Universe to end in 5 billion years, predict scientists

DesiGuy

United States
Washington, Oct 30 (ANI): Right around the time when Sun is slated to die, the universe too would come to an end-in just five billion years-a new study has predicted.

The prediction comes from the theory of eternal inflation, which says our universe is part of the multiverse.

The problem with a multiverse is that anything that can happen will happen an infinite number of times, and that makes calculating probabilities-such as the odds that Earth-size planets are common-seemingly impossible.

"Normal notions of probability-where you say, Event A happens twice and Event B happens four times, so Event B is twice as likely-don't work, because instead of two and four, you have infinity," National Geographic News quoted Ken Olum of Tufts University in Massachusetts, as saying.

And calculating probabilities in a multiverse wouldn't just be a problem for cosmologists.

"If infinitely many observers throughout the universe win the lottery, on what grounds can one still claim that winning the lottery is unlikely?" theoretical physicist Raphael Bousso of the University of California, Berkeley, and colleagues wrote in the new study.

Physicists have been circumventing this problem using a mathematical approach called geometric cutoffs, which involves taking a finite swath of the multiverse and calculating probabilities based on that limited sample.

But in the new paper, Bousso's team noted that this technique has an unintended and, until now, overlooked consequence.

"You cannot use [cutoffs] as mere mathematical tools that leave no imprint.

"The same cutoff that gave you these nice and possibly correct predictions also predicts the end of time," said Bousso.

In fact, many physicists think eternal inflation is a natural extension of the theory of inflation, which solved some of the problems with the original big bang theory.

Eternal inflation is a next step in inflation theory, and it allows scientists to avoid some other tricky cosmology questions, such as what existed before our universe (answer: other universes) and why our universe appears to have properties fine-tuned for life.

"Although we don't have a theory [to explain the earliest moments of the universe], we have some pretty good ideas about what such a theory would look like ... and these ideas seem to necessarily include other universes," said Charles Lineweaver, an astrophysicist at Australian National University.

If probabilities are to work in a multiverse, there must be actual cutoffs that bring various universes to their ends, study leader said Bousso.

According to the formulas used to calculate cutoffs, a universe that is 13.7 billion years old will reach its cutoff in about 5 billion years, his team concludes.

For most people, the idea that a mathematical tool could be elevated to a real-world event might seem strange, but there are precedents for it in physics.

Scientists think our sun-now a middle-age star at about 4.57 billion years old-will be reaching the end of its life in about five billion years.

At that point in time, the sun will run out of fuel in its core and will start to shed its outer layers of gas, inflating to become a red giant and ultimately a planetary nebula.

Earth's exact fate during this event is unclear, but few scientists would argue that life on the planet could survive the sun's death.

Universe to end in 5 billion years, predict scientists - Yahoo! India News

Nothing to be sad about we will all be long dead by then.

Scientific Prediction , based on science

The Andromeda–Milky Way collision is a predicted galaxy collision that could possibly take place in approximately 4.5 billion years' time between the two largest galaxies in the Local Group – the Andromeda Galaxy and the Milky Way, which contains Earth

This is lights out to our universe as we know it - otherparts will continue, example there are already pictures of two galaxies colliding (google it) .... its very common event in space as common as you have soap bubles in your bath tub and they combine to form a bigger bubble

But we will likely see few more extinctions prior to this number

% of chance a astoriod will hit earth and cause planetary extinction is hight may be 100 million years or 50 million years...

We already saw a major meteor strike on Saturn was it 5-10 years ago.

And we routinely hear stories that a astroid wizzed passed missing by 100,000 km from earth etc or similar stories , so its quite a normal and recurring event , astroid strikes etc

We are just lucky for past few million years

the day some asteroid hit on humans *** or the day aliens came on planet earth and whipped humans ***, we will forget all our religious or political differences and start building alliances between each and every nation. :tup:

@AZADPAKISTAN2009

galaxies collisions won't end life or stars as far as i heard, due to the huge distance between stars.

hamara kya hamary kon se bapu ka hai.hum to 30-40 saal main wesy hi mer jay gay.

it amazes me how dangerous and unique SPACE is!!!!!!!!! simply amazing! :tup:

@ imran bhai

:cry::cry::cry::cry:

it amazes me how dangerous and unique SPACE is!!!!!!!!! simply amazing! :tup:

@ imran bhai

:cry::cry::cry::cry:

why you cry???????? i will be sad if its end in 2012 but if its end in 2020 no problim that time i will be marred and dead person is better then marred :lol::rofl:

well the they say the sun is burning for 2 billion years and its gonna do so for another 2 billion years untill it runs out of its fuel.....

:no::no:

In approximately 5.5 billion years, the sun's gravity will no longer be able to hold its mass in. This is due to the constant loss of mass by the sun. It will expand greatly.