the most articulate and elequent languages in the world, no doubt about that. Having said that though, english aint that bad either albeit, not even close to urdu. But unfortunately, our people think that using foul, abusive in english is a must for them to be taken seriously in educated (supposedly educated) circles which couldn't be farther from the truth and reality of the moment. For example, people in Pakistan who think english is so cool also think that they'll impress the heck out of any westerner if the use the F word or the SH word or curse up a storm when in reality, even a half-professional and educated westerner would most probably avoid such a person like a plague.

A strange conclusion that struck me right before start of Ramadan. Urdu as a language is rich with politeness and soberness. One who speaks fluent Urdu only, would find it hard to have harsh arguments with his opponent, and be a quarrelsome, unpleasant, arrogant, rude, hot tempered, violent person. I don't know why I feel that one of the reasons for our growing short tempers, lawlessness, and moral decadence is that we have stopped learning and writing Urdu, most of our children know potatoes and tomatoes ..... its one of those well planned farangi sazish that led to this totally defunct collapsed vision less Pakistani society.

Na...Its all about culture and overall society values that has gone down into drain..Not because of Urdu ..Every thinf has gone down...We are not producing Faiz, Parveez shakir , Faraz and others..There is moral decline that comes along with being materialistic or in fragmented society.

"Ehsaas" khud dil mein paida hota hay, dilaya bhi ja sakta hay agar koi waqai tabdeel hona chahta ho.

I have seen respectful words and gestures in Siraiki and Punjabi also as well as courtesy and manners in english speakers too, hailing from different backgrounds.

In my way of living, i use english, urdu and sometimes punjabi to express my respect, devotion, humbleness when addressing elders.

While speaking, I constantly use words like your highness, your grace etc. In fact to address elders and talk to them, i have to use words like i'm standing in front of kings and emperors, I dont make eye contact, i always look down, i keep my tone down, i smile a lot pleasantly, my head is half tilted down, my upper body is leaning forward as if im about to bow. I am like this in front of people who are spiritually elevated than me, not the common folk.

Language is just a way of expressing, if our hearts are soft, we can use any language to express gratitude and love. However, i have been taught this, so language was never a problem, whether it was english, urdu or at times punjabi, since my punjabi speaking is weak. Persian and Siriaki, a few words, next to zero.

Its the heart that matters, the thoughts, the up bringing, the grooming, manners taught to us. Language is just a medium.

@H!TchHiker @Signalian

Jaisa kay may nay arz kia, muqabla maqsood nai, mutalah maqsood hay. Urdu ba haseeyat e zuban .... ehsas bhi ujagar kara sakti hay aur jazbat b jaga sakti hy. Urdu aik naram khoo, Shaista, jadeed, aur tawazun say bharpoor zuban hy. Maqsad Urdu ka tasalut nai Urdu ka muqam aur ehmiat ujagar karana hy. Baki Zubano say koi mowazna nai ..... apnay logo say garaz hy. Kya Urdu apna kirdar ada kar skti hay iss muashray ki takhleeq e no may?

I would blame those parents as well .
When a child says aloo there parents debunk them saying why u are taking like a paindoo.
U see this english superior culture destroyed us . I agree learning english is beneficial but usko sar par charha lena is not right.

I would blame those parents as well .
When a child says aloo there parents debunk them saying why u are taking like a paindoo.
U see this english superior culture destroyed us . I agree learning english is beneficial but usko sar par charha lena is not right.

English as a language ........ and English as a fashion. Farak saaf zahir hy aik he dhulai may.

For example? The accent, the emotions and the politeness ....... don't they overwhelm the obscenities (if they exist)?
If they exist? Lol. Just go to any market or playground and look at the myriad exchanges that are taking place amongst the natives Urdu speakers there.In fact one area of Urdu where we are completely self sufficient is curse words. You will rarely see a Urdu speaker cursing in English.
As for politeness and courtesy they exist in all major languages of the world
Obscenities are invented, and not taught
Name one word in Urdu that was not invented, coined or borrowed. Urdu doesn't have root words like semitic languages. It borrows words or coins them. It is up to you whether you want coin new gaalis or words for use in ghazals

@H!TchHiker @Signalian

Jaisa kay may nay arz kia, muqabla maqsood nai, mutalah maqsood hay. Urdu ba haseeyat e zuban .... ehsas bhi ujagar kara sakti hay aur jazbat b jaga sakti hy. Urdu aik naram khoo, Shaista, jadeed, aur tawazun say bharpoor zuban hy. Maqsad Urdu ka tasalut nai Urdu ka muqam aur ehmiat ujagar karana hy. Baki Zubano say koi mowazna nai ..... apnay logo say garaz hy. Kya Urdu apna kirdar ada kar skti hay iss muashray ki takhleeq e no may?

Are you implying that before British imposed Urdu, people of Punjab state was degenerated society? By the way all the vocabulary which make Urdu "Naram khoo, Shaista, Jadeed and what not" comes from Persian after all the Urdu wasn't cooked up for intelligentsia but for people of camps.