They Pump $15 Billion A Year Into Bangladesh's Economy — But At What Cost?

fallstuff

Bangladesh
They Pump $15 Billion A Year Into Bangladesh's Economy — But At What Cost?

Jason Beaubien, NPR

How do you get ahead in Bangladesh?

Often it's by leaving Bangladesh.

An estimated 10 million Bangladeshis are currently working abroad, primarily as low-skilled laborers in the Arabian Gulf. Only India, Mexico, Russia and China send out more migrant workers each year according to the World Bank.

The Bangladeshi migrant workers are gardeners, construction workers, janitors and maids. On average they earn $400 a month, far more than they'd make doing the same jobs at home. And the totals add up. The $15 billion sent home by migrant workers last year — called "remittances" in economic jargon — is Bangladesh's second-largest source of foreign earnings after its gigantic textile industry.

But their months or years abroad can turn into misery, with stories of scams, exploitation and abuse, according to labor activists and human rights groups.

Getting in line

An entire industry has developed in Bangladesh to recruit, screen and process workers who yearn to go abroad.

Outside a two-story office building on the eastern side of the capital, Dhaka, young men hoping to get jobs in the Arabian Gulf are waiting on the street. Before they can finalize a labor contract they have to get poked, prodded and fingerprinted at a branch office of the Gulf Approved Medical Centres Association.
The job seekers are given physical exams at the Saudi-run agency to make sure they are fit to work. They are screened for HIV, TB and other infectious diseases. If they test positive, they're barred from working in the Gulf (an official in the GAMCA office says they can still find work somewhere else in the world). Women have to take a pregnancy exam and are excluded if they're pregnant.

The agency uploads their fingerprints and travel documents into a centralized database that will be available to immigration authorities in the countries the workers are sent to.

One of the applicants on a recent April day is Mohammad Kiron Mia, who is trying to get a job as a gardener in Oman.

For Mia, 36, this will be his third trip overseas. During the first he worked as a tailor in Oman for seven months. Then he returned on a two-year contract as a gardener.

"We are poor people," he says of himself and several neighbors from his village who are with him outside the agency. He is hoping to return to Oman: "The jobs in Oman are better opportunities for us because the work permit costs far less than a permit for Saudi Arabia or Dubai."

Permit fees are based on the destination and job and can cost thousands of dollars.

"I want to make a better life for my family and my children," he says. "I can make twice as much money working in Oman compared to working here in Bangladesh."

The GAMCA office where Mia has come to submit his paperwork is one of 46 across Bangladesh that process workers exclusively for Gulf countries. Other labor brokers with other agencies set up jobs for Bangladeshis seeking to work in India, Malaysia, Singapore and other parts of Asia.

"Bangladesh is one of the top 10 countries in the world for migration and remittance according to World Bank," says Shariful Islam Hasan, head of migration for BRAC, Bangladesh's largest nonprofit development and social service agency. Hasan says remittances are hugely important to Bangladesh. A single migrant's wages help provide education, health care and food for that worker's family. Bangladeshis will work abroad sometimes for five, 10, even 20 years, he says, to try to attain a better life.

"You will not find a single person in Bangladesh who doesn't have someone — a relative, someone — abroad," he says. "So everyone is very much involved with this migration and remittances process."

One of the great benefits of remittances, Hasan says, is that unlike the money brought into the country by exports from the garment industry, this money is dispersed all across Bangladesh.

Yet Bangladesh is still one of the poorest countries in the world. Despite recent progress, per capita income remains below $2,000 a year.

KSA: New Fees Applicable for Foreign Employees & Dependants
Date Monthly fee per dependant (sar) Yearly fee per dependant (sar)
JULY 2017
100 1,200
JULY 2018 200 2,400
JULY 2019 300 3,600
JULY 2020 400 4,800

https://www.clydeco.com/insight/art...reign-employees-a-new-development-and-a-recap

The Bangladeshi migrant workers are gardeners, construction workers, janitors and maids
well that's majority, yes but there are bankers, computer security experts, army instructors, engineers, doctors etc who are also employed abroad and choose to keep their citizenship and not favor some foreign ones
On average they earn $400 a month
well for the same jobs described by OP sure, but these people would rather do these jobs abroad where their family and relatives would have little idea of what they do than do them at home because they can't bear the "shame" yet many who choose more entepreneural approach often success in bd and have become the middle class of the country where as the petty labourers are still where they started abroad

well that's majority, yes but there are bankers, computer security experts, army instructors, engineers, doctors etc who are also employed abroad and choose to keep their citizenship and not favor some foreign ones

well for the same jobs described by OP sure, but these people would rather do these jobs abroad where their family and relatives would have little idea of what they do than do them at home because they can't bear the "shame" yet many who choose more entepreneural approach often success in bd and have become the middle class of the country where as the petty labourers are still where they started abroad

Many people are lied to when they are talked into jobs in ME. Where do you find gardens in ME other than patches here and there ? There are so much construction work going on in Bangladesh that construction worker can use their skills in here.

Everyone likes the number of $15 Billion remittance. Its earned with sweat, blood, and in many cases life.

Additionally these poor souls are paying 10% of their earnings for work permit.

Many people are lied to when they are talked into jobs in ME. Where do you find gardens in ME other than patches here and there ? There are so much construction work going on in Bangladesh that construction worker can use their skills in here.

Everyone likes the number of $15 Billion remittance. Its earned with sweat, blood, and in many cases life.

Additionally these poor souls are paying 10% of their earnings for work permit.
if you ever come to kuwait... go to wafra... bengali farmers grew various kinds of crops... but i understand you.... yes it's better to stay in bd and work the same jobs... but will bengali govt pay the same amount for the same jobs abroad? i don't think so

And thats exactly the mentality thats the issue. "BD GOVT" needs to pay for it.

You all think in govt terms purely...and thats why you are then controlled by their narrative, corruption and exploitation.

A weak people. Till you change your mentality, the core problems (that govt will never fix, because it upsets their cushy existence) will always remain....probably even amplify as you stupidly rush to credit the same stronk govt for something you perceive as progress.

3,480 Bangladeshi workers died abroad in 2017. Almost all of them between 25-34 age group. Almost all the death were caused by stroke and heart attack induced by heat.

http://www.newagebd.net/article/32965/3480-bangladeshi-workers-died-abroad-in-2017

Altogether 29,958 migrant workers have returned dead since 2005. The government has no statistics for dead workers buried overseas.

$400 a month just might be $100-$150 more a month in pay difference with pay in Bangladesh which is not much unless they are provided with accommodation, food, transport and plane fare. This difference is not worth working in 105-110 degrees Farenheit.

Any job is just another important job. Why criticize what our people do abroad when they do not find similar jobs in BD with similar pay, this is the reality. But, people here are making a division of labors as if we belong to a superior race coming out of Mars when all people in other nations do all kinds of jobs. No division of labors Sub-continent style, please!!

Oh wait but Bangladesh is like Japan. Why do these Bangladeshis come to the gulf and India to do menial jobs?

At least they have a will to pull their country out of poverty and beat other countries.

My respect to Bangladeshis, they have done what none predicted, they proved that if you have a will you have a way. Although one sided, but they had a strong will to beat Pakistan in every field to justify their independence which perhaps sooth up a bit of their egos(no trolling intended). How they earn those $$, if they don't care, their families don't care, their govt don't care, then who are we to worry.

Just my 2 cents.

Oh wait but Bangladesh is like Japan. Why do these Bangladeshis come to the gulf and India to do menial jobs?

You should be happy that at least they are increasing muslim population in India.

3,480 Bangladeshi workers died abroad in 2017. Almost all of them between 25-34 age group. Almost all the death were caused by stroke and heart attack induced by heat.

http://www.newagebd.net/article/32965/3480-bangladeshi-workers-died-abroad-in-2017

Altogether 29,958 migrant workers have returned dead since 2005. The government has no statistics for dead workers buried overseas.

$400 a month just might be $100-$150 more a month in pay difference with pay in Bangladesh which is not much unless they are provided with accommodation, food, transport and plane fare. This difference is not worth working in 105-110 degrees Farenheit.
Most of the people died of heart attack due to sudden change of food habit and gaining extra weight once they migrate to higher income country.

Yes I am. But they started abusing me for asking them to merge with India for Muslim cause.
They don't care about Muslim Indians and 8 crore illegal Bangladeshis living in India
Bangladesh has no muslim cause. You should ask PK to merge with India as they along with Indian muslims are the only Thikedar of muslim ummah.

Most of the people died of heart attack due to sudden change of food habit and gaining extra weight once they migrate to higher income country.

Bangladesh has no muslim cause. You should ask PK to merge with India as they along with Indian muslims are the only Thikedar of muslim ummah.

Bhai, nobody gains weight in an extreme desert working under inhuman conditions. I spent one day in Abu Dhabi and three weeks in Makkah and Madihah, I have seen many of our people in those places. They look far worse than in our country. Another 10-20 years of suffering, inshallah no Bengali will need to go to those countries anymore.

Dehydration and stress causes high blood pressure which results in heart attacks. Your poor reasoning is quite funny. Bangladeshis are so dumb compared to Indian Bengalis.

Then first remove Islam as a state religion.

Dehydration and stress causes high blood pressure which results in heart attacks. Your poor reasoning is quite funny. Bangladeshis are so dumb compared to Indian Bengalis.
I know two death in my area.. Both of them died due to heavy weight after going to Saudi and UAE. Most of the poor people gain weight after going abroad.

Then first remove Islam as a state religion.
State religion means jack.. its like state animal etc.
Our constitution starts with Secularism and all law ensures that equality.