14-year-old schoolboy commits suicide in Peshawar over marriage refusal

Reason
1)Bullying(biggest reason for shy types)
2)Over Girls(really stupid reason)
3)Home abuse
4)Financial mess ups(blew dads money on drugs or situations like that)
5)Depression(feeling so hopeless about your future you find death a better alternate)
All this shows that it is not an issue in 1 country it is just that no matter how "liberal western whatever BS you wanna add" doesnt make you a better parent nor a successful one!

TEEN HOMICIDE, SUICIDE AND FIREARM DEATHS
Download Report (PDF)
Download Appendix, Figures, and Additional Data (Excel)

In 2014, males ages 15 to 19 were three times more likely to commit suicide, six times more likely to be victims of homicide, and eight times more likely to be involved in a firearm-related death than were females of the same age.

- See more at: Teen Homicide, Suicide and Firearm Deaths | Child Trends

As a teen you look at things differently than you do in your 20,s its so weird like i used to almost feel inferior to folks with better things than me in my mid teens but now at 22 i dont give a damn
Its how you bring up the kid.....

Check out the child in the village ....in the village he is happy playing with a tire...Bring him to the city where he sees soo many awesome toys, he wont like the wheel....

If you grow a child to appreciate every small thing in his life, he wont fall to the urges of wanting more THAT easily (not saying he wont fall - we are all humans we all have our weakness and flaws- but it wont be bad)

All this shows that it is not an issue in 1 country it is just that no matter how "liberal western whatever BS you wanna add" doesnt make you a better parent nor a successful one!

TEEN HOMICIDE, SUICIDE AND FIREARM DEATHS
Download Report (PDF)
Download Appendix, Figures, and Additional Data (Excel)

In 2014, males ages 15 to 19 were three times more likely to commit suicide, six times more likely to be victims of homicide, and eight times more likely to be involved in a firearm-related death than were females of the same age.

- See more at: Teen Homicide, Suicide and Firearm Deaths | Child Trends
I know its there in US too but i have personally seen many bright shy students drop out or skip classes cuz of bullying i too was bullied till i learned to punch back then i developed a reputation for being a guy with a short fuse :D
Bullying is a major MAJOR issue in Pakistani schools and its independent of class it happens in peela and neela schools

IMO, it starts with improper child handling by parents as well as their treatment and training. As soon as parents looses the grip, the child slips and be left on mercy of time which sometimes indeed result as what happened in this story. Parents need to be friendly as well so the child will not only discuss every thing so also will listen and obey whatever decided by parents. Only a fool would end his/her life for someone else otherwise there is no such logic but in case of a child the burden lies upon the parents that need to keep a proper check & balance upon. Also, the extreme strictness sabotages the personality of child so also being over confident and blind trust will lead to such accidents. It is true that our culture never favor such kind of affairs though the proper solutions and and tackling is must. The stupidity of marriage in such an immature age clearly indicates about the kid's interest with films and dramas as well which is common now a days that parents do not care what exactly kid is watching on TV. My condolences to the family.

Well we can`t blame co-ed schools for the suicide but the whole system and environment in which he was raised. we can`t criticize the parents Not Until we know more on how they treated their child.
The boy is fairly not responsible WHY...........WELLLL he is still too young to make independent decisions and i am VERY SERIOUS.

P.S There are serious flaws in the local system on how we are raising the youth. They should be properly analyzed and fixed....

Bullying is a major MAJOR issue in Pakistani schools and its independent of class it happens in peela and neela schools
Its a major issue everywhere around the world....

Kind of makes one question what kind of education the school is producing ...

Basically by throwing out religion they made sure kids wont be afraid the god upstairs is watching you 24/7 watching your each step and so on...

By throwing away discipline they told the kids they can get away with EVERYTHING!

IMO, it starts with improper child handling by parents as well as their treatment and training. As soon as parents looses the grip, the child slips and be left on mercy of time which sometimes indeed result as what happened in this story. Parents need to be friendly as well so the child will not only discuss every thing so also will listen and obey whatever decided by parents. Only a fool would end his/her life for someone else otherwise there is no such logic but in case of a child the burden lies upon the parents that need to keep a proper check & balance upon. Also, the extreme strictness sabotages the personality of child so also being over confident and blind trust will lead to such accidents. It is true that our culture never favor such kind of affairs though the proper solutions and and tackling is must. The stupidity of marriage in such an immature age clearly indicates about the kid's interest with films and dramas as well which is common now a days that parents do not care what exactly kid is watching on TV. My condolences to the family.
There is a narrow age when you can drill discipline into a child....When that age passes nothing you do will be helpful

1 of the easiest discipline is not letting the child get his way ALL THE TIME ...A simple NO can probably extend his / her life a lot more...

Parents now a days have given up on parenting in the name of "humane" behaviour....I am not sure how much white people USED TO beat their kids but it must be ALOT that they completely removed it from the whole society! So much that the kid can call social services if beaten/ threatened and many more.....so much that some kids misuse that "right".

Some Pakistanis instead of learning from such mistakes are rapidly trying to jump into similar situations of "taking orders" from children! A child is not supposed to be a boss until he/ she earned it...A child is supposed to be a child who doesnt know right from wrong hence why juvenile detention centers and not jails are their punishments...IF they are not supposed to know right from wrong HOW can they be in charge of making their own decisions and not listening to their parents as is done in todays world?

In Australia socialists say that 10 is the age when the child starts differentiating good from bad and hence can prosecute children from that age on wards....While some say teenagers are still kids...Well, there are 2 MAJOR problems:

1) When the child is a kid you make him boss and let him boss you and not listen to you....Evolutionary biologists and behavioral biologists will tell you, the child sensed a lack of alpha male and hence took that role.

2) When the child is old you refuse to acknowledge him as a young adult and give him responsibilities

BOTH screws up children in Pakistan!

Despite Pakistan being scrutinized under Western media followed by the tag along local media, it would be interesting to look at their own laws : Defense of infancy - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

Then you also have the racist view:
Boy, 11, accused of Perth murder said to be inconsolable and in isolation | Australia news | The Guardian

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander kids made up 62% of all 10 and 11-year-olds in detention in 2012-13. That data is not available for WA, but the report notes that Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children made up 87% of all detainees aged 10 to 13 in WA in 2013-14.

To convict a child aged between 10 and 14 at trial, the prosecution must rebut the presumption that the child was not able to distinguish right from wrong and should therefore be deemed incapable of committing a criminal act. But the UN committee said that common law doctrine “results in practice in the use of the lower minimum age in cases of serious crimes”.

At any one time, one in 77 Aboriginal boys in WA is in detention. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander children in that jurisdiction are 53 times more likely to be in jail than non-Indigenous children, a rate of racialised imprisonment that Salil Shetty, secretary-general of Amnesty International, said was “much higher than even the rate at which black people are incarcerated in the United States, which is, as you probably know, the highest in the world”.

Back to the age of responsibility when a kid starts knowing what he is doing and will have consequences...or is held responsible for his actions...
It can vary based on how the child was raised ....but sadly text book nerds base it on the assumption of WHEN a child is ASSUMED to know...

This is from an Australian site:

Age of criminal responsibility
18.12 Children are not held criminally responsible for their actions until they have reached a certain age. The age of criminal responsibility is 10 under federal law and in all jurisdictions except Tasmania and the ACT where the threshold is seven and eight respectively.

18.13 The age of criminal responsibility under the Crimes Act is generally consistent with standards in common law countries. In England, for example, there is a conclusive presumption that a child under 10 years of age cannot be guilty of a criminal offence. In Scotland the age of criminal responsibility is eight and in Ireland it is seven. In Canada, the age of criminal responsibility is 12. In New Zealand the age of criminal responsibility is 10.

18.14 The age of criminal responsibility is generally higher in civil law countries. For example, in France the age of criminal responsibility is 13. In Norway and Denmark it is 15

Age thresholds in criminal justice processes | ALRC

Wiki also has a summary of the age: Defense of infancy - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

children in Pakistan!

The dilemma is, only to be called a modern in such society. Parents forget that what exactly child needs for care and agreeing to a child on every demand is first step towards destruction of personality. On other hand, few parents do not listen what exactly child says but comes up with orders that child feels complex and seeks the mercy and sympathy from others which ultimately drives the child's mind to rebellion and results in conflicts with culture and maturity as well. Old times were good indeed because firstly there was less unwanted social society along with complexity of modernization. Indeed parents in this society need to understand that our cultural values are far different than west and others and so also are reasoning the destruction of society yet denial to the child besides not paying attention is a mistake as well.

The wrong modernization of society is causing all the damage.

The dilemma is, only to be called a modern in such society. Parents forget that what exactly child needs for care and agreeing to a child on every demand is first step towards destruction of personality. On other hand, few parents do not listen what exactly child says but comes up with orders that child feels complex and seeks the mercy and sympathy from others which ultimately drives the child's mind to rebellion and results in conflicts with culture and maturity as well. Old times were good indeed because firstly there was less unwanted social society along with complexity of modernization. Indeed parents in this society need to understand that our cultural values are far different than west and others and so also are reasoning the destruction of society yet denial to the child besides not paying attention is a mistake as well.

THAT is why Islam teaches MODERATION....

It teaches you how to show compassion and mercy and also to be strict and stern. There are ages when you allow a child to get away with some "issues" stealing from the cookie jar. You dont scold them just tell them stealing is bad and they can ask...Be approachable! VERY FEW parents are approachable...Either they are strict or they are too busy to give their child attention.

Sadly "modern" people love to compartmentalize and refuse to see that some phenomena can over lap.

I have many cousins who went through tough teenage years coz their parents either babied them too much or simple didnt listen to them when they spoke.

Indeed the Islam teaches the proper moderation and being a complete system of a successful life though few Muslims forget it and started to follow the exact steps that Islam proved those as wrong very precisely. All we need is to learn and understand the teaching of Islam. Alas, the love for worldly toxic luxuries fooled us and blinded us to see the reality yet causing irreparable losses to the Muslim societies.

There should be a carrot and stick approach like if you get _% you get this otherwise nothing and not every demand should be met like kids in 5th class dont need smartphones even if you can easily afford them,keep an eye on the company he keeps,try to be his/her friend for a while if you are only strict he/she wont discuss his/her problem with you,do give him/her money but keep an eye on where he spends it and the issue of online stuff well i cant give any suggestion cuz i used to hide stuff and lie about it :ashamed:

It teaches you how to show compassion and mercy and also to be strict and stern. There are ages when you allow a child to get away with some "issues" stealing from the cookie jar. You dont scold them just tell them stealing is bad and they can ask...Be approachable! VERY FEW parents are approachable...Either they are strict or they are too busy to give their child attention.

Sadly "modern" people love to compartmentalize and refuse to see that some phenomena can over lap.

I have many cousins who went through tough teenage years coz their parents either babied them too much or simple didnt listen to them when they spoke.
Its because of these super strict parents some kids are actually happy if an off day is cancelled they develop a resentment for their parents and write it down they will do the same you in old age as you did to them during childhood ziyada sakhti bachay ko baghi karay gi

There should be a carrot and stick approach like if you get _% you get this otherwise nothing and not every demand should be met like kids in 5th class dont need smartphones even if you can easily afford them,keep an eye on the company he keeps,try to be his/her friend for a while if you are only strict he/she wont discuss his/her problem with you,do give him/her money but keep an eye on where he spends it and the issue of online stuff

Where have you been Shaikh Sahib? good to hear from you.... :-)

However, agreed and the strictness should be properly in account of any bad deed or doing yet telling the child that indeed we will listen to you in any matter though you are allowed to do good and any bad doing will not just be opposed but will be dealt accordingly so the child will have a clear vision of both good and bad and reactions/results as well....

well i cant give any suggestion cuz i used to hide stuff and lie about it

Now that is where intelligence of Parents comes into picture no matter how innocent face looking the child is.... :D
I bet your parents would be aware even if you or anyone lies but sometimes they let it go if has no harm but would have a fool proof check & balance as well and you know I am right. That is how parents need to act in specific case....:D

However, agreed and the strictness should be properly in account of any bad deed or doing yet telling the child that indeed we will listen to you in any matter though you are allowed to do good and any bad doing will not just be opposed but will be dealt accordingly so the child will have a clear vision of both good and bad and reactions/results as well....

Now that is where intelligence of Parents comes into picture no matter how innocent face looking the child is.... :D
I bet your parents would be aware even if you or anyone lies but sometimes they let it go if has no harm but would have a fool proof check & balance as well and you know I am right. That is how parents need to act in specific case....:D
Why on earth do you think i had linux in pc with such a strange interface when i was 15 :D?
By the time i was 16 i used to browse web in a virtual machine tor has been my best friend for a long time
Because i wanted a full proof system no trails left behind its like a drug once you get it you want it again and again and again till you drop dead

AIk hint daita hoan confidence say jhoot bolna sekh lo bara kaam aye ga kiyon @Ray_of_Hope :D
Keys of picking up girls by Baba Ray_of_Hope;
1.Know you goals and purpose...
2.Scan your area of appropriate candidates
3.Be confident and don`t hesitate(Do before you think in this case)...(Also Boldly lying can be of help sometimes).
4.Just look cool.
5.Invest in multiple companies(IYKWIM) at the same time and see which ones comes out good for you ....Its a hit-and-trial method...
6.Don`t loose hope at any stage of the process..
7.And Best ov luck...
By Prof. Dr.Ray of Hope (HoD Department of Tharak)
:D

I login every day but uni aur job ki wajah say roz 2 ghantay he use karta hoan bus

Again carrot and stick approach

On the issue of online stuff with first age of exposure being 12 in the west(and pretty much the same here) i would say its near impossible to like hide it from your child but he should atleast know its not acceptable and at the appropriate age(15) you should have the TALK with him seriously he has no idea what is going on with him at moments he is super angry and 5 minutes later he is cool as a cucumber in our society parents dont want to talk about such stuff woth their kids

Then we should not marry at all till mid 20s.

I wonder how humanity's ancestors were managing it perfectly fine from time immemorial. People then were brought up correctly and due to that matured early. Today's teenagers are spoilt irresponsible babies.
Times change,Customs change....Common sence

3.Be confident and don`t hesitate(Do before you think in this case)...(Also Boldly lying can be of help sometimes).
4.Just look cool.
5.Invest in multiple companies(IYKWIM) at the same time and see which ones comes out good for you ....Its a hit-and-trial method...
7.And Best ov luck...
Agar do bachian to do phones bhe rakhna aj kal bachian phones bhe daikhte hain aur agar nahe do rakhnay to yaad say bachi ka naam hay Rashid Easy Load,Haroon Physics Lab :D

Bawa ji tuadi game **** ey :D

4.Just look cool.
7.And Best ov luck...
Agar do bachian to do phones bhe rakhna aj kal bachian phones bhe daikhte hain aur agar nahe do rakhnay to yaad say bachi ka naam hay Rashid Easy Load,Haroon Physics Lab :D

Bawa ji tuadi game **** ey :D