Do you want the military to takeover in Pakistan?

Do you want to see another military takeover in Pakistan?

• Total voters
You see.
We're all spoiled bratz here.
You, Him, Me. everyone.

Our problem is
We'll believe anyone in whatever they say and support them.

Bas inko danda do every once in a while......

Danda to janwaron ko diya jata hae brother!

And it's very shameful for us to be in that situation.Hopefully you'll agree.

I want my Aziz humwatoon to not get used to such an act.And on the other side i do want my countrymen to rise from that status of believing anyone and ending up supporting any politician ( as you have said) who provides them with roti shooti at the end of each jalsa, dharna or a press conference.

That can only happen if they understand their system well and know their power of vote.Which i see that now they are going to do.But that'll be gradual (And in that process politicians will reap what they have sown) .The eradication of the corrupt will be gradual and systematic.Exactly opposite to the path and time that corruption has followed to invigorate it's roots into our system.And no "danda" can speed the things up there.That danda should fall on the heads of the enemies and that too with full force, focus & determination.

You can't uproot a sapling and wish it to grow at the same speed.

I really want the Army to take the reins of the country one last time to do a clean up. Hang Nawaz and Shabaz. Bring every single corrupt politician, judge, official to justice. Then hold a clean election. I'll be fine with anyone forming a government from among the clean people.
only if it was so easy.. kill one or two people, remove corrupt and leave a shiny awsome govt... and PA wont have to intervene ever again..

Issue is everytime PA takes over, its moves the institutional clock back... so parliament, judiciary, independent election commission,... and most likely free media will be impacted.
When they leave, you will start from less institutioanal maturity than currently you got.

Unless you want PA to handle everything from sabzi mandi to cricket team forever, I dont see why they should take over at regular interval.. its not as if they have a better record at actually doing a better job.. they are 'supposedly' less corrupt... thats all they got.
also, where will they get all these clean politicians.. surely not from pakistan.. they will have to import from UK probably... :p:

I want my Aziz humwatoon to not get used to such an act.And on the other side i do want my countrymen to rise from that status of believing anyone and ending up supporting any politicians( as you have said) who provides them with roti shooti at the end of each jalsa, dharna or a press conference.

That can only happen if they understand their system well and know their power of vote.Which i see that now they are going to do.But that'll be gradual (And in that process politicians will reap what they have sown) .The eradication of the corrupt will be gradual and systematic.Exactly opposite to the path and time that corruption has followed to invigorate it's roots into our system.And no "danda" can speed the things up there.That danda should fall on the heads of the enemies and that too with full force, focus & determination.

Well put! +1

I want my Aziz humwatoon to not get used to such an act.And on the other side i do want my countrymen to rise from that status of believing anyone and ending up supporting any politician ( as you have said) who provides them with roti shooti at the end of each jalsa, dharna or a press conference.

Knowing the power of votes, won't work in pakistan, cause we haven't generated a society which a can accept, it's defeat?
Till real democracy a fair , system of election , free but responsible media , a free hard & responsible judiciary , aren't in motion in pakistan all these so called democratic lectures stand no where but in the sinks of the political mafia elites who are ready to buy every thing in Thier sights ?
Better we should accept them, as our kings for the sake of democracy &just bow down to Them, so our foolish democracy dreams could be fulfilled?

Martial Law is far better than this rotten system which is called Democracy!

It is the job of politicians and professionals

Military should only be engaged to safeguard border
yet the poor uniform men are called for everything else :tsk: coz the normal DEMOCRAZY doesnt reach in time or at all!

From Earthquakes to Floods...military was 1st to help out later only did the drunkards wake up....

From red alert to airport security again military was called in ...

yet the poor uniform men are called for everything else :tsk: coz the normal DEMOCRAZY doesnt reach in time or at all!

From Earthquakes to Floods...military was 1st to help out later only did the drunkards wake up....

Army should work in accordance with the rule of law. Army can be invited for any cause but should remain specific to that particular cause.

Here in UK, Army was invited to monitor London Olympics and thousands of army personnel were monitoring the event. It did not mean that Army should now overthrow the government and impose martial law in London.

In democracy you have the right to overthrow elected premier if he is not performing well, in dictatorship you are imposed with a self-proclaimed leader who can be both good or bad for the country but one thing is certain that people did not chose him to rule the country. When the leader is chosen from amongst the people (democratic leader) he is always alert for losing his post if he did not perform, if army always takes over and then leave in utter embarrassment (as was the case for Musharraf, Yahya Khan) it gives another chance to the tried-n-tested leaders as they have valid excuse to feed people that they were not given proper chance to prove their worth.

Once the democratic leader completes the tenure, it will go back to the people who will assess his performance and change if they feel the leader was not worth it (just like the last government was replaced), now if the present government does not perform, they might be changed for another party in future. The only reason PPP and PML-N got opportunity to take rounds is the that the army always intervened... otherwise you never know if this chapter would have already been closed back in 1990s

Sir,

It never is---you have been lied to---weakest democracy is like a CANCER---it destroys the foundations of the society.

Martial law is like a flu---.
Neither Democracy nor Martial Law ....then what?

Army should work in accordance with the rule of law. Army can be invited for any cause but should remain specific to that particular cause.
Here in UK, Army was invited to monitor London Olympics and thousands of army personnel were monitoring the event. It did not mean that Army should now overthrow the government and impose martial law in London.
Yaar London ki economy to progress keri hai....it is also not channeling all profits to 1 family...Nor it is killing the country through slow poisoning and sending it to the middle ages!

In democracy you have the right to overthrow elected premier if he is not performing well, in dictatorship you are imposed with a self-proclaimed leader who can be both good or bad for the country but one thing is certain that people did not chose him to rule the country. When the leader is chosen from amongst the people (democratic leader) he is always alert for losing his post if he did not perform, if army always takes over and then leave in utter embarrassment (as was the case for Musharraf, Yahya Khan) it gives another chance to the tried-n-tested leaders as they have valid excuse to feed people that they were not given proper chance to prove their worth.
So if majority chooses Army how is that dictatorship? Well if the elections were not fair then NS is somewhat self-proclaimed whom the people didnt really choose, is it not? :pop:

Once the democratic leader completes the tenure, it will go back to the people who will assess his performance and change if they feel the leader was not worth it (just like the last government was replaced), now if the present government does not perform, they might be changed for another party in future. The only reason PPP and PML-N got opportunity to take rounds is the that the army always intervened... otherwise you never know if this chapter would have already been closed back in 1990s
Easier to say on a forum but when 80% of the population is poor enough to willingly sell their votes for temporary comforts or dont even know the power of their votes...than this "analysis" doesnt occur!

Army intervenes both as some of the people want it...like only some PMLN want NS while others are bought up....or sometimes there is enough crap that army gets frustrated and takes over....

The sad part is people count the army rule as a reset button instead of judging PPP and PMLN

LOL. You are saying each party can have their own military wing too?
What can...many have it and its known as gangster law!

Since we haven't developed any other institutions.So, ultimately those are the results that people have to face.(Jab hifazt bhe wohi krein or siyasut bhe wohi karein to general sahib ko wazir.e. azam bhe bana dena chahiye)
The exact lesson for the politicians that they kept their nation uneducated and in darkness and scrapped the SOPs to facilitate corruption and hence didn't develop other institutions that the state can fall back on when in need, which made them vulnerable to be impaled by that "danda".

Were we that poor as a state or were we uni-focal in our approach?

The good step military has taken now is to be an audience and let the politicians fight each other and clean their shit with a foot on the tail of each side as another pressure group and that is perhaps an appreciable stance.