India is not a country of rapists: German Ambassador to India Michael Steiner

India just blew it on your own face.. Over the top reaction from the govt and gave a mere documentary among thousands created daily by the Western media on third world miseries, Unwarranted attention.. Now some innocent dude is dead getting lynched by a mob and Indian men are being tarnished globally unfairly, Even effecting their careers.. BBC will continue making stories to sell to their public and nobody else will have jurisdiction over them

This is what happens when hyper defensive nationalism goes overboard..

BBC - 1 , Indian jingoists - 0

Yeah, it was not the propaganda by West which was at fault, but people protesting against propaganda who are at fault. Marketing, advertising, image creation, perceptions are all just imaginary concepts and never happens in the real world.

Sri Lankan Bigot - 0 Indian govt - 1

India just blew it on your own face.. Over the top reaction from the govt and gave a mere documentary among thousands created daily by the Western media on third world miseries, Unwarranted attention.. Now some innocent dude is dead getting lynched by a mob and Indian men are being tarnished globally unfairly, Even effecting their careers.. BBC will continue making stories to sell to their public and nobody else will have jurisdiction over them

This is what happens when hyper defensive nationalism goes overboard..

BBC - 1 , Indian jingoists - 0

Then what about a ban for BBC in India ?
If the things goes like this it would be a probability.
We have already sent a legal.notice to BBC.Filmmaker was already said earlier it woulfnt be use for commercial purposes .Yet she did the same..
If they dont give us a satisfactory reply for that notice they can expect something.

So the documentary is the problem but not what was exposed in the documentary. You want to kill the messenger to suppress the message which exposes the mind of this rapist.

And what exactly was exposed by the dicumentary. The ideas and thoughts of the rapist who is due to hang by the neck. This documentary makes all Indians look like they have the same thoughts.

It's not about the Congress and BJP thing but about indian thing and we gave them permission like we gave British India company to set plants in India in past thinking they will create job for us indians .

the damage has been inflicted now... but I am talking about congress's obsession with goras. Now there is a big debate .. naak kaatwa di yaar humari yahan. What should we answer? Ohh this happens in other countries too? Well they don't get such attention and insulted like we are insulted.

Any way that guy has just lost a good opportunity for studying in a prestigious institute due to some reason that he dont hVave any part.

Bigotry can come in many shapes & forms. This Professor oozes it. He's better off not working with this bigot.

Reacting to a news report about a professor from Leipzig University refusing internship to an Indian student because of the country's "rape problem", the German Ambassador to India, Michael Steiner, has written to Professor Annette Beck-Sickinger saying that India is not a country of rapists.

In her refusal to the male student, Professor Sickinger of the Institute of Biochemistry had refused the student citing the rape culture in India and had also said that many female professors across Europe were turning down male students from India.

In his letter to Professor Sickinger, Ambassador Steiner wrote:

"It has been brought to my attention that you denied an intemship to a male Indian student, giving "the rape problem in India" as a reason. Let me make it clear at the outset that I strongly object to this.

"The 2012 Nirbhaya rape case has refocused attention on the issue of violence against women. Rape is indeed a serious issue in India as in most countries, including Germany. In India, the Nirbhaya case has triggered a lively honest, sustained and very healthy public debate - a public debate of a quality that wouldn't be possible in many other countries. The Indian Government and Indian civil society organisations are very committed to tackling the issue.

"Yesterday we celebrated International Women's Day at the German Embassy here in Delhi with many local activists including many men. Your oversimplifying and discriminating generalization is an offense to these women and men ardently committed to furthering women empowennent in India; and it is an offense to millions of law-abiding, tolerant, open-minded and hard-working Indians. Let's be clear: India is not a country of rapists.

"I would encourage you to learn more about the diverse, dynamic and fascinating country and the many welcoming and open-minded people of India so that you could conect a simplistic image, which - in my opinion - is particularly unsuitable for a professor and teacher."

Read more at: India is not a country of rapists: German Ambassador to India Michael Steiner : India, News - India Today
Our secular, progressive and liberal volk will be in a fix. :( That damn German Ambassador must be a Nazi. :azn:
Who cares about logic?

So the documentary is the problem but not what was exposed in the documentary. You want to kill the messenger to suppress the message which exposes the mind of this rapist.

What was there to expose? It was a dead horse which was being flogged. Delhi had protested itself hoarse. Laws were made and named after Nirbhaya. Culprits were caught and sentenced to death and are awaiting the judicial process of appeal which will most likely be rejected. So which of all this was hidden from anyone? So what is with the killing the messenger or hiding blame game?

The govt only protested the mal-intention of BBC which is very well known to everyone in India right from the time they never reported about Kashmiri Pandit exodus from Kashmir and highlighting only Muslim suffering to today when they focus only on caste, poverty, and crimes in India.

BBC has no credibility left consider they were hiding their own people rape history.

Err...that was the original mail. (she's beyond stupid, people in much less important jobs than her know how to hide prejudice better, this is probably more racial prejudice than any concern about rape )

We disagree. The hype on the documentary was created in India first, especially with the rivalry between television channels. They would have moved on to the next topic the next day. The government should have known better. I had said then itself that this would backfire and would certainly not achieve the stated idea of preventing the viewing. Regardless of what you think about the documentary itself, you seriously can't dispute that this has been a PR disaster..

It was a PR disaster, but it does not have to remain one.

Indian govt. still has the chance to turn it around by explaining the dangers of letting others wash your dirty laundry. Govt. can still turn it around and Indian citizens can learn lessons from this incident to come out of their gullible nature and see the worl for what it is.

Educated Indians continue to see the west full of "christian morality" and fail to see it for what it really is. That "christian morality" is a mask that hides their greed, selfishness and prejudices.

People continue to think that religion has nothing to do with it, or that race or culture has nothing to do with it. But the reality is that they will never be as open minded or as tolerance or as respectful or as civilized as us. As long as we continue to ignore this, we will only ride from one disaster to another.

Err...that was the original mail. (she's beyond stupid, people in much less important jobs than her know how to hide prejudice better, this is probably more racial prejudice than any concern about rape )

We disagree. The hype on the documentary was created in India first, especially with the rivalry between television channels. They would have moved on to the next topic the next day. The government should have known better. I had said then itself that this would backfire and would certainly not achieve the stated idea of preventing the viewing. Regardless of what you think about the documentary itself, you seriously can't dispute that this has been a PR disaster..

It was viewed by a very small number of people unlike how it would have been had it been broadcasted in India. Plus they lost all the ad revenue they would have earned in India. It would be justice too if the channel is banned in India. In this day of free reporting and hundreds of Indian and other foreign channels, we can choose to kick out BBC with no loss to us at all.

It was a PR disaster, but it does not have to remain one.

Indian govt. still has the chance to turn it around by explaining the dangers of letting others wash your dirty laundry. Govt. can still turn it around and Indian citizens can learn lessons from this incident to come out of their gullible nature and see the worl for what it is.

Educated Indians continue to see the west full of "christian morality" and fail to see it for what it really is. That "christian morality" is a mask that hides their greed, selfishness and prejudices.

People continue to think that religion has nothing to do with it, or that race or culture has nothing to do with it. But the reality is that they will never be as open minded or as tolerance or as respectful or as civilized as us. As long as we continue to ignore this, we will only ride from one disaster to another.
Perhaps it will need Indian students thrown out of trains for us to realize what's at stake. Even then I am sure there will be (among Indians) those who will blame the Indians for getting on the general compartment as opposed to the rapist compartments.

But good side is situations like this wont happen in future.
If we dont react to this stupidity retard medias in here and their goons from.other countries will repeat this.

Next time it would be national.security

the damage has been inflicted now... but I am talking about congress's obsession with goras. Now there is a big debate .. naak kaatwa di yaar humari yahan. What should we answer? Ohh this happens in other countries too? Well they don't get such attention and insulted like we are insulted.

I understand you bhai and i am all up for targeting BBC and people behind it to teach them lesson and it's not a media incentive but it's a corporal lead image assault on Indian men image.

They want to create hysteria in India so our development and tourism go down and people don't invest in India as you can this one case is up and many investor will not invest in India for the same reason.

It's a new generation of warfare and it's about attack on our culture and morale.

They have all the credibility. Who does have it then? Nehru Dynasty TV?
They are powerful, hence BBC is a powerful weapon. Something our presstitutes will never be able to fathom.

Sorry. Today, MSM is a dirty word all around the world. Most people know what goes for reporting is basically prejudice and foreign policy being couched as news. Never before in history were there so many giant media houses and never before were they so hated and disbelieved.

Perhaps it will need Indian students thrown out of trains for us to realize what's at stake. Even then I am sure there will be (among Indians) those who will blame the Indians for getting on the general compartment as opposed to the rapist compartments.

Ganguly ji aapk fan ho gaye hum , kya example marte ho