US to help India make engine for next combat jet

Developing and producing really ? or just assembling ?

Developing? No - they have already developed those engines. Producing? Yes. BTW, producing and assembling are different things.

If it is assembling, it won't be news. We have been assembling and even manufacturing engines for a long time. The MKI's engines are manufactured by HAL's Koraput division. As are many other aero engines.

Developing, my guess is no - they have already developed those engines. Producing? Yes. BTW, producing and assembling are different things.

If it is assembling, it won't be news. We have been assembling and even manufacturing engines for a long time. The MKI's engines are manufactured by HAL's Koraput division. As are many other aero engines.
Manufacturing ? then why not you manufacture some engines for Tejas ? Just assembling.

India is already dealing with Russia & Europe will only give you lollypop or as we say in india baba ji ka thulu

Europe has far less strings than the US. Only Europe will expect substantial MONEY in return.

US has plenty of Money, so what it will ask in return is Power over India.

Russia is ALREADY providing engines to India, but we want better build quality and hence this need for diversification.

GoI has to balance between all these parameters and come up with a long term plan which is best for India.

Otherwise the Lollypop will start to look like a blow job.

It will be blunder to buy any foreign jet after PAK-FA We need to mass produce Tejas & use numbers to fight our opponents
bhai i know you are a false flagger but lets not troll to become obvious :azn:

thing is USA will only give its latest EMALS , AAG and other carrier realted techs if we buy there V-22 tilt rotors , F-35 and cartain anty ship & anty aircraft missles + the fact we also need all that if we want not to get bullied endelesslly by china in indian ocean /bay of bengal and arbian sea

we need at least three nuclear powered aircraft carriers with 5th gen fighters on them and no one comes close to USA for that technology

as they say mauka bhee hai mausam bhee aur dastoor bhee aage aap khud samjhdar ho ..... cheers mate :coffee:

Manufacturing ? then why not you manufacture some engines for Tejas ? Just assembling.
HAL is manufacturing non critical components in India. turbine,SCB, compressors parts come from russia.

Tejas is using GE-404 engine and Indian kaveri engine doesnt produce desired performance.

thing is USA will only give its latest EMALS , AAG and other carrier realted techs if we buy there V-22 tilt rotors , F-35 and cartain anty ship & anty aircraft missles + the fact we also need all that if we want not to get bullied endelesslly by china in indian ocean /bay of bengal and arbian sea

we need at least three nuclear powered aircraft carriers with 5th gen fighters on them and no one comes close to USA for that technology

as they say mauka bhee hai mausam bhee aur dastoor bhee aage aap khud samjhdar ho ..... cheers mate :coffee:

:o::o:

I cant believe that some of you blindly trust Americans. EMALS is not something we can afford until 2030.. Instead we should order 1 more ACC in cochin. No harm in buying F-35 if americans share EMALS.

Neocons not ready to allow GE manufacture engine in India where they will be likely to get 2000+ orders and we r expecting Americans to give us EMALS

India can ask ukraine to share naval propulsion tech which is more urgent need for our frigates and destroyers

Read this =>

Diplomatic sources based in Washington said that Parrikar was not very happy at the speed at which the private companies on both sides were progressing on the Raven hand-held unmanned aerial vehicle and roll on-roll off modules for C-130 transport aircraft. Both items were identified under the DTTI programme last year but little progress has been made as a result of which Parrikar wanted new technologies to be jointly developed on government-to-government basis rather than leave it to the private sector.

=>>Raven is mickey mouse UAV & they r obstructing silly things..Americans are highly unreliable partner.

The engines for Tejas Mk1 (GE404) have already been purchased - it wouldn't have been cost effective to set up manufacturing facilities for just 99 engines.

But the future needs, for both for Tejas mk2 as well as AMCA, are going to be much higher numbers. It would be advantageous to manufacture those (GE414) in India.
GE404 program will shut down before 2030.
An aircraft undergoes 3 overhauling. DRDO needs to develop 85 KN, 90 KN+ for MK1 and MKII

The engines for Tejas Mk1 (GE404) have already been purchased - it wouldn't have been cost effective to set up manufacturing facilities for just 99 engines.

But the future needs, for both for Tejas mk2 as well as AMCA, are going to be much higher numbers. It would be advantageous to manufacture those (GE414) in India.

Developing? No - they have already developed those engines. Producing? Yes. BTW, producing and assembling are different things.

slight correction we produce all the parts but the metal alloys for them are still sourced from russia and ukreine and that is what MOD & PMO want to plug the gap (getting the latest metallurgical & latest core making technology + the technology for making single crystal blade) once we have them its not difficult to give them diffrent shapes and sizes to suite all owr requirements but to get them we have to shell owt a heafty sum initially :coffee:

HAL is manufacturing non critical components in India. turbine,SCB, compressors parts come from russia.

Tejas is using GE-404 engine and Indian kaveri engine doesnt produce desired performance.

upload_2015-12-16_12-56-10.jpeg

The general arrangement of the Kaveri is very similar to other contemporary combat engines, such as the Eurojet EJ200, General Electric F414, and Snecma M88. the peak turbine inlet temperature is designed to be a little lower than its peers, but this is to enable the engine to be flat-rated to very high ambient temperatures. Consequently, the bypass ratio that can be supported, even with a modest fan pressure ratio, is only about 0.16:1, which means the engine is a "'leaky' turbojet" like the F404
The Kaveri engine has been specifically designed for the demanding Indian operating environment, which ranges from hot desert to the highest mountain range in the world. The GTRE's design envisions achieving a fan pressure ratio of 4:1 and an overall pressure ratio of 27:1, which it believes will permit the Tejas to "supercruise" (cruise supersonically without the use of the afterburner). The Kaveri is a variable-cycle, flat-rated engine and has 13% higher thrust than the General ElectricF404-GE-F2J3 engines equipping the LCA hope u understand it :azn::coffee:

Kaveri engine had a tendency to throw turbine blades, which is unfortunate if you are in a cockpit next to the engine and/or depending on it to keep you in the air. It also failed the high altitude tests and was too heavy for the Tejas aircraft. It also became a political issue due to the costs associated with
developing the engine. Modern aircraft engines must meet extreme demands for performance.

You are right. That is why we have decided not to make LCA and make peace with pakistan. So You win. Again.

Nothing he has said has indicated a false flagger.

US will give its tech ONLY if we sign the bilateral agreements with the US that makes it MANDATORY for us to provide Logistic support to the US troops, Share geo spatial information with the US, share communication details with the US and allow for US to inspect the weapons they have sold to us :lol: ..... EVERY YEAR.

Not to mention their Kill switches and power to Veto their use as guaranteed by the agreements we sign with them.

If we do not want to be Bullied, the choice is not to choose between two Bullies namely US or CHina :lol:

The choice is to make peace, bid our time and develop our economy and military power and THEN venture out to play with the big boys and not be Bullied.

Sucking the US dick so that we don't have to suck China's is not really the option here. That option is for pakistan.

Not a wise move to partner with US in critical defense technology likes jet engines, its fraught with sanctions as India is never going to be a blind ally which US will always expect

Aww india can't build a thing on its own, they need daddy's assistance. :lol:

. . . . .