14 including seven FC personnel martyred in Ormara attack

I agree that people in KPK and Balochistan are impoverished but what is PTM doing for that except spewing racist shit what is BLA doing killing own people after labelling them as a informer.
Ask them to sit with civilian government and solve all problems. Similarly we can talk to Baloch. Remember balochistan is our part and we don't need third party during negotiation. During negotiation, they might ask for independence but we must say no. We must tell them that we are ready to provide them everything. Jobs, colleges, universities, better life,everything. They will eventually accept. We need these Baloch people. They are our blood. Obviously very sad that they are now spilling our forces blood. Very sad but solution is still possible. Be gentle. Be hopeful.

Pakistan vs Indian-Terrorists

Thursday 3-Sept-2020
: 1 Pakistan Army soldier martyred, 3 wounded in Waziristan in an IED explosion.
Saturday 12-Sept-2020: 1 Pakistan Army sepoy martyred in Waziristan in an IED explosion.
Saturday 19-Sept-2020: 2 Pakistan Army soldiers martyred in Miranshah, Waziristan during an intelligence based operation.
Tuesday 22-Sept-2020: 1 Pakistan Army soldier was martyred in Bajaur. Military post came under fire from Afghan territory.
Sunday 27-Sept-2020: 1 Pakistan Army soldier martyred in Shikai, South Waziristan during an operation.
Wednesday 14-Oct-2020: 1 Pakistan Army soldier martyred in cross border terrorist fire from Afghanistan.
Wednesday 14-Oct-2020: 6 Pakistan Army soldiers martyred in twin IED blasts in South Waziristan.
Thursday 15-Oct-2020: 7 FC security personnel martyred in a clash with terrorists in Ormara.

20 security personnel martyred in two attacks

Saleem Shahid | Behram Baloch | Pazir Gul
16 Oct 2020

SECURITY personnel examine the area around the damaged vehicle after the attack in Ormara on Thursday.—PPI

• Seven OGDCL guards among victims
• TTP, Baloch militants claim responsibility for assaults

QUETTA / GWADAR / NORTH WAZIRISTAN: Twenty security personnel, including six Army men, were martyred in two terrorist attacks in Balochistan’s Ormara area and North Waziristan tribal district on Thursday and late Wednesday.

Fourteen security men — seven personnel of the Frontier Corps and as many civilian guards employed by the OGDCL — were martyred in an armed attack on their convoy on the Coastal Highway in the Ormara area of Gwadar district on Thursday.

Six troops, including a Pakistan Army captain, were martyred and one suffered injuries when two improvised explosive devices (IEDs) struck their vehicles in North Waziristan tribal district on Wednesday evening.

According to a statement issued by the Inter-Services Public Relations (ISPR), an encounter took place between security forces and a large number of terrorists on the Coastal Highway near Ormara when a convoy of the Oil and Gas Development Company Limited (OGDCL) staff was being escorted from Gwadar to Karachi.

Security forces responded effectively, ensured security of the OGDCL staff, and managed their safe exit from the area.

During the clash, substantial losses were also incurred to the terrorists, the ISPR said. As a result of this encounter, seven brave soldiers of FC Balochistan and as many security guards sacrificed their lives and embraced martyrdom.

The martyred FC personnel were identified as Subedar Abid Hussain, resident of Layyah, Naik Muhammad Anwar of Sibi, Lance Naik Iftikhar Ahmed (Dera Ghazi Khan), Sepoy Muhammad Naveed (Chakwal), Lance Naik Abdul Latif (Pishin), Sepoy Muhammad Waris (Mianwali) and Sepoy Imran Khan (Lakki Marwat); and security guards Havaldar (retired ) Samandar Khan and Muhammad Fawad Ullah (Lakki Marwat) Atta Ullah (Dera Ismail Khan), Waris Khan (Tank), Abdul Nafay and Shakir Ullah (Kohat) and Abid Hussain (Bannu) Security forces cordoned off the area and search for terrorists was underway

The ISPR said that such cowardly acts by inimical elements to sabotage peace, stability and economic development in Balochistan would never be allowed to succeed. Moreover, these acts cannot subdue resolve of the armed forces which are determined to defend motherland, even at the cost of their lives.

The Baloch Raji Ajoi Sangar (BRAS), a banned militant organization, has claimed responsibility for the attack in a tweet.

Meanwhile, Prime Minister Imran Khan has condemned the attack on the OGDCL convoy and sought a report on the incident. He commiserated with families of the martyred security personnel, lauded the services of the martyrs and prayed for the departed souls.

Balochistan Chief Minister Jam Kamal Khan and Home Minister Zia Langove have also condemned the attack and termed it a cowardly terrorist act.

Jam Kamal in a statement expressed sorrow and grief over the loss of human lives and paid rich tribute to the security personnel who were martyred in the attack.

5f89057e101fb.jpg

“The nefarious designs of the anti-state elements would not succeed and the elements involved in the attack would be brought to justice soon,” he said.

N. Waziristan attack

The ISPR on Thursday confirmed the martyrdom of six security personnel, including an Army captain, and injuries to one in the Wednesday’s North Waziristan attack.

The military’s media wing said in a brief statement that a convoy of security forces was attacked with improvised explosive devices near Razmak which resulted in the martyrdom of a captain and five soldiers.

The martyrs were identified as Captain Umar Farooq, Naib Subedar Riaz Ahmed, Naib Subedar Shakeel Azad, Havaldar Younas Khan, Naik Mohammad Nadeem and Lance Naik Asmat Ullah.

The banned Tehreek-i-Taliban Pakistan (TTP) has claimed responsibility for the attack.

TTP spokesperson Mohammad Khurasani said in a brief statement that members of his group carried out the attack in Shaktoi area.

Various militant groups had announced their merger in August and vowed to launch attacks on security forces under the umbrella of the TTP.

Sources said that the security forces’ convoy comprising two vehicles was attacked in the Shaktoi area of South Waziristan which is adjacent to North Waziristan. The incident occurred at 6pm on Wednesday. They said that the convoy was going from Shaktoi to Ladha area in South Waziristan.

The bodies and a wounded soldier were taken to a garrison in Bannu district by a helicopter.

The bodies of Havaldar Younas and Lance Naik Asmat Ullah were later shifted to their hometowns in Lakki Marwat district.

The incident occurred four days after two soldiers were martyred and three others suffered injuries in an attack on a security post in Shawal valley near the Afghan border.

Violence has intensified in the merged tribal districts, particularly in North Waziristan and South Waziristan.

The surge in violence has resulted in the martyrdom of several officers, soldiers and civilians.

Published in Dawn, October 16th, 2020

Best way to improve protection of our security force is to Grab Bajwa and Core commanders out of their air conditioned rooms and make them Patrol on these roads inside this Toyota Hillux teen daba. If these people after fighting war against these terrorist for past 2-3 decades still didn't realize importance of MARPS then they all need to be hanged for criminals negligence. 3 decades of gorilla warfare and these people are sitting on their arses unable to induct MARPS even for patrolling parties. This makes 12 soldiers who died while patrolling in past 2-3 day. Ganjay Kanjar ko Bi Bhaganay kay liye sab say pehlay tayar baithay thay Army chief sahab. Bajwa is no doubt the most gutless visionless Army Chief we have seen in recent history.
This is not going to make any difference. The real issue is the network itself. Even if u bring in tank they will find a way to destroy them.

We need to destroy the infrastructure and support base of these terror networks. This is the only way forward.

They are getting weapons from somewhere. They are getting money. They have communication channels.

Last but not the least the most important part is the people of Pakistan. We need unity among us. These terrorists are receiving support from some of the local elements.
You can give FC MRAPs, causality rate will come down from 10 to 2. IEDs have blown up tanks (M1A1/2) sky high. (see you tube)

The problem is much bigger.
Exactly thats me point.

Any insider , why a sudden increase in terrorist attacks ? This clearly seems an intelligence failure.

A friend of mine recently visited waziristan with local friend. He talked to the local people and to my surprise they have a lot of hatred towards Pakistan army as well as TTP.

There is lot of anger among them due to destruction of the area. Although they love the country by heart but they blame Pak amry first to bring taliban into waziristan in 90s and then to destroy there homes during the fight.

May Allah bring unity to us.

For us, it is more economical and viable to provide free home, medical to the Shuhada's families and free treatment to the injured.
Why you let this happen in first place. Provide soldiers best protection available so they don't have to provide Shuhada's family free home, medical facilities.

Let's be honest does that package come with a father figure for orphans or a husband for widow too? Their children need their father to come back in one peace so they can have a shelter and protection at the same time.

You can give FC MRAPs, causality rate will come down from 10 to 2. IEDs have blown up tanks (M1A1/2) sky high. (see you tube)

Guess the number of casualties. Answer: Only one

Whole squad survived

Yes problem is much bigger. But start them by providing MRAPS. Set boots on the ground across the border. Send in SF for Covert Ops and pound them from the air. Cut the root. Don't know why they are afraid of ANA.

They can't do shit. Kill them all in their own territory.
I know it's never going to be happen because Immi Khan and Bajwa are very peace loving.

Feel bitter that our sons are sent to harms way without any adequate protective measures. Like any normal country our frontline soldiers should be given proper armored vehicles and not the DALLAAS.
View attachment 679666
Just a few days back there was a thread on Indian soldiers complaining of the state of their transports. I think we need to realise that both the countries have over extended our resources because of not so clever foreign policy decisions over the last 70 years. Our troops pay the price. You can blame India for this one as well, but that doesn’t solve anything. We have not given our economy the chance to blossom at all, this is expected.

This is not going to make any difference. The real issue is the network itself. Even if u bring in tank they will find a way to destroy them.

So yeah they might destroy a tank so lets continue to move around in tin can trucks

But still it would save lives as you said

Then do it

Don't try to deflect problem or the issue by jumping here and there

Marnay walay ghareeb ma baap k bachay hte hn jinhe ye log insan b nhe smjhte.

Check this out. How can you even think to defend this country when establishment of the country is more interested in keeping Nida Kirmani and Gul Bukhari happy

Amongst this national tragedy, people have overlooked another aspect of this incident.
While the brave sons of soil made the ultimate sacrifice in the line of duty.....they protected all the staff of OGDC so much that none of them were harmed. The scumbags reportedly suffered heavy casualties as well.

So yeah they might destroy a tank so lets continue to move around in tin can trucks

But still it would save lives as you said

Then do it

Don't try to deflect problem or the issue by jumping here and there
Brother u r not getting my point. I am not against buying MRAP. But after having MRAP and all the best equipment and MOAB could save them from defeat or death of soldiers.

MRAP or any other equipment cant win war. To win the war and get final achievement we have to take down the enemy cAstle. Right now we are fighting enemy raiding forces mainly.

Mostly we need to win heart of the people. Biggest example is MQM. Altaf hussain was controlling Karachi since 30 years even from london. But the day people of karachi left his support he suddenly became no one.

Similarly this war can only be win by people of Pakistan people of waziristan and people of balochistan. The common people.

I think what the army is doing so far has worked and is working.

These deaths although incredibly painful are happening there because the threats we face are real, our military’s presence and their past operations have allowed people in the rest of Pakistan a degree of security that we’d otherwise lack. These types of terrorists attacks are cowardly and opportunistic, and if it wasn’t for these sacrifices we’d perhaps be seeing sustained and large scale attacks in cities with possibly hundreds of casualties over the course of time.

Dealing in long term with insurgency is not just a security issue, it’s mainly a political/geopolitical and societal issue.

The Americans in all their might and all their MRAPs, they valued their soldiers’ lives over their objectives. Hence they lost the war on the ground. Our boys put their lives on the line for the objective. The coalition forces in Afghanistan fortified themselves and left the country to rot, PA has done the opposite and they are paying the price for providing us all security.

All we can reasonably ask of the army leadership IMO is why our troops are so vulnerable in these sort of attacks. Why don’t we have better protection for them, why do we continue to assign low value to their lives? We know that given their level of protection that in these type of attacks they’d be sitting ducks for any attackers armed with RPGs and rifles. We surely can’t continue sending these men to their deaths , there must be a better way even if it costs us some cash.

Long term as long as insurgency and foreign backed terrorism continues, they’ll continue attacking us and finding spots in which we are weak. If tomorrow troops have MRAPs, which I agree they should have, they’ll move to attacking other vulnerabilities etc. We have to stand behind our men, demand what’s best for us and for our troops, and regrettably... we also have to realise that this cost of war is going to be extracted from us for foreseeable future, we should aim to limit it and achieve our main objectives.
Very well said.

We have two models of fighting an insurgency via minimizing casualties - to our East and West. In both cases, the main military powers involved have minimized casualties, but lost the people.

We can’t afford to lose the people and will not lose OUR people by resorting to those kinds of tactics. We already took a major risk by displacing so many during Zarb-e-Azb, andyuh can see how the PTM is manipulating even that to malign the State and military.

Where criticism is justified, as you and @hussain0216 pointed out, is why the acquisition of equipment for troop protection, like MRAPS and surveillance drones and their more extensive use, is so slow to non-existent. I’m not aware of any further MRAP purchases since the ones acquired from the US several years ago.

And when we criticize, it needs to be informed and constructive criticism - is it budgetary constraints or protracted negotiations to have offsets by assembling the require equipment domestically or some other reason.

The kind of lashing out and abuse I see on all these threads, while understandable given the emotions involved, is not helpful or productive and gets us no where in terms of constructively analyzing the situation, both in terms of long term policy to win over the populace and short-medium term policies to better protect the troops, whether through better equipment acquisitions, tactics, intelligence operations (domestically or abroad) and diplomatic outreach.

20 men are gone and not a peep by the army chief or ISPR? We are still debating about having MRAPs or not. Even if it saves one life i would say go for it. People who are suggesting that wars are not won like this, may I ask how will it be won with demoralized soldiers? My initial contempt during the early days of WOT was why are we still using T-59s, the answer i got was we cant spare the Al-khalids and T-80s since they are meant for Eastern Theatre. While true however you dont land your boys in the battle field with inferior weapons and equipment and expect them to win, you provide them with the best and the latest tools to gain upper hand and advantage.
If technology didnt matter than FC would still be wearing Shalwar Kameez with Sandals. Similarly new protection vehicles need to be added to the fleet so that Hilux can be replaced. We have local options like Muhafiz given to the police, at least give that if we cant afford anything else. Abb kya Muhafiz lena ka paisa be nahi hain?