Turkey's Erdogan says Hagia Sophia becomes mosque after court ruling

There is no comparison. Babri mosque was an established mosque and they broke it down. Hagia sophia was made a mosque in 1400s and currently was a museum and not a church. Also one section will be allocated for prayers and ppl can visit. Still though no need to change status of it now and cause uproar.
what was sofia in last 2000 years then sir ?

Bhai ji you are 100% correct. In my opinion it was best left as a museum as I had visited it as a museum and enjoyed my experience.

Having said that there is a political context to it all. Mehmed II converted it into a mosque in 1453 as a display of power. Attaturk converted it to a museum in his own show of power. Today the Western world tries to tell Turkey what to do with the building as thier own display of power. Erdogan has converted it into a mosque again in his own show of power. Ye saab siyasi game hai.

I only support his decision because I support Turkey taking a stand to foreign interference. Personally I think it's best left as a museum.

Having said that I suspect it will be in the same model as the blue mosque across the road. Museum and tourist attraction apart from at jamat time when only people are allowed to pray. Only an idiot would damage thier national heritage. Even the Ottomans only removed the faces from the mosaics and everything else remains in tact, thousands of years old.
yes i am fully agree with you its political drama for vote bank nothing more .

why double standers on babri mosque then sir ? now you forget babri mosque and modi fascism because now its our religion is doing the same what modi did to babri mosque ?
Babri mosque was destroyed, razed to ground, however not even a single brick is removed from Hagia Sophia. The structure still stands there and Christians can still visit it.
Don't compare Turkey with animals on east of redcliff line

Babri mosque was destroyed, razed to ground, however not even a single brick is removed from Hagia Sophia. The structure still stands there and Christians can still visit it.
Don't compare Turkey with animals on east of redcliff line
So if hindus did not break babri mosque but just convrrt and make it ram mander it was fine ?

Let’s see their barking with the Hindus to that to babri and tan mahal

Hagia Sofia Istanbul Turkey is now a mosque

Do you know how many mosques were converted into Church’s in Spain, the Great Mosque of Córdoba in Spain served Islam for over 450 years and today if you are caught prayering there they will arrest you

Hindu terrorist destroyed the Babri Mosque in India no one said anything

Al Aqsa mosque is under occupation for over 70 years no one says anything

When Turkey converts a Museum to Mosque everyone has a problem

There is no problem

Alhamdullia The Hagia Sofia will be a Mosque again

For the first since in almost 90 years Juma will be held here

It’s right across from the Blue Mosque and after Juma people will be pouring out after Friday prayers will be amazing atmosphere

Thanks Erdogan !!

Ayasofya was more analgous to Somnath, which also was a den of corruption and lies. In both cases those houses of worship lost their right to continue on due to their negative political activities.

Ever since 1453, not a single Muslim scholar criticized conversion of Ayasofya to a masjid, furthermore they recognized Mehmet el Fatih as the one praised by prophet Muhammad saws in the famous hadith.

How can the greatest leader of the greatest army commit a mistake of this level? It simply does not follow.

Houses of worship which are used for political means, organizing armies, and as seats of a state, are fair game.

In this same way, Muslim conquerors who demolished Hindu temples only did so when they were used for political activities, illicit activities, or organizing resistance against the ruler.

Generally masajid are not allowed to be used for this purpose by Muslims, but that stipulation does not apply to Christians.

Now what happened to these pawns of Russians and Orthodox defenders, they cry so much for Ayasofya, did they remember how many Turks, Circassians, Tatars, Azeris, and other Muslims were killed by Russians, Armenians, Greeks, Serbs, and Bulgarians?

I understand what you said, but it does not follow with the rest of Allama Iqbal's thought.

He famously said in Tarana e Milli, "Pura Jahan he hamara -The whole world is ours."

Allama Iqbal always praised the revival and spread of Islam. He was a great lover of Muslim ascendancy.

Against forum rules. Please change your strategy.

http://iqbalurdu.blogspot.com/2011/04/bal-e-jibril-124-masjid-e-qurtaba.html?m=1

What does Quran say of "Khalifat al Ard?"

Noted... but read Shikwa - the plight of muslims is still the same; morale squallor and corruption. changing a place of worship serves for nothing but political brownie points my dear friend. Look at what the chinese are doing in Xinjiang - erasing entire muslim culture and demolishing places of worship and yet not a single word is said. Attrocities of muslim against muslim in Yemen, Afghanistan not to mention plight of Mynmar or in Darfur.

Iqbal is dear to my heart my dear friend; a guide. But alas the population he aspired to invoke further is nowhere but astray.

Noted... but read Shikwa - the plight of muslims is still the same; morale squallor and corruption. changing a place of worship serves for nothing but political brownie points my dear friend. Look at what the chinese are doing in Xinjiang - erasing entire muslim culture and demolishing places of worship and yet not a single word is said. Attrocities of muslim against muslim in Yemen, Afghanistan not to mention plight of Mynmar or in Darfur.

Iqbal is dear to my heart my dear friend; a guide. But alas the population he aspired to invoke further is nowhere but astray.

Did you read Jawab e Shikwa?

http://iqbalurdu.blogspot.com/2011/04/bang-e-dra-120-jawab-e-shikwa.html?m=1

That is Allah swt answer to Shikwa.

When Allama Iqbal poured his thoughts out in Shikwa, a few of the traditional scholars made takfir on him (declared him Non-Muslim) because they did not understand his voice. He was giving air to the grievances of Muslims and begging for Allah swt to hear it, alluding to the glorious past of Muslims and their work for Islam.

In Jawab e Shikwa, Allah swt answers each and every complaint and puts the thinking of Muslims in the right direction.

Please read it. I enjoyed both very much, Allama Iqbal was indeed speaking for us in this time.

For those who missed it, here is Shikwa. http://iqbalurdu.blogspot.com/2011/04/bang-e-dra-105-shikwa.html?m=1

I'm not convinced at all that erdogan did this "for votes". He likes to use leverage against his enemies. He likes to engage in brinkmanship and demonstrate to NATO that Ankara is not in a mood to be pushed around. I honestly think he's done this to piss off NATO more than for votes at home. However in reality, it is probably nothing more than trolling and NATO and Turkey both know the real battle is taking place in Libya.
Do you think it is a coincidence? AKP is record time low in the polls. Erdogan knows he has one foot in the grave. After he loses his power we will pull out long list of treacherous acts against the nation state.