US responsible for the Murder of Pakistani Troops - Pak Rejects NATO Probe

I guess both you and I are here to see the outcome of this.. There will be certainly a face save given to the Pak Govt, but open they will...

listen mate turkeys dont vote for xmas. I accept our leaders are corrupt but at the end of the day the survival of PA and indirectly pak is at stake. our leadership are anything but stupid survival of pakistan ensures a cash cow they can milk bit cynical but thats life

Dus saal main ab tak aik checkpost tak banai nahi hai border pe chalain hain deshat gardoun ko marne. Itni fikar hoti intrusions ki to nazar ajata ab tak.

The only question that remains now is how Pakistan can go from here.All those free luxuries that we have given NATO for the course of ten years, we should think about closing them permanently and what I don't understand is that why we are still allowing them to pass from our air space. What are we waiting for.

listen mate turkeys dont vote for xmas. I accept our leaders are corrupt but at the end of the day the survival of PA and indirectly pak is at stake. our leadership are anything but stupid survival of pakistan ensures a cash cow they can milk bit cynical but thats life

And thats exactly why the routes will open

I don’t think the routes will be opened, in fact the screws on the yanks will be further tightened since this report is just another display of American arrogance in the face of violations and aggressions that they are now used to committing against other countries
The dogs will not be fed, the routes will remain closed

Zardari and co with americans want to agree to reopen routes. If PA inists no and moves against PPP. Americans get the high moral ground and state sanctions etc PA out of control.

That's the thing. The PA will be under NATO pressure to deescalate. The politicians will also be under foreign diplomatic pressure, as well as the usual self-interest, to open the routes. That is why the popular pressure must be maintained to provide cover for the authorities to keep the routes closed.

This is a make or break moment for Imran Khan. If he can't deliver a 24/7 blockade of NATO routes, then he is worthless as a leader and should quit politics.

Nah man,don't turn this incident into something it is not......possibly to deflect disaffection from the military.Why must anybody be spared from review?
I just think it rather coincidental that the Defence Ministry made that comment when it came to the SC asking it about the testimony of the Military to the SC on the Memo issue ...

Kayani and Pasha would have no issue with passing their testimony through the MoD - what difference would it make? The only reason this has become an issue is because the PPP has decided that they want to keep the Memo investigation out of the hands of the court and in a 'parliamentary committee' where they can 'blackmail' the opposition through 'reopening corruption cases' and/or stall the process. As part of that whole process, the PPP has decided that the President will not testify to the court, and the PPP probably did not want Pasha and Kayani testifying either, and therefore the two bypassed the MoD, resulting in the current tantrums by the PPP.

Well if you are admitting that Pakistan fired first, what did you expect in return, flowers?

If they cross over with combat aircraft or engage own posts, what do you expect the defenders to do? Pakistan has no reason to engage the US/ISAF troops proactively. It runs absolutely counter to our policy as well as RoE and SOPs at the tactical level.

Haan Pakistanio ko sabar aur tahammul se kaam lena chahiye, Chitrol toh bass aap Amreekion ka haq hai na.

What lies behind such asymmetry is 100 years of economic progress. If only Pakistan had not lost sight of the importance of the economy for the last 50 years, things might have been quite different.

That's the thing. The PA will be under NATO pressure to deescalate. The politicians will also be under foreign diplomatic pressure, as well as the usual self-interest, to open the routes. That is why the popular pressure must be maintained to provide cover for the authorities to keep the routes closed.

This is a make or break moment for Imran Khan. If he can't deliver a 24/7 blockade of NATO routes, then he is worthless as a leader and should quit politics.

Popular pressure is no match for international pressure, particularly economic. It would be unfair to judge IK on this one measure only. He may be able to deliver on the rest of his promises if he sees the sense to compromise on the blockade issue.

If they cross over with combat aircraft or engage own posts, what do you expect the defenders to do? Pakistan has no reason to engage the US/ISAF troops proactively. It runs absolutely counter to our policy as well as RoE and SOPs at the tactical level.

I agree with you, except that there is no evidence that the ISAF troops or NATO aircraft crossed over in this instance at least.

I still find it confusing as to who fired first, and what triggered it. Just as you say, why would Pakistani troops engage ISAF troops, but then again why would NATO planes attack Pakistani troops, unless there was a perceived reason to do so on both sides?

Let me also be clear yet again: the NATO errors that followed the initial skirmish are inexcusable and need atonement that US can deliver and Pakistan can accept.

Where did Imran Khan come into this? He is not even in power. If Zardari orders the routes to be opened and Military complies, what can Imran Khan do? He is not yet an elected representative.

Pakistan rejects US probe into border deaths

Pakistani military Thursday rejected the conclusions of a US investigation into a Nato airstrike that killed two dozen Pakistani soldiers last month along the Afghanistan-Pakistan border.

US officials, unveiling the results of their investigation into the Nov. 25-26 incident that has enraged Pakistanis, said both sides were to blame and said the soldiers’ deaths were partly rooted in miscommunication and misunderstandings.

Pakistani army spokesman Major General Athar Abbas said Pakistan does not agree with the US findings because they are “short on facts.”

Pakistan rejects US probe into border deaths | Pakistan | DAWN.COM

Well if you are admitting that Pakistan fired first, what did you expect in return, flowers?

If, and this 'if' is huge, Pakistani troops did fire first they most likely fired rounds in the air as warning that the allies were crossing in to Pakistan. A typical signal at the border.

Just being the devil's advocate here, but wasn't it obvious to the Pakistani soldiers that the choppers belonged to NATO/ISAF? Did they think that TTP was coming in those choppers?

You are not trying to be the devil's advocate, you are being an as*****, no worries, typical Indian behaviour. The warning shots, if fired first, were fired at the boots on the ground who were crossing the border by mistake or on intention. According to international law, the Afghan/US forces should have retreated as they have no right to invade Pakistan.

And has it been established that the NATO and Afghan forces were indeed within Pakistani borders?