Jayalalithaa, 'Amma' To Millions, Dies At 68

OM Shanti.

She was a truly great leader of her people and a Nationalist. She was among the few TN politicians who could speak Tamil, Hindi and English fluently.

Its wrong to assign the blame for some of the mess in TN to Amma. She did the best she could in the face of insurmountable issues.

TN deep deep caste divide is the legacy of the "dravidian" movement and Jayalalitha was an Iyengar Brahmin who won the hearts and mind of such a deeply divided casteist society.

Its the equivalent of someone with an image of Asaduddin Owaisi being elected the mass leader of the Hindus. That the masses accepted her as a leader despite massive misgivings about Iyengar Brahmins in TN speaks about her dedication to her cause and her people.

Also the populist schemes that she gets blamed for was again the legacy of DMK founder C N Annadurai . It was the naturally extensions of his freebies the same way the Mandal commission was the natural extensions of Ambedkars legacy.

She was truly someone who deserves their place in History.

Sorry dude , I dint accuse the dead who cant defend themselves but just stated the facts.

There is a time and place for stating certain "facts". More so when they are not facts but merely your "opinion".

To speak ill of the dead is the worst of all spoken deeds.

The soul of the dead has left the body and your bitter words are uttered only to hurt the living and derive pleasure from their misery. Truly shameful.

I wonder what is the response of Tamil Hindus to the fact that Jayalalitha was buried instead of being burnt as is the tradition in her caste and religion.

Its shameful that her Religious rights are being usurped for Political expediency.

http://indianexpress.com/article/india/jayalalithaa-will-be-buried-this-could-be-why-4413388/

Unlike other Dravidian leaders, J Jayalalithaa was a believer who used to pray regularly and be seen with an Iyengar Namam on her forehead. Still, why did the state government and the Sasikala family decide to bury her instead of a cremation – an obvious ritual for Iyengars.
A senior government secretary who was part of the funeral preparations of the late chief minister explained why she cannot be cremated on Marina Beach.

“She was not an Iyengar for us,” he said. “She was beyond any caste or religious identity. Even most of all the Dravidian leaders, including Periyar, Anna Durai and MGR, were all buried and we do not have a precedent of consigning their body to flames even after death. So, we bury them with sandalwood and rose water.”

The burial of former leaders of the movement allowed followers to remember them in the form of a memorial.
Leaders of the Dravidian movement are atheists, who in principle denounce god and similar symbols. But it is interesting to note that the vacuum left by a disbelief in God is replaced by statues and memorials in the rational thoughts of Dravidians too. Fans and followers believe they can still hear the sound of MGR’s watch ticking at the leader’s memorial on Marina Beach.

A veteran political analyst who has seen burials of several Tamil Nadu leaders in the past four decades said there may be more than one reason for choosing a burial.

“Since she was a believer, it is obvious that people expect her being cremated after death. But they need a blood relative to light the funeral pyre. The only blood relative left for Jayalalithaa here is Deepa Jayakumar (daughter of Jayakumar, Jayalalithaa’s late brother). It is obvious that Sasikala clan doesn’t want to entertain Deepa anywhere near the funeral procession fearing a potential challenge,” he said.

Deepa, a researcher in media and communication at a UK university, was not allowed to meet Jayalalithaa despite her multiple visits to Apollo Hospital since September 22. Two days ago, police was seen forcibly pushing Deepa and her husband out of the gate of Apollo Hospital after they received a direction from seniors to keep her away and prevent her from talking to the media.

Cy_CbWmVEAAapaE.jpg
Volunteers distributing water to the police at #Marina where the funeral of #Jayalalithaa will take place shortly @htTweets

Truly a sad day for India & TN :'(

She had many flaws,but was a good Administrator & a Patriot. She stood up for the rights of the states & was a firm believer in the federal division of power b/w the states & the Centre,but that didn't stop her from being a Nationalist!

& she was much,much better than her Powerhungry,Greedy anti-Hindu alternative!

Let me tell people here that she also supported a Ram Mandir at Ayodhya!! & had no objection to the UCC in principle.

Her Will power & Resilience is Legendary!! The way she stood up in a Mans world & especially in a highly parochial setup in Tamil Nadu & makng the same men who once used to ignore & laugh at her later making them bow before her & call her Amma is truly amazing & mindblowing!

Any woman who faces domestic abuse from a male of any kind would have viewed her as a Hero!! This is one reason why she is so revered!

What's even more amazing is how she is so loved & revered & became CM in a state in like TN which was once very anti-Brahmin!

Om Shanti Amma...... Even your worst enemy admits that you are now Immortal. You will live on Forever!

She will be a legend & a part of many folktales & songs for many generations!!

She had a crush on Shammi Kapoor and she could never meet him, may be that's why?

I think she had loved MGR but she also respected him as a father,mother, friend and philosopher and she didn't marry anyone out of her own humility.

@Rajaraja Chola am I correct?

Actually she was in a relationship with a Telugu actor Shoban babu. Not sure of this Shammi kapoor thing. Infact even I came to know of this relationship yesterday :P

The casting couch in the Tamil film industry is well established and with a time tested tradition.

You can be sure that most actresses did not let christian victorian morality affect their career.

She revealed it in a Simi Garewal show quite sometime back.

President's Secretariat
06-December, 2016 09:42 IST
President of India condoles the passing away of Ms. Jayaraman Jayalalithaa

The President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee has condoled the passing away of Ms. Jayaraman Jayalalithaa, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.

In a condolence message to Shri Ch. Vidyasagar Rao, the Governor of Tamil Nadu, the President has said, “I am extremely sad to learn about the sad demise of Ms. Jayaram Jayalalithaa, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.

Popularly known as ‘Amma’ and ‘Puratchi Thalaivi’, Ms. Jayalalithaa was a talented film star as well as a visionary leader and administrator who distinguished herself through her political acumen and people friendly programs. She was regarded one of India’s most charismatic and popular leaders.

A prolific and versatile film actress, she appeared in films of different genres and performed a wide variety of roles. She served the country with distinction in different capacities, including as Member of Parliament (Rajya Sabha), Member of the Tamil Nadu Legislative Assembly, first Woman Leader of Opposition in the Legislative Assembly and as five times Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu. She was the youngest ever and the second woman to be elected Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.

I had opportunity to interact closely with her both when we were together in the Rajya Sabha and during her different tenures as Chief Minister. She was progressive in her thought and pro-active in pursuing the issues that were close to her heart, such as the empowerment of women and welfare of children.

As Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, Ms. Jayalalithaa introduced a number of pro-poor schemes in various fields, including education, food security, provision of safe drinking water, the girl child etc. Her life was dedicated to the socio-economic transformation of Tamil Nadu and its people.

In her passing away, the nation has lost an icon who was loved and admired by millions. Her contribution to the progress and development of Tamil Nadu will be long remembered.

Please convey my heartfelt condolences to her family, members of her party and fans. I pray to the Almighty to give them the strength and courage to bear this irreparable loss”.

Vice President's Secretariat
06-December, 2016 08:59 IST
Vice President condoles the passing away of Ms. J. Jayalalithaa

The Vice President of India, Shri M. Hamid Ansari has condoled the passing away of the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, Ms. J. Jayalalithaa. In a message, he said that an eminent public figure, a charismatic personality, she had immense influence over the political developments in Tamil Nadu as well as the national level. Her death is an irreparable loss to the people of India, he added.

Following is the text of Vice President’s message:

“I am deeply grieved to hear about the demise of Ms. J. Jayalalithaa, the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu.

An eminent public figure, a charismatic personality, she had immense influence over the political developments in Tamil Nadu as well as the national level. As Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, her contributions towards the economic development of the state and social welfare of the poorer segments will be long remembered and cherished. Her death is an irreparable loss to the people of India.

I convey my deepest condolences to the bereaved members of the family and her followers, and join the nation in praying for eternal peace for the departed soul.”

Prime Minister's Office
06-December, 2016 09:34 IST
PM condoles the passing away of Selvi J Jayalalithaa

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi has condoled the passing away of Selvi J Jayalalithaa.

“Deeply saddened at the passing away of Selvi Jayalalithaa. Her demise has left a huge void in Indian politics.

Jayalalithaa ji’s connect with citizens, concern for welfare of the poor, the women & marginalized will always be a source of inspiration.

My thoughts and prayers are with the people of Tamil Nadu in this hour of grief.

May the Almighty grant them the strength to bear this irreparable loss with courage and fortitude.

I will always cherish the innumerable occasions when I had the opportunity to interact with Jayalalithaa ji. May her soul rest in peace,” the Prime Minister said.

President's Secretariat
06-December, 2016 10:46 IST
President of India to visit Chennai to pay last respects to Ms. Jayaraman Jayalalithaa

The President of India, Shri Pranab Mukherjee will travel to Chennai today (December 6, 2016) to pay last respects to former Tamil Nadu Chief Minister, Ms. Jayaraman Jayalalithaa.

Shut up she is 100 times better than the likes of Karuna,Lalu gang she is a strong nationalist who has taken a strong stance against terrorism and have never indulged in vote bank politics to appease the minorities . She has done more good things for Tamils than the karuna's 40 years rule interms of economy and pro poor policies. she would never take an anti-India, appeasement stance taken by the likes of Mamta, Mayawati .In my view she is the Iron lady of India
I make no differentiation they are all one and the same. The problem with standards is that it should be uniformly applied. The last known good politician must be shastri after that all we had is charltans. She did indulge in corruption and I believe the case is still in progress.

Iron lady ? Stop being emotional. Only good thing is that she dint leave behind a dynasty but certainly resorted to sychopancy like other parties did.

Ministry of Civil Aviation
06-December, 2016 16:12 IST
Shri P. Ashok Gajapathi Raju condoles the passing away of Ms. J. Jayalalithaa

The Union Minister Shri P. Ashok Gajapathi Raju has condoled the passing away of the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, Ms. J. Jayalalithaa. In a message, he said that our nation has lost a visionary and exemplary leader, a multitalented personality and a person of ever-helping nature. Combining the qualities of the head and the heart, she had won the admiration of all her colleagues and love of all her fellow citizens. Her sudden demise has left a void which would be impossible to fill.

Further, he recalled all his interactions with her, in each of which he found her to be a compassionate and caring human being. Each thought and act of hers reflected the love and concern she had for the welfare of the people of Tamil Nadu and the overall development of the nation. She maintained the same highest standards of courage and fortitude in battling her illness and failing health as she had demonstrated throughout her personal life and professional career.

He said our thoughts are with her near and dear ones and all the people of Tamil Nadu for whom this is an especially irreparable loss. May we have many more of her tribe in the future. He prays to Almighty for eternal rest of the departed soul.

Ministry of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution
06-December, 2016 14:39 IST
Shri Ram Vilas Paswan condoles the passing away of Ms. J. Jayalalithaa

Shri Ram Vilas Paswan, the Union Minister of Consumer Affairs, Food & Public Distribution has condoled the passing away of the Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, Ms. J. Jayalalithaa. In a message Shri Paswan has said “I am deeply saddened by the demise of Ms. J. Jayalalitha. My thoughts and prayers are with the people of Tamil Nadu in this hour of grief. The nation will miss a strong leader like Ms J. Jayalalithaa”. Shri Paswan said that she was popularly known as Amma for her pro poor approach and shall be always known for her contribution in progress of Tamil Nadu and its people.

Ministry of Home Affairs
06-December, 2016 10:19 IST
National Flag will fly half-mast today

The Government of India today announced with profound sorrow the death of Selvi J. Jayalalithaa, Chief Minister of Tamil Nadu, yesterday at Chennai. Today, the Government is observing one-day State mourning throughout the country and there will be no official entertainment.

As a mark of respect to the departed dignitary, the Centre has decided that the National Flag will fly half-mast in the capitals of all States/UTs, including Delhi and throughout the State of Tamil Nadu.

A state funeral will be accorded to the departed leader at 4.30 PM today in Chennai.

There is a time and place for stating certain "facts". More so when they are not facts but merely your "opinion".

To speak ill of the dead is the worst of all spoken deeds.

The soul of the dead has left the body and your bitter words are uttered only to hurt the living and derive pleasure from their misery. Truly shameful.
You can rot in your political correctness and be blind to the misdeeds. The future generation will pay for the misdeeds.

ill of the dead,soul,pleasure,misery,shameful...etc ==> Nonsense

She was still a billion times better than the other Tamil politician - Karunanidhi.

If I had to choose between the two of them to rule my state, it'd be Jayalalitha each time.
both are/were worse I would choose none of them. The problem is that you dont have a choice. its like american presidential race.

Come on man
... though i dont like her... she's much better than mk
they are all one and the same. you dont have a choice betwee rock & sea thats why you are forced to make take one.
We should have none of them. The day you start choosing one corrupt over other is the day you end up lowering the standards and end up making it normal.

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi pays tributes to the mortal remains of Ms. J. Jayalalithaa, in Chennai on December 06, 2016.
s2016120694395.jpg

The Prime Minister, Shri Narendra Modi pays tributes to the mortal remains of Ms. J. Jayalalithaa, in Chennai on December 06, 2016.
s2016120694396.jpg

s2016120694397.jpg

s2016120694398.jpg

s2016120694399.jpg

The President, Shri Pranab Mukherjee paying tributes to the mortal remains of Ms. J. Jayalalithaa, in Chennai on December 06, 2016.
s2016120694415.jpg

V Sasikala, the close aide of Tamil Nadu's former Chief Minister Jayaram Jayalalithaa adjusts a cloth around her mortal remains as Union Minister Pon Radhakrishnan pays his last respects to her at Rajaji Hall in Chennai.

552847-rip-amma-061216-ra8.jpg

Tamil Nadu Chief Minister O Pannerselvam paying his last respects to his leader and former Chief Minister J Jayalalithaa at Rajaji Hall in Chennai.
552845-rip-amma-061216-ra6.jpg

Union Minister Venkaiah Naidu paying his last respects to Tamil Nadu's former Chief Minister Jayaram Jayalalithaa at Rajaji Hall in Chennai.
552844-rip-amma-061216-ra5.jpg
552764-rip-amma-061216-ra1.jpg

552896-rip-amma-061216-ra13.jpg
552895-rip-amma-061216-ra12.jpg
552894-rip-amma-061216-ra11.jpg
552769-rip-amma-061216-ra4.jpg

552768-rip-amma-061216-ra3.jpg

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/article16767341.ece?homepage=true
Parliament adjourns for the day after paying homage to Jayalalithaa
author-deafault.png
PTI
December 06, 2016 11:20 IST
Updated: December 06, 2016 16:59 IST

Flag%20flies%20half%20mast%20at%20Parliament

The national flag flies at half mast at Parliament on Tuesday. | Photo Credit: Sandeep Saxena

http://www.thehindu.com/news/national/article16767341.ece?homepage=true

Both the Houses of Parliament were adjourned till 11 a.m. on Wednesday as a mark of respect to former Tamil Nadu Chief Minister Jayalalithaa, who passed away in Chennai on Monday night.

Rajya Sabha Chairman Hamid Ansari said the country has lost a prominent leader, a distinguished parlimentarian and an able administrator.

Describing Jayalalithaa as a “charismatic personality”, Mr. Ansari said her contribution to the economic development of the deprived sections of society would be cherished. She also contributed immensely to Tamil, Telugu and Kannada film industries, he noted.

“We deeply mourn her passing away,” he said before adjourning the proceedings for the day.

Lok Sabha Speaker Sumitra Mahajan said the country has lost a highly popular, courageous and eminent public persona.

“Selvi Jayalalithaa was a true leader of the masses and her followers fondly called her ‘Amma’, meaning mother, and ’Puratchi Thalaivi’ meaning a revolutionary leader,” Ms. Mahajan said.

A multi-faceted personality, she was the first woman Opposition leader in the Tamil Nadu Assembly and served as Chief Minister of the State for six terms.

Your a Fighter of a Women ... We Admire your strength ... Voice of the poor and weak ...

Many may not know, She was a gold medalist in metric exams and stood First in Entire Tamil Nadu... She Spoke Tamil, Kannada, Telugu, Malayalam, Hindi and English...

When she was mobbed, humiliated and molested by DMK in TN assembly she promised that she wont return unless she is Chief Minister of the state ... And she did the same ...This is what Courage means ...she was a fighter all through her life since she lost her father at the age of 2...

They are doing this because she gave dignity to poor... Amma Canteen where every poor of Tamil Nadu is fed in a very Clean Hygienic place, just like a good hotel with staff using Hands gloves and Hair cover...