Doctors with conscience speak out

Didnt read op:D
but this is me speaking out
lemme tell u what happened yestrday.
I was on duty in emergency/trauma block in place of my frnd,who had to leave for a couple of hours.
two guys came wailing,,they had a accident,just outside the hospital(a private one),,,both were on bikes.duty nurse asked them to make an emergency ticket first,,,but they kept crying n wanted treatment ,,,so I examined thm,,,one had few minor bruises n d 2nd one had shoulder dislocation....after reduction,tt,dressing,pain killers n some rest,,they felt better n ready to leave....i reminded them to pay there bill at the billing counter on there way out n to come for review in opd.
u know what,,,those guys didnt pay,,,,no prize for guessing,,,who had to pay there bill :cray:
LoL, it happens most of the times, That is the reason the Patients/families are asked to pay upfront before they are admitted, since i saw many cases where critical cases would come, but the patients family would refuse to pay up when the patient is dead and all those procedures and medication, bills etc. won't be paid later.
They would sit in a dharna demanding the Patients dead body back or go on a rampage vandalizing hospital, machines and beating up every Doctor and Medical personnel on sight.Medical Insurance helps a lot here.
Private hospitals do have certain targets they must reach in a month,to do that they keep pushing the doctors to write up Unnecessary tests and procedures.

Another peculiar feature, if you have a practice and you don't prescribe a list of drugs and battery of tests,some patients tend to think that doctor is no good as compared to the other one( who prescribes more drugs and wanted more Diagonostic tests done).Due to 50% commission forwarded to the Doctor by the Radiologist/Diagnostic Center,from the total bill incurred by the patient.
To avoid all this fiasco, you need to explain the patient in detail about his condition, but that takes a lot of time,While you treat 10 patients a day the other Doctor treats 100-150 and ends up with a big wad of money. :hitwall:

These days getting kicked, beaten, abused should be declared part of medical curriculum :D

Moreover If a hospital is made by say 500 crores... who will pay for the cost... ??

If you want world class hospital then be ready to pay for it, or else go to other places. Corporate have their own problems.

No one wants to make lives of our own people miserable, not even the so called cunning corporates.

If it needs to be blamed it is the Government, and the SARKARI SYSTEM.

Mind you only functional component in a govt hospital are doctors.

Kabhi yaha ke peons se baat karo to lagega ki in salo ko aur do peon chahiye.

Ehh leave it... These noble people will be considered loosers and game will continue.......... :welcome:

These days getting kicked, beaten, abused should be declared part of medical curriculum :D

Moreover If a hospital is made by say 500 crores... who will pay for the cost... ??

If you want world class hospital then be ready to pay for it, or else go to other places. Corporate have their own problems.

No one wants to make lives of owr own people miserable, not even the so called cunning corporates.

If it needs to be blamed it is the Government, and the SARKARI SYSTEM.

Mind you only functional component in a govt hospital are doctors.

Kabhi yaha ke peons se baat karo to lagega ki in salo aur do peon chahiye.

Ehh leave it... These noble people will be considered loosers and game will continue.......... :welcome:
The basic salary suxs mate, 15,000 Inr for working your arse off all day and while compared to other streams.Where their basic salary is more.

Abe bahut hai... seva karo.... aur karte hue mar jao :yahoo:
Typical Medical students love story :rofl::rofl::rofl:
Medical love story.jpg

? I am myself a doctor

I was like you when i was giving pre-medicals.... Perhaps in your country situation is different..

In the place called India...

getting kicked, beaten, abused, worst of all underpaid and overworked should be declared part of medical curriculum :yay:

I was like you when i was giving pre-medicals.... Perhaps in your country situation is different..

In the place called India...

getting kicked, beaten, abused, worst of all underpaid and overworked should be declared part of medical curriculum :yay:
Dude i am not pre-medical, i am post-graduate........perhaps you didnt get my point, a doctor should be more than just an earner of bread

Was just having some fun...

For your idea that doctor should not focus on earning money.... I respectfully disagree. I think I have done my share of selfless service to humanity and I am afraid I have lost any interest in continuing it for remaing part of my life. It's just not worth it. Moreover society does not deserve it. They deserve people like themselves.

I last visited doctor 6 years ago, may God keep me away from them.

Any doctors in the house ? I need to ask a question.

Was just having some fun...

For your idea that doctor should not focus on earning money.... I respectfully disagree. I think I have done my share of selfless service to humanity and I am afraid I have lost any interest in continuing it for remaing part of my life. It's just not worth it. Moreover society does not deserve it. They deserve people like themselves.
I do understand your sentiments, our comfort and life is destroyed when we enter into medical field, young doctors are not paid much and on the top of that people wont appreciate or understand your desire for money.........thats why its not for every one, there is lot of spirituality in this field if you search for it, without that it is tiresome profession of making lot of money. I owe my change of angle of thoughts about my profession due to certain person and incident, and i am thankful to him. I always pray from Allah to keep my thoughts and views consistent regarding this, as humans are weak and are continuously tested.

I think there is a confusion between 'making money' and 'making money legitimately'.

And I think there should not be any confusion about whether pushing patients for unnecessary medical tests and procedures by taking advantage of their vulnerabilities, where some of the tests and procedures can even be harmful for the patients, is 'immoral', 'unethical' and 'illegitimate' or not.

And one wrong doesn't justify another, a doctor's profession has its share of hazards, some of them are undue, but that is not a licence for such malpractices.

It is even more unfortunate when some doctors say that corporate hospitals will put you under unnecessary tests and procedures that will fleece you and even harm you, just because they have their expenses. Every business has its expenses, charge patients accordingly, but don't treat them like guineapigs, is it too much to ask for?

The doctor's salary is an expense that needs justifying (in a corporate hospital). The more salary you earn, the expected RoI is equally high. This is a systemic problem, one that will not be solved easily. Pretty much every hospital/nursing home now practices insurance fraud & patients too are disinterested to actually find out whether the procedure is a necessary one, just as long as they are not paying the bills. The whole system (corporate/private hospitals) is wretched, gone are the days that doctors had a high reputation for doing no harm. Now like schools & colleges, it is all about money & the guinea pig walking in is just another wallet/credit card/insurance santa.