Tata Motors plans assembly unit in Bangladesh, to make 50,000 cars a year

Yes, that would be a much better investment, unless your needs are mostly city oriented. Then nano is a great choice.

It's almost purely a city car. A city car cheaper than any other car, and that's the whole point behind it.

Sorry to differ ,
Buts its not the case u can get better car ,with better Engine ,Safety & features for lesser prices than Nano.

Nano isnt the best investment ,
If u want to travell around city ,80,000 get an Auto rickshaw.
It will give more mileage & much more durable .

I thought the same ,When I purchased NANO ,now I dont .
Not to mention ,if even if u dont crash ,But someone crashes onto your Nano.

Then our pieces of dead body might not make it to the morgue, forget the grave yard .
Its the worst in safety ,Second-hand Ritz , i20 ,swift is much much better

If u want to waste ur money ,then go buy a Nano ,
I live in city , Its a disaster ,blunder ,
Had to sell it for 60,000 to friend.

New cars are being released by 2021 -2022 ,
Wait you will get superb quality Cars .

Tata has much better cars to offer than the NANO. If you want a city car than the suzuki Alto makes more sense. Nano sells for around 2.5-3.2 lakh ex showroom , while Tiago starts from 3.6L. It makes no sense buying a Nano considering that its tiny 625 cc engine makes only 38 bhp. IMO Tata should discontinue it and focus only on tiago in the entry level segment.
Yes, that would be a much better investment, unless your needs are mostly city oriented. Then nano is a great choice.

It's almost purely a city car. A city car cheaper than any other car, and that's the whole point behind it.

Tata has much better cars to offer than the NANO. If you want a city car than the suzuki Alto makes more sense. Nano sells for around 2.5-3.2 lakh ex showroom , while Tiago starts from 3.6L. It makes no sense buying a Nano considering that its tiny 625 cc engine makes only 38 bhp. IMO Tata should discontinue it and focus only on tiago in the entry level segment.
In the Indian market, yes.

I think it's too early for it to die in markets like BD. It's interesting that anyone who says it's crap either talks about the first model, or doesn't specify the model.

A comparison of 2015 nano with the Alto K10 which is extremely popular, for actual Bangladeshis. Not for those who sit in some foreign land and get heartburn whenever they see "India" and then claim that Bangladesh makes everything better just to soothe their ego before white massa. Not one care in their mind for those who live in BD.

Bhai Kapitaan - I am in and out of Bangladesh on business at least twice and more times a year. I keep up on what's going on in Bangladesh pretty well.

With all due respect, you have little idea about car buying preferences in Bangladesh. Come over sometime and you will get it.

Bangladesh has been an open car market for ages (like Pakistan, before 1971 even) - unlike India which went through Nehruvian license era protected auto-market syndrome for the benefit of licensed enterprises like Hindustan Motors and Premier Ltd. (company owned by Walchand-ji who was a Nehru buddy like Mr. Bajaj and Mr. Kirloskar).

Indian auto market has been liberalized for barely a decade and a half and is still (for some) an immature auto market. Before that Indians rode around in 50's era Amby's and antiquated Fiats known as Padmini Premiers. Attempts to market these vehicles in Bangladesh in 1971 did not go well (to put it diplomatically). The reason is that the sophistication of these cars hearkened back to an era right after WWII and was woefully inadequate compared to even older Toyotas from the late 60s like the Corona in use locally at that time (see below).

800px-1969_Toyota_Corona_%28RT40%29_sedan_%282015-07-14%29_01.jpg

Although there was some auto-production in Bangladesh before 1971 (license production of the Vauxhall Viva), these were not sufficiently produced to meet local demand.

800px-Vauxhall_Viva_4-door_1159cc_April_1969.JPG

Bangladesh being a small market imported its needs (no engine under 1000 CC typically although the govt. tried to tax higher displacement vehicles anyway). In the 70's the bare minimum standard car was the Toyota Publica, like the rest of Asia (Again about 1000 CC).

2ndPublica.jpg

There were literally no smaller cars in the market than this and the well-heeled actually looked down on the owners of these basic 1000 cc vehicles, although the Publica was a far more robust vehicle than the Maruti ever was (down a couple of notches in size class). From then on - most people aspired to larger cars (1600 cc and up). In the 80's and the 90's most car buyers were fortunate to have access to purchase reconditioned cars at very reasonable prices. Obviously most people at that time went for Toyota reconditioned Carina/Corona type mid-size models (1800 cc I believe). See below,

1280px-1998-2001_Toyota_Carina.jpg

Most of the Bangladeshi PDF posters in the 1990's grew up with these large-size cars owned by their families. Ask Bangladeshis here - they will tell you.

In the 1980's, despite Maruti mini (800cc) 'revolution' happening in India, 'regular' (aam admi) car buyers in Bangladesh were never interested in this car (the common subscription was that this was money wasted on a 'disposable car'), especially with the early teething problems faced by the small size of the engine as well as early assembly issues. They simply used autos, buses and rickshaws for commutes.

Some folks did use the Toyota Corolla Station wagon in the 90's (cheapest car at 3.5 lakhs and 1200cc).

iu

Still, no one thought about getting Marutis.

Corolla was the bare minimum back then. Now in the late 2010's because of better living standard, people expect even larger cars (at a minimum Corolla Ascent - see below). Repeated Indian attempts to sell Nano in Bangladesh has now become an object of ridicule.

1920px-2016_Toyota_Corolla_%28ZRE172R%29_Ascent_sedan_%282017-07-15%29_02.jpg

Why go for a car that is similar to an auto-rickshaw in engine size and safety? That is what people in Bangladesh think of a Tata Nano. Again, waste of good money.

I think it's too early for it to die in markets like BD. It's interesting that anyone who says it's crap either talks about the first model, or doesn't specify the model.

They have already tried to market it here twice, with disastrous results.

It's amusing to think you have an impression of the Bangladesh market as less 'sophisticated' than India.

The premise of the Nano (even as a city car) is flawed, especially when approached from a safety and durability perspective and when thought of in terms of local competition (reconditioned cars, which have a minimum lifespan of a decade).

It's amusing to think you have an impression of the Bangladesh market as less 'sophisticated' than India.

It certainly is if you look at any video of Bangladesh city streets. What a chithole.

Seriously, buying just 20k imported clunkers a year because you are so poor and LDC causes THAT? :lol:

What did BD assemble (not even manufacture) again car wise?

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/List_of_countries_by_motor_vehicle_production

580 cars, cool.

Now if you want a better standard, get your god awful corrupt hellhole govt to make/enforce such standards, given we export to Japan which is like a million times the quality control of your stuck-rickshaws in overflowing effluent "capital" "city".

https://defence.pk/pdf/threads/whatever.46703/page-4828#post-10263120

Excellent news. It will create job opportunities for us.

Yup you have to look at it this way first and foremost. Someone is actually taking note and having a plan to make Bangladesh assemble more than 600 cars (I believe just pragoti for Pajero and cpl other niche companies do it) in a year....creating jobs and investment. To attract more from all around, you need govt to fix the excise and tariff rates....50,000 (max projected cap) a year is a really good deal for BD under current environment. Let us see what materialises as actual production in the short and mid term first though.

@Michael Corleone @Centaur @Skies

Bhai Kapitaan - I am in and out of Bangladesh on business at least twice and more times a year. I keep up on what's going on in Bangladesh pretty well.

With all due respect, you have little idea about car buying preferences in Bangladesh. Come over sometime and you will get it.

Bangladesh has been an open car market for ages (like Pakistan, before 1971 even) - unlike India which went through Nehruvian license era protected auto-market syndrome for the benefit of licensed enterprises like Hindustan Motors and Premier Ltd. (company owned by Walchand-ji who was a Nehru buddy like Mr. Bajaj and Mr. Kirloskar).

Indian auto market has been liberalized for barely a decade and a half and is still (for some) an immature auto market. Before that Indians rode around in 50's era Amby's and antiquated Fiats known as Padmini Premiers. Attempts to market these vehicles in Bangladesh in 1971 did not go well (to put it diplomatically). The reason is that the sophistication of these cars hearkened back to an era right after WWII and was woefully inadequate compared to even older Toyotas from the late 60s like the Corona in use locally at that time (see below).

800px-1969_Toyota_Corona_%28RT40%29_sedan_%282015-07-14%29_01.jpg

Although there was some auto-production in Bangladesh before 1971 (license production of the Vauxhall Viva), these were not sufficiently produced to meet local demand.

800px-Vauxhall_Viva_4-door_1159cc_April_1969.JPG

Bangladesh being a small market imported its needs (no engine under 1000 CC typically although the govt. tried to tax higher displacement vehicles anyway). In the 70's the bare minimum standard car was the Toyota Publica, like the rest of Asia (Again about 1000 CC).

2ndPublica.jpg

There were literally no smaller cars in the market than this and the well-heeled actually looked down on the owners of these basic 1000 cc vehicles, although the Publica was a far more robust vehicle than the Maruti ever was (down a couple of notches in size class). From then on - most people aspired to larger cars (1600 cc and up). In the 80's and the 90's most car buyers were fortunate to have access to purchase reconditioned cars at very reasonable prices. Obviously most people at that time went for Toyota reconditioned Carina/Corona type mid-size models (1800 cc I believe). See below,

1280px-1998-2001_Toyota_Carina.jpg

Most of the Bangladeshi PDF posters in the 1990's grew up with these large-size cars owned by their families. Ask Bangladeshis here - they will tell you.

In the 1980's, despite Maruti mini (800cc) 'revolution' happening in India, 'regular' (aam admi) car buyers in Bangladesh were never interested in this car (the common subscription was that this was money wasted on a 'disposable car'), especially with the early teething problems faced by the small size of the engine as well as early assembly issues. They simply used autos, buses and rickshaws for commutes.

Some folks did use the Toyota Corolla Station wagon in the 90's (cheapest car at 3.5 lakhs and 1200cc).

iu

Still, no one thought about getting Marutis.

Corolla was the bare minimum back then. Now in the late 2010's because of better living standard, people expect even larger cars (at a minimum Corolla Ascent - see below). Repeated Indian attempts to sell Nano in Bangladesh has now become an object of ridicule.

1920px-2016_Toyota_Corolla_%28ZRE172R%29_Ascent_sedan_%282017-07-15%29_02.jpg

Why go for a car that is similar to an auto-rickshaw in engine size and safety? That is what people in Bangladesh think of a Tata Nano. Again, waste of good money.

They have already tried to market it here twice, with disastrous results.

The premise of the Nano (even as a city car) is flawed, especially when approached from a safety and durability perspective and when thought of in terms of local competition (reconditioned cars, which have a minimum lifespan of a decade).
I do hope that newer generation budget cars like Tigor and Tiago are assembled in BD, as I've said before.

Currently in BD, nano costs about thrice the amount it costs in India because of the huge tax. Its true potential will be seen when it's assembled or built.

I'll leave posting this interview from last year:

Last Modified: Mon, Aug 28 2017. 04 42 AM IST
Bangladesh a perfect market for Tata Nano: Nitol Niloy’s Abdul Matlub Ahmad
Nitol Niloy’s chairman Abdul Matlub Ahmad says trying to persuade Tata Motors to start supplying components to assemble the Tata Nano in Bangladesh

abdul-k7nC--621x414@LiveMint.JPG

Nitol Niloy Group chairman Abdul Matlub Ahmad believes the Tata Nano has huge potential in Bangladesh due to ‘terrible’ congestion in that country. Photo: Indranil Bhoumik/Mint
Soumonty Kanungo
Kolkata:
Abdul Matlub Ahmad had his eyes set on the Tata Nano from the time it was launched by Tata Motors Ltd in 2008. The chairman of the Nitol Niloy Group, Tata Motors Ltd’s manufacturing partner in Bangladesh, ordered four Nanos to be delivered to his group from among the first series produced in India.

“They are still running perfectly,” Ahmad said in an interview on Friday.

In India, the Nano may not have lived up to its billing as a wonder car, but in Bangladesh it has a “tremendous potential”, according to Ahmad. The reason: “Terrible” congestion and inadequate road space in Bangladesh—a country of 163 million whose economy is growing at around 7%.

Bangladesh is a “perfect market” for a small car like Nano, according to Ahmad whose Nitol Niloy Group now wants to manufacture it in Bangladesh. Under a joint venture with Tata Motors, the group currently assembles commercial vehicles in Bangladesh. It now wants to assemble passenger cars as well from the Tata Motors stable, said Ahmad. Edited excerpts:

Bangladesh has been importing reconditioned cars for decades. Is the market ready for assembling passenger cars?

At least 90% of cars in Bangladesh are imported, but we have to pay huge taxes even to import reconditioned, used cars. For instance, for the Nano, which is priced at around $4,000 each and is imported as CBU (completely built unit), we pay 175% in import duty. The import duty will come down to 55% if we start to import the car as CKD (completely knocked down).

I am trying to persuade Tata Motors to start supplying components to assemble the Nano and other passenger cars in Bangladesh. I have given them two months to make up their mind. If they are not keen, we will have to find another partner. If we start to produce passenger vehicles in Bangladesh, I am confident that one in every two cars sold in Bangladesh will be from Tata Motors’ stable.

Why do you think the Tata Nano will do well in Bangladesh?

The Nano is fuel-efficient, and far more convenient to drive on the congested streets of Dhaka compared with, say, a Toyota Corolla. What is more, the Nano now has a variant with automatic transmission, which is important for Bangladesh because people there are not used to manual transmission. Passenger cars in Bangladesh are switching to petrol and diesel, so being fuel-efficient helps.

Why are you keen on more joint ventures with Indian companies?

Our experience of working with the Tata Group is very nice. We have now formed a joint venture with the Hero Group to manufacture two-wheelers in Bangladesh. The factory is almost ready. We are a minority partner in the joint venture with the Hero Group with a 45% stake, whereas we own 60% in the joint venture with Tata Motors.

We don’t mind being a minority partner in the joint venture with the Hero Group because we run the operation locally and they depend on us. We have found working with these groups that their work culture and ethics have reached international standards.

We must choose between India and China for technology, and Indian companies are natural partners for Bangladeshi enterprises because of similarity in culture.

With a manufacturing base in Bangladesh, you can serve the north-east of India as well. For instance, at least 30% of the two-wheelers to be manufactured under the joint venture with the Hero Group will be sold in the north-eastern states of India.

Currently, I am exploring opportunities to set up ventures with Tata Steel Ltd as well. I am willing to invest for them.

What are your policy prescriptions to expand India-Bangladesh economic ties?

Bangladesh is a fast-growing economy, and hence a large market. Not surprisingly, Indian consumer goods companies such as Emami Ltd and Dabur India Ltd have set up manufacturing bases in Bangladesh. Economic ties typically track political ties between two countries, and both are at a peak now.

To build on this relationship, the time has come for Bangladesh to remove foreign exchange controls and allow Bangladeshi entrepreneurs to invest in India. If we are not ready yet to remove foreign exchange controls entirely, it should be removed for businesses to invest in India only. Two-way investment flow is the only way to strengthen economic ties.

It certainly is if you look at any video of Bangladesh city streets. What a chithole.
Chitholes exist in India too... not all of Dhaka or Bangladesh is like what it seems ... this is the case with all cities in Asia with colonialists past... just look at ho chin Minh city for ex.

It is because of bad quality city streets in BD, we have to buy good quality cars made-in-Japan.
Now if you want a better standard, get your god awful corrupt hellhole govt to make/enforce such standards, given we export to Japan which is like a million times the quality control of your stuck-rickshaws in overflowing effluent "capital" "city".
Are you smoking full time, Yaba, perhaps? Where did you find Japan imports India made cars?

You're economy is growing at a decent pace and more people will reach the middle/upper middle class, so there would be a good demand to compact cars in the near future. Also, there is a possibility that some of them maybe exported as most car manufacturers in India export a major chunk of their production, particularly the ones which have low demand in the Indian market

Most of your fellow countrymen commented about the reliability of Tata cars and I would agree Tata suffered with reliability issues a while ago but ever since the change in management, incorporating Japanese standards when it comes to manufacturing like lean, six sigma, process control and high quality testing methods along with using design language from Jaguar-Land Rover and incorporating their methodologies, they're one of the best affordable cars in the market and maintain better standards than other international brands who are manufacturing their automobiles in India

We have the worst congestion situation and last thing we need is more cars. But knowing Bangladeshi buyers, they will buy a second-hand Japanese/European/American car rather than getting a new Indian ones. This isn't meant as an offence/insult but just the mentality of Bangladeshis. I am also well aware that Tata owns Jaguar ad Range Rover (?), so they must have been doing something good. But we are usually big in brands/big names and I have hardly seen any middle class to upper class Bangladeshi riding an Indian car.

But investments are welcomed. Its good for competition & employment and if Tata can produce cars cheaply here, good for them too. Win-Win I guess.

We have the worst congestion situation and last thing we need is more cars. But knowing Bangladeshi buyers, they will buy a second-hand Japanese/European/American car rather than getting a new Indian ones. This isn't meant as an offence/insult but just the mentality of Bangladeshis. I am also well aware that Tata owns Jaguar ad Range Rover (?), so they must have been doing something good. But we are usually big in brands/big names and I have hardly seen any middle class to upper class Bangladeshi riding an Indian car.

But investments are welcomed. Its good for competition & employment and if Tata can produce cars cheaply here, good for them too. Win-Win I guess.
Japanese cars are way more expensive and beyond the buying capacity of middle class. We can only sell 3500 cars a year. Tata will certainly penetrate the market if they could offer the car at the same price range as they offer in India.

Hope Tata will assemble nexon in BD.. Looks good..
hqdefault.jpg
Nexon is doing great in India. For 6.5 lakhs, you are getting a good car with good security features such as front air bags, ABS etc. Though I own a new Mahindra Scorpio, I'll love to buy nexon in future.

Well you had a stroke of good luck it seems.

Partly because the reliable 2-cylinder Bosch engine and transmission is Made in Germany.

The body however is another story. They crash-tested it in Germany (ADAC) and in a four-star rating, it got zero. Even seatbelts did not help. The front end is GONE. I rest my case.

Tata has far better chances of selling well-made SUV's as govt. utility vehicles in Bangladesh. At least you can survive a crash in those.

Tata-Nano-018.jpg
Nano is a 2 lakh rupee car for God sake.....You should try Tata Safari storm or Mahindra Scorpio or XUV500 for better safety at 12-15 lakh segment. They are more than value for money.

50k cars per year doesn't mean the entire lot will be allotted to BD buyers. If the demand is high enough, that is most likely to happen but many of them will be exported to outside markets and Tata could use BD's cheap labor. I'm not sure if you've seen any of the recently launched Tata cars but I was surprised at the quality the last time I've been in India.

We should see how the tide would turn for Tata in BD and also for BD's auto buyers. Regarding big brand names, Indian consumers had a similar mind set but the improvisation in quality by Tata particularly after acquiring JLR and incorporating their standards, they are giving a very tough competition to their peers

Chitholes exist in India too... not all of Dhaka or Bangladesh is like what it seems ... this is the case with all cities in Asia with colonialists past... just look at ho chin Minh city for ex.

I think OP means chitholes like this,

Airport Road
iu

Cantonment road
iu

Or maybe this in Maulvi Bazaar,
iu

Or maybe these at Nirjhor,
iu

yeah - all effed up....what to do?

But we are usually big in brands/big names and I have hardly seen any middle class to upper class Bangladeshi riding an Indian car.

Yup - my thoughts exactly.....people would rather NOT buy an Indian car (if that is all they can afford) than actually buy a CAR - period. For Indians, they are stuck with it. That is not the scenario in Bangladesh.

I am waiting to see how many Tata cars Matlub shaheb sells in Bangladesh. Somebody should alert people who are financing this venture. And if they all get exported - who cares?

Price performance/quality ratio of an Indian car isn't anywhere as good as a reconditioned jap car in Bangladesh. Its easily understandable why our ppl prefer second hand jap cars over brand new Indian ones.

But we really need these types of manufacturing plants in Bangladesh. It will not only create job opportunities for us but also create a positive image of our country in front of the whole world. It will also influence many other Indian auto companies to establish their assembly plants in Bangladesh.

50k cars per year doesn't mean the entire lot will be allotted to BD buyers. If the demand is high enough, that is most likely to happen but many of them will be exported to outside markets and Tata could use BD's cheap labor. I'm not sure if you've seen any of the recently launched Tata cars but I was surprised at the quality the last time I've been in India.

We should see how the tide would turn for Tata in BD and also for BD's auto buyers. Regarding big brand names, Indian consumers had a similar mind set but the improvisation in quality by Tata particularly after acquiring JLR and incorporating their standards, they are giving a very tough competition to their peers

Indian bikes r sold like hot cakes in Bangladesh. Frankly speaking, ppl r crazy about bajaj, apache and RE(not available in Bangladesh). I still don't understand why none of these companies still haven't considered to establish their assembly plants in Bangladesh especially if we consider the high demand of their products among the BD consumers.