Watch banned film "India's daughter" here!

Argue the case if you can, keep certificates of where my head is out of this. GoI's legal notice is just that, BBC would have had its lawyers look it up before going ahead.

Its not my job to argue the case, that's for the lawyers on both side. We only have the facts that are out in the open.

Neither is GoI foolish to send a notice to BBC without thinking things through.

Forget about my understanding and stick to worrying only about your own. BBC still won't be liable. Any action by GoI will be subject to a challenge in a court.

Yes, but Indian courts and Indian law which you so wish to run away from. Haha. Sure, BBC can challenge and they will lose if they have violated norms and obligations as the legal notice of GoI suggests.

They violated no norms in India, Indian norms are not applicable to the U.S. or the U.K. which have their own norms. Revoking licenses etc are subject to be dealt with by appellate courts . There is no contract that the BBC breached and even the argument that there has been a breach of contract by the film maker has yet to be proven. Merely stating that there is a breach does not make it so. Has to be so adjudicated. Maybe you should get a better understanding of how the law works before you get all worked up.

You are going in circles. The permission was given for a non-commercial documentary. BBC is a commercial entity. The BBC was informed of this breach of contract by the filmmaker, the still went ahead, thus violating Indian law. You can't claim that even though the good was stolen, since I obtained it legitimately, I am not liable of I ignore the fact that i was stolen.

I have zero interest in US or UK laws, they are irrelevant to what happens to the BBC in India.

The GoI can act and BBC can whine to the courts. We can, or atleast I can enjoy. There is no point debating law with you here, you seem too emotionally invested in this silly movie and do not demonstrate understanding.

Anyway, as I said, the silly movie will be out of news come Monday and then the ball will be BBC's court as to how they respond to the legal notice, if they don't as they haven't before, GoI can and should act.

of course it'll be forgotten, just as everything is :P

Indians were plenty out in the streets when this happened.

still a stupid self defeating move to ban this, there would hardly have been any talk if they had just let it be shown.

Indians were out in street for the real horror incident, not some silly movie with an agenda. That's my point.

Its not self-defeating. The filmmaker and BBC violated obligations, they cannot be allowed to go free else such incidents will reoccur.

People can talk all they want, that's irrelevant. People talk about Kim Kardashian, so what?

Unfortunately the action from your government is not helping matters either.. You put unwarranted restrictions on something people will want to know why.. Even those who never knew of it in the first place

Humans are curious
Very true. Our civil society is up in arms.

What stung before was these regular taunts from time to time from people who have already read extensively about the incidents. They can compare easily the occurrence of rape in India and the rest of the world to get a clear picture. I said stung because, it hurt before. Now I am used to it and usually reply back saying that, yes - we are all rapists. Without that we don't get our school leaving certificates...and that the rest of the world should stop us terrorists from setting foot in their spotless country. :)

Ummm the film is OK, but the legality part of making the film which the Indian Govt. is after. Well after the hulla bulla dies down some "Independent" Indian movie maker can approach British authorities with the help of BBC to grant him permission to interview Rotherham sex scandal culprits to make a documentary??

I always thought of that. Even granting permission to shoot may also have monetary transaction involved!!
Only one of the accused was interviewed not the others. They also tried to build a case for him saying he was only driving the bus, might have promised to help him escape the gallows too.

NDTV with their connection in UPA govt pulled out all the stops to get this interview for BBC. They are as much guilty as anyone in this. Apparently there was no background checks made on BBC crew before they entered the jail premises, which is mandatory as per the jail rules in India.
Govt should take strict action against all those involved in flaunting the rules!

BBC is one part of problem due to there dealing with this doc , procdureal isue and going beyind indina law ..
but more problem is this mentality
“Jinone galti ki.. sharabi they. Agar us kanya ne saraswati mantra liya hota, guru diksha li hoti.. toh boy friend ke saath picture dekh kar jis kisi bas mein ghusti nahin. Agar ghus bhi gayi.. toh 6 sharabi the.. Bhagwan ka naam leti aur ek ka haath pakadti "Tere ko toh mai maanti hoon.”
Asaram: Rape victim should’ve pleaded for mercy - The Hindu
now same guy in jail for rape case with his son
---
"Rape ke liye phaansi dena ghalat hai, ladkon se ghalti ho jaati hai, hum satta mein aaye to kanoon mein badlav karenge (Handing death sentence for rape is not fair... boys make mistakes... there will be changes in the law if we come to power).
Mulayam Singh on rape: Boys make mistakes, why hang them?
and you get this
Now a gang rape so horrible in Uttar Pradesh, that it puts even the Nirbhaya case to shame - The American Bazaar
5 rapes in 36 hours, but UP cops are in denial mode - Rediff.com India News
---
cant balme politica alone. ...system
The authors also do an exceptional job of pointing out how the two victims were treated differently by the state, the media and the police. They write,

"While [the photojournalist's] medical bills at a private hospital amounting to lakhs of rupees were paid by the state in order to make the case 'high profile', [the telephone operator] was examined at the J J Hospital where routine vaginal tests were conducted... On the other hand, no treatment was provided nor paid for, despite the fact that Suman was still in pain and was also in an acute depression.

The public prosecutor’s tone while addressing her was different, less patient and laced with irritation and disrespect which was rather jarring, as compared to his behaviour in the ...[photojournalist's] case

Shakti Mills gangrape: State takes care of high profile survivors, ignores the poor - Firstpost
------------------------
.see how dirty we are too
Mumbai: Shakti Mills gang-rape survivor's mother speaks out

"This incident has changed our lives. We live in a locality where word spreads very fast. Some of our neighbours have made our lives hell. They taunt us when we pass. While she has been struggling to overcome the trauma, the local boys have not been letting her do that. She is often chased by youths in the area. When we venture out for family functions, we feel the difference in our relatives' approach towards us," said the woman's mother.

Crime is indivual phemonam but its repsonse is social action,, which decides where you live in.. hell or heaven

NDTV with their connection in UPA govt pulled out all the stops to get this interview for BBC. They are as much guilty as anyone in this. Apparently there was no background checks made on BBC crew before they entered the jail premises, which is mandatory as per the jail rules in India.
Govt should take strict action against all those involved in flaunting the rules!
Do you think it is possible as long as Jaitley is there?

This man who is on death row has the audacity to ask for money, he thinks he's a celebrity?
Or may be he should have demanded more money so that this documentary was shelved.
Maybe he was paid to say what he said in the documentary to add the shock value to it.

You got this on the wrong end of the stick my friend. India really is in very serious trouble here. I agree, America, where high school football athletes who repeatedly had their way with a drunk and doped girl, even taking her to multiple locations while the townsfolk actually defended the accused is no big moral compass. But India is a country where this is a problem and we should keep our mind focused around it. We're better of addressing the issue and fixing it rather than saying 'we are just about as bad as others'. Others don't count in this.

I didn't say what you think I said, please re-check my post below. Yes we have a serious problem that WE need to address and fix. Others have no role here apart from making the best out of the situation for themselves to fulfill their own vested interests, that is barely helping us. So we need to keep the unwanted eyeballs out of it while addressing and fixing the issue at home.

Btw, the documentary was not banned, but BBC was asked to postpone the telecast till the time the Supreme court verdict is out, because these rapists are already convicted criminals waiting for their appeal in Sureme court, and they are not supposed to get a chance to present their case outside the court, which can be seen as an attempt to disrupt the court procedings and trying to influence the court, and the postponement was as per the court's order.

Something I posted in another thread:

I woke up on the early morning of 29th December, 2012 at around 4 am. The TV was on, I actually fell asleep while switching between the news channels following our Nirbhaya's story, something I was doing for the last two weeks. The TV was showing a breaking news, that she was no more. My heart sank, I somehow had a very bad feeling since the evening that day, but I was hoping against the inevitable, but it ended with her death. It was like I lost someone very close to me, I am sure many Indians felt the same that day. But the horrific incident did something amazing, it started a series of protests by the common people of India, spontaneous, massive, and an apolitical protest all over India. The protest is still on, it never died, and hopefully it will bring the change we are so desperately looking for in our country.

Then, a couple of months ago I was having some evening snacks at the food stalls near Tollygunge, a large group of foreigners, mostly women, were checking the foods, they approached me to explain the foods to them, while talking to them I found that they were students from foreign universities of different countries like Italy, France, Holland, etc. visiting IIMC on a student exchange program, and they had big plans to travel across India also. I studied in the same institution, so they became comfortable and started asking me many questions about the places to visit, what to see, where to eat, hygiene, etc. etc. and then they asked me about safety, safety of women to be specific. They had very bad impression about India from the media and they were actually very concerned about the 'safety' part of their travel plan. I just told them to follow the safety norms they generally follow in their own countries, and they are likely to be about as safe as they are in their own countries. But I also understood that our vehement protests against crime against women in India has sent very wrong and inaccurate kind of messages about India around the world. We are NOT among the worst countries in the world in this matter, we never were.

In short, while we were doing something very positive with our spirited protests (which is the best thing to happen in a long time), it was largely taken very negatively around the world and caused serious damage to the perception & image of India in the world, and it matters. Every single rape in India finds a prime space in the foreign media, while similar incidents in their own country will never be highlighted, even when their own country might have a more serious situation in this regard. I also suspect that a part of this vile propaganda was out of inferiority or superiority complex (depending upon the countries, like our neighbour or the UK), and some vested interests, I mean there are countries who stand to gain if India's image goes down, it has its political and economic implications. Here we are cleaning our house with our windows open, and some people are pointing fingers at us and saying; 'hey look, how dirty they are'.

This realization has made many of us (including me) and the government defensive, we need the protests and social reforms to go on within our country, we certainly do, but probably we also need to find a balance somewhere, like the way we sometimes scold our children for their own good, but would not want just anybody to come and scold them or make fun of them. Maybe we need some control on the current situation, maybe we need to put curtains over the windows while cleaning our house. Just my opinion.

You got me thinking!
Not taking the rapist's side here but it's hard to believe there was no sign of remorse on his face or voice, considering how rapists are treated by the inmates in jail. One of the guy was pushed to hang himself in jail or maybe inmates hanged him. But there is lot of grey area when it comes to this documentary.

You got me thinking!
Anyway that sorry excuse of human being needs to hanged ASAP.

Not taking the rapist's side here but it's hard to believe there was no sign of remorse on his face or voice, considering how rapists are treated by the inmates in jail. One of the guy was pushed to hang himself in jail or maybe inmates hanged him. But there is lot of grey area when it comes to this documentary.
Am glad this documentary was banned.