Ten questions

The country offically bankrupted in 1998 with contraction in 1999-2001 we saw the keys back in his hand
Every time establishment let PMLN to rule, they manage to bankrupt the country. Yet establishment never learn from past mistakes. They have goldfish memory.

Achieved 16 percent increased in exports, 70 percent decrease in CAD

Again monthly figure. Sorry!

Achieved 16 percent increase in exports in relation to what ? Secondly 16 percent by volume or by worth? Show me the source of 70 percent Decrease in CAD. And again 70 percent in relation to what. Bhongia meray sath na maro. Aur agay barho. Just see my comment #3 and answer my question. I dont take people like hammad azhar etc seriously. They are jokers good for fooling you guys and plain liars and manipulators.

what did 40 percent devaluation achieve ?:big_boss:
So who ever told u that devaluation is for exports needs to be spanked..
Devalution can help to setup the ground for exports but it doesnt magically spurns up a production facility for pajamas..
Its for import compression and thus will hit growth..but its necessary to avoid chaos also known as default ...it should never happen to begin with..why was the rupee overvalued should be the question ..
You shouldnt be asking about running next morning in ICU, when someone shot you in back..you should be asking who shot you and why

Honestly there should not be such transfer of the problem to largely PKR-insulated products....since everything stays largely PKR-PKR based all along the chain (i.e no forex scarcity induced inflation by using lever of depreciation and having transfer of that through inelasticity of demand etc ).

This indicates a deeper problem....or that there is simply nothing PKR-insulated (of basic foodstuffs)...both of which are troubling. Its not like they are being exported (due to attractive price in foreign markets) to create shortage based inflation locally either.

It needs deeper study on the factors of production and localisation of these as far as possible.

You are correct in your assessment. There are stuff that are PKR insulated basically specially agri products for example . The way they did it is very questionable because they were constantly being warned plus artificial shortages are being created as you can see your first post. The question is some people are earning billions of rupees each day. All effect should have been either passed to the public or the government (which is not the case) ,when you ask this question some people are going mad you see. Because everybody here knows whose pockets are getting deeper and the sum of money we are talking about here is hundreds of billions.

So who ever told u that devaluation is for exports needs to be spanked..
Devalution can help to setup the ground for exports but it doesnt magically spurns up a production facility for pajamas..
Its for import compression and thus will hit growth..but its necessary to avoid chaos also known as default ...it should never happen to begin with..why was the rupee overvalued should be the question ..
You shouldnt be asking about running next morning in ICU, when someone shot you in back..you should be asking who shot you and why

First spank your self because economics told me that you devalue currency to increase exports. Or you either do it to destroy your nation if you are high on cocaine.

For the rest of your comment i will say parh likh letay to aj ye haal na hota.

Achieved 16 percent increase in exports in relation to what ? Secondly 16 percent by volume or by worth? Show me the source of 70 percent Decrease in CAD. And again 70 percent in relation to what
All data is on YoY basis if you could read, patwari.

The question is some people are earning billions of rupees each day.
Yes, you just woke up now. Sleeping on pmln donkey drug when few people were earning billions for many decades.

First spank your self because economics told me that you devalue currency to increase exports. Or you either do it to destroy your nation if you are high on cocaine.
Only a true brainless patwari would use cocaine reference here.

https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/621814-ten-questions

Ten questions

Dr Farrukh Saleem

First question: The Monthly Review on Price Indices by the Pakistan Bureau of Statistics (PBS) states that over the past 12 months the prices of ‘perishable food items’ have gone by a hefty 78 percent. Can the government please explain why the prices of perishable food items have gone up an unprecedented 78 percent?

Question 2: The prices of ‘perishable food items’ in rural areas have gone up by 90 percent. Can the government please explain why the prices of perishable food items have gone up by 90 percent in rural areas?

Question 3: The government allowed the export of 470,322 tons of wheat (July-Jan 2018-19). Now the government has decided to import 500,000 tons of wheat. Why? The government allowed the export of 276,000 tons of sugar (July-Jan 2018-19). Now the government has decided to import 300,000 tons of sugar. Why?

Question 4: When the PML-N left, the price of flour was Rs44 a kilogram. Our honourable Minister of National Food Security and Research Makhdoom Khusro Bukhtiar told us that there is ‘sufficient wheat stock to meet all our needs’. Why did the price of flour go up to Rs70 a kilogram?

Question 5: Fourteen months ago, the price of sugar stood at Rs53 a kilogram. The price has since jumped to Rs80 a kilogram, a 50 percent increase. Why has the price jumped from Rs53 a kilogram to Rs80 per kilogram in the past fourteen months?

Question 6: The PTI’s manifesto under chapter 3 promised to “alleviate poverty across Pakistan”. For the record, over the past year, around 8 million Pakistanis have dropped below the line of poverty. Can the government please explain why that has happened?

Question 7: The PTI’s manifesto under chapter 4 had pledged to “create 10 million jobs and strengthen the labor market”. Over the past year, around a million Pakistanis have lost their jobs. Can the government please explain why that has happened?

Question 8: Over the past six weeks, the OPEC basket price has dropped from $71 a barrel to $54 a barrel, a 24 percent decline. Will the price of petrol and diesel now come down by around Rs20 a liter?

Question 9: The PTI’s manifesto released in 2018 had promised to “depoliticize and strengthen police”. Has the process of depoliticizing and strengthening of the police begun? If not, why not?

Question 10: Other promises made in chapter 4 of the manifesto include ‘reforming FBR, fixing Pakistan’s energy challenge, transforming key economic institutions and reforming government procurement (chapter 2)’. Would the government please share the progress?

The writer is a columnist based in Islamabad.

Email: farrukh15@hotmail.com Twitter: @saleemfarrukh

@Norwegian @Socra @Jungibaaz

Honest rulers do not equal competent rulers.

I feel as if this government has been playing with one variable to save another in an attempt to juggle both market and IMF loan requirements which has led to it getting into inefficiencies.

The question isn’t about why export of wheat was done in one year and imported the other(it could be a variety of factors such as demand, price changes or even just pure corruption that hasn’t been eliminated yet), but more on whether the government properly understands the holistic impact of each action it takes on the entire economy.

Unfortunately with weak democracies , it’s usually about setting up short term gains to look good for the next election rather than proper long term policies. When these long term policies are undertaken in Pakistan they either show their benefits 15 years later(Motorway systems first set up by PPP government under benazir) or state breaking disasters (Bhutto’s nationalization).

CAD figures for that particular year to be more clear. So kindly tell me what about the CAD from last two years is this government also borrowing and keeping the dollar artificially inflated while simultaneously devaluing currency by 40 percent. Why is the CAD not coming down as it should, if there was inflated borrowing just to keep currency down? You see the problem itself is more complex.

And my comments have nothing to do with any political party i am just stating the facts . Why are you guys making everything political ? So if you try to continue blame game you can do it believe me i dont care !

I'm not PTI supporter but whatever IK is doing any unbiased person will agree. Pakistan is a poor country but people want govt to subsidize imported stuff and fancy trains and petrol and what not. 220 million lazy cannot make a single thing is beyond awful and shameful.

All data is on YoY basis if you could read, patwari.

Yes, you just woke up now. Sleeping on pmln donkey drug when few people were earning billions for many decades.

Only a true brainless patwari would use cocaine reference here.

I did not ask you for figures. I based my question on those figures so answer ? and your figures were montly. The rest you shared prove nothing. So answer my question or keep quite.

So it means you want to prove if they were donkeys you guys are bigger ones. BTW you dont need to prove this we already know based on whats happening.

Jali ? When you make everything political bohut sari cheezain jalain gi. Its called collective responsibility.:-) As i told you i dont care :D

You are correct in your assessment. There are stuff that are PKR insulated basically specially agri products for example . The way they did it is very questionable because they were constantly being warned plus artificial shortages are being created as you can see your first post. The question is some people are earning billions of rupees each day. All effect should have been either passed to the public or the government (which is not the case) ,when you ask this question some people are going mad you see. Because everybody here knows whose pockets are getting deeper and the sum of money we are talking about here is hundreds of billions.

Can you quote me a single reputable text that shows currency manipulation creates exports..
Its productivity that does..
Did you even listen to your self?
How does devaluation make you export kinnow or bananas or computers?
May be you can magically create pajamas but what about small enginer products...

Devlaution might decrease labour costs and thus attrack investors who still wont come untill other issues are settled so its long term ploy short term it does nothing

I'm not PTI supporter but whatever IK is doing any unbiased person will agree. Pakistan is a poor country but people want govt to subsidize imported stuff and fancy trains and petrol and what not. 220 million lazy cannot make a single thing is beyond awful and shameful.
I lived in pakistan..basically the educated class wants to keep the country poor so than have 5 maids to work at home..so they themselve get subsidies and let the poor people die of hunger
So 30% population doesnt has electricity, 80% doesnt has gas but u spend 90% subsidy in these two things ..you allow iphone,land cruisers but poor people pay high taxes on food..
You subsidy petrol but food no...you subisize gas but LPG (which poor people use) no...
You give benazir income support program to rich when they are caught they are allowed to walk free no punishment ..

Basically pakistan is a country where they invite u to do corruption because if u r caught the worst case senrio will be ...u will walk feee..best case senrio u will get a promotion

Never mind
You are right
We should devalue further to get exports up
I wonder why mr sharif didnt do it
Seems IK was a genious..
I never knew you are IK supporter

https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/621814-ten-questions

Ten questions

Dr Farrukh Saleem

First question: The Monthly Review on Price Indices by the Pakistan Bureau of Statistics (PBS) states that over the past 12 months the prices of ‘perishable food items’ have gone by a hefty 78 percent. Can the government please explain why the prices of perishable food items have gone up an unprecedented 78 percent?

Question 2: The prices of ‘perishable food items’ in rural areas have gone up by 90 percent. Can the government please explain why the prices of perishable food items have gone up by 90 percent in rural areas?

Question 3: The government allowed the export of 470,322 tons of wheat (July-Jan 2018-19). Now the government has decided to import 500,000 tons of wheat. Why? The government allowed the export of 276,000 tons of sugar (July-Jan 2018-19). Now the government has decided to import 300,000 tons of sugar. Why?

Question 4: When the PML-N left, the price of flour was Rs44 a kilogram. Our honourable Minister of National Food Security and Research Makhdoom Khusro Bukhtiar told us that there is ‘sufficient wheat stock to meet all our needs’. Why did the price of flour go up to Rs70 a kilogram?

Question 5: Fourteen months ago, the price of sugar stood at Rs53 a kilogram. The price has since jumped to Rs80 a kilogram, a 50 percent increase. Why has the price jumped from Rs53 a kilogram to Rs80 per kilogram in the past fourteen months?

Question 6: The PTI’s manifesto under chapter 3 promised to “alleviate poverty across Pakistan”. For the record, over the past year, around 8 million Pakistanis have dropped below the line of poverty. Can the government please explain why that has happened?

Question 7: The PTI’s manifesto under chapter 4 had pledged to “create 10 million jobs and strengthen the labor market”. Over the past year, around a million Pakistanis have lost their jobs. Can the government please explain why that has happened?

Question 8: Over the past six weeks, the OPEC basket price has dropped from $71 a barrel to $54 a barrel, a 24 percent decline. Will the price of petrol and diesel now come down by around Rs20 a liter?

Question 9: The PTI’s manifesto released in 2018 had promised to “depoliticize and strengthen police”. Has the process of depoliticizing and strengthening of the police begun? If not, why not?

Question 10: Other promises made in chapter 4 of the manifesto include ‘reforming FBR, fixing Pakistan’s energy challenge, transforming key economic institutions and reforming government procurement (chapter 2)’. Would the government please share the progress?

The writer is a columnist based in Islamabad.

Email: farrukh15@hotmail.com Twitter: @saleemfarrukh

@Norwegian @Socra @Jungibaaz

the level of indian obsession with Pakistan's internal affairs.
mind boggling:cuckoo: