IMF shock therapy .. in progress .electricity tariffs increased

Astaghfirullah, I am free from the sin of voting pmln/ppp.--- I never did and I will never even if I am born 100 times ----- just to remind, it's our establishment which helped Nawaz Sharif to come to power. (just like they helped Imran Khan now)

PTi supporters can't just simply put all blame on Imran Khan's team (this view is being spread now), Imran Khan is equally responsible -- for example, nobody forced IK to make dumb Usman Buzdar cm ----- Mr Khan should know ground realities, he has alienated the common man with his imported economic policies ---- there's still some time, otherwise Khan sahab will be playing match with his useless team in empty stadium.
Blame them for their failures
Blame them for no reforms in education
No reforms in taxation

Why blaming them for wrong reasons...

And no PMLN wasnt product of establishment (after 1995s) imran khan yeah may be ..he got geniue vote in kpk and karachi but lot of manufacturing in punjab..i mean common we all know jaag ounjab jaag ...situation ...

more nonsence and BS from PTI social media trolls living in canada or their mom's basement .

1. all local manufacturing is down 40 percent ( nothing to do with imports )

2. electricity bill for manufacturers is up 30 to 40 percent

3. retail trade volume is down 30 to 40 percent

please go on the street and ask a common retailer about IK ,,,,,,

and sorry , no body is leaving pakistan . it will be the imported reza baqirs and zaidis who will be running for their life soon. mark my words

your tabdeeli sarkar is on GHQ crutches anyway :)

as i said, the only PTI supporters left are in canada or the general west

check their arguments ,

1. dont like tabdelli , leave pakistan

2. well, you went to IMF, no face it

3. in USA, bijli is 14cents, so what
Obviously the imported ones will leave --- We have always faced tough situations but never ran away like bhagoras -----

more nonsence and BS from PTI social media trolls living in canada or their mom's basement .

1. all local manufacturing is down 40 percent ( nothing to do with imports )

2. electricity bill for manufacturers is up 30 to 40 percent

3. retail trade volume is down 30 to 40 percent

please go on the street and ask a common retailer about IK ,,,,,,

and sorry , no body is leaving pakistan . it will be the imported reza baqirs and zaidis who will be running for their life soon. mark my words

your tabdeeli sarkar is on GHQ crutches anyway :)

as i said, the only PTI supporters left are in canada or the general west

check their arguments ,

1. dont like tabdelli , leave pakistan

2. well, you went to IMF, no face it

3. in USA, bijli is 14cents, so what
Who says its not down
When you curb previous govt money printing demand will go down and manufacturing will go down...look at the autosector..who will buy cars as govt is no longer subsidizing cara via expensive loans(by overvaluing the rupee)

In long run it will work but short run its going DECREASE LOCAL CONSUMPTION BASED MANUFACTURING

Show me any export based manufacturing decrease ?

----
I am pretty sure all of you guys know how it works...its not rocket science

Are you telling me you knew to post manufacturing data but didnt know the why? I dont buy it.

This is why i dont think we have bright future..we are mostly hypocrites..our educated middle class

Blame them for their failures
Blame them for no reforms in education
No reforms in taxation

Why blaming them for wrong reasons...

And no PMLN wasnt product of establishment (after 1995s) imran khan yeah may be ..he got geniue vote in kpk and karachi but lot of manufacturing in punjab..i mean common we all know jaag ounjab jaag ...situation ...
Pmln is product of establishment, we all know this ---- what was IJI, you can't just say in 2019 that establishment had no say in making of Ganj sharif, our establishment is equally responsible for imposing this buffoon Sharif on us.

Time for reform is go went gone, I don't know what will happen now, I just don't know.

Pmln is product of establishment, we all know this ---- what was IJI, you can't just say in 2019 that establishment had no say in making of Ganj sharif, our establishment is equally responsible for imposing this buffoon Sharif on us.

Time for reform is go went gone, I don't know what will happen now, I just don't know.
Are you saying establishment voted PMLN back in power in 1998 and 2008,2013?
Where are you from?

Who says its not down
When you curb previous govt money printing demand will go down and manufacturing will go down...look at the autosector..who will buy cars as govt is no longer subsidizing cara via expensive loans(by overvaluing the rupee)

In long run it will work but short run its going DECREASE LOCAL CONSUMPTION BASED MANUFACTURING

Show me any export based manufacturing decrease ?

----
I am pretty sure all of you guys know how it works...its not rocket science

Are you telling me you knew to post manufacturing data but didnt know the why? I dont buy it.

This is why i dont think we have bright future..we are mostly hypocrites..our educated middle class
Janab, we know how it works ----- PTi govt should have known that this country's economy is running on imports for decades--- a gradual decrease in imports with corresponding increase in exports was the way to go --- instead, the govt adopted the policy of "monkey with a gun", straightaway bombarded imports, just to show on balance sheet that the gap is narrowing.

See it's very easy to say that things will get better in the long run, why don't you tell us what people should do in short run ---- The Awaam doesn't have corruption money like our ruling elite, what should they do ------ line up at data darbar for langar, loot a bank, take gun and steal from rich.

Ye bhi toa batao keh short run meyn kya karein??

Are you saying establishment voted PMLN back in power in 1998 and 2008,2013?
Where are you from?
Did establishment voted PTi this time?
don't you know how things are manipulated in our system.

You guys live in an imaginary lala land --- let's get straight without fancy facts and figures ---- Why is this difficult for you people to understand that not every small medium business can become manufacturer/assembler -----
small medium businesses operate with limited investment --- they can't become manufacturers, will the investment fall from heavens???

Janab, we know how it works ----- PTi govt should have known that this country's economy is running on imports for decades--- a gradual decrease in imports with corresponding increase in exports was the way to go --- instead, the govt adopted the policy of "monkey with a gun", straightaway bombarded imports, just to show on balance sheet that the gap is narrowing.

See it's very easy to say that things will get better in the long run, why don't you tell us what people should do in short run ---- The Awaam doesn't have corruption money like our ruling elite, what should they do ------ line up at data darbar for langar, loot a bank, take gun and steal from rich.

Ye bhi toa batao keh short run meyn kya karein??

Did establishment voted PTi this time?
don't you know how things are manipulated in our system.

You guys live in an imaginary lala land --- let's get straight without fancy facts and figures ---- Why is this difficult for you people to understand that not every small medium business can become manufacturer/assembler -----
small medium businesses operate with limited investment --- they can't become manufacturers, will the investment fall from heavens???
No but they can and should pay their share of income tax. Same city same product but money difference 300.

IMG_20191004_114149.jpg

https://www.dawn.com/news/1508897/power-tariff-hike

Power tariff hike
EditorialOctober 04, 2019

THIS government has now presided over three separate hikes in power tariffs, aside from the regular fuel adjustment surcharges that are revised and updated as per routine. The latest such hike came on Wednesday, when in one go the government notified a 33 paisa per unit increase, on top of the 53 paisa per unit hike that the regulator had already approved. The additional increase, according to the finance ministry, was to help bear the cost of the subsidy that the so-called ‘lifeline consumers’ (those who consume less than 300 units per month) receive. In what appears to be a sleight-of-hand move, the government has passed on the cost of that subsidy to consumers, thereby freeing up some fiscal space for itself, and at the same time, turning the country’s power sector and its billing and recovery system into even more of a surrogate revenue-collection machine.

These kinds of gimmicks need to be avoided at all cost; whenever the government resorts to them, it needs to be called out on it. Under pressure to keep expenditures down while lifting revenues, the government is behaving like its predecessors as it begins to lean on power tariffs and fuel prices to make some easy billions for itself. When past governments resorted to such practices, they were criticised, not least by Imran Khan himself. But now, the present government itself has retained the benefit of falling oil prices in the global market, rather than passing it on to the consumers who are already weighed down by inflation. Not content with that, it is now passing on the cost of some of the subsidies — and of its own inability to improve system efficiency — directly to the consumers.

Meanwhile, the public is still waiting to learn what the government’s big ideas for power sector reform are. We know privatisation will play a role, but there is nothing yet on how the government intends to improve sector governance, or whether pricing reform is even a part of its vision. There is even less knowledge of what is being done to improve transparency in the power sector. These are mutually reinforcing priorities that are needed to put the power sector on the path of self-sustaining growth. Without pricing reform, investment will always be pegged to guaranteed returns. Without improvement in sector governance, there will always be circular debt, higher or lower in some periods than in others but always present. Without transparency, there will be no meaningful improvement in governance. The absence of any vision for power-sector reform makes tariff hikes even more difficult to bear. At this rate, we will be endlessly raising tariffs to pay for system inefficiency, as well as bearing the associated costs, such as subsidising lifeline consumers; thus there will be no real gain. This is not the way to run things, especially in the power sector.

Published in Dawn, October 4th, 2019

Does anyone knows that there was a genius Govt. and an out of the world Minister of Energy who bought Power Plants planted on containers???

but you did..you voted in PPPP, PML N 3 times..and not letting the new govt do its job
PMLN built a motorway first in asia(even china didnt had motor ways) at cost of 2 billion converted today that is ~8b and was enough to build bhasha dam or atleast conduct whole bunch of feasiblities on zia era WAPDA early river indus identification report..
that only happend in another dictator era the mushi era..

seems any work in pakistan is only done in dictators era

we followed Egyptian model of zero productivity imports and infrastructure lead growth..why do you expect different results than..

i recommend we learn from Bengali..printing note and subsidize the middle class and rich class has never worked and will not work..

i have posted enough stuff on what happened and predicted it in 2016 when things start looking bad..at that time i was called PPPP supporter lol

Its why I have been saying its best to build factories first, to earn forex, then save and invest to make infra better.

Pakistan has this habit of putting infra first and promoting the other end of rope (pure consumption instead of savings) and not sorting out the basic production issues and cartel nonsense (affecting factories)....because it just seem the vested interests (right at the very top) are preserved and pickled the best this way.

Rest of bureaucracy and political drama (national and province assemblies and PMO and chief ministers) are just bit of elite-edifying musical chairs game.

As far as dictator eras go, its not really that different tbh....just the power structure becomes bit more honest about itself (rather than living in denial under so called civilian rule...which then becomes an easy scapegoat)..... so more energy might go further in one direction rather than be split too much when things are more rancorous.

But long term structural analysis of whether that accumulated direction and inertia was good in the end (esp with further vested interests it strengthens and institutions it weakens in the longer time frame) is something again no one (in places of power that matter) really wants to deeply discuss at length in Pakistan it seems....so that remedies can even be conceived....much less designed and implemented.

PTI thinks awam kay pass podar ka paisa ha . Sory No more voting from my side

I see you are still going on same BS. Hold your horses, don't panic yet. Still 4 years left of PTI. But make no mistake they will be punished in punjab if current situation continues. In KP and Sindh well they don't vote for economy so its different there.

Increase is by 1 rupees 53 paisas. I think it will b now most expensive per unit cost world wide. Ranging from 9 cent - 13.5 cent per unit above 300KWH.
If 9 to 13 cent is total (final) consumer cost than that’s not bad at all. Actually it’s lot cheaper than most US cities.

Increase is by 1 rupees 53 paisas. I think it will b now most expensive per unit cost world wide. Ranging from 9 cent - 13.5 cent per unit above 300KWH.
If 9 to 13 cent is total (final) consumer cost than that’s not bad at all. Actually it’s lot cheaper than most US cities.

Hard to attract investment because of terrorism and security. Yes its down 95% since 2010 and we can feel it but world will take longer time to notice. Plus we still cannot get rid of low level militancy from western borders and that 5% can make all the difference. Investors including local ones have to many safer options out there to take risk in anything but another factory of textile. And not long ago real estate. Though now real estate is in bad shape because of taxes and curbs on black money.

Don't forget smuggling and over valued rupee meant only way to make profit in Pakistan was by imports. Not making things locally. Apart from of course textiles, in that too we were left behind by Bangladesh.