Delhi University cut-offs reach record high; 100% needed for B Com

Can someone explain how students get admission in different universities in India??? It looks like it is totally based on board exams. Can a university conduct entry test???

professional courses like engineering , law , medicine , management etc all have entrance exams but you need a minimum percentage in board exams.

academic course like BA , B.com use only board exam results , no entrance exams .

There are 52 colleges in Delhi University with some 100000 seats in 12 courses
100% cutoff was announced only by one college ie SRCC that too for science students taking commerce in college
for commerce students cutoff was 97%

Cutoff for commerce in top 10 colleges wary between 92-97% if u choose 3 top courses of B.com (H) , Economic (H) or Physics (H)

U can actually get admission at some bottom ranked colleges with just 66%
If a student cant get that , then he can try out for GuruGobind Singh Indraprastha University or other 2nd tier universities like JNU IndraGandhi open University

However a student will have no future if he gets anything less than 50 %

Lol , 66 % ? i tried to get admission in b.com in 2008 with 81 % , no college was ready to take me .I did not want to do BA , so i opted for law from GGSIPU .

I remember when I was in class XII
I got 84% but didnot get admission in Top 10 colleges
My dad went ballistic
Thankfully i was smart enough to give entrance exams for different courses and managed to get admission in Symbiosis University Pune
Today i make 13 lacs a yr
Which though is still less than half of what my dad makes , but he is 52 and i am 28 , so i still have a lot of time to catch up

which course did you do from Symbi ?

hehehe... Now the BCom fellows will learn what is called 100 percentile! Its not new for IIM aspirants though! Those scored 770/780/790 in GMAT are not enough to score a good percentile to get into top IIMs like Ahmadabad, Bangalore or Kolkata. IIM Ahmadabad always needed 99.5 percentile as well as good academic record to get a call for interview. I think its world's toughest institute to get in. :frown:

I have tried two times! :cry:

How the fracking hell can anyone score more than 97% in your courses is beyond me. Are these people such experts in those subjects? We used to struggle to cross 80% back in late 90s and our professors used to struggle really hard to cut points wherever they possibly could!! Emphasis was laid on us understanding the topics on hand and not scoring points.

I still dont understand the knowledge these guys have. Ask such high scoring people basic principles in a simple elegantly twisted question and you will see bewilderment on their faces! With MCQs, people sometimes can and do get extremely lucky!

Do they teach only to score marks or do they teach to make you understand the subject. Call me old school, but if I have to hire anyone I will surely emphasize on the person's knowledge, presence of mind, ability to think critically, and overall personality than what college he/she graduated from or how high the marks were.

hehehe... Now the BCom fellows will learn what is called 100 percentile! Its not new for IIM aspirants though! Those scored 770/780/790 in GMAT are not enough to score a good percentile to get into top IIMs like Ahmadabad, Bangalore or Kolkata. IIM Ahmadabad always needed 99.5 percentile as well as good academic record to get a call for interview. I think its world's toughest institute to get in. :frown:

kya banaa fir?:undecided::azn:

Getting into top indian institutes is tougher than compared to others like us etc.
getting into ivy league is much easier than gettin in iits and iims

Please understand the difference between percentage and percentile. In CAT, it is easy to score in the 99 %ile, simply because there HAVE to be people in the top 1% of the pile. For example, if 2 Lakh people are giving CAT, there will necessarily be 2 thousand people in the 99 %ile and above category.

It is different for Board exams, because it is very difficult to score 100% in a subjective type paper, especially in courses like English, where there is no definite answer.

has DU gone f **king crazy how are student suppose to get 100 % . students like me are already under heavy pressure and leave aside all the emotional drama you get from your family. stupid system.

yes dude, same is the condition in my house as well , the situation in india today is such that anything below 90% is seen like nothing , even for science courses. i feel so helpless.don't know what will be the situation 10 year's later, 110% maybe .

When such insane things happen then this is the result

Student scores 85%, but hangs herself

BANGALORE: Unhappy with her score of 85% in the recent SSLC exam, M Sunidhi, 16, allegedly committed suicide in her house in Maruti Block, near Gayatrinagar, on Monday evening. Sunidhi had often fretted that she had not scored 90%.

Sunidhi was found hanging in a room by her grandmother Vaidehi, who had gone out and returned at 5pm. Sunidhi, who is from Pavagada near Tumkur, had been staying with her grandmother since one month, after she joined a private college in Malleswaram.

According to her grandmother, Sunidhi was depressed as she had failed to score over 90%. "She would often tell me that she was unhappy that she could not score better. She became more disturbed when she failed to get admission in a college of her choice," Vaidehi told police. Sunidhi's parents arrived in Bangalore late on Tuesday night, and took the body after a post mortem.

Student scores 85%, but hangs herself - The Times of India

A Comment from Faking News - a news satire website "CBSE to award extra marks for handwriting to enable students get admission in Delhi University"