'Veena Malik is a bookie'- says Delhi-based cricket photographer Dheeraj Dikshit

Is the word 'Bharatiya' too tongue twisting for the urdu speaking folks?
There are urdu speakers in India too, and I have not met any who has had problems in pronouncing Bharatiya.:thinktank:

The way that some members on this forum are adamant on mis-spelling/mis-pronouncing Bharatiya, even after being corrected, shows their ulterior motive and make it sound dirty.

Dude every language has a different pronunciation, and different usage of words. If in Urdu u use the word bhartiya awam it will sound stupid. Instead if u use it the way u see it here is the right way. Just like in Arabic the word hind and hindi is used for india and indians. Now the word hindi for me is just like some one calling me a p*** but for indians here its normal. Similarly Jordan is Ordan in Arabic. Greece is Unan in both Arabic and Urdu. And there are many more examples like that can be given.

Is the word 'Bharatiya' too tongue twisting for the urdu speaking folks?
There are urdu speakers in India too, and I have not met any who has had problems in pronouncing Bharatiya.:thinktank:

The way that some members on this forum are adamant on mis-spelling/mis-pronouncing Bharatiya, even after being corrected, shows their ulterior motive and make it sound dirty.
Let me tell you.. Come to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa some day and visit different areas. You'll find many type of Pashto. I can't understand pashto of orakzais. You can clearly tell a difference between an Afghan speaking Farsi and A a guy from Iran speaking Farsi (accent). A British English and American English have its differences. Sameway The Urdu in Pakistan is little different from Urdu in India. And Urdu in Pakistan we call it Bharti. and its not derogatory.

And also yes it is an English language Pakistani forum, Pakistani being the key word. In our day to day life as Pakistanis including my self we use tons of Urdu words even when communicating with friends while speaking English. So it is normal for you guys to find the usage of words from Urdu into the conversation here.

Dude every language has a different pronunciation, and different usage of words. If in Urdu u use the word bhartiya awam it will sound stupid. Instead if u use it the way u see it here is the right way. Just like in Arabic the word hind and hindi is used for india and indians. Now the word hindi for me is just like some one calling me a p*** but for indians here its normal. Similarly Jordan is Ordan in Arabic. Greece is Unan in both Arabic and Urdu. And there are many more examples like that can be given.

Let me tell you.. Come to Khyber Pakhtunkhwa some day and visit different areas. You'll find many type of Pashto. I can't understand pashto of orakzais. You can clearly tell a difference between an Afghan speaking Farsi and A a guy from Iran speaking Farsi (accent). A British English and American English have its differences. Sameway The Urdu in Pakistan is little different from Urdu in India. And Urdu in Pakistan we call it Bharti. and its not derogatory.

Agreed. Every country/nationality/ethnicity have slightly different way of traditionally naming foreign countries. The Chinese name for Indian/Indians is Yindu/Yinduren. French name for India is Indie. You will be surprised when you hear the Chinese name for Pakistan ;). Don't start hating the Chinese if it sounds funny.:azn:
What surprises me is this new found fascination/obsession of Pakistanis with the word 'Bharti', since traditionally we have been called Indian/Hindustani since ages. This is new trend being addressed as 'Bharti' is seen in the past few years.

India and Indians in English.

Bharat and Bhartiya in Hindi. If you look at Indian passports, it is also called "Bharat Gan-rajya"

"Pak1" is derogatory only in the UK and is used abusively for all South Asian. It is not considered a derogatory word outside of the UK.

Agreed. Every country/nationality/ethnicity have slightly different way of traditionally naming foreign countries. The Chinese name for Indian/Indians is Yindu/Yinduren. French name for India is Indie. You will be surprised when you hear the Chinese name for Pakistan ;). Don't start hating the Chinese if it sounds funny.:azn:
QUOTE]

Please keep that BS to yourself only, tell me how Chinese address Pakistanis? you are full of it....:D

since ages india is been called as

उत्तरं यत्समुद्रस्य हिमाद्रश्चैव दक्षिणम् ।
वर्षं तद् भारतं नाम भारती यत्र संततीः ।।

The country that lies north of the ocean, and south of the snowy mountains, is called Bharat, for there dwelt the descendants of Bharati.

There is no bad intention what so ever behind calling Indian as Bharti in Urdu

In Urdu or at least in Urdu spoken in Pakistan its common practice to end a word with i or (choti "ye" in Urdu) to represent belonging to.

Greece is Unan Greek is Unani

America is Am-re-ka American is Am-re-ki

China is Cheen and Chinese is Cheeni. Cheeni also means sugar in Urdu :P

Japan is Japan and Japanese is Japani

Britain is Ber-tania British is Ber-tanvi

France is France but French is Fran-ci-ci

So since India is called Bharat.Indian=Bharti in Urdu

would you please care to come back on topic?

Mujhe bhi comment maarna hai phir :D :D :D

There is no bad intention what so ever behind calling Indian as Bharti in Urdu

In Urdu or at least in Urdu spoken in Pakistan its common practice to end a word with i or (choti "ye" in Urdu) to represent belonging to.

Greece is Unan Greek is Unani

America is Am-re-ka American is Am-re-ki

China is Cheen and Chinese is Cheeni. Cheeni also means sugar in Urdu :P

Japan is Japan and Japanese is Japani

Britain is Ber-tania British is Ber-tanvi

France is France but French is Fran-ci-ci

So since India is called Bharat.Indian=Bharti in Urdu

Ok so can we use the urdu of China from now on in the forum?

Or can I use the slang of my local language here in the forum now on???

the citizen of land bharat that encompasses the land between amu darya till south east asia or simply indian.

:lol: amu darya NO more or simply NOT represents bharatyas or bharat at all.

Ok so can we use the urdu of China from now on in the forum?

Or can I use the slang of my local language here in the forum now on???

Big difference between urdu of China and bhartya slur for Chinese.

In urdu you can call them cheeni :) thats a simple word without any slur.

In bhartiya slur you call them "chinkis" which is equal to calling indians as bhn---- so again a big difference

oh tuwadi :angry:

Kya bachon ki tara larte rahte ho har waqt :angry:

@ Topic

Veena Malik is not bookie............... woh to apni :P :P :P ---- Massage therapist hai

Big difference between urdu of China and bhartya slur for Chinese.

In urdu you can call them cheeni :) thats a simple word without any slur.

In bhartiya slur you call them "chinkis" which is equal to calling indians as bhn---- so again a big difference

But its not considered deragatory in my language.. can i use it ???:P

Cause here :

YouTube - Cheeni Kum - song trailer

:D:D