British praising the physical qualities of Bihari Bhumihars and Rajputs

There were not only political reasons for 1857 mutiny... Reasons were purely religious, social problems, disparity between Indians and britishers in the army, doctrine of lapse etc...

And even INC or big leaders like Gandhi ji were at first wanted the British government with some tweaks in system... LOL love for country...
Religion was the immediate reason not the main reason....and yes Doct of lapse comes under political reason.....

Both INC and ML ...initial goal....was not independence but self rule.

Religion was the immediate reason not the main reason....and yes Doct of lapse comes under political reason.....

Both INC and ML ...initial goal....was not independence but self rule.
Not the self rule but participation in rule

it was formed in 1885 under the name INC.... Also demand for swaraj was only after 1905 I think....
It was formed by the name of congress later it was renamed by DB narooji...true only after 1905 they demanded Swaraj....though tilak proposed it much earlier.

So in other words, they used Indians to put down Indians.

My friend, that is not something to be proud of.

Not really Punjabis,Pashtuns,Gurkhas wernt considered indians .. The Pubjabis n Pashtuns rather enjoyed it .. Go then it was payback to the people who helped the British occupy them .. The Gurkhas again were mercs who held the "hindustanis" in contempt .. There was no long lost love ... That's why the British started a policy of appeasement of these groups and started heavily recruiting them an by the First World War the frontiermen (Punjab,KPK etc ..) were a majority (I dare say over 70-80?%)in the british army .

Not because they were patriotic and did it out of loyalty towards their countrymen. But because the british had issued Enfield rifles which had cow skin cartridges which angered them.

The cancelling of overseas allowance,recruitment of low castes,disciplinary issues,animal fat laced ammo, etc).

So in other words, they used Indians to put down Indians.

My friend, that is not something to be proud of.
The OP is a casteist , if you check his history & his previous accounts & their posts, you will notice that he advocates the supremacy of his caste(which is a land-lord Upper Caste) & has insulted/made fun of Dalits/Dalit organisations..

He only started this thread to prove the martial superiority of his caste & so that he could praise it left & right.

So my friends , as far as possible don't waste your precious time trying to drill sense into such people..

High caste Muslims do not allow ajlafs to share even graveyard in Bihar even now.....caste system is a curse of subcontinent.

Arey bihari babu....those mutineers were not freedom fighters....and the reason of 1857....was political...not for love of country....that's why that revolt had very limited social support.

Even Laxmibai tried to negotiate with British before she took arms.

Even the Sikhs & the Christians(in some parts of India) have a caste system within them!!

Buddhism & Jainism are possibly the only religions in India without any caste distinctions practically

The OP is a casteist , if you check his history & his previous accounts & their posts, you will notice that he advocates the supremacy of his caste(which is a land-lord Upper Caste) & has insulted/made fun of Dalits/Dalit organisations..

He only started this thread to prove the martial superiority of his caste & so that he could praise it left & right.

So my friends , as far as possible don't waste your precious time trying to drill sense into such people..

Even the Sikhs & the Christians(in some parts of India) have a caste system within them!!

Buddhism & Jainism are possibly the only religions in India without any caste distinctions practically
True....Buddhism don't have any caste system... but it has so many sects...sone sects even contradicts the teachings of Buddha.

True....Buddhism don't have any caste system...but unlike but it has so many sects...sone sects even contradicts the teachings of Buddha.
It has many sects.. But so do Islam, Christianity,Hinduism & even Jainism..

And there is no caste-system within any of those sects.. :)

Ah, it was my fault to engage in such imbecility. The fact that he was even posting colonial propaganda rubbish was beyond me. Anyways, thanks for the points, my friend. India is an amazing nation, civilization for me. The rich history, the rich religious base, the eclectic and rich culture ranging from region to region. It is stuff of legend ! What i admire is the ancient history, and the selfless rulers such as Chandra Gupta Maurya, who , tho wielded immense power, gave it all up to live the rest of his life in meditation.

Now that was a Ruler !

Ah, it was my fault to engage in such imbecility. The fact that he was even posting colonial propaganda rubbish was beyond me. Anyways, thanks for the points, my friend. India is an amazing nation, civilization for me. The rich history, the rich religious base, the eclectic and rich culture ranging from region to region. It is stuff of legend ! What i admire is the ancient history, and the selfless rulers such as Chandra Gupta Maurya, who , tho wielded immense power, gave it all up to live the rest of his life in meditation.

Now that was a Ruler !
TT ...you have such knowledge of our subcontinent...and your posts are so polite and graceful....its bcz of guys like you...i joined this forum.

Now that was a Ruler !
Aye, our nation has had many great rulers/leaders in the past especially from the state/region of Bihar from where the Mauryas the Guptas & many other empires had their origins..

But if one carefully compares the present set of leaders of Bihar to those from the past. He/She will be left shocked & horrified :( or even laugh themselves to death(if He was insensitive). :(

And regarding selflessness. Do you know of Raja Harsha(Harsha - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Aye, our nation has had many great rulers/leaders in the past especially from the state/region of Bihar from where the Mauryas the Guptas & the Pushayabuti had their origins..

But if one carefully compares the present set of leaders of Bihar to those from the past. He/She will be left shocked & horrified :( or even laugh themselves to death(if He was insensitive). :(

And regarding selflessness. Do you know of Raja Harsha(Harsha - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
sir....i think pushyabhuti..and harsha had their origins in north india( Haryana)...but they ruled from..from kannauj...not from bihar.

Sorry will edit..

What I generally meant was that the entire region(UP-Bihar) has produced many great kings/leaders in the past & if one compares the present set of leaders with those from the past......

& by the way, I'm yoo young to be called Sir, so please don't use that honorific for me :)

Sorry will edit..

What I generally meant was that the entire region(UP-Bihar) has produced many great kings/leaders in the past & if one compares the present set of leaders with those from the past......

& by the way, I'm yoo young to be called Sir, so please don't use that honorific for me :)
ok ok

bhai