Why hasn't Pakistan been able to have a sustained GDP growth rate?

Then why the heck did they build so costly Cpec for? How are Pakistanis gonna pay back to China without exports? @beijingwalker

So the revolutionary Cpec was just a false promise as it won't be leading to any export growth in Pakistan? Any idea how Pakistanis are going to payback Cpec?
Do pay attention to what the Gov is doing alongside CPEC. There’s no magic bullet that will revolutionize Pakistani education system and churn out skilled labor in the millions over night. This will take years, before it bears fruit. Until then, Pakistan will concentrate on becoming a regional hub for trade. That’s how it’s looking to pay off its loans.

I hope they pay attention to education and incentivizing local business to compete at world level but not keeping my hopes up on that. Our rent seeking elite has been allowed to live a subsidized, sheltered from tax life for far too long. And now they’re just not capable of competing at the world market.

Well the womens' literacy rate in Bangladesh improved because of the 'send your girl to school' program, started by Khaleda Zia in the 90's. At the end of the month households got a sack of rice as a reward. These measures resulted in not only highest rate of female labor participation in South Asia (higher than the US as a matter of fact), it also resulted in higher female secondary education, lowering of birthrate and fertility (lowest in South Asia and below that of India, Sanghis take note) and many other female emancipation parameters and UN SDG goals.

Above all, two of the largest Bangladeshi NGO's (also largest globally, BRAC and Grameen, latter founded by Dr. Muhammad Yunus) played a huge part in Bangladesh doing well in 14 different UN designated World Development Indicators (WDIs) - which portrays a picture of the living standards of people in our three South Asian countries. Let's take a look.

GDP per capita, below is not correct, Bangladesh exceeded India's figure in mid 2020.

Master.jpg

Master.jpg

Master.jpg
Master.jpg
Master.jpg
Master.jpg
Master.jpg
Master.jpg
Master.jpg

Master.jpg

Some other indicators...

Master.jpg

These stats are wrong especially fertility. We made tons of babies in quarantine.

So is cousin marriage making retarded babies BS false. We literally have chalak as fcuk star plus aunty trained children all over Pakistan, busy in all sort of isler, plotting and planning of creative kind.

Maybe I should make an infographic where I give number 1 trophy to Pakistan and post it on google.

Reasons could be but not limited to:
1- Security environment
2- Vision-less and corrupt leadership (both political and military)
3- Incompetent and corrupt bureaucracy
4- Nationalism still hurting the country's economy
5- Anti-profit mindset
6- Lack of entrepreneurial mindset
7- Poor security environment
8- Low income saving rates (Consumer economy)
9- Lack of technical education (skilled labor force)
10- Poor infrastructure
11- Poor economic policies
12- Lack of consistency in policies
13- Lack of transparency, accountability and poor judicial system
14- Red tape, nepotism and strict economic policies
15- Lack of ease of doing business (expensive power and land, high taxes etc.)
16- Lack of opportunities and startup environment for youth (no to little funding by banks)
17- Lack of tech adoption by businesses
18- Government intervention in markets
19- Lack of industrial base
20- Low tax collection

Too much subsidies for useless industries like sugar, cotton etc and state control of defunct and expensive enterprises such as in aviation and steel Mills. So, there’s no money left for future oriented sectors such as education and technology.

The biggest impact which basically ruined our industrialization was nationalization, ever since then we couldnt get up....
second being lack of base of manufacturing...
there is a spiral for any economy, it starts from
Agriculture base to agro based
from agro to manufacturing (high labor)
from high labor to high tech
from high tech to services.

Based on the above upward spiral which takes a generation to jump.... the revenue or value to ur product increases...

we never focused on value creation in the first place, an example is the auto manufacturing in Pakistan .... you can never export Pakistan made car to thailand but you do import cars from there.

Pakistan has had a very uneven growth path since independance.

One year the growth rate is 7% and then the next it's 2%.

Why hasn't Pakistan been able to sustain a high GDP growth rate?

Look at Bangladesh for example their GDP growth rate hasn't fallen below 4% since the start of this century. Even this year, it is above 4%. No wonder their economy is bigger than ours now.

When will Pakistan grow at 7-8% a year and when will it be able to sustain it?

The average GDP growth rate for Pakistan will be 4% for the next 5 years.

2% in 2020, and then 4% for 2022, 2023, and 2024 and then 5% for 2025.
This should answer all your questions

Those are very broad reasons.

I was asking about some economic reasons. Like what type of policies were made, how were they implemented. That sort of thing.

Political Instability and Corruption Are Two Very Specific Reasons

Reasons abbreviated -

• Too much religion.
  • Too much mosque.
  • Too much Mullah power.
  • Too much prayers.

• Not enough education
  • Not enough skill learning
  • Not enough hard work ethic
  • Not enough opening to the global economy
  • Not being being open to new ideas
Isn't it ironic that the most productive people I've met are the most religious ones. The non-religious people spent their student life wasting time with friends and bachi baazi etc and then end up in non-productive jobs of sales/service man etc.

Ye kesey ho ga bhai log. Aik government abhi ati nahi to log istifa maang ne lagte hain.

On what I said earlier. It is not by coincidence, rather very much by design. This is something I have tried to explain this many many times to my rishtedars who fight over PTI, PMLN and to the Karachiwalas who discriminate against me and call Punjabis khota khors that: all of this infighting and unrest you see is engineered on the principle of a fire sale(Die Hard 4 look it up on Youtube). Goal is to never let the target country have stability and the chance to gather it's thoughts and move forward. In a fire sale the nation's economy, utilities(gas, water, electric), morale, healthcare and education etc.

Their goal actually is to instigate the PMLN wala, the PTI wala and the Karachiwala all against each other. Even if that means arguments at a family Eid dinner table even. That will make em happy.

*Tangent*This is what I noticed right after watching that movie in grade 7 and tried explaining that to older folks in family. No one listened cuz you are young they are old and in Pakistani culture old means omniscient deity*tangent*

The goal is to always have some mixture of small things or one big thing always nagging the country.

That is why you may have noticed when Billo/Zardari tolla goes away after their takhreebkari, SAFMA, Aurat march type khooni liberals start their "sab laal laal lehraye ga" drama. Then PTM starts their BS. Then moulana diesel starts his intellectual farts. All this happened 2019-2020 in quick succession. Now PDM drama. So there is a pettern to it.
Isn't it ironic that the most productive people I've met are the most religious ones. The non-religious people spent their student life wasting time with friends and bachi baazi etc and then end up in non-productive jobs of sales/service man etc.
Abey ye banda pagal hai. He is an anti Islam/muslim/Pakistan extremist. He is from children of Ataturk.

very strange things about non religious people .

Well the womens' literacy rate in Bangladesh improved because of the 'send your girl to school' program, started by Khaleda Zia in the 90's. At the end of the month households got a sack of rice as a reward. These measures resulted in not only highest rate of female labor participation in South Asia (higher than the US as a matter of fact), it also resulted in higher female secondary education, lowering of birthrate and fertility (lowest in South Asia and below that of India, Sanghis take note) and many other female emancipation parameters and UN SDG goals.

Above all, two of the largest Bangladeshi NGO's (also largest globally, BRAC and Grameen, latter founded by Dr. Muhammad Yunus) played a huge part in Bangladesh doing well in 14 different UN designated World Development Indicators (WDIs) - which portrays a picture of the living standards of people in our three South Asian countries. Let's take a look.

GDP per capita, below is not correct, Bangladesh exceeded India's figure in mid 2020.

Master.jpg

Master.jpg

Master.jpg
Master.jpg
Master.jpg
Master.jpg
Master.jpg
Master.jpg
Master.jpg

Master.jpg

Some other indicators...

Master.jpg

Literacy rate of Pakistan is about 65%-66% in many/some reports....still very low.

DIfferent answer for different time periods of Pakistani history but there are also some constant factors which have left us behind. Firstly we can go through the year specific reasons:

1) War years (65 and 71) where the decline is understandable.

2) Natural disasters (2005 Kashmir earthquake and the floodings afterwards).

3) Sanctions on Pakistan following nuclear tests in 1999 ( "We find the sanctions had a modest but measurable adverse effect on India’s economy and a sizeable negative impact on Pakistan’s economy" https://www.nonproliferation.org/wp-content/uploads/npr/morrow64.pdf)

1607853486229.png

Then there are the constant factors which have throughout our history caused us to lag behind.

1) Political instability. Just look at the period between 88 and 99 and it becomes glaringly obvious what is meant by this point. No sustainable economic policies can be implemented if the government is changing every other year. Compare that with Bangladesh where their premier is going to start their 12th consecutive year as the Prime Minister now. Not even dictators have lasted that long in Pakistan.

2) Illiteracy and Feudalism: It has been in the vested interest of the elite feudal class to ensure that the masses in their regions and districts remain illiterate and thereby do not adapt to the modern economy. Inner Sindh, parts of Baluchistan and Southern Punjab have 13th century serf like economies. There is a reason why a clan like Bhutto keeps winning in Sindh and holds the whole province hostage to it.

Illiteracy also means our people are out of touch with modern developments. The likes of Vietnam and Bangladesh have all witnessed a decline in their fertility rates and used their incumbent resources to better educate and equip their citizens for the modern world. In Pakistan meanwhile the drastic rate at which the population is exploding means that little resources are available to improve the quality of incoming generation.

3) Foreign Aid: Will link this study http://www.sci-int.com/pdf/636912161933242422.pdf

4) Incompetent leadership: During the Musharraf era we saw a sudden spike in growth which was followed by electricity cuts becoming rampant. Our leaders including his predecessors had simply not planned for the future and for over a decade our GDP growth has been held hostage by our inability to power our industries.

-------------------------

There are probably other reasons as well which I have missed.

Reasons abbreviated -

• Too much religion.
  • Too much mosque.
  • Too much Mullah power.
  • Too much prayers.

• Not enough education
  • Not enough skill learning
  • Not enough hard work ethic
  • Not enough opening to the global economy
  • Not being being open to new ideas

may be you covered this under education, lack thereof but special attention should be drawn to brain flight. I have come across a half dozen brilliant lad from Pakistan who would have been completely wasted or worse had they remained in Pakistan. I don't mean run of the mill good engineers, I mean true research scientists. While academic fraud occurs to some extent everywhere, in Pakistan more and more, it seems to have become the norm.

In every sphere of activity the norm is becoming one of not accomplishments but deception. Case in point, today look at the manipulative borrowing of $1.5B from China to repay KSA loan. They openly are happy about not having to report it as a foreign debt but as a 'credit facility' ! Are the public so stupid that they won't know if you use up a credit facility it is a borrowing and you pay interest on it? like a credit card limit when used is still a debt, though you call it credit !

bloody frauds!