India has a long term plan to annex Bangladesh in a way or other in future.

Oh well, me asks for "1,000 apologies".

No need for apologies Atanz Sahab, :-)

Just as an aside, 'Maira La' is a colloquial Bengali slang term meaning 'Kill it'. :-)

It is used by urban youth in Bangladesh and frequently used in Bangladeshi Rap. :-)

India, Pakistan,BD are such useless and non productive and violent countries, that there is absolutely no value add if anyone occupy another...Only thing you will get by occupying another South Asian nation is the huge million plus population where poverty is high...Agian, it is not for BD only, it is applicable for India too..

So if any one thinking India will occupy BD, then they are on real high..
And u are rich spoiled brat.

No need for apologies Atanz Sahab, :-)

Just as an aside, 'Maira La' is a colloquial Bengali slang term meaning 'Kill it'. :-)

It is used by urban youth in Bangladesh and frequently used in Bangladeshi Rap. :-)

Ooops. this is embarassing. I am out of here with red face ...:oops:

Stalin poster hung up in your

No.

kemal-ataturk-postcard.jpg

India needs to set it's priorities right, lower its defence/mars/superpower budget and follow BD's lead in improving HDIs, especially those affecting women.
In spite of what the idiots at the local Shakha told you Bangladesh fares much better than India in alleviating poverty and providing opportunity for the less privileged. This is because instead of spouting theories about it -we actually did things in Bangladesh to help poor people. We don't have the 'don't give a shit' disease and 'chalta hai' attitude that upper castes and banya classes have in India regarding poor people. These human qualities (helping your fellow human) seem to have gone lost in Indiaover the years. The bad habits of oppressing lower and schedule castes in India learnt over Millenia are hard to let go by the Upper castes and Brahmins.

This section should be declared as the Bangladeshi jokes section

In your country 17 % of population is undernourished,55 % of your urban population lives in slums,and 43% of your population earns less than $ 1.90 a day.First fix your country,before lecturing others.

And for our military budget,it is merely 6.5% of our budget expenditure while you spend 6.22% of youe budget expenditure to counter Myanmar :lol:.Our Space budget is just 0.18 % of our budget expenditure.

And since Indian GDP per capita and tax to GDP ratio are much higher yours the funding for 'human development programs are much larger.Last year,when your government spend $ $4.4 billion on 'education,science and technology' our government spend $ 66 billion,15 times.

Do remember that our population is only 7 times yours.

So this claim of Bangladeshis,that 'India wastes its resources in defense & space research while Bangladesh triumphs in human development' doesn't hold hot water !

Well done Bangladesh, well done. This no minor achievement. A measure of country is not if it is spitting on Mars but how it treats it's extreme poor

You're so jealous....

India of course comes at the bottom. While the head is near Mars the feet are in Africa.

Prevalence of undernourishment (% of population)

India 15
Pakistan 22
Bangladesh 17

human development seems to be a necessary prerequisite for long-term sustainable growth.

List of countries by Human Development Index - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Amartya Sen???
We do not take him seriously anymore.
Thanks to him, Nalanada university didnot take off the way it should have.

Amartya Sen should be prosecuted:
Swamy: The Hindu - Mobile edition

When Swamy says Amartya Sen spent Rs 3000 crores recklessly then I am sure he has some proof too.
I hope you know Swamy- he is the one who locked horns with Congress scion Rahul Gandhi.

Swamy is a Tamil Brahmin who is basically a BJP stalwart and Modi apologist. Being a Brahmin upper class person and a beneficiary of the status quo by oppressing the lower castes (a tradition of five millenia), he or his BJP cohorts would be the last people to advocate for the lower castes, schedule castes or women.

Whatever trouble Amartya Sen got into in India because of his liberal political views, opposition to Modi and because of his criticism of open defecation rates in India is no concern of ours.

However the number of toilet-less houses in India is 55%. In Bangladesh it is 8%. He spoke about this. Could it be the cause of Swamy's ire as a BJP mouthpiece? Who cares?? Most of us don't know who Swamy is and could care less.

The story continues in all other Indian HDI areas besides hygiene, including gender-justice.

You being a woman are not concerned that Bangladesh being a Muslim country has more girls than boys in school while India doesn't? That this education has caused fertility to drop much lower than in India? Do you discuss these facts in the RSS Shakha meetings?

I remember that Sen Babu said in one of the videos I posted above that it is possible to get a design of a condominium passed in Delhi without inclusion of a toilet for the servants. This is unbelievable and shocking to most people, even in Bangladesh, but it illustrates the basic problem in how the public discourse in India avoids discussion of treatment of the the less fortunate. In this respect Bangladesh and yes, even Pakistan is ahead of India on how they treat their poor. Of course we don't have lower castes but the whole philosophy on treating the poor is different In Bangladesh.

The fact that you guys no longer take Sen Babu seriously is irrelevant. You all are BJP Hindutva supporters. And he is an educated Nobel Prize winner. He could care less about what you thought of him personally. He is more concerned about what you all are _not_ doing in India as far as HDI. Personal Attacks are the typical low-brow Indian approach to diss an opponent.

Maybe the conservatives in India don't like him because he says things the BJP/Shiv Sena/Sanghis don't like to see trumpeted. But these things do exist and conditions are that bad. Just trying to muzzle him does not make these problems go away.

Trying to talk about a 'shining India' as Hindutva followers do, while things are in this order is akin to painting a bus in shiny colors while the engine is basically at the point of breaking down. You can hide it for a while, but it won't make it run very long.

Having a few sparse areas in all of India looking like Silicon Valley doesn't suffice for the fact that most of it looks like Sub-Saharan Africa. The BJP did not cause India's development to skyrocket although they take plenty of credit for it. While doing or planning little to sustain that development.

In any case all of this is off topic and let's open a separate thread if you want to discuss this.

The story continues in all other Indian HDI

Utter Nonsense

Having a few sparse areas in all of India looking like Silicon Valley doesn't suffice for the fact that most of it looks like Sub-Saharan Africa.

UNdata | record view | Population below $1.25 (PPP) per day, percentage

are in this order is akin to painting a bus in shiny colors while the engine is basically at the point of breaking down. You can hide it for a while, but it won't make it run very long.

Keep hoping...

Oh please. Do annex Bangladesh in the short term. It seems they're longing for it. It has been ages since they slept with you in 1971, and it's totally your fault that you left them like a used tissue paper! :D

@arp2041 @Skull and Bones ...... :p:

. In this respect Bangladesh and yes, even Pakistan is ahead of India on how they treat their poor

While the number of hungry in India has shown a decline over the last 25 years, the number of under-nourished in Pakistan displays an upward trend.

There were 28.7m hungry in Pakistan in the 90's — a number that has steadily increased between 1990 and 2015, with the seven years between 2005 and 2012 displaying relatively slower growth in the number of hungry people.

I will respectfully disagree. You can't have a 'robust' economy if your workforce suffers from low HDI statistics. Period.

This is so basic it is almost laughable...your basic value addition for industries will not improve if your workers are uneducated, and suffer from malnutrition. There are no shortcuts.

A review of some basic welfare and developmental economics may be in order. How about Amartya Sen, a Nobel Prize winner who belonged to both India and Bangladesh,

Unless you have a robust economy, you cannot create jobs or increase income of people. Unless you put more money in people's hand they cannot educate their children properly or take care of their health. Government induced health care or universal education always fall flat. Higher HDIs cannot be a goal but are side effects of better economic conditions.

Tripura to bay of bengal overland route, hmm

dr-evil-geeksandcleats.jpg

Unless you have a robust economy, you cannot create jobs or increase income of people. Unless you put more money in people's hand they cannot educate their children properly or take care of their health. Government induced health care or universal education always fall flat. Higher HDIs cannot be a goal but are side effects of better economic conditions.

What Bangladesh can teach the world | Dhaka Tribune

As I said in one of my previous post...good luck with your goals.

Every country is different. In India's case, a hard approach is required. Investments be it domestic or international across various Industrial sector is needed to create jobs. India has to have a plan to increase the per capita of its people from 1700 USD to near 10000 USD in next twenty years.