Supply routes opened for no money, no apology, no end to drone strikes

Pakistan To Reopen Key Supply Route

July 3, 2012 | 1914 GMT

AAMIR QURESHI

U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton (L) and Pakistani Foreign Minister Hina Rabbani Khar

Pakistani Foreign Minister Hina Rabbani Khar has said that Islamabad will reopen a key NATO supply route known as the ground line of communications, U.S. Secretary of State Hillary Clinton said July 3. At a Cabinet Defense Committee meeting, Pakistani Prime Minister Raja Pervez Ashraf said that continued closure of the supply routes would harm the country's relations with NATO member states, including the United States. The move to reopen the routes comes after two separate visits by U.S. commander of NATO forces in Afghanistan Gen. John Allen to Islamabad within six days.

The route has been closed since November 26, 2011, after U.S. airstrikes against a Pakistani military outpost killed 24 soldiers. The closure did not cripple NATO operations in Afghanistan; NATO forces still had access to the Northern Distribution Network, which transits former Soviet Union states, and the option of ferrying supplies into Afghanistan via aircraft. However, using those routes cost NATO an additional $100 million per month ($ 2.1 billion overall). In any case, the reopening will help Pakistan and the United States arrange NATO's withdrawal from Afghanistan.

The deadlock over the issue hurt U.S.-Pakistan relations at a time when Washington needed Islamabad's help to withdraw U.S. troops from Afghanistan by 2014. Growing U.S. intelligence and military capabilities in Pakistan over the past few years compelled Islamabad to try to redefine its security relationship with the United States. These attempts can be seen in Pakistan's demands for an apology for the Nov. 26 attack, for renegotiating the costs of using supply routes, and for improved overall political and military relations, especially with regard to post-NATO Afghanistan.

A compromise was finally reached and the United States apologized to Pakistan, as evidenced by Clinton's offer of condolences to the families of the Pakistani soldiers that were killed during the airstrikes and her acknowledgement of the mistakes that led to their deaths. The United States also agreed to the costs of the routes under the rubric of the Coalition Support Fund, whereby Pakistan is reimbursed for aiding the U.S./NATO mission in Afghanistan. Under pressure domestically, the Pakistani government will try to sell its decision to Pakistani citizens by emphasizing that the United States accepted Pakistan's demands for an apology and respect as an ally.

The July 3 announcement will allow the two sides to work toward the NATO withdrawal from Afghanistan and the political and security arrangements thereafter. Talks between the Taliban and the United States are critical for a post-NATO Afghanistan, but such talks have not progressed, and issues between Pakistan and United States remain. Further progress will depend on how the two sides work with each other and with the Taliban toward an Afghan power-sharing arrangement for post-NATO Afghanistan.

This was already Pakistani money that the US had stopped on top of all the bombings and killings it did in Pakistan.

24 soldiers killed in Pakistan and we have people telling us that this is all a good thing that happened. Every one of their own pockets are filled. We saw with the mediagate fiasco that all the powers are for sale.

There will be more stuff, man. For inctance their much needed help in our energy sector, dam constructions etc. these things are coming. Although its not right to equate this with 24 martyred soldiers but life moves on, bro. If you're gonna stay hung up on one thing the life's gonna play a cruel joke on you. 24 died at the hand of NATO and 17 were decipatated two weeks ago. 150 were hurried alive in avalanche. Where does one draw the line then?

Pakistan isn't the only country to face such outcomes, nor it will be the last. At one point you have to move on. The resilience you showed was remarkable and put a heavy dent in their funds and operation. Even after scoring the deal with other nations they came back to Pakistan eventually. I assure you this means they will not repeat anything like salala again. It's a void they can afford our routes being closed.

There is talk that now drone strikes will be after prior approval of Pakistan on our targets.

Everybody has to agree that the supply routes had to open one day. If not today, then maybe next month.

The Afghan endgame, the weapons we needed, the money for dams and power sectors etc etc. We all need this, and the only case where we do not need aid or some assistance is when we get straight ourselves, and i dont see that happening.

But atleast we should have demanded more transit fee.

There will be more stuff, man. For inctance their much needed help in our energy sector, dam constructions etc. these things are coming. Although its not right to equate this with 24 martyred soldiers but life moves on, bro. If you're gonna stay hung up on one thing the life's gonna play a cruel joke on you. 24 died at the hand of NATO and 17 were decipatated two weeks ago. 150 were hurried alive in avalanche. Where does one draw the line then?

Pakistan isn't the only country to face such outcomes, nor it will be the last. At one point you have to move on. The resilience you showed was remarkable and put a heavy dent in their funds and operation. Even after scoring the deal with other nations they came back to Pakistan eventually. I assure you this means they will not repeat anything like salala again. It's a void they can afford our routes being closed.

10 years of sucking up to America could not improve your situation you think now when they are leaving, they will things that are in your interest?

They didn't give you a cent. That's your worth to them.

We might as well hold up a banner - "We will reward you for slapping us" - result? More people will slap you, not less.

The only thing that has happened here is haramkhori... And you're not going to see a cent of that action.

we cannot get 'isolated' in the world!

Sir,

Should we go more and more deep into the sea of shame and give other nations more chance to say Pakistan enjoys getting xxxxxx, a nation where a foreign nation can do anything by throwing some $$$ and a nation where just an apology will bring them back to the bed for xxxxxxx

option 1) Isolation is better

or

option 2) the daily rape of the Pakistan (drones, politicians, the good way government is managing it's affairs) is better

For the common man both options are effect him so why not the option of isolation as some prestige will return to the image of Pakistan because of it

or

shall we remain in option 2 for as long as it goes on, maybe 5 years, decade or longer and in the end what will be left of the image of Pakistan as a nation?

This extreme reaction to what was always an inevitable conclusion is reflective of the sudden bursting of skewed reality bubble that many Pakistanis choose to live in. Any number of us pointed out the inevitability of this occurring. Yet many chose to live in a bubble where Pakistan was in a unassailable position. That it was carried forward by your politicians & the military to Mount Everest heights was the sad part. Many Pakistanis simply believed the fable created. When it collapsed as it would have anyways, the shock & anger are reflected in the responses on this & other forums.

Congrats to the Democrazy govt and our general public that USA successfully conquered our NATO supply routes without any problem , I hope they will capture some more of our land in the coming future. This will be a great success by our nation that USA is coming to free our land......:lol:

I guess we got no right to say ourselves a nation or an independant nation but the slaves of West and $$$$.......at least we are granted some status even if it is a "slave one"..........:smokin:

I wish it could happen and we ppl get Ghairat from somewhere to be able to do that. I don't think that pplz got courage or resources to do that.......its real embarassing for us.......:coffee:

We got the gift of SLAVERY through this democrazy system imposed on us......:smokin:

Lol, democracy has made you slaves. War is peace. Freedom is slavery. Ignorance is strength.

US to free $1.1bn CSF for Pakistan

July 04, 2012.

WASHINGTON: The United States will release about $1.1 billion to Pakistan as part of a deal that will see Islamabad lift a blockade on NATO supply convoys into Afghanistan, a US official said Tuesday.

The money, from a US "coalition support fund" designed to reimburse Pakistan for the cost of counter-insurgency operations, had been withheld due to tensions between the two countries and Islamabad's closure of the supply routes. (AFP)

....and $ 1.4 bill still in arrears!!!
It is not in arrears, it was for cooperation, which was not forthcoming. If I promise you 10 dollars to mow my lawn, then you don't mow it, and I don't pay....it is not in arrears, the agreed upon service has not been rendered. Now however, we can start anew.

Congratulations my pakistani freinds its great news isnt it for pakistani economy i guess

It just might be good for pakistan in a way, open routes will ensure better logistical operations for US, may be they can finish up faster and leave Afghanistan for a greater role of pakistan. As soon as they leave, there would be no more drone strikes, things will come back to the way they were in before.

It isn't since what we have here is not democratic rule but a puppet government, a mouth piece for the United States with Kaira on TV telling us "Humne ek bohot bari Aalmi taakat ko rok kar rakha".

True democracy is by the people, for the people of the people. Not By America, for America, of America.

Char dharo ghaddaron par!
With due respect, their are some matters in which people should not interfere without proper understanding of the ground realities.

Yes! It is duty of the government to take people in to confidence but then their are some things that government feels reluctant to openly talk about.

Fact is that USA was planning to declare Haqqani Network a terrorist organization and Pakistan its sponsor. This would have had serious ramifications for Pakistan. Right after this news broke, suddenly the decision to open the supply route had been taken within Pakistan on favourable terms to USA.

Get the picture now?

^ that is just one thing, I'm sure there are string of things Pakistan benefitted from and will benefit from in the near future. That's how America works. Let them say to American ppl they got the supply routes open for no additional price and let the trolls be happy.

Meanwhile behind the scene they help us on magnitude of things. How does destruction of ttp in Afghanistan by US sound to you? What abou economical help? Eliviating energy crisis. People need to think a little.

sirjee u are entitled to your view. AZ had nothing to do with this. this was driven by the military all the way. kiyani was very adamant but it was the CJSC who brokered the deal. deals will always be made between countries like us and 'big brother'. we should put our house in order economically, then only we can do the things which strong and vibrant nations can do. till then bhai jan ahoye hosi !!!

House asoolon se zyada keemti nahi hai. Asool sahi hongay toh house bhi sahi banay ga. Warna choron ka bhi house hota hai.

Theek hai, Kayani pe bhi lakh lanatein agar woh bhi choron ki toli main shaamil hai, saamne toh AZ ka hi naam hai.

With due respect, their are some matters in which people should not interfere without proper understanding of the ground realities.

Yes! It is duty of the government to take people in to confidence but then their are some things that government feels reluctant to openly talk about.

Fact is that USA was planning to declare Haqqani Network a terrorist organization and Pakistan its sponsor. This would have had serious ramifications for Pakistan. Right after this news broke, suddenly the decision to open the supply route had been taken within Pakistan on favourable terms to USA.

Get the picture now?

And now we can sponsor Haqqani Network and it can commit terrorism?

Do we really want to be sponsors of Terrorism? Why don't we stop being supportive of Haqqani network? Or is the US just lying?

I mean there is no sense to what you're saying. Now we got license to do terrorism or we were not doing terrorism in the first place?

This extreme reaction to what was always an inevitable conclusion is reflective of the sudden bursting of skewed reality bubble that many Pakistanis choose to live in. Any number of us pointed out the inevitability of this occurring. Yet many chose to live in a bubble where Pakistan was in a unassailable position. That it was carried forward by your politicians & the military to Mount Everest heights was the sad part. Many Pakistanis simply believed the fable created. When it collapsed as it would have anyways, the shock & anger are reflected in the responses on this & other forums.

I believe you haven't read the news properly. Supply lines will be opened up after Hillary Clinton apologized for the loss of our soldiers and the withheld CSF released.

Back to the topic, i must give credit to the PPP government for sticking to their guns and not falling under pressure in face of massive sabre rattling from the American side. I am still shocked how the government stuck to their guns and didn't budge unless an apology was received. The opening up of GLOC was inevitable but the apology was not. The mere fact that this government kept the supply lines closed up for almost 8 months is astonishing.