i though that i should retire from this useless thread but the lovely posts of qsaark and Mk keep bringing me back
Thankyou both of you sirs.
@Qsaark
Among several other things that I like about this wonderful country is the habit of people to finish the job whether it belongs to them or not. Maybe it is a bit different in your profession, but at least in my profession, we do not wait for somebody to do the job, we act proactively and finish the job. It has happened several times that my Professor asked me or others to work on some paper, report or on some presentation but we were not able to finish it in time. He won’t wait for us, realizing that we may be busy in doing other stuff; he would go ahead and finish the job. That way, not only the work is done in time, but he also sets up an example for the rest of us, who are working for him. Next time we do our best to finish something before he steps in to do it by himself.
I have been to the States but never knew that such
bhai chara is so common there. I knew that the Americans are known for their charity and philanthropy but I never knew that the Americans also do their jobs on charity basis. What I saw there was that if you don’t do something right your boss has the guts to kick your butt there and then and make you to sit at home, as opposed to what happens in our beloved Pakistan; when you want to kick someone out you would find an 100 men vouching for that a$$hole and ‘begging’ you,
sir gareeb ka bacha hai, chotay chotay bachay hai, maaf kar dain ji isko. There is nothing bad in being big hearted and merciful but you must see that at what cost you are trying to become a hero: letting an incapable chap stay at some job, thus allowing a brighter chance for any mishap. In the US if you don’t do your job no one comes and pampers you if your teacher just bluntly failed you, instead he would come and tell, dude you should have done the assignment instead of visiting the prom night! Speaking frankly I have seen father firing sons and children firing grandpas there! And it is only and only because of this materialistic approach that they have been successful. Now I don’t say that one should be hard core materialistic but then we have to keep in mind that the thin line of being inefficient due to inept hirings and making the things work with capable people.
I think dear qsaark you have mixed up the ‘cooperation’ in school/colleges with the actual life.
A justice can only give a ruling and CJP has given rulings several times against the inefficient Police officers (for which several members have condemned him as well). However, it is the job of the executive branch of the Government to respect the court orders and execute them. If the executive branch does not cooperate with the judiciary branch, than things do not move forward. That is exactly what has happened between the CJP and the Police department.
Well that’s something new for me. How can someone rule out the ruling of the SC! It would simply invite more stringent measure from the court and the dude refusing to act would be taken to task ASAP. Yes if someone out maneuvered Mr CJP’s ruling as it was defunct at the first place and was just another act of getting cheaply popular then that would be separate debate.
Kargil was never a failure---it brought india to the peace table. From being high and mighty,india had to eat the humble pie for a change---so what if there were screw ups---the purpose was well served. As far as the 71 fiasco goes---that was the doing of our dear beloved Z A Bhutto and not the millitary---the millitary did and played the game that Bhutto mapped out for them.
Thnx for the clarification MK.
As I have mentioned at various thread on this forum that the aim of Kargil was never to reach Mumbai….it was to send a very strong, clear, concise and lucid signal/message across the border that dude there is no more happy go marry between the two of us and now we too are capable of kicking your ***** at will. And we and you all are quite sure and confident that the message was received very well! Though we all know that it were the Mujahidin who reached the Indian posts when they have vacated them and then after the Indians over-reacted the battle was imposed on our military. (Now no more Kargil ‘debacle’ discussion please, I have had enough of the BS previously!)
MK!
I have been living in this country for 25 plus years---the first thing I learnt in here was that there was no free lunch---it is your job to complete your assignment---if you can't somebody else will be found to complete it and you will be fired. I also learnt that nobody else has the time to do my job----I am the designated person for my job---my general manager is not going to put on the hat of a salesman or a sales manager to finish my job---end result is termination and being fired from that position asap.
Nobody is expected to finish my job but only me---I personally don't know of any business here in america where someone else would come in to finish your job and you still have that job after a month---if you can't finish your job in a timely manner---the door next to you has an exit sign written on it.
Well sir MK, you have just summed up what the Americans are, they are the most capable, dedicated and hard workers and they like to work themselves and make others also work for what they are paid for. They don’t do charity and don’t like excuses. They are just hard task masters and that’s why they are capable of kicking anyone whenever they want!