TALIBANS ADVANCE to mega cities , is IMRAN affraid to condem TTp advance!

batmannow

United States
Five TTP-linked terrorists arrested, claims Punjab police
DawnNews and Agencies | 3 hours ago

LAHORE: Police on Wednesday claimed to have arrested five terrorists of banned outfit Tehrik-i-Taliban Pakistan (TTP) allegedly involved in terrorism activities in Punjab province.

Addressing a news conference here at the Police Club, Inspector General of Punjab Police Haji Habibur Rehman said that the miscreants belonging to North Waziristan’s Miranshah area were arrested in a joint operation by the Crime Investigation Agency (CIA) Police Multan and Makhdoom Rasheed Police.

He said that the terrorists were involved in several crimes including a bank robbery in Green Town area, an attack on Babu Sabu checkpost, an attack on District Police Officer (DPO) Dera Ismail Khan office, the murder of constable in DI Khan and multiple attacks on members of the Shia sect.

The outlaws were arrested on information obtained through five criminals earlier arrested by Khyber Pakhtunkhwa police, he said, added that they had planned to carry out terrorism activities during the month of Moharram.

Police arrests ‘LeJ militants’ after Karachi violence kills 40
DAWN.COM and AFP | 1 day ago

KARACHI: Police in Karachi has arrested four suspected militants they said were planning a wave of sectarian attacks in the city, following a bloody three days in which around 40 people were killed.

Mohammad Aslam Khan, the head of the police anti-extremism cell in southern Sindh province, said the four were members of Lashkar-i-Jhangvi (LeJ), a banned Sunni militant group blamed for many deadly attacks on Shias.

Khan said the men were planning strikes during Muharram, when Shias hold public processions, and police had seized at least 25 kilograms of explosives, along with grenades, automatic rifles and pistols.

Of the 40 or so killed in the city of 18 million people over the past three days, 24 were in sectarian or political violence, Khan said. More than half of the victims were Shia

“The objective of this wave of target killings was to spread sectarian strife in the city as a prelude to Muharram,” Khan told AFP.

Lashkar-i-Jhangvi is regarded as the most extreme Sunni terror group in Pakistan and is accused of killing hundreds of Shias since its emergence in the early 1990s.
It developed close ties to al Qaeda and the Taliban, which ruled in Afghanistan from 1996 until the 2001 US-led invasion.

Pakistan formally banned the group in 2001 and there have been numerous crackdowns with arrests and killings of known Jhangvi operatives over the last 20 years.
Chief of LeJ, Malik Ishaq, is implicated in dozens of cases, mostly murder. He was released on bail in July last year after serving a jail term of nearly 14 years.

Since his release he had been frequently put under house arrest as his sermons raised sectarian tensions, officials said.

A spokesman for the government paramilitary Rangers told AFP on Tuesday that troops arrested 23 other suspects across the city, including an alleged “notorious” target killer Shamim ur Rehman, in a bid to stop targeted killing.

Zardari sees conspiracy in Karachi
Zardari sees conspiracy in Karachi - thenews.com.pk

November 14, 2012 - Updated 1556 PKT
From Web Edition

MANDI BAHAUDDIN: President Asif Ali Zardari has said that deteriorating law and order situation doesn’t reflect failure of the government, Geo News reported on Wednesday.

Addressing an Eid Millan Party in Mandi Bahauddin, the president said that it was part of terrorist’s policy to aggravate situation in Karachi to engage the state and undermine its efforts against war on terror.

Zardari announced that general elections would be free and fair and to be held in time, adding that electoral rolls were made in such a way that could prevent rigging.

“We intend to stabilize Pakistan through resources wherever we found them and bring them here, we cannot follow philosophy of 5 years, we have to look beyond that,” the president said.

He called for joint efforts to serve the country, adding that government’s rivals also conceded the parliament was going to complete its tenure.

“We didn’t work for a single party instead we worked for Pakistan, we will prosper if Pakistan will, we will drown if Pakistan sinks,” he added.

The president recalled that he spent his youth days in the jails of Punjab.

Punjab police arrest five suspected militants, avert terror bid
By Web DeskPublished: November 10, 2012

Punjab police arrest five suspected militants, avert terror bid – The Express Tribune

LAHORE: Punjab Police arrested five suspected militants, who were allegedly planning a terror attack, from Alfalah Town in Lahore on Saturday, Express News reported.
The police and security agencies conducted a search operation on Friday night, in which five suspected militants along with five women and two children were apprehended, while hand grenades and arms were recovered from their possession. A map of the house of former Prime Minister Yousaf Raza Gilani, situated in DHA Lahore, was also found, sources further revealed to The Express Tribune.
The hand grenades were handed to the Bomb Disposal Squad and were defused.
A member of this terrorist network detained in Islamabad had told authorities that his cohorts were hiding in Alfalah Town, sources familiar with the matter revealed while talking to The Express Tribune.
According to neighbours and eyewitness reports, heavy firing started around 3 am and lasted for about an hour inside and outside the Baig House in Alfalah Town, followed by a series of dialogues that led to the surrender of the suspected terrorists.

All twelve residents of Baig House were shifted to an undisclosed location for interrogation.
Nine alleged militants who were released on bail from various jails of Punjab in September are believed to be planning attacks against rival sects in Moharram, warns a report of an intelligence agency forwarded to the IG Police Punjab

If I say things against Taliban who will save my workers? Says 'Brave Khan'

Live with Talat on Express News [Imran Khan Exclusive] – 9th October 2012

Shooting down drones will be a last resort: Imran Khan – The Express Tribune

Khan said that he does not condemn Taliban openly since it would make his local affiliates and supporters Taliban targets.

Days after leading hundreds of peace activists to the door steps of drone afflicted South Waziristan, Pakistan Tehreek-i-Insaf (PTI) chairman said that shooting down drones attacking Pakistani areas would be an option of last resort, and that the key to peace in FATA lay with its armed tribal residents.
Speaking with Talat Hussain on Express News show “Live with Talat” on Tuesday evening, Khan said that the only way to bring peace to the troubled badlands of Pakistan was to visibly pull out of America’s war, call for an end to drone strikes and entrust the armed tribals to police their own areas.
Detailing that the objective of his march was to create peace by taking tribals on board. He stressed that true peace could only be achieved once the war of hearts and minds are won.
“War on terror was a war against extremism, but it has only served to intensify extremism,” he said.

The second objective of the march, Khan said, was to talk with tribals of agencies afflicted by drones and militancy. He said that there is a need to combat the perception that Pakistan is fighting America’s war which breeds hatred against the government. “You need to get out of Amercia’s war, to remove the perception we are getting money from US, or take their orders, tell the tribals that the jihad has ended. Only then the local people will stand up against militants.”
Offering a solution to militancy, he said “the only way is to give tribals the responsibility to deal with the militants, and then gradually withdraw our forces and exit US’ war.”
Stopping drones critical
Khan had lead hundreds of people in a march to South Waziristan over the weekend. While the peaceful protesters were stopped from entering the troubled valley, Khan reiterated that drones presented the greatest obstacle in achieving peace.
“If drone attacks stop, we can say we are out of US war. Also when we say we have stopped taking US’ money, we can tell local tribals to reclaim their land, and tell them that the Jihad has ended and the armed tribals numbering 0.8 -0.9 million can then slowly reclaim their land,” Khan argued.
However, when the host Talat Hussain argued that the US, nor the UN security council have listened to Pakistan government’s appeals and arguments of the drones being counterproductive, and in all likelihood are to continue the attacks despite what Islamabad says, Khan said they would exhaust all forums to argue against the drones before opting for a last resort action.
“We are starting an international petition which says drones are inhuman and violate human rights. We will go to New York and have a ‘Tsunami’ outside the UN.:eek::rofl: We will have American Pakistanis and US peace activists protesting drones and hand over the petition to the UN saying UN laws are being violated,” Khan said of his immediate plans to tackle drones.
“We will also try to get Angelina Jolie there too,” he said, before adding that his party, the PTI has also taken a legal recourse against drones by filing a suit with NGO Reprieveat.
With elections only five months away, Khan was asked what would he do against drones if he is voted into power, the cricketer-turned-politician said that “the day PTI comes into power, we will tell them [US] to stop drones, we are a sovereign, democratic country. Article 4 of the Constitution places responsibitly of Pakistan government that you cannot do anything to Pakistani citizens. You are making our war difficult for us. We take responsibility that there will be no terrorism from Pakistan, but you cannot dictate to us, nor will we take your money, but we will fight in our own way.”
When pressed for a contingency plan of action, Khan said that they would adopt a step by step approach at convincing the US and the world at large to stop drones. “If they [US] do not agree, we will go to the UN and the Security Council and highlight that this is a violation of our sovereignty … We will try to convince them logically that the drones are not providing a solution, instead are causing the disease to spread apart from being a violation of human rights, our air space and sovereignty and that it is not having the desired results.”
When Hussain further pressed that if in the event the international community does not display sympathy for Pakistan, what would Khan do?
“If that does not stop them, then Imran Khan will do what Imran Khan needs to do, I will order the PAF to shoot down the drones.”
When asked that the PTI chief was ready to plunge Pakistan into a war with the US and NATO, Khan said that he is “ready for war” but that he “would defend the people, defend them till the end.”
“Shooting down drones will be a last resort, because I cannot allow our people to be killed,” he added.

Condemns Malala attack, but not Taliban
Khan, whose less than critical view of Taliban has earned him the moniker ‘Taliban Khan,’ condemned the day-time attack on the teenage peace activist Malala Yousufzai in Swat.
However, when he was asked why did he not condemn the Taliban who had claimed responsibility for the attack, Khan defended his decision not to be so candid.
“We have local affiliates and supporters. Sure I can give big statements against the Taliban, but that would make them [supporters] Taliban targets,” said the PTI chief.

Malala vs. Vanilla
Masud Alam | 18th October, 2012
Malala vs. Vanilla | DAWN.COM

There is a period in everyone’s life when ‘I’ becomes the hero; talks, walks, thinks and feels like one; lives a hero’s life … wholly or partly in one’s head.

Teens, 20s, thereabout, ‘I’ see myself doing a lead role in the film. Hear my thoughts expressed by poets and artists. The world is created for a purpose, and that purpose is ‘I’. All that can be imagined is real, is achievable. And there is so much more that is still to be imagined! Life seems too short even to reckon all the possibilities out there, where is the time or the clue for making a choice? Deciding on one imagination and setting about making it real?

So the hero, lets imagination runs amok. Jagjit and Chitra’s ‘mil ker judah huay toh na soya karein gey hum’ can evoke an emotional state of pain and suffering ‘we’ will endure ‘if we meet and separate’, notwithstanding the fact that there’s no ‘we’; and ‘I’ have no curiosity about the double chance of meeting and separating. And yet ‘I’ have wept at ‘ek doosray ki yaad mein roya karein gey hum’. It’s not the power of lyrics – which is lazy poetry created for Dubai’s Indian mujra joints, to introduce to patrons late in the night, when desi men of all ages are suitably drunk, and wish for stupid things that remind them of their days of living like a ‘hero’.

It is the power of imagination of the ‘hero’. Imagination is what makes ‘I’ the hero, for as long as it lasts. And not everyone’s imagination dwells only on ghazals for the drunk. Some ‘heroes’ dream of higher things, they recognise their aspirations, their ambitions, and refuse to accept or even acknowledge the limitations set by society. Rarely, the hero zeroes in on one area and builds his or her imagination within that sphere. They become artists, artisans, writers, scientists, teachers, doctors, social workers, politicians, sportspeople … for life. They become heroes for life.

For the majority, the power of imagination leaves. As suddenly and inexplicably as it had arrived. Priorities change as reality hits home. Learning stops and yearning for regular income through regular means begins. Excitement is replaced by routine, zeal by caution, and exuberance by introspection. Another dreamer turns into a boring, conformist human being of the vanilla variety the world is teeming with. Another individual surrenders their uniqueness and becomes part of a homogenous mass seeking upward mobility. Some of them get the comforts they chase, some don’t. Some are happy with a normal non-hero life; some hate it and hold it against everyone who is anyone’s hero.
It’s the desire and drive to imagine when everyone else’s imagination fails, that separates heroes from others.

When Swat was ruled by terrorists, its residents took the orders from an illegal FM broadcast and obeyed them in letter and spirit. If the terrorists said ‘no school from tomorrow’ they kept their children home. If they said people could come out of homes, residents crowded the markets for grocery shopping. And when they were told that the headless bodies hung upside down in the town square are not to be removed; men, women and children went about their routines pretending not to see the terror installations. The religious leaders, the political leaders, the social and community leaders, they were all silent out of fear. They could see, they could think and feel, but they couldn’t talk about it.

A little girl of 11 years or so chose to talk. She shared with Pakistanis and with the rest of the world, what it was like to live under Taliban rule. She didn’t bring in religion, politics or even ethnicity in her blogs. She was a student eager to get education and she saw the terrorists as anti-education. She – and her parents who must get credit for their courage in letting her speak out – imagined the terrorists could be defeated; that education was a right that could not be taken away by gun-wielding thugs; that millions of Pakistanis would come out in support of this right. She imagined. That little girl was the only one who could. And that is what makes her a hero.

Malala Yusufzai is now 14, and fighting for her life after being shot by the Taliban. A nation that has not seen a hero in its lifetime was reluctant in accepting one as young as Malala, but the attack on her did the trick. Pakistanis spoke as one, in favour of education and against ignorance, in favour of Malala and against the Taliban, in favour of those who can imagine and against those who want barricades on imagination.

The girl in critical care has done us another favour. She has pulled the mask off the faces of those who are the enemies of education and imagination. She has forced the ‘leaders’ of people to choose their place across the line. Everyone has had to condemn the act, under public pressure, but the partisan ones have given themselves away by attempting to side-track the issue with drones, Waziristan operation, funding sources and what not. They are all on record – Fazlur Rehman, Sami Ul Haq, Munawwar Hasan, Imran Khan, Chaudhry Nisar – and they have all spoken for their parties. So there. Half of our political class chooses to defend the terrorists who sprayed bullets at young girls, with the intention to kill. Giving us this realisation is what makes Malala a hero.

There are millions of children growing up in Pakistan without a healthy imagination. There are another few millions who have no access to education. Malala has given a voice to these millions and who knows, the historian may record that she gave a whole nation hope. And courage. And that’s what makes Malala a hero. A hero for life.:cry::agree:

Masud Alam is an Islamabad-based writer, columnist and journalism trainer. He can be reached at masudalam@yahoo.com

Pakistan decides to release Taliban leaders
DAWN.COM | 11 mins ago

ISLAMABAD: Following meetings between a delegation of the Afghan High Peace Council and Foreign Office, the Pakistan government has decided to release several Afghan Taliban leaders, DawnNews reported.

In a notification issued by the Foreign Office on Wednesday, it was stated that the government has decided to release the prisoners on the request of the Afghan government.

In a joint declaration, both countries stressed that Taliban and other armed groups must cut ties with al Qaeda and other international terrorism networks.

The Afghan High Peace Council and Pakistan also agreed on holding the Pak-Afghan Ulema Conference and said that religious scholars from other countries would also attend the event.

According to the notification, Pakistan and Afghanistan decided that allegations from both sides must be stopped. The two sides also agreed that the Afghan High Peace Council and Foreign Office must continue with the dialogue.
:disagree::disagree::disagree:

Don't worry yaar he is learning fast... from last year's Imran Khan's deep-sympathetic statements for Talibans to toned-down sympathetic statement for Talibans to criticising silently to criticising but not taking their names to criticising and taking their names but carefully choosing the words to not offend them --- Next step is Criticised and criticise firmly...
------

Edit: The ultimate end to this war is on the tables and starting a negotiating process - Imran by his statements wants to keep some soft corner in the hearts of Talibans so he could speak to them when in power... No idea if it's going to work or not - but definitely he needs to recognise the enemies and decide in the best interest of Pakistan

Don't worry yaar he is learning fast... from last year's Imran Khan's deep-sympathetic statements for Talibans to toned-down sympathetic statement for Talibans to criticising silently to criticising but not taking their names to criticising and taking their names but carefully choosing the words to not offend them --- Next step is Criticised and criticise firmly...

wish to see that!

who else than batmannow spreading propoganda against IK. 24/7 only one agenda IK this IK that. What can i say ppl who quote Zardari and Rehman Malik.

AS said in another thread was there taliban in 1990s ? Since when Karachi has been on fire ? Same old story only new story is we are getting news on Live tv. U going after IK as he in power what about Raja rental , Shabaz Sharif , Nawaz Sharif and other who are in power.

What did SC said ? every party has there arm wings which conducts terror activities to collect bhatta. Tell me if u see taliban here....

CONDEM CONDEM AND CONDEM wtf does that help? Only a honset leader as Imran Khan will clean karachi from all criminals.

Show me one deep-sympathetic statment for taliban. if u had u would had posted. plz dont post a link from newspapir since media twist words. Show me clip from tv as i am showing u here

------

Edit: The ultimate end to this war is on the tables and starting a negotiating process - Imran by his statements wants to keep some soft corner in the hearts of Talibans so he could speak to them when in power... No idea if it's going to work or not - but definitely he needs to recognise the enemies and decide in the best interest of Pakistan

------

I am sorry borther Talibans dont have a soft corner for anyone, they are pure ruthless butchers and dont care who they kill as long as they kill the most, weddings, funerals, jumma prayers doesnt matter....Imran want to keep a soft corner for these butchers. With Imran's learning speed we cannot afford to give him 5 years which he will spend only learning, we dont have 5 years

Imran condemning Taliban. Will that make a difference. The successful political parties which are sitting in govt in a grand coalition have all the resources of the state. they also seem to have the support of all the 'liberal' writers of english newspapers.

So my question to all Imran haters, who incidentally are all in govt., and all fake 'liberals' is ? Why dont you guys launch an operation against Taliban? What are you afraid of? You have the best target killers, extortionists and gangs of thugs under you? Why dont you let them loose on Taliban?

Your complete failure cant be hidden by this very weak argument of Imran condemning this act or that. Remember, he only need to condemn, which he does, but you have to act, which you dont!

This is such a begharaiti that even beghairats of the world will also be ashamed of. You and your coalition partners are busy in burning Karachi and you see conspiracy there despite the fact you have all powers you can imagine being a govt. in Pakistan. There is no stopping you to uphold law and order. But you want to hide your incompetence and thats why you see conspiracy everywhere.

^^^ yes it makes a difference, its makes Imran supporters hate Talibans too, we cannot afford to even have a single person in our country with soft corner for Talibans. We need general public to spit them out if they see them amongst them not hide them and give them protection.

Anybody who commits violence be it Taliban,MQM or the thugs supported by different political parties needs to condemned. Not just limp condemnation but acted against too! Why just Taliban then?

What about violence in Karachi, may I ask? Who has condemned it? Has condemnation worked where action is needed?

This is a very lame argument.

Anybody who commits violence be it Taliban,MQM or the thugs supported by different political parties needs to condemned. Not just limp condemnation but acted against too! Why just Taliban then?

What about violence in Karachi, may I ask? Who has condemned it? Has condemnation worked where action is needed?

because these talibans have destroyed our country with war & vengence, & because they hve used ISLAM as a weapon against innocent muslims, & because you guys hve a coward leader who, allways gives funny & unlogical arguments that these stupid uneducated mountain bucthers are the angels of the world!

dont try to be too clever & twist the history, if you dont know who are TALIBANS just go ask your coward leader who he is affraid off?

who else than batmannow spreading propoganda against IK. 24/7 only one agenda IK this IK that. What can i say ppl who quote Zardari and Rehman Malik.

AS said in another thread was there taliban in 1990s ? Since when Karachi has been on fire ? Same old story only new story is we are getting news on Live tv. U going after IK as he in power what about Raja rental , Shabaz Sharif , Nawaz Sharif and other who are in power.

What did SC said ? every party has there arm wings which conducts terror activities to collect bhatta. Tell me if u see taliban here....

CONDEM CONDEM AND CONDEM wtf does that help? Only a honset leader as Imran Khan will clean karachi from all criminals.

its enjoying for me to be against very best, thts my hobby!
yeh we know he can clean crouption in 9 hrs, & he can clean everything else in 9 mints by just h
ving good dreams on his bed!

as ask a question and u cant answer but talk typical jahil loota of PML.N PPP.

Can u show me 1 single evidence were IK said he supports taliban. Dont post links from newspapir as we know they twist words.

dont try to be too clever & twist the history, if you dont know who are TALIBANS just go ask your coward leader who he is affraid off?

twisted story ? ur head is twisted god know with what.