Hindi-Bangla bhai-bhai: How Dhaka became India's most important ally in the subcontinent

I never heard any Bangladeshi claimed BD to be the gateway of South Asia.Some people both Bangladeshi and non-Bangladeshi called it bridge between South Asia and ASEAN which is true to some extent.You should stop making bogus stuff in your small head.

A very recent thread in BD section claimed that, do check.

Xi Jinping said it recently. That we possess an important Geographic position. Anyway 80% Bangladeshis hate India not Bangla or Hindus. Please Do not mislead your countrymen.

This hate is normal like China-Taiwan, Chian - Vietnam, China - Philippines, China - Japan, Myanmar - Bangladesh, Pakistan - Afghanistan, China - India, Algeria - Morocco, Algeria - Libya, Egypt - upper nile nations.

Hating India is hating all of us. However, after the cricket match fiasco many Indians have got a sense of Bangladeshi hatred and formed an idea about Bangladeshis.

A very recent thread in BD section claimed that, do check.

Hating India is hating all of us. However, after the cricket match fiasco many Indians have got a sense of Bangladeshi hatred and formed an idea about Bangladeshis.

No according to @Nilgiri 70% Bangladeshis have positive view about India which is close to reality. 30% Hasina core voters + 40% swinging voters want to have good relations with India. However It is true that India is also disliked by a good number of People which is because It is big Neighbor that Tries to control our internal politics. Be practical and don't set your thoughts based on PDF and FB trolls. Surely you understand the difference between a regular Indian and a RSS Bhakt? Bangladesh got them as well.

Its a love-hate relationship. Such is the case between all neighbours that have recent good and bad blood between them in all sorts of things. So the 70% that are favourable to India do not necessarily have that as an exclusive be all end all kind of thing. Same goes for the 30% not favourable to it....a few exceptions will exist on both sides.

When the region develops more over time, that will hopefully skew properly towards genuine fraternity in the areas that really matter...and the "bad blood" be relegated to relatively cheesy things like sports and other such rivalries.

I have much better hope for India - BD to see this down the road quicker than say India-Pakistan or BD - Pakistan.

Dear brother Kobiraaz, NO offense meant, where did you get the above data from, our shows, just the opposite,. It seems you have been in this forum since long,why are you always misleading the Indians,from the ground reality?

NOPE,YOU ONLY JOINED IN 2010, and I am pretty sure that you dont have any ARMED FORCES background.

Please dont lower our nation, before any other countries by trying to please them.only. A FRANK ADVICE.

Moreover your profile picture, doesn't reflect our muslim identity,rather a west bengali hindu culture.

Dear brother Kobiraaz, NO offense meant, where did you get the above data from, our shows, just the opposite,. It seems you have been in this forum since long,why are you always misleading the Indians,from the ground reality?

NOPE,YOU ONLY JOINED IN 2010, and I am pretty sure that you dont have any ARMED FORCES background.

Please dont lower our nation, before any other countries by trying to please them.only. A FRANK ADVICE.

Moreover your profile picture, doesn't reflect our muslim identity,rather a west bengali hindu culture.

Not trying to please anyone. If I say We have positive views of a country, How do you think It lowers our nation?

Our Official policy is " friendship to all, malice to none " I guess you claimed that you worked in foreign ministry and So you should know how things work there.

Hindu culture doesn't belong to West Bengal only. It is part of our Bangladesh too. And I am not a preacher preaching in Madrasaa. I am common Bangladeshi, I have started to believe We can't move forward being hostile to 1 crore of our Hindus.

Right, you are Bangladeshi, not Bengali..!

And that too for now before your fellow countrymen decide to change that identity all over again. :)

The people of Bengal are Bengali...that's us..!

No you're not Bengali, rather a useless Babu from the other side waiting to be overrun by marwaris and other ethnic groups with no significant contribution to this union called "India" in this day & age. Don't embarass us by calling yourself Bengali because you are just another chomcha trying to fit in with the people of Hindi belt. Religion doesn't change the fact that we're Bengali however we know our priorities and that isn't being Bengali. Your primitive idea will not work well with the people of BD we know no geographic boundaries regardless of his creed, colour a Muslim is a Muslim and a Chomcha paan chomping babu will always be a joey.

What a disgusting thing to say. Art and culture is to be appreciated wherever it originates and whatever its history. In this case Bengali Hindu culture is deeply ingrained within BD culture. Tell me what do you use for names for days of the week? (Just one example)

What does reflect your proper identity? The same bearded war criminal that you jamatis keep picking?

Don't embarass us by calling yourself Bengali

Always funny coming from a jamati who's theology comes from concept of dual-wing Pakistan.

Not trying to please anyone. If I say We have positive views of a country, How do you think It lowers our nation?

Our Official policy is " friendship to all, malice to none " I guess you claimed that you worked in foreign ministry and So you should know how things work there.

Hindu culture doesn't belong to West Bengal only. It is part of our Bangladesh too. And I am not a preacher preaching in Madrassa. I am common Bangladeshi, I have started to believe We can't move forward being hostile to 1 crore of our Hindus.

I, beg to differ with your views, remember I was also an Officer in the Bangladesh Army, and my views, encompasses both diplomatic + strategic+ economic interests,for our country. I AM NOT AFFILIATED WITH ANY POLITICAL PARTIES in our country,which should have been applicable in my case, due to more than sufficient reasons. however, I am still today refraining myself, from doing so. I GREW UP with SK.KAMAL BHAI,senior to us + SK JAMAL since mid of 60s. As such I GUESS my knowledge is a little better than yours. We were trained together in handling and live firing of weapons during 1970,prior to March 25th. I CAN BOLDLY AND PROUDLY STATE THAT WE DID NOT REQUIRE ANY ASSISTANCE,whatsoever, FROM THE INDIANS, for all of our actions.

As, an serving ARMY officer, that to, in the ARMY HEADQUARTERS, in Dhaka cantonment ,during the period of severe turmoil, I have personally seen the VISIONARY,HONEST AND A PATRIOTIC person, known as GENERAL ZIA UR RAHMAN,, honestly speaking he was in the past never involved in politics, a truly professional officer.

Despite his non political affiliations ,on 26/27 of March, he declared the INDEPENDENCE OF BANGLADESH,, from a low powered radio transmitter from Kalurghat RADIO station.from Chittagong.. SITTING IN dhaka, aimlessly with no directions,and disheartened, On hearing his voice calling all of us to o join with arms to fight for our glorious war of liberation

.I IMMEDIATELY STOLE MY FATHER'S,.38 WEBLEY AND SCOTT REVOLVER ALONG WITH HIS Winchester.405 , 6 rounds firing capacity, RIFLE along with sufficient ammunition, and jumped our wall join with my other like minded (late),friend to fight the war.WE WERE ALL TRAINED MUCH EARLIER AND KNEW VERY WELL HOW TO HANDLE WEAPONS.We also had our possession a few .303 LEE ENFIELDS BOLT ACTION RIFLES.
Curfew was strictly enforced all across Dhaka city and Pakistani troops armed to their teeth, were routinely patrolling the streets, we could hear their automatic gunfire sporadically THUS, the beginning our our struggle for independence began.

I AM NARRATING ALL THESE UN RELATED FACTS, just for you to understand that even after all that we went through.TILL this day I am first a MUSLIM + a sylheti + a bangladeshi citizen.

Just remember , that sooner or later we will all die,( cloning of humans may have already started+ my daughter is a Phd, in stem cell research, a revolutionary breakthrough in scientific world.) breakthrough . EVEN THEN, my conviction is that we will meet with the ANGEL OF DEATH,,WHENEVER, ALMIGHTY ALLAH DECIDES.

That's, the main difference that I was stressed and was harping about. Well,if you are not a Muslim by faith, of even an atheists, that's none of our problem, in that case it may be useful for my other muslim brothers.With many Thanks

BEING IN THE FOREIGN SERVICE FOR DECADES TOGETHER,,WE NEVER HAVE WE LEARNT TO BOW DOWN BEFORE ANY OTHER COUNTRIES, FRIENDSHIP IS BASED ON RECIPROCITY,, TREATING EVERYONE AS EQUAL. FRIENDSHIP TO ALL, MALICE TOWARDS NONE IS OUR MOTTO., HOWEVER WHEN DIPLOMACY FAILS, ARMY INTERVENTION IS SOUGHT AND VISE VERSA. NOT BY BEING SUBSERVIENT TO TO OTHERS.

MOREOVER, THERE ARE NOTHING KNOWN AS PERMANENT FRIENDS OR ENEMIES, THE ONLY PRINCIPAL WE FOLLOW IS THAT RELATES TO OUR INTERESTS ONLY,EVERYTHING ELSE ARE VARIABLES.

I, beg to differ with your views, remember I was also an Officer in the Bangladesh Army, and my views, encompasses both diplomatic + strategic+ economic interests,for our country. I AM NOT AFFILIATED WITH ANY POLITICAL PARTIES in our country,which should have been applicable in my case, due to more than sufficient reasons. however, I am still today refraining myself, from doing so. I GREW UP with SK.KAMAL BHAI,senior to us + SK JAMAL since mid of 60s. As such I GUESS my knowledge is a little better than yours. We were trained together in handling and live firing of weapons during 1970,prior to March 25th. I CAN BOLDLY AND PROUDLY STATE THAT WE DID NOT REQUIRE ANY ASSISTANCE,whatsoever, FROM THE INDIANS, for all of our actions.

As, an serving ARMY officer, that to, in the ARMY HEADQUARTERS, in Dhaka cantonment ,during the period of severe turmoil, I have personally seen the VISIONARY,HONEST AND A PATRIOTIC person, known as GENERAL ZIA UR RAHMAN,, honestly speaking he was in the past never involved in politics, a truly professional officer.

Despite his non political affiliations ,on 26/27 of March, he declared the INDEPENDENCE OF BANGLADESH,, from a low powered radio transmitter from Kalurghat RADIO station.from Chittagong.. SITTING IN dhaka, aimlessly with no directions,and disheartened, On hearing his voice calling all of us to o join with arms to fight for our glorious war of liberation

.I IMMEDIATELY STOLE MY FATHER'S,.38 WEBLEY AND SCOTT REVOLVER ALONG WITH HIS Winchester.405 , 6 rounds firing capacity, RIFLE along with sufficient ammunition, and jumped our wall join with my other like minded (late),friend to fight the war.WE WERE ALL TRAINED MUCH EARLIER AND KNEW VERY WELL HOW TO HANDLE WEAPONS.We also had our possession a few .303 LEE ENFIELDS BOLT ACTION RIFLES.
Curfew was strictly enforced all across Dhaka city and Pakistani troops armed to their teeth, were routinely patrolling the streets, we could hear their automatic gunfire sporadically THUS, the beginning our our struggle for independence began.

I AM NARRATING ALL THESE UN RELATED FACTS, just for you to understand that even after all that we went through.TILL this day I am first a MUSLIM + a sylheti + a bangladeshi citizen.

Just remember , that sooner or later we will all die,( cloning of humans may have already started+ my daughter is a Phd, in stem cell research, a revolutionary breakthrough in scientific world.) breakthrough . EVEN THEN, my conviction is that we will meet with the ANGEL OF DEATH,,WHENEVER, ALMIGHTY ALLAH DECIDES.

That's, the main difference that I was stressed and was harping about. Well,if you are not a Muslim by faith, of even an atheists, that's none of our problem, in that case it may be useful for my other muslim brothers.With many Thanks

I am a muslim and a believing one..And that compelled me to Respect other religions too. I am a Muslim, Bangali and Bangladeshi. They aren't mutually exclusive. I have already proven it here in this forum that Bangla language and culture was developed under the Muslim Sultans of Bengal and my pro Bengali position doesn't nullify my Muslim Identity.

I have a clear idea about our struggle in 1971. although I might be younger than your daughter. Whatever you have written here is already known to me and I agree with everything except " we didn't require any assistance from Indians "

Yes We would have defeated Pakistan without the Indian troops on ground. But Don't forget the arms and ammunition that reached you through India and the number of refugees fed by India. Diplomatic movement in International Arena by Indira Gandhi in favor of Bangladesh shouldnt be forgotten as well.

I am a muslim and a believing one..And that compelled me to Respect other religions too. I am a Muslim, Bangali and Bangladeshi. They aren't mutually exclusive. I have already proved it here in this forum that Bangla language and culture was developed under the Muslim Sultans of Bengal and my pro Bengali position doesn't nullify my Muslim Identity.

I have a clear idea about our struggle in 1971. although I might be younger than your daughter. Whatever you have written here are already known by me and I agree with everything except " we didn't require any assistance from Indians "

Yes We would have defeated Pakistan without the Indian troops on ground. But Don't forget the arms and ammunition that reached you through India and the number of refugees fed by India. Diplomatic movement in International Arena by Indira Gandhi in favor of Bangladesh shouldnt be forgotten as well.

I COMPLETELY AGREE WITH YOU ON SOME BASIC POINTS.

DONT FORGET THAT WHAT INDIA DID SINCE 1964, ARE PROBABLY NOT KNOWN TO YOU
THEY DID, WHAT WAS REQUIRED FOR THEIR INTEREST ONLY, DISMEMBERMENT OF PAKISTAN. WAS THEIR FIRST AND FOREMOST PRIORITY.

PRINCIPLE OF ANY FOREIGN POLICY MAKER IS. EVERYTHING IS ACCEPTABLE FOR THE GREATER INTEREST OF YOUR STATE , OTHERS ARE VARIABLE, CONSTANTLY EVOLVING TO CATER TO THE SITUATION THAT EXISTS DURING THAT TIME AND GAIN THE OPTIMUM BENEFITS FOR YOUR STATE..

BEING IN THE FOREIGN SERVICE FOR DECADES TOGETHER,,WE NEVER HAVE WE LEARNT TO BOW DOWN BEFORE ANY OTHER COUNTRIES, FRIENDSHIP IS BASED ON RECIPROCITY,, TREATING EVERYONE AS EQUAL. FRIENDSHIP TO ALL, MALICE TOWARDS NONE IS OUR MOTTO., HOWEVER WHEN DIPLOMACY FAILS, ARMY INTERVENTION IS SOUGHT AND VISE VERSA. NOT BY BEING SUBSERVIENT TO TO OTHERS.

MOREOVER, THERE ARE NOTHING KNOWN AS PERMANENT FRIENDS OR ENEMIES, THE ONLY PRINCIPAL WE FOLLOW IS THAT RELATES TO OUR INTERESTS ONLY,EVERYTHING ELSE ARE VARIABLES.

Ekhta zobordost khotha khoylai bhaisab. Very inspirational

I COMPLETELY AGREE WITH YOU ON SOME BASIC POINTS.

DONT FORGET THAT WHAT INDIA DID SINCE 1964, ARE PROBABLY NOT KNOWN TO YOU
THEY DID, WHAT WAS REQUIRED FOR THEIR INTEREST ONLY, DISMEMBERMENT OF PAKISTAN. WAS THEIR FIRST AND FOREMOST PRIORITY.

PRINCIPLE OF ANY FOREIGN POLICY MAKER IS. EVERYTHING IS ACCEPTABLE FOR THE GREATER INTEREST OF YOUR STATE , OTHERS ARE VARIABLE, CONSTANTLY EVOLVING TO CATER TO THE SITUATION THAT EXISTS DURING THAT TIME AND GAIN THE OPTIMUM BENEFITS FOR YOUR STATE..

Trust Me, I have no added sympathy for India. It is just I want " Akhand not communal Bangla " :D

I understand Leaders like Tajuddin Ahmed was approached by RAW while in Mymensingh Jail by his Hindu Inmates. He was indoctrinated about Bangladesh there. This is Completely My own guess. Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib kept Tajuddin's proposal as last option if he fails to take control of Pakistan.... This is what happened until 25th March.

Trust Me, I have no added sympathy for India. It is just I want " Akhand not communal Bangla " :D

I understand Leaders like Tajuddin Ahmed was approached by RAW while in Mymensingh Jail by his Hindu Inmates. He was indoctrinated about Bangladesh there. This is Completely My own guess. Bangabandhu Sheikh Mujib kept Tajuddin's proposal as last option if he fails to take control of Pakistan.... This is what happened until 25th March.

ONE OF THE MAIN REASONS BEHIND HIS BRUTAL ASSASSINATION.
NOW YOU ARE SLOWLY LEARNING.
YOUR WIDER VISION ,AT THIS MOMENT OF TIME, IS NEXT TO IMPOSSIBLE. PROBABLY NOT IN MY LIFETIME, HOWEVER , DONT LOSE HOPE, YOUR GENERATION SHOULD BE MENTALLY PREPARED,
REMEMBER STRIKE WHEN THE IRON IS HOT.
WE HAVE SUFFICIENT STOCKPILE OF WEAPONS KEPT IN RESERVE . MEANT TO CATER FOR ALL YOUR NEEDS. SALAM. AND GOOD MORNING IN DHAKA, NOW WE SHOULD SLEEP,

Bihari and UP immigrants to East Bengal also belong here. They are my bhai-bon I want them to feel at home. Set up more Urdu schools and institutions for them. Don't cause hurt to them Allah swt is watching us
The biharis are the weirdest community in earth. They are basically indian who lives in bangladesh and speaking urdhu. They don't need separate urdu schools but those who wants to be educated can admit any school. I have some school friends who are biharis and from syedpur. One is a doctor and her husband is a major in artillery. Another is a civil engineer. They are quiet good and speak bangla.

Don't say that every Biharis are all alike, In spite, of the evil deeds done from our as well as theirs, pre- post 71.
ITS HIGH TIME. TO FORGET AND FORGIVE, FROM BOTH THE SIDES.
THAT WHAT ISLAM TAUGHT US TO DO.

ONLY, IF I TELL YOU ABOUT WHAT SINS THAT WE COMMITED,, WILL YOU CLEARLY UNDERSTAND. WHICH I CAN'T IN AN OPEN FORUM.

TAKE THE CASE HISTORY OF SYEDPUR,AS AN EXAMPLE, WHERE YOUR FRIEND USED TO RESIDE OR BETTER STILL, IF YOU TALK TO HIS PARENTS.