‘Jinnah’s Pakistan’ has no room for Hindus

According to the latest figures of Hindus living in Pakistan 2011 by Pakistan Hindu Council. There are more than 7 million Hindus living in Pakistan

Real shame you dont hear about the community much they only have one website I found and one Pakistani hindu made a youtube channel

YouTube - NamastePakistan's Channel

so the number of blogs or websites they produce is symbollic of how they are treated or recognized?

what a logic-devoid statement

who is stopping them from blogging or forming representative groups (which actually, they already have)

i think that the media only focuses on the bad...Statistically are Hindus targeted disproportionately? I think not. The fact is that in certain parts of the country law and order is a mess because dacoits and thugs are running it or are close to certain political figures of a failing (failed) government.

There are about 4-5 million Hindus in Pakistan today.

as for caste system, it's a backwards system that has no business existing in the modern world...it is apartheid-ism of the 21st century. No civilized country should be having such a system but then again, if societal-hierchy and putting more value over one life based on caste is what they like and want then oh well.

There are about 4-5 million Hindus in Pakistan today.

interestingly enough, I was in Karachi for work subsequent to mumbai 26/11 drama; some hindus were holding signs condemning india for its jingoism and threats of ''surgical strikes'' (which of course never even materialized)

there are pictures of it online somewhere

interestingly enough, I was in Karachi for work subsequent to mumbai 26/11 drama; some hindus were holding signs condemning india for its jingoism and threats of ''surgical strikes'' (which of course never even materialized)

SO WHAT? Hindus living in Pakaistan are as much Pakistani as the Muslims living in India are Indian!!

coming back to topic leave aside hindus today's pakistan has no room for jinnah's ideology itself. i don't know properly what jinnah wanted pakistan to be but surely he didn't had idea of pakistan what it is today. frankly speaking the pakistan what jinnah had thought of didn't even lasted a decade.

It'll be great if you can look them up & post them. Thanks

but there are certain rules of Islam which are more harsh and unacceptable than Caste System !!

We were talking about the caste system here specifically.

It'll be better if Pakistani Hindus don't practice the caste system, as we don't want them to suffer the same fate as the 180 million Indian Hindu Dalits.

well to some extent, it does exist amongst themselves; however most of the hindus in Pakistan (majority of which exist in Sindh) would be considered ''untouchables'' in hindustan. There is no caste-based discrimination in Pakistan. There is feudalism issue, but no ''caste'' issue --which is an artificial human creation.

i think caste system has no room in any civilized society, it should be totally dismantled. Incidentally, Islam strictly forbids caste or any such type of social ''hierchialization'' of society because as Muslims we believe that all humans are equal in the eyes of Allah SWT

There is no caste system within Islam or amongst Muslims. A Muslim is a Muslim. Period.

i agree with u that caste system has no place in islam same is the case with sikhism but the bitter truth is that ppl of south asia irrespective of religion still follows case system esp rural folks.

P.S- didn't want to hurt sentiments but it is true.

There is no caste system within Islam or amongst Muslims. A Muslim is a Muslim. Period.

Can you then explain who are Syeds, Mirzas,Sheikhs, Pathans,Ansaris etc etc in addition to the ashraf-ajlaf divide.

Denial is not good.

the pictures are somewhere online.....i think even Ahmed Qureishi did some coverage on it.

For whatever it's worth mentioning -- There is of course this video. About 200 Hindu women protested in Pakistan on Tuesday (December 16) against restrictions on an Islamic charity that India alleges is a front for a militant group, Lashkar-e-Taiba, which it blames for attacks in Mumbai last month. But the women in the southern city of Hyderabad, near Karachi, rejected demands by India to ban the Jamaat-ud-Dawa charity.

well to some extent, it does exist amongst themselves; however most of the hindus in Pakistan (majority of which exist in Sindh) would be considered ''untouchables'' in hindustan. There is no caste-based discrimination in Pakistan. There is feudalism issue, but no ''caste'' issue --which is an artificial human creation.

i think caste system has no room in any civilized society, it should be totally dismantled. Incidentally, Islam strictly forbids caste or any such type of social ''hierchialization'' of society because as Muslims we believe that all humans are equal in the eyes of Allah SWT

I was just about to mention that, that most of the Hindus in Pakistan are Shudrahs; but there are plenty of Hindu Brahmins & Vaisyas as well who have huge businesses in Karachi & other cities. But I don't think the caste system exists here in Pakistan, & certainly its effects aren't seen in the same way as are seen in India. The feudalism issue isn't inclusive of Hindus but all people, Muslims included.

Jana ji, aapko sab pata hai fir bhi you are egging it on?

If not, then in the most brief manner this is all I can tell you :-

The caste system was implemented to help organize the society.

When one profession began getting greater benefits/reputation over the other, the system became hereditary with the monopolistic practices of the upper castes (happened no less than 800 years after it was first formulated).

However, the essential philosophy "that no person is born into a caste" was carried on throughout the ages, and so India got rulers from different castes and even revered saints that were born into lower castes, and even the first emperor of India was from a lower caste - Nanda; Second emperor Chandragupta was not even a Hindu, rather a Jain, and the third emperor Asoka was a Buddhist.

This caste system got exaggerated in the later Mughar era, when the Muslims rulers still respected the Brahmins and Rajputs but not the other castes.

Then came the British that kept all the traditions intact that favored them, and abolished those that they viewed as hindrances.

When India got Independence, architect of the constitution was from a lower caste. Since independence, any sort of casteism has been considered illegal and the practice made punishable with RI.

I am very sure Jana ji, you must have read similar texts in this forum quite a few times before. I just hope you won't be curious about the castes anymore.

1. I know Ashoka was Budhist and thus it also dashes the claims of Bharati over him as "great Hindu" King ;)

2. As far as Nanda as Jains and not Hindu :)) hope next time Indians wont claim that jains are Hindus.

3. If you do not give respect to your own people on the basis of cast why do you expect that outsiders (invader Muslim rulers) should have given you that respect. (though i can debate it furthers and negate your claims but lets some other time)

4. Now the britishers are out and the dalits are still existing so the onus on you Indians not Brits
5. Yes architect of Indian constitution was Dalit and despite all his efforts he was disappointed with general behaviour of Hindus towards low casts in India and at last he gave up. (you can go and read from neutral Indian sources)

Can you then explain who are Syeds, Mirzas,Sheikhs, Pathans,Ansaris etc etc in addition to the ashraf-ajlaf divide.

Denial is not good.

Aha they are clans /tribes and NONE of them practice Untouchability . All of them can pray under one roof at one mosque perform Hajj at one Place, eat at one place, in one plate unlike Hindus who practice untouchability.

so dont play these old tricks on us. cast based inhuman system is gift of Hinduism not Islam