DO INDIANS SUPPORT FORMATION OF TELANGANA STATE

There were over 500 states that merged to form India in 47.

Its the vested interests that are pushing for smaller states. For instance in Pak, will dividing Punjab help ?

Actually , I support the idea of smaller Administrative units upto a point. Some units can be too small to form a State or a Province in case of Pakistan. I am a firm supporter of South Punjab and Karachi/Hyderabad as a separate Provinces in Pakistan, as such a move will create a better Administrative units.

Btw, Telangana State if created, will have a Population of 35 Million people and have a huge area. It is not a small admninistrtive unit by any stretch of imagination.

Creating new states is more than just what we think.

The debate remains on which is better - smaller or larger states or it does not matter - Governance matters not the size.

Those for small states cite the example of Haryana little realising that its location ( West , North & South of NCR) gives it all the leverage & advantage . The edge of a very large state - UP touching NCR on the East ( NOIDA) is also flourishing.

There are newly formed states like Jharkhand & Chattisgarh who have nothing to show. While whats left of Bihar after Jharkhand was formed has flourished due to better governance not reduction in size. Nitish would have done a good job in a large state too.

The truth is that its a racket. More states benefit everyone - More Governors, Chief Ministers, Cabinet Ministers, More Secretaries for the IAS, more Commissioners of Police - in short promotions for the Babus & money making opportunities for Politicians - not to mention having a small No of MPs who are worth their weight in gold in coalition politics.

Telengana, Gorkhaland and other demands for states needs to be seen in this light.

The size does not matter - Governance does.

Hope this helps.

Please visit chattishgarh you will feel the difference between Madhya pradesh, even naxalite area have better roads than most parts of M.P.

Creation of a new state is not going to solve the problem... It will give birth of another Corrupt leader like Madhu Kora... This is game of few power hungry people.

Please visit chattishgarh you will feel the difference between Madhya pradesh, even naxalite area have better roads than most parts of M.P.

I totally agree with you. In a large State some groups hijack the State machinery and use State resources to further their agenda and use resources for their areas at the expense of some other groups.

I do not know how much more dividing a state would help.The present elective systems which allow MLAs from all the areas to the state assembly and the administrative structure is more than enough for the development of a region.If Telengana has been deprived,the state Government should be responsible for it's inefficiency.We have seen how smaller states can equally be corrupted in Jharkhand.

I totally agree with you. In a large State some groups hijack the State machinery and use State resources to further their agenda and use resources for their areas at the expense of some other groups.

Before division of M.P. we use to face atleast 4 hours of load shedding but now C.G. is the only state to have surplus electricity, even a remote village area don't face a single minute load shedding.
Just imagine if a person from Bastar has to go state capital i.e Bhopal it took 24 hours to reach there. now from any part of the state a person can come the same day and return home in evening.This logic may be look awkward to some one but if a person is poor and cant afford to take a room in lodge or hotel than it matters a lot to him.

On the other hand Jharkhand (breakaway state) is in the pits and Bihar (parent state) is forging ahead.

I agree with third eye. Cleaving states is all about creating smaller fiefdoms and autonomous power centers. Like large farms being broken down over generations into smaller units amongst warring brothers.

@Pakistanisage why is the title of this thread a shouting one?

There are both pro's and Con's. To my knowledge more pro's in the case of TELANGANA.

On the other hand Jharkhand (breakaway state) is in the pits and Bihar (parent state) is forging ahead.

I agree with third eye. Cleaving states is all about creating smaller fiefdoms and autonomous power centers. Like large farms being broken down over generations into smaller units amongst warring brothers.

@Pakistanisage why is the title of this thread a shouting one?

Jharkhand didn't got a good government after its formation thats the main reason and for Bihar Nitish is really doing good job.More over its like a student who use to get 70% marks if he gets 75% no one will consider but at the same time if a student who got barely 40% and suddenly starts getting 60% he will be appreciated by every one.

Just for example can you name any big city In W.B after Kolkata immediately no city will come in to your mind. For such a big state still there are only 19 districts and small state like C.G have 27 districts and the devlopment is on floors now like there are 27 Distr courts all there cases has been divided, hearings are going fast, but yes its upto the people what type of govt they are electing.

I've heard both aides of the argument.. Telangana has been one of the poorest regions in Andhra Pradesh(A.P). There were many reasons, it location which is in the Deccan plateau to the leaders who never really cared for its people.

While the location made irrigation projects difficult the leaders made them impossible.. The leaders from Andhra with coffers full of money obviously exerted the policy of the state more in their favor.

Hyderabad is the bone of contention, the investment there is heavy, break A.P no problem, make Hyd the capital of Telangana- will not accept.

The problem according to me is the people wanted Telangan but the leaders are not serious themselves, they are given some money and contracts and all the agitation goes to hell. Money talks and in this part of the world a dhoti clad person is more rich than a average working guy, the iron grip of Andhra investors in Hyd is difficult to remove.

If after all the people do want a division they must be accorded a separate state but I doubt it will achieve much, seeing the sad state of politicians from that region.

Jharkhand didn't got a good government after its formation thats the main reason and for Bihar Nitish is really doing good job.More over its like a student who use to get 70% marks if he gets 75% no one will consider but at the same time if a student who got barely 40% and suddenly starts getting 60% he will be appreciated by every one.

Bhai mai Bihari hun. Jharkhand ke saath saath hamara poora ka poora raw material and mineral ore and coal and manganese and mica chala gaya. Saari iron and steel industry bhi chali gayi. We were left with Ganga maa waali kheti. And some refineries. Japanese once said, give us Bihar and we will rule the world.

Just for example can you name any big city In W.B after Kolkata immediately no city will come in to your mind. For such a big state still there are only 19 districts and small state like C.G have 27 districts and the devlopment is on floors now like there are 27 Distr courts all there cases has been divided, hearings are going fast, but yes its upto the people what type of govt they are electing.

West Bengal is a bad bad example brother. Industry kahan hai wahan? Psycho Didi ko poocho.

I think it's always better to divide big states 'coz a section of people always feel left out. Even my state Uttarakhand was carved out of UP and thank god for that :cheesy:, back when we were in UP we had 6-7 hrs load shedding everyday in doon, now we are exporting surplus power to delhi and UP. I have heard from my gult friends that the main problem regarding telengana issue is the question of inclusion of hyderabad into the new state.

Inclusion of Hyderabad in Telangana will rest with the center. Either way it is Hyderabad which is getting affected in this tug of war between Telangana and Andhra. People of Andhra have invested heavily in Hyderabad and in future this investment is in trouble. Hyderabad has 75 billion dollars GDP which is more than half of entire state of AP. So, the stakes are high regarding who gets to keep Hyderabad.

Bhai mai Bihari hun. Jharkhand ke saath saath hamara poora ka poora raw material and mineral ore and coal and manganese and mica chala gaya. Saari iron and steel industry bhi chali gayi. We were left with Ganga maa waali kheti. And some refineries. Japanese once said, give us Bihar and we will rule the world.

West Bengal is a bad bad example brother. Industry kahan hai wahan? Psycho Didi ko poocho.

Aapka dard samajhta hun main bhi Banaras kaa hun but bahut salon se C.G main reh raha hun.

The demands of people of Telangana can be met and so I don't think there is a need for separate state.